Random vehicle registration numbers from July 2

Postby K74T » June 29th, 2018, 4:13 pm

The Ministry of Works and Transport is adivising that with effect from Monday 2nd July, 2018 vehicle registration numbers will now be assigned to vehicles

on a randomized basis within the latest series.

This new system replaces the issuance of vehicle registration numbers on a sequential basis as previously in place.

As an example, the first new vehicle to register on a given day may receive the registration number PDT 1268 while the next vehicles to register may receive the registration numbers PDT 2225; PDT 4001; and PDT 6756.

Please be advised that this system will be enforced at all licensing offices where vehicle

registration takes place throughout Trinidad and Tobago, and is in keeping with the mandate of the Ministry as it works towards improving all its processes.

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/local/random-vehicle-registration-numbers-from-july/article_d30f3d18-7bd0-11e8-a15d-df7359a66bbb.html

Re: Random vehicle registration numbers from July 2

Postby K74T » June 29th, 2018, 4:14 pm

Postby maj. tom » June 29th, 2018, 4:23 pm

what's the point of this though? I could understand if the 3 letters were also randomized...

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 29th, 2018, 4:28 pm

well, there goes my plans of getting an entire fleet of cars with 666 number plates

Postby hydroep » June 29th, 2018, 4:53 pm

The only thing I can think of is to encourage sales.

I've heard there are people who forgo purchases once a series crosses half way because in their mind getting an early number in a new series means their vehicle will be "newer for longer"...:|

Perhaps this random system will take that factor out of the equation since the consumer cannot reasonably gauge when one series will end and another shall begin.

Postby maj. tom » June 29th, 2018, 5:15 pm

Why would they want to encourage more cars on the road? We don't have enough traffic?

Postby pugboy » June 29th, 2018, 5:19 pm

So allyuh could get 72

Postby j.o.e » June 29th, 2018, 5:19 pm

maj. tom wrote:Why would they want to encourage more cars on the road? We don't have enough traffic?

Using the above argument it’s not increasing the number of cars... person was gonna buy anyway. It’s just flattening out demand instead of having peaks with people speculating series changes

Postby pugboy » June 29th, 2018, 5:20 pm

Reserve “fee” gonna increase

Postby Gem_in_i » June 29th, 2018, 5:51 pm

Random. So all lic offices linked to a system?

Postby goalpost » June 29th, 2018, 6:09 pm

This is a very unnecessary change

Postby pugboy » June 29th, 2018, 6:36 pm

Before they go to a system where the plate is tied directly to a person instead of a car to reduce bobol

Postby skylinechild » June 29th, 2018, 7:19 pm

every few years we have issues where the POS licensing office and sando office gives out the same numbers....in error.

i await to see the outcome of this and how much errors it has.

i would also like to know the move from the sequential numbering to the random numbering.

Postby sMASH » June 29th, 2018, 7:36 pm

how does this affect the price of bodi? no seriously, what i being accomplished by this?
is like announcing that u will start marching with ur left foot instead of ur right foot as u did before...
okay, but okay......

Postby skylinechild » June 29th, 2018, 8:01 pm

sMASH wrote:how does this affect the price of bodi? no seriously, what i being accomplished by this?
is like announcing that u will start marching with ur left foot instead of ur right foot as u did before...
okay, but okay......

bodi prices unaffected ATM bruh.... but i did see penal and debe have cheaper prices.

but to be honest licensing offices have problems issuing sequential numbers.... what gonna happen when they start issuing non sequential numbers. :?:

kstt

Postby kstt » June 29th, 2018, 9:41 pm

How they going to get 72?

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » June 29th, 2018, 9:43 pm

skylinechild wrote:
sMASH wrote:how does this affect the price of bodi? no seriously, what i being accomplished by this?
okay, but okay......

bodi prices unaffected ATM bruh.... but i did see penal and debe have cheaper prices.

but to be honest licensing offices have problems issuing sequential numbers.... what gonna happen when they start issuing non sequential numbers. :?:

Welcome to the third world dump called Trinidad... Enjoy your stay

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 29th, 2018, 9:43 pm

kstt wrote:How they going to get 72?

RANDOM NUMBERS
*in hushed tones*
(with exceptions)

Postby SR » June 29th, 2018, 10:17 pm

Makes no sense when it only applies to 4 digit numbers while the others are still reserved

Postby toyolink » June 30th, 2018, 5:44 pm

We cant get the basics right but yet we want to move on to additional operational head-aches.
This may very well be like putting on deodorant without taking a bath...….What you think will happen?

Postby aaron17 » June 30th, 2018, 5:49 pm

Wait... so they skipping nos for them to get '1' and other low numbers?

Postby rspann » June 30th, 2018, 6:52 pm

When you want a number now, you don't have to wait for it to come up. Say I want a car now, I don't have to wait on 5400 if that's what I want. Makes the bribery system easier.

Postby maj. tom » June 30th, 2018, 7:57 pm

But what's the cult bout getting certain numbers? They make the vehicle worth more on resale or something? How? I really not understanding this system. We really so 3rd world?

Postby rspann » June 30th, 2018, 8:05 pm

I rather random no's that are not so easy to recognize.

Aye, look sunior jammy dey. 72 nah.

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 30th, 2018, 9:31 pm

toyolink wrote:We cant get the basics right but yet we want to move on to additional operational head-aches.
This may very well be like putting on deodorant without taking a bath...….What you think will happen?

so much truth

rspann wrote:When you want a number now, you don't have to wait for it to come up. Say I want a car now, I don't have to wait on 5400 if that's what I want. Makes the bribery system easier.

so I cud get my 666 number plate after all then, good

Postby bluefete » July 1st, 2018, 6:38 am

pugboy wrote:Before they go to a system where the plate is tied directly to a person instead of a car to reduce bobol

THIS!!!!!!!

Postby redmanjp » July 1st, 2018, 1:17 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:
toyolink wrote:We cant get the basics right but yet we want to move on to additional operational head-aches.

so much truth

rspann wrote:When you want a number now, you don't have to wait for it to come up. Say I want a car now, I don't have to wait on 5400 if that's what I want. Makes the bribery system easier.

so I cud get my 666 number plate after all then, good

Yes Satan

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 1st, 2018, 1:22 pm

IMO if you want to reduce the amount of cars on the road you need

A) Reliable Public Transportation

B) Bike lanes and more incentives to promote cycling.

C) Reduce crime so you don't get murdered cycling or traveling to work.

All 3 of the above will never happen in this sh!t hole country

Postby skylinechild » July 1st, 2018, 1:58 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:IMO if you want to reduce the amount of cars on the road you need

A) Reliable Public Transportation

B) Bike lanes and more incentives to promote cycling.

C) Reduce crime so you don't get murdered cycling or traveling to work.

All 3 of the above will never happen in this sh!t hole country

you STILL with this cycling thing...??

forgot to tel u...i saw a man get clear away for riding bike on the highway..
from above his ankle get slice clean off.... so its now a stump.... his own bike did that to him. - regular bike not motor bike.

go ride bike on the highway.... :lol:

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » July 1st, 2018, 2:50 pm

nuff double registration now