What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Re: What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Postby nervewrecker » August 8th, 2018, 3:36 pm

DF1_2nR wrote:Looking for recommendations to supply/install/service a multi-split system. Anybody could refer reliable company?

Checked Peake already, looking for alternatives as well.
Alright, cant seem to get mt hands on any.
Doesnt seem like suppliers have in stock.
Can try atlantic air. I dont deal with them so maybe its best if you call and talk to them.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 8th, 2018, 7:42 pm

nervewrecker wrote:I actually very busy these days.

Handling a set of ice machines for a company right now. They were poorly maintained.

Inbox me a number and I will give you a call tomorrow when I get some free time.
St marys moruga btw?

Will post a pic of my hole drilling skills soon.

Aye yuh doing ice machines now daz my business too, we guh fight!!! Lemme know if you stocking parts eh, advance over doing it with prices now man

Btw i got tru with the freezer, mecal fab used one of these digital def timers in a rain heavy area and it was sticking, i replaced it with an analog and we inna gear again

Failed unit

IMG_1794.JPG

Postby nervewrecker » August 8th, 2018, 8:09 pm

I doing what a man ask.

Man have a business, buy a heap of cold wall oce box. None have thermostat.
One had a bbq in it, some dont even have proper refrigerant pressures (I put in some line piercing valves).
Then he buy some 3 phase machines. I have to get those on stream.
Then I am like wdmc cuz machines have no condenser. Men take an ac condenser and fan, route lines and attach said condenser to machine. Fan hook up direct too eh, so it always running.
Wouldn't even call the companies name that do these things. One does brag that for him to even come is $1500.00. I wanna meet him face to face a day and ask him if that is what he taking people money to do.

Too much fight down in ac.
An assoicate call me. He get a call about a 5 tonne not working. Went to investigate.
They said unit running and no cooling.
Men stole the copper lines. So condenser open and running so awhile now. Sahara sand maybe get in, all thr oil pump out. Condenser on top roof so you have to route the lines up and then down so all the oil dont go straight into the evap and settle there. One line cut right on the valve so you cant weld there, have to replace thay valve. Have to add back oil, weld with nitrogen in the system so it dont dirty the lines inside, put on a drier to take out all foreign objects (like sand), cut into wall to access lines, weld there, use all necessary elbows on the suction line, pressure test, vacume and charge.
5 tonne in money.
Man say he get someone to do it for $800.00. What kinda job you feel he get for $800.00? Thats barely material cost.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 8th, 2018, 9:12 pm

The kind of work i does really see sometimes does have me wondering also ...last week i noticed copper lines with steel epoxy to stop leaks and a radiator fan bridged off the 12v on the control board to work as a condenser fan.

Postby rspann » August 8th, 2018, 9:30 pm

That job sounding like my neighbor husband. That's the kind of work he does. But what you expect from a man who breed a mad woman. Six times!.

Postby rspann » August 8th, 2018, 9:31 pm

Nerve, you now give me the solution. The roof.

Postby nervewrecker » August 8th, 2018, 10:52 pm

rspann wrote:Nerve, you now give me the solution. The roof.
But I thought you know this.

Hopefully by the time you ready I have something better.

Like I said, have some Assoicates. We planning something. No promises yet but its a game changer.

Postby rspann » August 8th, 2018, 10:58 pm

When the building is closer to completion, I'll get in touch.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 8th, 2018, 11:11 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Then he buy some 3 phase machines. I have to get those on stream.

It have some 3 phase ice machines from hoshizaki i work on... Those control boards are sensitive as hell to voltage fluctuations with little protection, get the owner to install a line conditioner if his place has a generator that cycles on regularly or prone to voltage dips.

Postby nervewrecker » August 8th, 2018, 11:22 pm

Have one of that to troubleshoot right now.

3 long beeps on start up.

Urghhh, I actually have to work for my money here. Grrr

No rush spann. Is just some tid bits I have to get in an order with these new ones, but time. I trying to make some spare time.

nick639v2

What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Postby nick639v2 » August 9th, 2018, 12:08 am

nervewrecker wrote:Have one of that to troubleshoot right now.

3 long beeps on start up.

Urghhh, I actually have to work for my money here. Grrr

No rush spann. Is just some tid bits I have to get in an order with these new ones, but time. I trying to make some spare time.

If u getting problems troubleshooting or wanna cut down on time pm me or WhatsApp i could suggest where to start, they are fickle beyotches.

3 beep is freeze cycle error

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 13th, 2018, 5:36 pm

These new AC sucks yes.

Some days on 30c its freezing and other days its hot as hell on 25

Its almost as if there isn't even a thermostat, I asked 2 people with different brands one with Daikin and they have the exact same issues they say this is how newer AC units work. Maybe thats why new AC units are so cheap now?

Postby RedVEVO » August 13th, 2018, 5:38 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:These new AC sucks yes.

Some days on 30c its freezing and other days its hot as hell on 25

Its almost as if there isn't even a thermostat, I asked 2 people with different brands one with Daikin and they have the exact same issues they say this is how newer AC units work. Maybe thats why new AC units are so cheap now?

You still with this AC tingy ?

Postby nervewrecker » August 13th, 2018, 5:38 pm

Ed, just a question. How low from the cieling is it?

Postby maj. tom » August 13th, 2018, 5:41 pm

Use the dry mode to reduce the humidity in the room on very hot days. You want it to get down to about 50% before you switch to cool mode. High humidity means you feel warmer, even though cool air is circulating. Dry mode is quite useful in our climate, and can save you a lot of energy if used properly.

And don't expect a $2000 unit to have the programming and energy efficiency like a $5k to 9k smart inverter unit.

Postby RedVEVO » August 13th, 2018, 5:43 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Ed, just a question. How low from the cieling is it?

It's how high from the ceiling ..

ED have old cleotex ceiling ( see photo ) and it looks like it have lead paint from 1933.

Postby nervewrecker » August 13th, 2018, 5:46 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

ED have old cleotex ceiling ( see photo ) and it looks like it have lead paint from 1933.
No, how low.

Postby RedVEVO » August 13th, 2018, 5:47 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

No, how low.

Hot air rises ..

Postby nervewrecker » August 13th, 2018, 5:47 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

No, how low.

Hot air rises ..
And it pulls air from the top..
Needs to be at least 6" from the cieling.

Postby RedVEVO » August 13th, 2018, 5:57 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

No, how low.

Hot air rises ..

Good luck trying to explain that to ED :roll:

ED to measure it might be 2 - 3 inches even standing on his bicycle.

Actually a lot of companies lower the ceiling to get AC more efficient .

Postby nervewrecker » August 13th, 2018, 6:10 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

No, how low.

Hot air rises ..

Actually if its less than 6" iirc no warranty.

So do let me know who these companies are.

When it so close to the ceiling the cover cant open much less come off. How they intend to service that?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 13th, 2018, 6:36 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

No, how low.

The AC is pretty high up the ceiling is 10 feet high and the AC is 1 and a half feet from the ceiling

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 13th, 2018, 6:37 pm

maj. tom wrote:Use the dry mode to reduce the humidity in the room on very hot days. You want it to get down to about 50% before you switch to cool mode. High humidity means you feel warmer, even though cool air is circulating. Dry mode is quite useful in our climate, and can save you a lot of energy if used properly.

And don't expect a $2000 unit to have the programming and energy efficiency like a $5k to 9k smart inverter unit.

ok will try it, this AC is a bit oversized for this room aswell so you are right the dry mode should remove more humidity.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 13th, 2018, 6:38 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

No, how low.

Hot air rises ..

Actually if its less than 6" iirc no warranty.

So do let me know who these companies are.

When it so close to the ceiling the cover cant open much less come off. How they intend to service that?

The pic might be a lil deceptive but its 1 and a half feet from the ceiling. Same place the old one was but it definitely doesn't work as accurate as the older unit I had

Postby nervewrecker » August 13th, 2018, 6:42 pm

And when you getting these temp swings, whats the ambient temp like?
Usually when outside is hot you find yourself setting it lower. I too have found myself setting mine to almost 24 degrees when place is hot. You have heat coming in via radiation from the walls.
When ambient temp is low you will find 28 will feel like 24. Less work on the system to do the same job. Hence mine almost always on 28 degrees..

Classic example is in your car. You may have the ac set cold when in the hot sun. But when its rainy ac not only more efficient but its less heat load.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 13th, 2018, 6:46 pm

nervewrecker wrote:And when you getting these temp swings, whats the ambient temp like?
Usually when outside is hot you find yourself setting it lower. I too have found myself setting mine to almost 24 degrees when place is hot. You have heat coming in via radiation from the walls.
When ambient temp is low you will find 28 will feel like 24. Less work on the system to do the same job. Hence mine almost always on 28 degrees..

Classic example is in your car. You may have the ac set cold when in the hot sun. But when its rainy ac not only more efficient but its less heat load.

I know when I get these temp swings the ambient temp is either pretty high or cold. So you right ambient temp could also be at play here plus the humidity since its an oversized unit in a small room. I find the dry mode works good to remove the humidity and overall feeling of comfort. It could also be that my body had adjusted to the old unit and its readjusting to the new one aswell.

Postby rspann » August 13th, 2018, 7:25 pm

ED,I pass by you to see how the new AC working, but like you wasn't home.

Postby nervewrecker » August 13th, 2018, 7:30 pm

rspann wrote:ED,I pass by you to see how the new AC working, but like you wasn't home.
Lime by him oh wah?

Ah dey yunno

Postby rspann » August 13th, 2018, 7:34 pm

He peep by the window and play he not home. I thought I woulda at least get some coconut water.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 13th, 2018, 8:32 pm

If you come by me you could get to meet my UNC neighbor and if that is not your cup of tea I also have a PNM neighbor.

The PNM neighbor has a Panasonic AC and the UNC neighbor has a Delta AC

In any event its a shame they don't sell Panasonic AC downhere anymore. I remember Standards used to sell them years ago, but you couldn't even get parts for it. All these Gree sticker brands come like B14 any part fitting in anything. Where as Panasonic come like civic, nothing fits in anything.