New Commissioner of Police (CoP) appointed, Gary Griffith

Re: No New CoP ? Dulachan Ditched

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 23rd, 2018, 4:57 am

Kenny was a good one and he threw in the towel due to incompetence from his pairs...hopefully Gary can weather the storm.....hopefully he doh end up like Gibbs and Ewatski(no assistance)..

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 23rd, 2018, 5:05 am

Postby RedVEVO » July 23rd, 2018, 5:10 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/local/cops-reject-griffith/article_6496cbb4-8e1b-11e8-a9ba-3be3ff77e183.html

predictable

" .. Members of the Police Service have begun praying that Gary Griffith is not the next top cop, says president of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service Social and Welfare Association Insp Michael Seales .. "

Some people are afraid he will do an excellent job ...

Or actually work toward making T&T safe or rid of "pests" and the good boys :wink:

Postby RedVEVO » July 23rd, 2018, 5:17 am

Appoint a Commissioner of Police and clean up the police service. Give further resources to the police to increase the all-time low detection rate. And for heaven’s sake, remove this failed Minister of National Security," Roget said as he addressed the union's 79th annual conference of delegates at Paramount Building on Friday evening.

https://newsday.co.tt/2018/07/21/fire-d ... missioner/

Postby sMASH » July 23rd, 2018, 6:22 am

De Dragon wrote:Let's hope that Gary Griffith gets the support from the TTPS brass to do what he says he's going to do.
Coated for posterity. But at least he familiar enough with the system that he could work it enough compared to his former peers.

Postby SR » July 23rd, 2018, 6:34 am

Yup seales and comp dont want a properly functioning cop.... all drm lazy and corrupt seniors will have to start actually working and cleaning up thier act.

Postby 16 cycles » July 23rd, 2018, 6:58 am

GG has the gift of 'gab'

hope i'm proven wrong and wish him success if he does get the position

Postby sMASH » July 23rd, 2018, 7:24 am

Seriously, there isn't any other option that is better.
At least that I know about.

So blank him, who ur left with? Another lick battam?

snypaz

Postby snypaz » July 23rd, 2018, 7:36 am

Blank him and you'd have to restart the whole thing over. And now with the applicants who weren't applicants applying this time. I say give Gary a chance.

Postby maj. tom » July 23rd, 2018, 8:40 am

Even if they choose a good man who knows how to and wants to make a difference, his hands will be tied by the politicians. Just like Gibbs. This is 3rd world life. We can never escape it unless we do something about voting in the right people.

Postby The_Honourable » July 23rd, 2018, 12:02 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/local/cops-reject-griffith/article_6496cbb4-8e1b-11e8-a9ba-3be3ff77e183.html

predictable

" .. Members of the Police Service have begun praying that Gary Griffith is not the next top cop, says president of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service Social and Welfare Association Insp Michael Seales .. "

Some people are afraid he will do an excellent job ...

Or actually work toward making T&T safe or rid of "pests" and the good boys :wink:

TTPS a lil jumpy... exactly what we want.

Predictable indeed. Seales at the ending of the article spoke about the resistance Gibbs got from the top brass of TTPS which confirms Gibbs was being obstructed back then and Griffith will get the same. I believe Griffith knows all of this before signing up for the job.

Remember Michael Seales also applied for CoP and the PSC screwed him off the list even though he was i believe #3 in the KPMG report where Williams was #2 and Griffith #1. I would not be surprised as Seales didn't get thru, he just want the process quashed than Griffith getting the job even though Griffith scored higher than him.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 23rd, 2018, 12:21 pm

Imo those officers who object to Gary are the ones who have cocoa in the sun..

Gary ftw if you ask me

Postby RedVEVO » July 23rd, 2018, 12:57 pm

16 cycles wrote:GG has the gift of 'gab'

hope i'm proven wrong and wish him success if he does get the position

You are definitely wrong .

GG proved himself already .

Do some research :D

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 23rd, 2018, 12:59 pm

I sure some opposition members quaking as well...nice nice

Postby rspann » July 23rd, 2018, 1:16 pm

After saying the process is flawed and rejecting two of the candidates ,how they going forward to choose a candidate that arose out of the same process?

Postby RedVEVO » July 23rd, 2018, 1:19 pm

The mind of RowLee :

After saying the process is flawed and rejecting two of the candidates ,they going forward to choose a candidate that arose out of the same process

Postby The_Honourable » July 23rd, 2018, 1:24 pm

rspann wrote:After saying the process is flawed and rejecting two of the candidates ,how they going forward to choose a candidate that arose out of the same process?

There are two different processes. KPMG did the recruitment and selection process while the PSC collate and send the recommendations to the President and then to Parliament.

The recruitment and selection process was flawless. It's when the recommended results for CoP and Deputy CoP went to the PSC, they decide to mix up everything and cause the bacchanal we are in now. The first 2 candidates never applied for the job of CoP but Deputy CoP hence the rejection. The 3rd candidate was rejected as it will be same old same old plus he's retiring soon. Griffith was supposed to be the 1st candidate that was supposed to be sent to parliament, now he is the 4th.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » July 23rd, 2018, 1:28 pm

Be careful what you wish for. I would love to see Trinidad cleaned up just as much as any other law abiding citizen but, and it's a BUT....

My opinion is that the underground economy is way larger than our real economy. The police work for the politicians and the politicians work for the local drug barons.
Trinidad is a country of only 1.5 million. There is no way that so many people could have obtained so much wealth legally if you go by what you see people throwing around.

If Gary goes hard our real economy could potentially collapse. Think of how many businesses who employ hundreds/thousands and seem like legit businesses are really just fronts for illegal activity. Think of the banks that help politicians to hide their corrupt money and to launder drug money. We really don't know how deep this thing goes but can Trinidad really handle the truth whatever that truth turns out to be ?

It's all well and good to want some sunlight but suppose what we thought would be a little sunburn turns out to be skin cancer?

Just something to think about.

Postby RedVEVO » July 23rd, 2018, 2:59 pm

Skanky wrote:Be careful what you wish for. I would love to see Trinidad cleaned up just as much as any other law abiding citizen but, and it's a BUT....

My opinion is that the underground economy is way larger than our real economy. The police work for the politicians and the politicians work for the local drug barons.
Trinidad is a country of only 1.5 million. There is no way that so many people could have obtained so much wealth legally if you go by what you see people throwing around.

If Gary goes hard our real economy could potentially collapse. Think of how many businesses who employ hundreds/thousands and seem like legit businesses are really just fronts for illegal activity. Think of the banks that help politicians to hide their corrupt money and to launder drug money. We really don't know how deep this thing goes but can Trinidad really handle the truth whatever that truth turns out to be ?

It's all well and good to want some sunlight but suppose what we thought would be a little sunburn turns out to be skin cancer?

The above is absolute BS squared .

Many people in this country work very hard .

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 23rd, 2018, 4:32 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
Skanky wrote:Be careful what you wish for. I would love to see Trinidad cleaned up just as much as any other law abiding citizen but, and it's a BUT....

The above is absolute BS squared .

Many people in this country work very hard .

I really hope this is sarcasm

Postby The_Honourable » July 23rd, 2018, 5:21 pm

Skanky i hear what you saying and i agree that the underground economy is though to break and may cause an upset, but it is better to take surgery when you have your health still than at the end where you have none and praying that the doctors can help.

The country have cancer and we need some serious chemotherapy.

Postby rspann » July 23rd, 2018, 5:34 pm

When somebody does not know how to amass wealth, the easiest thing is to cop out and accuse those who can ,of gaining wealth by illegal means. There a thousands of legitimate businessmen in this country who obtained their wealth through hard work and diligence.

Re: No New Commissioner of Police (CoP)? 3 down, Griffith next?

Postby The_Honourable » July 23rd, 2018, 5:58 pm

So the talk is that the DCPs are the ones mostly resisting to keep the status quo.
TTPS Org Chart.png
DCP Admin.png
DCP Operations.png
DCP Crime & Support.png

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » July 23rd, 2018, 6:09 pm

This seems to b the "blightest" wok right now ....as candidate get a Lil momentum all kinda skeletons start coming out .....alleged one of the candidates sons get caught in a drug bust

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » July 23rd, 2018, 7:01 pm

What "money" trinis throw about. No one in Trinidad is as wealthy as you believe. Even our largest conglomerates Massy, Ansa etc are nothing to even glimpse at twice outside of the caribbean. The caribbean region is a very poor region. Without oil and gas, trinidad would basically be Haiti. St Vincent sells bananas for fox sake. You need to travel and see what real wealth looks like. lebron James is worth over 2.6 billion tt dollars...let that put things into perspective for you. If he was in Trinidad he is probably one of if not the wealthiest man in the country. In america he is just another athlete.

What drugs? Most drugs pass through colombia or mexico....there is no need for it to pass through trinidad. That is extra logistics and risk taking. The drugs that being passed through trinidad is drugs bought to be repackaged and resold by parties based here, not by any cartel etc. Cartels don't use pirogues to move their drugs. They use shipping containers and shipping companies.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 23rd, 2018, 8:02 pm

Redress10 wrote:

What "money" trinis throw about. No one in Trinidad is as wealthy as you believe. Even our largest conglomerates Massy, Ansa etc are nothing to even glimpse at twice outside of the caribbean. The caribbean region is a very poor region. Without oil and gas, trinidad would basically be Haiti. St Vincent sells bananas for fox sake. You need to travel and see what real wealth looks like. lebron James is worth over 2.6 billion tt dollars...let that put things into perspective for you. If he was in Trinidad he is probably one of if not the wealthiest man in the country. In america he is just another athlete.

What drugs? Most drugs pass through colombia or mexico....there is no need for it to pass through trinidad. That is extra logistics and risk taking. The drugs that being passed through trinidad is drugs bought to be repackaged and resold by parties based here, not by any cartel etc. Cartels don't use pirogues to move their drugs. They use shipping containers and shipping companies.
Darius Figueroa that's you??

Postby De Dragon » July 23rd, 2018, 9:36 pm

So the CoP is to be chosen based on economics? We cannot "afford" to do it again? What is unfortunate about this situation, is that it WILL arise again, the very next time we have to select a CoP, because between now and then, fack all would be done to streamline the process.

Postby The_Honourable » July 24th, 2018, 12:09 am

Top brass beating up :lol:

Police meet over Griffith for CoP today

First Division police from assistant superintendent to deputy commissioner will meet today in an emergency session with president of the Police Social and Welfare Association Insp Michael Seales to discuss the pending appointment of former National Security Minister Gary Griffith as the next Commissioner of Police.

The association will decide on informing government how it feels about Griffith being at the helm of the Police Service.

Sources said the association is not ruling out seeking legal redress if government moves to appoint Griffith.

Yesterday Seales told Newsday his members have advised him not to make any further public statements on Griffith’s appointment, but said there will be three meetings today and he will address the issue by Wednesday.

Source: https://newsday.co.tt/2018/07/23/police ... cop-today/

Postby shogun » July 24th, 2018, 12:20 am

The government will earn a resounding "L" if they pass on Griffith.

Postby RedVEVO » July 24th, 2018, 12:52 am

Gary is the best candidate ..

But he will NOT be selected ..

It's ALL about who is in charge :D