Unions vow to shut country down
Renuka Singh
Published: Thursday, August 30, 2018
Teachers are being asked to stay away from classrooms on September 7.
The call came from Trinidad and Tobago Unified Teachers Association (TTUTA) president Lynsley Doodhai yesterday in a show of solidarity for the Oilfields Workers’ Trade Union (OWTU), which was dealt a hard blow with Tuesday’s announcement that the Petrotrin refinery will be shut down.
The closure of the refinery is expected result in the termination of some 2,600 workers.
“Next week Friday, parents please keep your children at home, teachers will not be in school on Friday 7,” Doodhai said.
“Schools would be devoid of teachers come next week Friday. Do not waste your hard-earned money to send your children to school, the teachers won’t be there.”
His comment came during a media conference hosted by the Joint Trade Union Movement (JTUM) at the Banking, Insurance and General Workers’ Union (BIGWU) headquarters in Barataria.
“TTUTA would hope that good sense would prevail and that the Government and Petrotrin board would reconsider the decision that they announced yesterday (Tuesday),” Doodhai said.
He said the day of rest and reflection had now assumed even greater significance in the wake of the Petrotirn decision.
“Workers are no longer going to take it. There is a saying in TTUTA, if you touch one teacher, you touch all teachers, I say this morning if you touch one worker, you touch all workers,” he said.
There was a consensus from JTUM that the Government had declared war on the workers of the country with the plan to shut down the Petrotrin refinery and send home some 2,600 workers and the trade unions said they are going to retaliate.
While several union leaders made veiled threats of action, Sheep and Goat Farmers Association president Shiraz Khan was the most vocal. He condemned Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley and Minister of Finance Colm Imbert, saying they need to be “dealt with”.
He said back in 2015 before the general election, the two marched in solidarity with the workers and laughed when the union insulted then prime minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar, but said they were doing worse but calling for discipline from the unions.
“September 7 is just the start. We coming for all yuh,” Khan said.
“You feel this is a game? Allyuh could just shut down and start back?” he asked, referring to the uncertain future of the Petrotrin refinery.
Khan said Rowley sat with the JTUM for 10 meetings before the 2015 general election and talked to the union about getting their support.
“Today look what he doing to we. He is taking this country down a road, it may not have no return,” Khan.
He said Rowley was being untruthful about many things in agriculture and now with the OWTU and Petrotrin.
“Today, what he is doing to the ordinary people in this country, I want to tell Rowley that this is not Caroni (1975) Ltd, this is not BWIA, this is not TTT, this is the leader of all unions,” he said, referring to Roget’s OWTU.
“We not going to take that damned stupidness from you Rowley, we not taking that and we standing with the OWTU.
“Allyuh behave allyuh self, September 7 is only the start. This man has to be dealt with and I make no bones (about it).”
According to the analysis, the base case for the 100,000 barrel-per-day new refinery would result in a negative rate of return to the tune of US$3 billion. “Now that is a very significant number because if you remember the total investment is US$5 billion. That means you are destroying over half the value of your investment the day you commission your refinery. It’s a
very significant value destruction impact and of course, the maximum debt leverage is very, very small,” he pointed out.
Redress10 wrote:ArcLight Capital Partners, a private equity firm expects the former Hovensa refinery on St. Croix to be able to process 200,000 barrels per day of crude and deliver fuels to market by January 2020, officials said at a news conference on the island.
The Boston-based company spent two years studying the market and developed “a refinery profile we see thriving in the current marketplace,” said John Erhard, an ArcLight partner.
https://www.reuters.com/article/us-refi ... SKBN1JS1TZ
We aint ready yet....Out there is the real world with real life situations...Beat ya pan and spoon Rouget
Beat away.
Redman wrote:Redress10 wrote:ArcLight Capital Partners, a private equity firm expects the former Hovensa refinery on St. Croix to be able to process 200,000 barrels per day of crude and deliver fuels to market by January 2020, officials said at a news conference on the island.
The Boston-based company spent two years studying the market and developed “a refinery profile we see thriving in the current marketplace,” said John Erhard, an ArcLight partner.
https://www.reuters.com/article/us-refi ... SKBN1JS1TZ
We aint ready yet....Out there is the real world with real life situations...Beat ya pan and spoon Rouget
Beat away.
http://www.arclightcapital.com/document ... 1-7-16.pdf
I would suggest that further to Redress point-we should spend time looking at those investments being MADE...by people that have the ability to source and leverage the best information and analysis available.
And on the basis of this info put capital at risk.
I think that there will be a buyer of the refining assets-who is able to run it properly.
Logically the skills needed are already here-what is not needed is the union mentality as currently demonstrated.
Of the guys that I know that are being terminated ALL said they willing to work in the new entity.
tr1ad wrote:somebody assist me please... is it a 5 day memory we have or 7 day...
waiting for the "issue" to die quietly na
wickedtuna wrote:..IMG-20180830-WA0010.jpeg
streetbeastINC. wrote:Does this refinery supply ttec? Can a ship keep up with this demand....i dunno anything about OG market
car wrote:streetbeastINC. wrote:Does this refinery supply ttec? Can a ship keep up with this demand....i dunno anything about OG market
Refinery generates its own electricity that supplies the plants and bungalows to the camp. They also have a Ttec supply. Doubt it supplies Ttec.
Ship- depends on capacity, distance to load and speed. There may be multiple ships also.
streetbeastINC. wrote:Does this refinery supply ttec? Can a ship keep up with this demand....i dunno anything about OG market
Trinispougla wrote:car wrote:streetbeastINC. wrote:Does this refinery supply ttec? Can a ship keep up with this demand....i dunno anything about OG market
Refinery generates its own electricity that supplies the plants and bungalows to the camp. They also have a Ttec supply. Doubt it supplies Ttec.
Ship- depends on capacity, distance to load and speed. There may be multiple ships also.
TGU supplies ttec which gets its stuff from NGC who ttec owes a lot of money
wickedtuna wrote:
screwbash wrote:Roget cautioned that this move “will mark, it has already marked the end of Dr Rowley, if in fact the end of the PNM.
“I don’t know anyone who is in this crowd who believes that after hearing this, that you are all supportive of that party that does this great injustice. Injustice when there is an option to you the workers, that you will continue to support that.”
rowlee cud cum now and kick each and every one ah dem in the famlee jewels and cut off the index finger that dey duz dip in the ink in the poling station and these pnm supporters will still vote pnm an just dip they middle finger in the ink. no matter wat pnm do go still win, the supporters go still vote for dem.
Ent ancil rojeh just befor the 2015 election sat down with rowlee and say they go vote out kamla and now he want to bite the hand dat feed him. he prob sell out the people and now wah say pnm go pay the price. not in this lifetime.
fatboy slim wrote:screwbash wrote:Roget cautioned that this move “will mark, it has already marked the end of Dr Rowley, if in fact the end of the PNM.
“I don’t know anyone who is in this crowd who believes that after hearing this, that you are all supportive of that party that does this great injustice. Injustice when there is an option to you the workers, that you will continue to support that.”
rowlee cud cum now and kick each and every one ah dem in the famlee jewels and cut off the index finger that dey duz dip in the ink in the poling station and these pnm supporters will still vote pnm an just dip they middle finger in the ink. no matter wat pnm do go still win, the supporters go still vote for dem.
Ent ancil rojeh just befor the 2015 election sat down with rowlee and say they go vote out kamla and now he want to bite the hand dat feed him. he prob sell out the people and now wah say pnm go pay the price. not in this lifetime.
100% correct
Gladiator wrote:fatboy slim wrote:screwbash wrote:Roget cautioned that this move “will mark, it has already marked the end of Dr Rowley, if in fact the end of the PNM.
100% correct
Nah boy... this one different. I hearing some staunch PNM people converting
Cooler fete and win 3 car.airuma wrote:Gladiator wrote:fatboy slim wrote:screwbash wrote:Roget cautioned that this move “will mark, it has already marked the end of Dr Rowley, if in fact the end of the PNM.
100% correct
That's now...... there's still two years to rope them back in.
Gladiator wrote:fatboy slim wrote:screwbash wrote:Roget cautioned that this move “will mark, it has already marked the end of Dr Rowley, if in fact the end of the PNM.
100% correct
screwbash wrote:yuh aint hear petrotin wukers want the same deal that caroni get. rowlee go gee dem land as part ah dey package in some marginal area and money too. dey go forgive him and vote dem back. is only indian who duz hold a life long grudge and ah ' ah go do fuh yuh' mentality and den run an open a next party like ramesh, makela,hulsie,duckandrun and others.