Re: Thwarted Carnival Attack? US/UK advisory, TTPS vid inside

Postby timelapse » February 9th, 2018, 10:12 am

sMASH wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:If police just "do the job", instead of also going in front of a screen to say "aye, we're doing the job", the rest of us could go on appreciating whatever happiness we have.

There's always an Arquillian Battle Cruiser, or a Corillian Death Ray, or an intergalactic plague that is about to wipe out all life on this miserable little planet, and the only way these people can get on with their happy lives is that they DO NOT KNOW ABOUT IT!

yh i agree.
not particularly worried, but the old people panicky here. moving like freaking y2k and armageddon.
Gem_in_i wrote:Scary. What make some of you feel the US will come to help?
we have oil here, and we need liberation

We also mave Muslims here that are victims to the oppression that goes on here.They need liberation as well

Postby sMASH » February 9th, 2018, 10:43 am

sooo, we goin get it good... eeeeekkkk.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » February 9th, 2018, 12:52 pm

tr1ad wrote:
Gem_in_i wrote:Scary. What make some of you feel the US will come to help?

oil, gas, neighbour to Venezuela, neighbour to Suriname/Guyana

Trinidad is only 5131 square kilometers. They once waged war successfully against both Iraq and Afghanistan at the exact same time. Why wouldn't they put resources to squash the only threat of islamic radicalism in the western hemisphere.

Any act of terror is basically aimed at American or Israel. This makes it there "fight".

Like I said, they only need about 500 marines on the ground in tnt to control this country. We have no real assets and wouldn't be able to mount a defense even if we wanted? We don't have any forces trained in guerrilla warfare and we don't even have the land area to wage guerrilla warfare. We have no "jungle" etc. Which makes all of this nonsensical to begin with.

Trinidad and Tobago is a paradise and has no dog in this fight. Why bring that heat here. Idiotssssssssss

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » February 9th, 2018, 12:52 pm

We make CNN again, unfortunately it not for good reasons,

https://www.cnn.com/2018/02/09/americas ... index.html

Postby Chimera » February 9th, 2018, 1:08 pm

imagine a attempt to break out rajaee ali during carnival tuesday

ent 2 weeks ago some police try to get him out of jail under false pretenses? to go to court for a lappe carcass?

Average

Postby Average » February 9th, 2018, 1:09 pm

Carnival-Jailbreak.

Think about it.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » February 9th, 2018, 1:21 pm

#3rdworld

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 9th, 2018, 1:43 pm

Average wrote:Carnival-Jailbreak.

Think about it.

Soca drop for next year?

Postby bluefete » February 9th, 2018, 1:49 pm

I had put a comment in a post a few weeks ago and the mods took it down real fast.

I wonder what they are thinking now!

Also, is it true that someone from Nat Sec alerted one of the suspects to what was coming and that person is now on the run?

Just asking, nah.

TriP

Postby TriP » February 9th, 2018, 2:13 pm

27858041_181456839294781_7386606451845811990_n.jpg

Postby Rainman » February 9th, 2018, 2:25 pm

Towelheads acting up?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 9th, 2018, 5:11 pm

http://www.cnn.com/2018/02/09/politics/ ... index.html

US military helps thwart Trinidad carnival terror attack

(CNN) US troops participated in anti-terror raids Thursday in the Caribbean nation of Trinidad and Tobago helping to capture four "high value targets," two US military officials told CNN.

The officials said US military personnel from US Southern Command, which oversees US military operations in the region, advised and assisted local Trinidadian security forces in apprehending the four extremists who are believed to be part of a network engaged in plotting terror attacks.
The US troops did not participate in any direct combat.
In a news conference Thursday, a Trinidad and Tobago police official, Michael Jackman, said police uncovered a threat to disrupt the Carnival activities and detained "several persons of interest."

The nation's police and defense forces are working together to ensure a safe and secure environment for the Carnival, Jackman said in video provided by CNN affiliate CNC3 Television.

Postby The_Honourable » February 9th, 2018, 5:15 pm

^^^ essentially

US Military: JUMP!

TTPS: how high?

Postby MaxPower » February 9th, 2018, 5:31 pm

#mosssslimpplproblems

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 9th, 2018, 5:32 pm

Still be safe allyuh

Be paranoid and racist. Might just save your life

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 9th, 2018, 5:40 pm

So much for our tourism pitch

Postby MaxPower » February 9th, 2018, 6:02 pm

Hi friends,

You think the majority of the population cares? You think they care if some sheity artist refer to them as third world ppl?

Lets be real...look at the average Narry and Kwesi....u think they affected or even concerned about tourism? They will have that carnival ticket in hand by any and ALL means and all that matters is the jammin and rum. Whether the yankees come down or not, the party will go on. Even if the fete numbers decrease, the promoters will raise the price to keep the profit up and the ppl WILL pay it.

Stop acting concerned T&T.

Postby zoom rader » February 9th, 2018, 6:34 pm

More reasons to ban this carnival nonsense

Postby redmanjp » February 9th, 2018, 8:52 pm

Even if they doh have explosives they can just use vehicles as a weapon just like in Europe

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 9th, 2018, 8:55 pm

So who are the guys they held....?. Heard they are muslims from san juan

jl6106

Postby jl6106 » February 9th, 2018, 9:20 pm

There is a video on WhatsApp circulating with the supposedly Imam of the mosque speaking about the police raid .

Postby rspann » February 9th, 2018, 9:25 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:So who are the guys they held....?. Heard they are muslims from san juan

The police visited the Nur e Islam mosque ,and two residences close by ,accompanied by some white men. According to one Muslim who goes to mosque there. I live one street away and didn't know till yesterday.

TriP

Postby TriP » February 9th, 2018, 9:38 pm

27657542_918018198348123_8592908806783031666_n.jpg

Postby MaxPower » February 9th, 2018, 9:44 pm

Steups

Postby K74T » February 9th, 2018, 9:50 pm

Fyah go bun dem!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 9th, 2018, 11:52 pm

So the us govt knew...international govts knew...but trini govt had no clue.....wda..this govt real clueless......the isis threat has to be dealt with in trinidad...we should not tolerate this nonsense violence jihads...go middle east and fight if u want....leave the govt to mash up we country in peace nah....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 9th, 2018, 11:59 pm

el socorro My son is not a terrorist.Shamoon Mohammed, 69, father of 29-year-old Tariq Mohammed, yesterday called for the release of his son, saying if Tariq is detained throughout the Carnival period, this would amount to a funda­mental abuse of human rights and warrant legal action.Mohammed spoke to the Express at his family home in Mohammed­ville, El Socorro, where he recounted the events that unfolded when police “stormed” their house at 3.30 a.m. on Thursday. Tariq and three other men have been in police custo­dy from Thursday mor­ning, in connection with an alleged plot to disrupt Carnival. Mohammed said he intends to personally write to the Police Complaints Authority (PCA) and the Commissioner of Police (CoP), complaining of the police behaviour and action.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 10th, 2018, 6:07 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:So the us govt knew...international govts knew...but trini govt had no clue.....wda..this govt real clueless......the isis threat has to be dealt with in trinidad...we should not tolerate this nonsense violence jihads...go middle east and fight if u want....leave the govt to mash up we country in peace nah....

our authorities knew....trust me

Postby rspann » February 10th, 2018, 6:22 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:el socorro My son is not a terrorist.Shamoon Mohammed, 69, father of 29-year-old Tariq Mohammed, yesterday called for the release of his son, saying if Tariq is detained throughout the Carnival period, this would amount to a funda­mental abuse of human rights and warrant legal action.Mohammed spoke to the Express at his family home in Mohammed­ville, El Socorro, where he recounted the events that unfolded when police “stormed” their house at 3.30 a.m. on Thursday. Tariq and three other men have been in police custo­dy from Thursday mor­ning, in connection with an alleged plot to disrupt Carnival. Mohammed said he intends to personally write to the Police Complaints Authority (PCA) and the Commissioner of Police (CoP), complaining of the police behaviour and action.

Tariq was also arrested in Saudi Arabia in 2015 for terrorism .

Trinidad Guardian ,Sept 3 . 2015.
Relatives of a 30-year-old student being detained in Saudi Arabia under suspicion of being a terrorist are calling on the Foreign Affairs Ministry for urgent assistance in securing his release. Tariq Shamoon Mohammed, a final year student at the University of Medinah, was detained by Saudi national security officials as he returned to that country on August 21 after vacationing in T&T.

On Monday, Mohammed’s father, Shamoon, wrote to Foreign Affairs Minister Winston Dookeran seeking diplomatic intervention as he claimed his son was being unlawfully detained. The plight comes on the heels of reports of several T&T nationals travelling through Turkey to join foreign fighters supporting the Islamic State of Iraq and Syria (Isis).

In his letter, which was obtained by the T&T Guardian, Trinidad Broadcasting Corporation 106.1 FM radio network host Shamoon Mohammed pleaded his son’s innocence as he said:

“Our son has diligently pursued his course of studies receiving good grades along with his wife, Saudah. He has never left Saudi Arabia to go to any Middle Eastern country during his stay there. He is not involved in any negative activities there. He has been a law-abiding citizen throughout his life.”

Shamoon, of Mohammedville, El Socorro, claimed since his son’s  detention, he and his wife were contacted by representatives of T&T’s Ministry of National Security, who questioned them on their son’s possible terrorism link. “We are unaware of how this misinformation reached our Ministry of National Security. When we saw the photograph of the alleged activist, it was clear it was not our son Tariq.

“It seems some person or agent in Medinah sent information to our Ministry of National Security which is a clear case of mistaken identity and/or misinformation,” Shamoon said. In a brief telephone interview yesterday afternoon, Dookeran said he was yet to receive the letter. “I haven’t seen it but I will check into the issue as I am sure it is being addressed by the permanent secretary,” Dookeran said. 

Contacted yesterday permanent secretary Frances Seignoret said she was in fact in receipt of the letter and that the issue was being urgently addressed. Attached to the request to the ministry was a first hand account of the family’s ongoing experience from Mohammed’s wife Saudah Ali. In her detailed statement on the issue, Ali claimed she and her husband first encountered problems when they arrived in the United Kingdom and attempted to board a connecting flight to their usual intransit in Turkey. 

Ali said she and their 16-month-old son, Sulaimaan, were separated from Mohammed for three hours as he was being questioned by British intelligence officers before they were eventually allowed to catch a later flight. “Tariq told me that they asked him about the Arabic books he had with him which were his university school books and also details of where we lived in Medinah and about his car licence and so on,” Ali said. 

She claimed they were stopped again as soon as they arrived in Turkey. “After a few hours they told Tariq  he could not enter Istanbul, as we were planning on staying there for two nights and then going on to Medinah. They wanted him to go back to London,” Ali said. 

She said after being held back for almost 12 hours they were finially allowed to board a flight to Saudi Arabia. Although the couple thought their woes were over as they never had issues with travelling to and from the country they have called home for over five years, their worst fears were realised as they were greeted by Saudi officials upon arrival.

Ali said their belongings, including a large amount of cash, used to pay the living expenses for the rest of the year were seized and she was separated from her husband and was transported to their apartment. “On arriving at the apartment I could tell that it was searched as things were turned upside down and my laptop and old phones were missing,” she said. 

She claimed that since then she had not been able to see her husband, who was being held at Buraidah Central Prison, and was only able to speak with him over the phone on one brief occasion. “Everyday I continued calling the office asking about him and to talk to him and they told me he was only allowed to talk to me once which he did and so I couldn't speak to him again. 

“Today is day 11 that my husband, Tariq Shamoon Mohammed, has been detained and I still have not been informed as to the reason of his detention. All I have been told thus far is that he is currently under investigation,” she said as she claimed she and her son were virtually under house arrest as they were constantly monitored by Saudi officials. 

She also claimed she and her son were surviving on the goodwill of their neighbours as the family’s money was yet to be returned.

Not the first time.
Last edited by rspann on February 10th, 2018, 6:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 10th, 2018, 6:26 am

Them men staying inside until ash wednesday...they going and visit every single station in the country