Re: Cost of owning a german shepherd?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 1st, 2018, 6:58 am

rebound wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:nice dog deh nerve...what was the price for him
I paid 3k for mine 12 years ago but, no big expenditure since.

So then its safe to say malinois is the way to go?

No big expenditure, they don't get sick or require vets etc for the most part?

Then I will get a malinois, how much for a puppy who already has his shots etc?

Re: Cost of owning a malinois?

Postby SMc » April 1st, 2018, 9:52 am

Why would you want a dog seeing that once acquired-you don't want to buy the dog proper food, get the dog vaccinated, regular check-ups or treatment if its sick- if its just cause you want something to hug up and call a friend get a forking stuffed toy and done an save everyone a bit of hassle

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 1st, 2018, 10:00 am

Op...pot hound is suited for you

Postby nervewrecker » April 1st, 2018, 10:04 am

The dog eats a tonne of chow, chow not cheap, needs training of some sort because a dog that size (when fully grown) wont be easy to handle, then food when he grows up will be more, vet bills arent cheap and they get sick easy when they small (left some tin food uncovered and flies got into it, he had to be rushed to the vet), needs shots etc.

Pot hound if you cant cope with all that.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 1st, 2018, 10:38 am

Have a stuffed paw patrol dog if you want..

Postby 88sins » April 1st, 2018, 11:01 am

nervewrecker wrote:The dog eats a tonne of chow, chow not cheap, needs training of some sort because a dog that size (when fully grown) wont be easy to handle, then food when he grows up will be more, vet bills arent cheap and they get sick easy when they small (left some tin food uncovered and flies got into it, he had to be rushed to the vet), needs shots etc.

Pot hound if you cant cope with all that.

u forget d most important part. A proper tall fence around the yard. A good Mali will jump a 4'-5' wall like it ain't even there when he motivated. Is 6' of fence & upwards or nuttn guaranteed
Last ting u want is your pretty pointy eared Mali jump d fence & bite somebody, get killed or get stolen.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 1st, 2018, 11:06 am

Well thats a ton of effort for a dog like WTF?

I had a Rott mix with shepherd a few years ago and he NEVER required this kind of maintenance, he ate pet meat and rice everyday and never required shots once he was past puppy. And was only once a day he eat and he lived for 13 years.

so I am not sure if to believe what is posted here about maintenance.....

In any event I go get a cat I feel like he would be cheaper and he might kill out the rats and frogs

Postby rspann » April 1st, 2018, 11:14 am

Ed, anytime I travelling I will drop my shepherd by you. I sometimes don't have anyone to see about her when I'm gone and have to pay a worker . I will bring food ,everything. I not paying you because you will be getting to live out your dreams

rebound

Postby rebound » April 1st, 2018, 11:29 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
rebound wrote:

Its a good tough dog to have....you see there are alot of people (including this forum) who make make it out to be some kind ah big boy thing to own ah pure breed but, i can tell you that my mal got shots at birth by the first owner and i never gave him shots after that.....he then had a 20 by 20 fenced area with a shed and never stayed in the shed rain or shine patroling the perimeter till there is no grass.....I feed him chow once a day and lots of water....thats it.....

But if you pamper the dog all the time, give him shots like hell (which would also have side effects), keep him indoors all the time and feed them non-stop its obvious that it would be expensive..

Postby Redman » April 1st, 2018, 11:30 am

ED...take note.
087c05ecb5117c370a2c9026e8f4a382.jpg

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » April 1st, 2018, 11:38 am

We have 8 or 9 dogs. Can't even keep up. All of them are rescue dogs. You seem to just want the looks of a pure breed dog with the least amount of work to do. All I could say is this post just make me cringe. Don't get in over your head and have an animal there suffering because you can't take care of it properly, please.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 1st, 2018, 12:05 pm

rebound wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
rebound wrote:

Its a good tough dog to have....you see there are alot of people (including this forum) who make make it out to be some kind ah big boy thing to own ah pure breed but, i can tell you that my mal got shots at birth by the first owner and i never gave him shots after that.....he then had a 20 by 20 fenced area with a shed and never stayed in the shed rain or shine patroling the perimeter till there is no grass.....I feed him chow once a day and lots of water....thats it.....

But if you pamper the dog all the time, give him shots like hell (which would also have side effects), keep him indoors all the time and feed them non-stop its obvious that it would be expensive..

Thank god you decided to post on this forum yes, the way them fellas carrying about you would swear owning a Malinois is like owning a kid belonging to the Queen of England.

You are right I had a huge Rot mix with Shepherd and he NEVER required Vet. Only just a couple shots when he was a pup but that was it.

I will get the Malinois, them fellas just trying to prevent me from owning my dream dog. One set ah dotish talk about how you hadda treat an animal like its a prince of some sh!t. We got to this point with millions of years of evolution, but somehow now EVERYTHING requires royal treatment to survive? I have seen abandoned dogs like husky and shepherds live for years homeless until they are rescued. And its not like my dog would even be homeless I go buy him some chow I feel.

How long does the big 50 pound bag of chow last your Malinos?

rebound

Postby rebound » April 1st, 2018, 1:30 pm

About 5 weeks.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 1st, 2018, 1:40 pm

rebound wrote:About 5 weeks.

Thanks

I guess the cost of that bag is probably around $300?

Would rice and pet meat be healthier and cheaper?

rebound

Postby rebound » April 1st, 2018, 1:45 pm

If you have the time thats fine but the chow is more convenient for me...I give him the occasional meat too...but the chow seems to give him a complete diet....(just my thinking, not sure if it makes sense)

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 1st, 2018, 2:08 pm

rebound wrote:If you have the time thats fine but the chow is more convenient for me...I give him the occasional meat too...but the chow seems to give him a complete diet....(just my thinking, not sure if it makes sense)

Yes certainly makes sense.

Thanks for the info!!!

BTW last question, average price so for a malinois puppy?

rebound

Postby rebound » April 1st, 2018, 5:17 pm

Np....i paid 3k for mine...shouldnt be too far from that price now..

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 1st, 2018, 5:33 pm

rebound wrote:Np....i paid 3k for mine...shouldnt be too far from that price now..

Thank you very much my good sir :D

Postby MaxPower » April 1st, 2018, 10:33 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
rebound wrote:

OP listen,

U see when you start with the big expenditure ting, what gonna happen if the dog need surgery or some sort of expensive treatment?? The dog gonna suffer ent?

For heavens sake man, i know some ppl pocket not deep but if you HAF to get a dog, get the lowest maintenance please...infact dont get one na jeezus crice man, its allyuh so does have animals suffering.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » April 1st, 2018, 10:50 pm

mals needs work. if not, it will destroy stuff.

ChristianRD

Postby ChristianRD » April 1st, 2018, 11:41 pm

Curtms wrote:mals needs work. if not, it will destroy stuff.

He doh want to hear that.

At first I thought this thread was an April fools prank, seeing as today is his 8 yr anniversary on the forum, turns out he is a legitimate simpleton.

zoomedic

Postby zoomedic » April 2nd, 2018, 7:57 am

Time to spend with the dog is almost ams important because as the dog grow you will need to nurture it properly
and if neglected it can be a bad thing for both you and the dog

rebound

Postby rebound » April 2nd, 2018, 8:04 am

I dont think the OP was interested in time, he was asking about cost. And thats the experience you should share with the guy.

rebound

Postby rebound » April 2nd, 2018, 8:05 am

My experience was and is still low cost...you are free to share otherwise.

Postby SR » April 3rd, 2018, 6:15 am

I own a mal. You need a fenced yard thats big enough. Mals are highly intelligent and get bored quickly they require a lot of interaction and take training very easily. They will continuously test you. Fur requires brushing at least once a week and they drink a lot of water. Also requires cool places.

kripplerz

Postby kripplerz » April 3rd, 2018, 9:40 am

I’m on my second mal first one got poisoned the current one is about 5 yrs old. Very nice pups. My one is very aggressive they are very energetic dogs. I give him the pro plan lamb and rice and pet rice and meat. They need lot of attention and training otherwise they will b a rell headache. Image

Postby timelapse » April 3rd, 2018, 12:37 pm

ED , how soon do you need a dog?
Do you need a pure bred dog , or do you just want a large shepherdish sized dog?
I bought a shepherd /akita mix from a guy in Couva.He has pups ever so often, and I can check him if you like.
He's full grown now, and eats about $300 worth of chow every month.PM if you interested

Postby 88sins » April 4th, 2018, 9:08 am

timelapse wrote:ED , how soon do you need a dog?
Do you need a pure bred dog , or do you just want a large shepherdish sized dog?
I bought a shepherd /akita mix from a guy in Couva.He has pups ever so often, and I can check him if you like.
He's full grown now, and eats about $300 worth of chow every month.PM if you interested

well lewwe see d fella nah :lol:

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » April 4th, 2018, 11:01 am

kripplerz wrote:I’m on my second mal first one got poisoned the current one is about 5 yrs old. Very nice pups. My one is very aggressive they are very energetic dogs. I give him the pro plan lamb and rice and pet rice and meat. They need lot of attention and training otherwise they will b a rell headache. Image

Wow. Very nice dog

rebound

Postby rebound » April 4th, 2018, 2:22 pm

This is smokey @4 months.
smokey 1.jpg
smokey.jpg