Taxis still profitable? where?

Bandicoot

Taxis still profitable? where?

Postby Bandicoot » May 23rd, 2018, 11:30 am

I always used to have a plan to buy a car and have someone work it as a taxi. I have family that doing it and they living real good. (We not close, so I can't go to them for advice). But recently I find I am seeing a lot of taxis on the stands for La Horquetta, Arima Old Road... Malabar taxis blowing horn all the time begging for people? Trincity Mall have a long line of people just waiting. Even movietowne I see have cars waiting outside now to catch people. Curepe by the bus route always have a whole street block off with taxis waiting?

Big maxis almost constantly half empty. I leaving for work 10 minutes to 8 because I know it will have 2, 3 maxis blowing their horns by the traffic light waiting.

It seeming to me that it can't have money in taxis still. A lot of people have their own cars and a lot of people have taxis, it seeming. OR is it just my experience in Arima and the popular places on the east-west corridor?

It have areas where people still need taxis?

It have any taxi drivers (PH too) here who comfortable, or it is becoming a real struggle and hustle type situation? My family with taxis living good, but they have day jobs and about 3, 4 on the road, and all their children grown with house already. Plus they start back in the days when transport was ketchass. It making sense now? That is real investment and debt to buy a car and then it can't pay for itself. Then the value going down all the time it on the road, can't even sell it over.

Anybody have any advice/experience with this?

Re: Taxis still profitable? where?

Postby Les Bain » May 23rd, 2018, 1:06 pm

The way things going on with women travelling, I would hope that marketing a sure, secure taxi would make money. I've heard too many stories from females involving sketchy looking P-taxi men pulling up with a carload of stones and looking vex when they decline the lift.

Postby RedVEVO » May 23rd, 2018, 3:35 pm

The "Taxi Plan" working .

Profit is a personal assessment which you measure .

Some may make enough $$ to be happy (Gold) while other will go for $$$$ (Platinum).

Bandicoot

Postby Bandicoot » May 23rd, 2018, 6:16 pm

RedVEVO wrote:^^

Some may make enough $$ to be happy (Gold) while other will go for $$$$ (Platinum).

I measuring profit by either "enough to pay a rent" or "enough to pay off the car loan [approx 30-40k] without me ending up in depth.") I not shooting for platinum right now, just cost of living - food, a cinema show once a month, my internet bill...

Where the taxi plan working for you?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 23rd, 2018, 7:04 pm

^ Taxi has money but it is a serious hustle, tons and tons of people doing it and the P cars will mash you up but there is still a lot of money to be made if you have the belly for it, sometimes you go be in the line when you go in and you new, the fellas will block you to let their padners come in to frustrate you in order to get rid of you this is not something that happens often eh but it does in some cases just be prepared of the possibility of this happening. There is no such thing as where has money which route has money, everywhere has money but it all depends on how much you value your life.

Taxi is one of those business where you sure to get rob at gun point and a good chance of them taking the car aswell and killing you on the spot.

I plan on doing this work in a couple years from now after I resign my current fulltime job

In my case I also have a nice little coconut estate in the making so it won't just be taxi work alone but I will do both and then put down a house on the land to rent out and maybe after that another house to rent. Where I will one day retire from both the Taxi wuk and the coconut wuk. This is how you MUST think, you absolutely have to think about progressing higher and higher when you leave a wuk you must leave with something and have something that is better

Life is a gamble it is about risk vs rewards, I say go for it.

PS For the record it has a sufferer where I work, but he teach me how to save, saddist does buy a $6 pack of burbon biscuit for the day to eat even though he works for $6000 a month, I never seen a grown man torture himself like that but he is a prime example of what sacrifice really means. Laugh all you want at him and people in work also laugh at him but saddist man building his house as we speak and he also has a car on the road where someone works it and brings in money for him everyday.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 23rd, 2018, 7:28 pm

You will end up spending a lot of money in Gas to run the car all day with AC on, you also have the option of running the car Hot with engine off and let the passengers suffer in the hot sun with the car parked still, if you going that route buy a Wagon and make them suffer even more with 0 leg room in the back seat and seat hard like concrete. LOL

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » May 23rd, 2018, 7:38 pm

make sure to install CNG if it is a whole lot of driving.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 23rd, 2018, 8:13 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:make sure to install CNG if it is a whole lot of driving.
Or he could buy a hybrid

Work_to_own

Postby Work_to_own » May 23rd, 2018, 8:22 pm

I've done the work to own business.(hence the profile name ). At one point I had 7 cars on the road. Know how much I have now ? 1. What eh write off, I sell.

It is impossible to find reliable drivers. I've heard all the excuses.

Could probably try giving someone to work uber. At least that way you can see what money he making .

I Uber full time and it is profitable so there should be no problems

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 23rd, 2018, 8:48 pm

I feel 7 seater from Curepe to Chaguanas is much better than the Uber, those guys make a lot

MarlonSam

Postby MarlonSam » May 23rd, 2018, 8:58 pm

Yea....Curepe to Chaguanas taxi stand is very profitable. I know a driver that works that strip and he said that he makes over 8k for the month.....

MarlonSam

Postby MarlonSam » May 23rd, 2018, 9:07 pm

But overall i don't think the taxi business is worth getting into....just too many on the road right now.

Lots of competition.

NR8

Postby NR8 » May 23rd, 2018, 11:54 pm

MarlonSam wrote:Yea....Curepe to Chaguanas taxi stand is very profitable. I know a driver that works that strip and he said that he makes over 8k for the month.....
8k gross or net?

Bandicoot

Postby Bandicoot » May 24th, 2018, 12:10 am

Work_to_own wrote:I've done the work to own business.(hence the profile name ). At one point I had 7 cars on the road. Know how much I have now ? 1. What eh write off, I sell.

Could probably try giving someone to work uber. At least that way you can see what money he making .

I can't even find reliable mechanic.

It real hard to think about trusting people. A lady I know try to help out a Laventille fella who had his taxi badge and he drive it without oil and so much thing went wrong she had to buy engine and transmission and all drama to fix it back.

You used to cover maintenance for the car as well?

Uber profitable enough for a driver and me to profit? From your experience?

Postby eliteauto » May 24th, 2018, 12:11 am

8k huh? Is that a lot for a taxi driver?

Bandicoot

Postby Bandicoot » May 24th, 2018, 12:35 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^
PS For the record it has a sufferer where I work, but he teach me how to save, saddist does buy a $6 pack of burbon biscuit for the day to eat even though he works for $6000 a month, I never seen a grown man torture himself like that but he is a prime example of what sacrifice really means. Laugh all you want at him and people in work also laugh at him but saddist man building his house as we speak and he also has a car on the road where someone works it and brings in money for him everyday.

Lol, I beat him back easy. The pack of burbon biscuit that used to be 50 cents, a dollar kurma and one of the american cola that used to be 1.50. Growing up, I eat half a doubles and save back for later.

I always saving and investing time and money into things, but I real burned now. If I have 10 dollars holding in my hand today, tomorrow is a tornado to blow it away.

Life and people. All I'm seeing now is risk and failure. If you have a house and you building something the sacrifice does be worth it, I want to jump out with a taxi, because I know it working for some people, But I is one of them people that kill priest in a past life. I will have to carry myself, the car and the driver for a bush bath.

When you sacrifice for nothing, repeatedly, you does start to feel like a real ass.

Postby supercharged turbo » May 24th, 2018, 12:39 am

If you want to go the taxi way assuming you running ph,try to organise some trips for hard to reach areas.It have a taxi man down by me who does make a trip for 5 a.m. to drop men from in the area in the Pt.Lisas industry.Its sure money in the morning and evening and depending on the customers,it could go on for years.

Postby RedVEVO » May 24th, 2018, 2:11 am

Bandicoot wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:^^

I measuring profit by either "enough to pay a rent" or "enough to pay off the car loan [approx 30-40k] without me ending up in depth.") I not shooting for platinum right now, just cost of living - food, a cinema show once a month, my internet bill...

Where the taxi plan working for you?

"H" Taxi is NOT a hustle.

It is a serious full time job.

"PH" is different .

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 24th, 2018, 7:45 am

What are the requirements for a Taxi Badge and why so many people choose not to get it?

Do you have to pass a drug test or something?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 24th, 2018, 7:48 am

Buy a boat with 2 250 engine and run the los iros to vene route....all kinda money to be made

Postby j.o.e » May 24th, 2018, 8:42 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:What are the requirements for a Taxi Badge and why so many people choose not to get it?

I believe clean certificate of character is a requirement. Not sure what else they avoiding

Postby pete » May 24th, 2018, 8:48 am

Do they give them to anyone who applies and has clean CofC and medical?

Bandicoot

Postby Bandicoot » May 24th, 2018, 9:02 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Buy a boat with 2 250 engine and run the los iros to vene route....all kinda money to be made

That is what, Siparia to Venezuela smuggling? Always lucrative, but I lacking capital for that. I have small pirogue money at best.

Bandicoot

Postby Bandicoot » May 24th, 2018, 9:15 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:What are the requirements for a Taxi Badge and why so many people choose not to get it?

Police certificate is 1 thing,
    then it also getting like the P licence procedure where you need to sometimes pass some money to bring up a date or to get a "good officer" for your test. Some people don't want the hustle of that - trini people

Also, some people don't want to commit to putting their car in H in case they want to sell it over, because of the implied extra wear and tear on an H car,

or if they have other people in their family who also using the car
    Also, you have regular working people who looking for an extra hustle who don't want to go to their job wherever with an H car because they feeling a way about people making a scene how they working taxi. Teachers, police, army...
    People who don't want it registered for tax reasons. (IDK bout that one)

Plenty reasons. Not just that they on drugs or hiding from police. It have police men charging people for pulling bull whole day, then leaving their work to go in a different area and pull bull. It had a shameless one in Arima didn't even used to go in a different area. Get so much warnings and write-ups and never stop. But he was the definition of DGAF.

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 24th, 2018, 11:49 am

Buy a van and do transports for hardwares/furniture stores etc

Money not as great but you less likely to get held up for damn sure.

Just don't get caught in traffic in bad areas or else they'll steal ya shiet.

Work_to_own

Postby Work_to_own » May 24th, 2018, 12:04 pm

Bandicoot wrote:
Work_to_own wrote:I've done the work to own business.(hence the profile name ). At one point I had 7 cars on the road. Know how much I have now ? 1. What eh write off, I sell.

I can't even find reliable mechanic.

It real hard to think about trusting people. A lady I know try to help out a Laventille fella who had his taxi badge and he drive it without oil and so much thing went wrong she had to buy engine and transmission and all drama to fix it back.

You used to cover maintenance for the car as well?

Uber profitable enough for a driver and me to profit? From your experience?
Depends on what you're looking for. Hit me up on WhatsApp and we can talk better . 3351381

Postby eliteauto » May 24th, 2018, 3:54 pm

Taxi badge requirements include
A medical certificate
A certificate of character
A regulations and driving test

After you get it you're required to renew every three years which requires another medical certificate and certificate of character. If your vehicle is registered H you'll need to be inspected at licensing annually.

Postby sMASH » May 24th, 2018, 4:05 pm

It have realll mens on the road. Everything is hustle...

Seeing more and more womens on the road too.
Try the ph, see how u like it.

Postby RedVEVO » May 24th, 2018, 4:10 pm

sMASH wrote:It have realll mens on the road. Everything is hustle...

Seeing more and more womens on the road too.
Try the ph, see how u like it.

Better to get a "H" and stop the hustle .

Try "H", see how you like it .

Postby bluefete » May 24th, 2018, 6:15 pm

So If you travel with an Uber "P" car and it gets into an accident - are you, the passenger, covered?