Claiming car insurance without person info

yvan300

Claiming car insurance without person info

Postby yvan300 » June 1st, 2018, 6:04 pm

Wanted some advice on the insurance process. Got in a accident about 3 weeks back. This is the first accident I was ever involved in that may need insurance intervention. The guy said he'd organise me and don't bother with the insurance. I didn't take down his insurance info at the scene of the accident but I do have a picture of his DP and number plate.

Now it seems like the guy giving me a run around, pushing back the day he'd pay and trying his best to avoid giving his insurance information. I can't get the insurance information from the police report because he failed to file a report.

What I want to know is if I call the insurance company and provide the name of the person and the car they drive, if they'd provide his policy number for me to make a claim. I recall him saying he's with TATIL.

Also, would I come out better in the end if I actually go through the insurance? Or should I give the person more time to come up with the money. The quote for the repair is 12k parts and labor. How long so would the insurance take to pay this money and would they give the full amount? Or do I have to inflate the cost of the repair to ensure I get enough money after the adjuster knocks down the price. I don't wanna go through the insurance only to end up waiting 4 months to collect a $5000 all the while my car park up.

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Premchand1976

Re: Claiming car insurance without person info

Postby Premchand1976 » June 1st, 2018, 7:49 pm

Firstly, it's illegal to not report an accident.

Secondly, he's gonna run you around from now till the next blue moon with that payment and hope u get fed up and leave him alone OR get frustrated and offer to accept a lesser settlement etc etc.

Get the police involved, let him make his report, go to his insurance and file a claim and let his insurer contact him, get your estimate and view your damage etc.

Go through the entire process to claim from his insurance and when they offer you a settlement figure let him know and see if he is willing to pay that. If he isn't willing or able, take your money from insurer and that's the end of it for you.

If he wishes to not lose his No Claim Discount, he can always repay the claim to his insurer and have his discounts reinstated automatically. If he has third party then he would be better off letting them pay you anyways as the company will not raise a third party premium that high ( 12k ) after paying a claim under a third party policy. They may simply not offer him a renewal when the time comes.

Simple and effective way to handle this .

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » June 1st, 2018, 7:51 pm

9 out of 10 persons that say " lets settle this without insurance " ALWAYS renig on that verbal agreement. ALWAYS

yvan300

Postby yvan300 » June 1st, 2018, 9:33 pm

Premchand1976 wrote:9 out of 10 persons that say " lets settle this without insurance " ALWAYS renig on that verbal agreement. ALWAYS

Boy lesson to learn for everyone. Honestly unless the accident is a real minor scrape don't even bother with trusting this man to fix your car. I could of gone insurance one time and all now I probably getting my settlement and back on the road.

Tomorrow I'd look to call TATIL and check the scene. Anyone could answer on how long insurance does usually take though?

link

Postby link » June 1st, 2018, 9:50 pm

yer got played for a fool , OP
1/ go to Licensing office, PAY & pull a certified copy - u shud get all pertinent details of other driver
2/ go to police station in the jurisdiction for the accident & make a report - better late than never - & tell d police 'he' fool u
3/ take receipt, cert copy & your particulars to YOUR insurance & make a report. If you are full comp...PAY YR EXCESS & GET YOUR CAR REPAIRED - at YOUR insurance's recommended shop...don't wait for another 2 years
4/ go to your lawyer & get a legal notice sent to other driver...VIA HIS INSURANCE COMPANY - yr lawyer wiladv how
good luck..don't let this happen to you again

yvan300

Postby yvan300 » June 1st, 2018, 10:23 pm

link wrote:yer got played for a fool , OP
1/ go to Licensing office, PAY & pull a certified copy - u shud get all pertinent details of other driver
2/ go to police station in the jurisdiction for the accident & make a report - better late than never - & tell d police 'he' fool u
3/ take receipt, cert copy & your particulars to YOUR insurance & make a report. If you are full comp...PAY YR EXCESS & GET YOUR CAR REPAIRED - at YOUR insurance's recommended shop...don't wait for another 2 years
4/ go to your lawyer & get a legal notice sent to other driver...VIA HIS INSURANCE COMPANY - yr lawyer wiladv how
good luck..don't let this happen to you again

Would it be necessary to go licensing office. I have all his information as I took a picture of his drivers license at the scene of the accident.

Also I made a report of the accident on the day it happened, right after in fact. He on the other hand complained of bad chest pains and left to go to the hospital. He said he'd go to the police station after he goes to the hospital. A few days after the accident I visited the station and they said he never filed a report.

In terms of my insurance, I'm under third party so I'm not sure if my insurance would pay anything for me and then get back the money from his insurance. So I think I may be on my own with respect to that.

So yeah in the end I'm hoping that if I approach tatil tomorrow they just allow me to file the claim. Also hoping that this guy doesn't have some kinda bogus insurance. I found it strange that he was so against going through insurance.

Postby RedVEVO » June 1st, 2018, 10:59 pm

How many times people get fool again and again OP .

Follow advice per above .

1. You report the accident to Police .
2. File claim with YOUR insurance company .
3. YOUR insurance will get file from Police .
4. Insurance will follow up.
4. MC the other Guy - Chest pain moi arse.

If you need advice PM.

Postby skylinechild » June 1st, 2018, 11:35 pm

OP i have been thru this very recently.

only thanks to tuners spann , premchand1976 and others i got it sorted out.

first things 1st - did you make a report with the police.?

if yes... good.. if not.. you may have some issues, but its not a lost cause.

if you car is fully comprehensive you can take it to your insurance they will liaise with the other insurance companies to find out where hes insured in order for them to pay to fix your car. << no worries here

if your car is third party.
go to L.O pull his certified copy. it has his address on it. ---- you can elect to show up at his home and start acting mad. see how quick money go pop out.- again your choice.

once CC is puled it has some insurance info there you can start.
start calling around to different insurance companies ask for the underwriting dept - tell them you calling to confirm if vehicle plate XXX-XXXX is insured with them.

once you confirm where he is insured go in to them with your estimate for repairs - VAT letter and stuff.
and they will sort you out.

and i quoting this as the truth
Premchand1976 wrote:9 out of 10 persons that say " lets settle this without insurance " ALWAYS renig on that verbal agreement. ALWAYS

Postby RedVEVO » June 2nd, 2018, 2:06 am

skylinechild wrote:OP i have been thru this very recently.

only thanks to tuners spann , premchand1976 and others i got it sorted out.

first things 1st - did you make a report with the police.?

if yes... good.. if not.. you may have some issues, but its not a lost cause.

if you car is fully comprehensive you can take it to your insurance they will liaise with the other insurance companies to find out where hes insured in order for them to pay to fix your car. << no worries here

if your car is third party.
go to L.O pull his certified copy. it has his address on it. ---- you can elect to show up at his home and start acting mad. see how quick money go pop out.- again your choice.

once CC is puled it has some insurance info there you can start.
start calling around to different insurance companies ask for the underwriting dept - tell them you calling to confirm if vehicle plate XXX-XXXX is insured with them.

once you confirm where he is insured go in to them with your estimate for repairs - VAT letter and stuff.
and they will sort you out.

and i quoting this as the truth

Sky Boy all that talk about going to man/woman house etc., is nonsense .

OP, allow the Insurance company to handle this issue after the Police report is made.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » June 2nd, 2018, 8:19 am

If the guy has bogus insurance, surely after you make the police report he gonna settle asap. Have the police themselves call him whilst u at the station, and they will handle him from there. Once it's a straightforward case of who's right and who's wrong....within 2 weeks u can get your cheque .

Don't fall for the second round promises of " I go handle yuh direct, doh bother to go thru insurance ".

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 2nd, 2018, 9:34 am

OP are you fully comp? Lots of insurance companies not doing any running around for customers anymore. Never trust private arrangements and even if you make one do it in writing. What station you dealing with tho

Postby Gem_in_i » June 2nd, 2018, 3:04 pm

A co worker was in an accident and police came on the scene. He said that Police said they just take the report, it is the Insurance companies who are the ones who determine who was in the right or wrong.
Is this true? I always thought the Police determined that.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » June 2nd, 2018, 4:01 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:A co worker was in an accident and police came on the scene. He said that Police said they just take the report, it is the Insurance companies who are the ones who determine who was in the right or wrong.

Gemi babes you have a lot to learn. PM me your # and I will fill in the blanks for you. Do it now, this is serious stuff.

Best regards,
Randolph

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 2nd, 2018, 4:04 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:A co worker was in an accident and police came on the scene. He said that Police said they just take the report, it is the Insurance companies who are the ones who determine who was in the right or wrong.
Wrong. All accidents are coded by the police and its during that process the errant party is determined.

Postby Gem_in_i » June 2nd, 2018, 6:35 pm

What you mean coded?
I think it was Penal police telling him that.

Postby RedVEVO » June 3rd, 2018, 1:51 am

randolphinshan wrote:

Gemi babes you have a lot to learn. PM me your # and I will fill in the blanks for you. Do it now, this is serious stuff.

Best regards,
Randolph

Shoot some blanks .

Report back to Headquarters .

Postby matr1x » June 3rd, 2018, 8:02 am

I always go through insurance. That is why you paying the premium

Postby tr1ad » June 3rd, 2018, 3:28 pm

Make report at station, then at insurance ... Simple process...

Even if other party make a "promise" to sort I still go to the station as a backup

Postby RedVEVO » June 3rd, 2018, 3:29 pm

tr1ad wrote:Make report at station, then at insurance ... Simple process...

Even if other party make a "promise" to sort I still go to the station as a backup

Yes .

It is sooooo simple :!:

Backup for computer not for car bounce .

Postby sMASH » June 3rd, 2018, 7:11 pm

make ur report to the station, go to ur insurance and let them guide u further. the insurcance companies supposed to be able to talk to each other to find out the guy.

i got into an accident last year. going down the road and a guy parked up on my side opened his door to come out, and i slammed into it. luckily it impacted just on the outside of the indicator, but clipped the stance rims, which drove it into the fender, and my stance tire made a quarter circle dent in the bottom of his door. his whole car wring up, glass in the door mash up.. was an old hyundia excel or sumting, PAZ.
ole boy tell me why i driving so fast. me eh say nutten.
went made the report, exchanged info, and numbers. police say, u aint watch to see if the way clear to open the door.
one ting, from the last accident, my insurance girl tell me to not assume liability. they will take the reports, and sort out the issue.

went to insurance, they made the letter to take to the guy's insurance. went by them, filed every thing. i told them i wanted the car back on the road, if they would be willing to take pics of the damage and i can get it fixed.. they agreed, and also viewed the car personally.

got the car back on the road, took a month and a half of checking them to get the monies for the claim, cause every time i go, some one new handling the file.

met back the ole boy at the gas station, he telling me 'i thought u was to call meh' i tell him i done drop in the documents, and getting sorted out.

i had a small fender bender with another ole boy many years ago, and i feel sorry for him cause he driving an old corrola that needed some care. i tell him less than the estimate to repairs, cause i feeling sorry for him. and hand to hound him down for my money. and still didnt even get all i told the fella. bad ting was, he was living in the hills around in vistabella/victoria.. a very posh area. and had apartments and ting.

that ole boy made it bad for any body else after. anytime after, is documents, police report, insurance... fleck u and ur sad story. if u not cooperating, is pics of u/car, and police report of hit and run.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 3rd, 2018, 11:50 pm

Not everybody can report an incident to the police for example I knew a guy who used to drive without insurance he got in an accident and had to hope the other guy would fix his car but it never happened.

If you have a fake insurance or no insurance then there is no point in reporting anything to the police as its better to tell the person you will "handle them" and hope they don't call the police.

BTW if the bill is $12K to fix your car then you never getting that money, you already got scammed.

Postby tr1ad » June 4th, 2018, 2:50 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Not everybody can report an incident to the police for example I knew a guy who used to drive without insurance he got in an accident and had to hope the other guy would fix his car but it never happened.

If you have a fake insurance or no insurance then there is no point in reporting anything to the police as its better to tell the person you will "handle them" and hope they don't call the police.

BTW if the bill is $12K to fix your car then you never getting that money, you already got scammed.

teef from teef does make god laugh

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » September 4th, 2018, 9:29 pm

So guys... My vehicle got into an accident, I am right according to police. I sent in a claim but I am getting a sale for the vehicle... Could I sell the vehicle before I get a reply from the insurance? Or does insurance have to check the vehicle?

Postby ronsin1 » September 5th, 2018, 6:40 am

Jade_Inc. wrote:So guys... My vehicle got into an accident, I am right according to police. I sent in a claim but I am getting a sale for the vehicle... Could I sell the vehicle before I get a reply from the insurance? Or does insurance have to check the vehicle?
Insurance will have to send an adjuster to check on damages and validate your claim before they make the payment

Postby Chimera » September 5th, 2018, 7:14 am

Premchand1976 wrote:Firstly, it's illegal to not report an accident.

funny thing

i was involved in a small accident a few years ago where it was my fault
i had agree to pay the man $2500 within a few days and not go through insurance but he had insist we go report it still...no problem with me

when we gone freeport station, the officer say "allyuh dotish ah wha, allyuh done agree to settle for cash, why yuh want to waste my time and yours to make a report, gone from here eh"

Postby Chimera » September 5th, 2018, 7:18 am

btw PREMCHAND,
wuz d scene with the excess?

like say a man hit my car while it was parked and he 100% was wrong
and me being fully comp, i just went through tatil and got paid from them, they deducted 5k from the claim because of the excess

i assume they would fight up with the other company to get their money and i suppose to get back my excess?

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » September 5th, 2018, 7:41 am

That's correct. It's a shitty process but it's the way it's always been locally. I disagree with excess on motor policies. Imagine a 1m value vehicle with a 5% excess ? Means 50k in claims are your responsibility or that's what you have to recover from third party insurer if you're not liable.

You will get back your excess when tatil recovers it AND the amount they paid to you as well. Keep at them once every 2 weeks to ensure it's being pursued. There are so many recovery claims nowadays, yours may not be a priority AND should your policy be up for renewal, you can lose your entire No Claim Discount.

Postby sMASH » September 5th, 2018, 10:17 am

At what point in the process do u have to pay the excess.
I got into an accident last year and no mention of excess came up.
Reported to police, reported to my insurer at the time bankers, then taken to the other guy's insurer which was capital.

car fixed up, back on the road after a week. I got my money after a month and a half, The majority of the claim.

Postby Chimera » September 5th, 2018, 11:57 am

So say i was in an accident and i was supposed to be paid 17k vut got 12k cuz of 5k excess. Then 6 months after my car got stolen and again..had ti lose 5k excess. Now i have no.policy with them cuz ...well no car. Can i still find out what going on with my 5k excess from the accident

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » September 5th, 2018, 1:27 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:So say i was in an accident and i was supposed to be paid 17k vut got 12k cuz of 5k excess. Then 6 months after my car got stolen and again..had ti lose 5k excess. Now i have no.policy with them cuz ...well no car. Can i still find out what going on with my 5k excess from the accident
Yes, cause that claim is still open. Remember they have to recover THEIR money together with your excess THEN pay the excess to you.