zoom rader wrote:That's nothing new. In the UK they charge you 10p a bag. But it's a charge in favour of the environment. Here in trini it's pure greed
redmanjp wrote:But are they selling reusable bags?
sMASH wrote:allyuh could afford to shop at masey stores?
good for allyuh
paid_influencer wrote:massy is a publicly-traded for-profit corporation. the management has a legal responsibility to seek out opportunities to increase profit for shareholders.
zoom rader wrote:paid_influencer wrote:massy is a publicly-traded for-profit corporation. the management has a legal responsibility to seek out opportunities to increase profit for shareholders.
The majority of share holders are 1%,
But xtra foods more expensive than Massy.De Dragon wrote:sMASH wrote:allyuh could afford to shop at masey stores?
good for allyuh
Nahin, only go there when we get company vouchers. Xtra Foods / JTA bizness odderwise.
maj. tom wrote:It was pointed out before that using recycled paper would lead to double/triple bagging and just waste more paper and costs for a big business.
I don't get it. I don't get the nasty attitude this country has toward any sort of environmental initiative. It has to be a big corporation doing it first to set the trend. If your neighbourhood grocery suddenly did this, you would call them all kind of stinkness. Most regular smaller groceries already push paper over plastic bags. They doing this in all other countries, just walk with your own cloth bag. People want to throw fits over it. You don't want to? Then don't go Massy. You feel they care about your boycott? Unbelievable.
Mauby Mami
@notyuhgyal_
I'm not sure if Massy Stores is aware of its target audience. You really feel that the people who can afford to shop at Massy care about paying 50 cents per plastic bag? Really? Lol. K den.
Daran wrote:maj. tom wrote:It was pointed out before that using recycled paper would lead to double/triple bagging and just waste more paper and costs for a big business.
I don't get it. I don't get the nasty attitude this country has toward any sort of environmental initiative. It has to be a big corporation doing it first to set the trend. If your neighbourhood grocery suddenly did this, you would call them all kind of stinkness. Most regular smaller groceries already push paper over plastic bags. They doing this in all other countries, just walk with your own cloth bag. People want to throw fits over it. You don't want to? Then don't go Massy. You feel they care about your boycott? Unbelievable.
I agree 100%
Although, for Massy to truly set a good example, all monies collected from this 0.50 charge should go toward environmental initiatives.
One thing people don't get about this plastic bag issue is that regardless of if you litter or dispose of them properly. When they make it to a handfill, plastic bags in partiular easily escape the dump due to wind and end up in our occeans. I took had to do some work recently near Sea Lots and if you see plastic in back there and in the occean.
nick639v2 wrote:Daran wrote:maj. tom wrote:It was pointed out before that using recycled paper would lead to double/triple bagging and just waste more paper and costs for a big business.
I agree 100%
Although, for Massy to truly set a good example, all monies collected from this 0.50 charge should go toward environmental initiatives.
One thing people don't get about this plastic bag issue is that regardless of if you litter or dispose of them properly. When they make it to a handfill, plastic bags in partiular easily escape the dump due to wind and end up in our occeans. I took had to do some work recently near Sea Lots and if you see plastic in back there and in the occean.
But but it degradable
IMG_0208.JPG