I feeling to take out my savings from tecu.hydroep wrote:nismo1325 wrote:credit unions and ripple effect to the members of the credit unions cuz when debt runs high dividends and so on start too cut down and less profit made
Good point. TECU — the goto CU for many of these workers — may be hit particularly hard if the unemployed are forced to draw down on their savings to live. Less capitalization will impact on the return to other members not directly affected by the closure. Those who depend on the dividend income may have to make some adjustments as well.
VexXx Dogg wrote:Use the learnings from Caroni.
People will adapt.
Some will find jobs in other industries/countries. (Guyana, hint hint)
Small businesses will bloom.
Increase in taxi drivers.
Marabella will not be under business threat, growth actually exploded in Couva post-Caroni.
It will be painful in the beginning, and I pray that those workers can find their footing quickly before their severance package depletes.
Hope they don't do what some Caroni workers did and drink out their money and life and flood their entire street with rum until the $ is gone.
Redman wrote:Biden said something today while speaking at That fella funeral.
He said that if we attack motives instead of the substance we can never reach consensus.
Seems correct.
kstt wrote:People not seeing how big the effect this will have and are only concerned about themselves.
Please add to the list.
Who will be affected:
Employees, Employee families, contractor, contractor employees, contractor employee families, taxis, food vendors, hire purchase stores, banks, gas price, lpg price, fast food price, transport for EVERYTHING, etc.
And wah bout the management that saw it happening and kept signing off on those things?loudestman99 wrote:I support my PM , the honorable
Workers cheating and geetin big $
Send them home
It good for them
loudestman99 wrote:I support my PM , the honorable
Workers cheating and geetin big $
Send them home
It good for them
Daran wrote:Average severance package will be ~1M, so expect banks to benefit in the short term with that extra influx of cash. Many of these people will seek to invest in passive income aka build and rent out apartments so there can be a small construction boom and rise in reals estate. A lot know Guyana is the best to invest now too so lots of this money will leave Trinidad.
Though I expect many of these people to spend freely from now till Xmas. The smarter ones will reduce spending so consumer demand may drop slightly.
That's just from the workers directly. As many of you mentioning, lots of small businesses and contractors get work from Petrotin. So the fallout there will be bad. These workers and businesses don't have the luxury of severance packages etc so the south economy will crash.
Monkey Man wrote:Sundar wrote:Better we pay a lil more than pumping Billions into that dead Horse to the benefit of those working there so that they could live better than you and not helping the country.
Petrotrin
Lol so tell me how much times u try to apply for work there but they didnt want your 3 cxcs![]()
Sounding like a typical sour grapes
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Monkey Man wrote:Sundar wrote:Better we pay a lil more than pumping Billions into that dead Horse to the benefit of those working there so that they could live better than you and not helping the country.
Petrotrin
Lol so tell me how much times u try to apply for work there but they didnt want your 3 cxcs![]()
Sounding like a typical sour grapes
I know someone who applied there a million times with BSc in Electrical Engineering from UWI and never got a job so not sure what is your point.
Chain is only as strong as the weakest link...Curtms wrote:Petrotrin the company vs petrotrin refinery is 2 different things !
No....Winter is here....sMASH wrote:October 1st, winter is coming.
I will refrain from commentingRedman wrote:the last video I saw said the fellas selling weed will see a sales decrease.