The Law and Tinted Vehicles

abducted

Re: The Law and Tinted Vehicles

Postby abducted » February 5th, 2018, 2:54 pm

Why do those black police vehicles have black tint, even the windscreen is completely black, but they have small blue lights flashing, are they hiding from someone?

fallen_angel

Postby fallen_angel » February 5th, 2018, 3:09 pm

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » February 5th, 2018, 4:00 pm

abducted wrote:Why do those black police vehicles have black tint, even the windscreen is completely black, but they have small blue lights flashing, are they hiding from someone?

Same reason them talk on phone while driving, no seat belt while driving, speed through one way roads, and breaking all traffic lights... :fist:

But seriously, I think they have a special exemption or some sheit like that...

Postby sMASH » February 5th, 2018, 5:12 pm

Postby shogun » February 5th, 2018, 5:26 pm

Subjective tint law, yes.

Problem is subjective law is supposed to met by the "reasonable person" standard, which doesn't always apply to our officers.

Trini sweet too bad.

nick639v2

The Law and Tinted Vehicles

Postby nick639v2 » February 5th, 2018, 5:37 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:lux meter i use it at work to determine light suitability in various places,,,,

I also have one.

With 12% tint windows, back and 50% whole front i get Around 50% of the light readings from inside the vehicle in direct sunlight.

With 35% factory tint i get <40% in overcast situations.

So it depends on the situation to get charged as always unless they get some sort of VLT meter with constant light source etc.

Just wind down yuh windows in roadblock na man in case d officer have cataracts

novastar1 wrote:

But all cool because everyone can go to the stadium for cpl finals...

Doh be on meh cricket eh mamoo

Postby MaxPower » February 5th, 2018, 10:24 pm

A good police officer will make ppl wind up their glass and then inspect...and dont try the sunroof tactic either.

Hadda start charging men from a side, too much lawlessness

Postby sMASH » February 6th, 2018, 7:54 am

And what if they're half blind?

I was made to take off my tint in a roadblock, and while doing so I pointed out to one of the young officers that my tint was the same as that on their vehicle... But, they weren't in charge, just following orders

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » February 6th, 2018, 10:20 am

MaxPower wrote:A good police officer will make ppl wind up their glass and then inspect...and dont try the sunroof tactic either.

Lawlessness is a term you can use when there are rigid, clearly defined laws. The law says you can't carry a gun unless otherwise specified by virtue of your profession in the protective services or by holding an F.U.L. There is no uncertainty; if you don't fall under an explicit category, you'll be arrested for possession of an unlicensed and thus, illegal firearm.

How can you define lawlessness based on how an officer feels? Imagine you pass through one roadblock and your OEM installed, Licensing Office-passed privacy glass is OK because Officer A and his wife are on good terms and then you bounce up Officer B in another roadblock 30 minutes later, who caught his wife in the act yesterday and the hornerman happens to drive the same vehicle as you with the same colour. How lenient is he going to be? Are you willing to pay $2,000 times 'x' based on what he says he can't see? 'Ignorantia juris non excusat' - ignorance of the law is no excuse but there shouldn't be ambiguity of the law either.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » February 6th, 2018, 10:36 am

Joshie23 wrote:
MaxPower wrote:A good police officer will make ppl wind up their glass and then inspect...and dont try the sunroof tactic either.

Lawlessness is a term you can use when there are rigid, clearly defined laws. The law says you can't carry a gun unless otherwise specified by virtue of your profession in the protective services or by holding an F.U.L. There is no uncertainty; if you don't fall under an explicit category, you'll be arrested for possession of an unlicensed and thus, illegal firearm.

How can you define lawlessness based on how an officer feels? Imagine you pass through one roadblock and your OEM installed, Licensing Office-passed privacy glass is OK because Officer A and his wife are on good terms and then you bounce up Officer B in another roadblock 30 minutes later, who caught his wife in the act yesterday and the hornerman happens to drive the same vehicle as you with the same colour. How lenient is he going to be? Are you willing to pay $2,000 times 'x' based on what he says he can't see? 'Ignorantia juris non excusat' - ignorance of the law is no excuse but there shouldn't be ambiguity of the law either.

Somebody confer upon this man Silk one time. Finally an educated response. MaxinePower just talking crap as usual, ignore at all cost

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » February 6th, 2018, 3:43 pm

excellent point. the fact that they leave this law under personal interpretation is preposterous. as is, it is more of a way to milk dollars from the general citizenship. if they were serious about presenting changes to the motor vehicle laws they would start from the ground up. even simplistic things like this can be easily rectified by setting specific parameters with individuals must follow. the one i find more of an issue than the tint is those excessively bright headlights and the white indicator lights as well as the idiotically lowered vehicles. there is also the issue of fog lights being illegal when most of the modern vehicles come with these built in and are, again passed in licensing office but when you get on the road with these ignoramus police officers it is an issue

Postby zoom rader » February 6th, 2018, 3:51 pm

Meanwhile murder count is about 63 and the law is concerned about tints.

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 6th, 2018, 5:44 pm

Video relevant to thread

(coarse language warning for the easily offended)

Postby j.o.e » February 6th, 2018, 6:12 pm

I find generally speaking officers are good with 35% ..... it’s not written anywhere but I don’t think I’ve heard a reliable account of some with 35% or lighter getting problems. My tint is way darker than that but if a officer had a problem with it I wouldn’t beat up because I know it’s way darker than the informal acceptable limit.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 6th, 2018, 9:42 pm

j.o.e wrote:I find generally speaking officers are good with 35% ..... it’s not written anywhere but I don’t think I’ve heard a reliable account of some with 35% or lighter getting problems. My tint is way darker than that but if a officer had a problem with it I wouldn’t beat up because I know it’s way darker than the informal acceptable limit.

True talk ... Nuff time i go to tint and i watch the 35% ,steups and do 20% and 12%.

We all know what acceptable but beating up still when we get ketch.. jus like how i had like my hids for the fresh blue light look on meh white car na boi

Postby sMASH » February 7th, 2018, 5:45 am

https://www.change.org/p/ministry-of-tr ... =466603030

Please sign and share...
If enough people think it should be quantified and standardized we will try sumting.

Postby mero » February 7th, 2018, 6:23 am

nick639v2 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:I find generally speaking officers are good with 35% ..... it’s not written anywhere but I don’t think I’ve heard a reliable account of some with 35% or lighter getting problems. My tint is way darker than that but if a officer had a problem with it I wouldn’t beat up because I know it’s way darker than the informal acceptable limit.

True talk ... Nuff time i go to tint and i watch the 35% ,steups and do 20% and 12%.

We all know what acceptable but beating up still when we get ketch.. jus like how i had like my hids for the fresh blue light look on meh white car na boi

True. After I get spare twice from the same police in a week with my 20% down the front and 12% at the back windows, i just cut my front from the usual strip go down and I never get jumbie since. Sides still dark enough.

If I was a police from the time I see that front glass black is instant scrape off or ticket.. Men still trying to pull off g5.. And no, putting on yuh light or winding down the windows when u see don't work anymore

Postby supercharged turbo » February 7th, 2018, 8:12 am

Spoke to a licensing officer yesterday regarding the law with tint and it goes as follows

1-If the vehicle doesn't come with any form of darkened glass(ie only clear glass) and you tint it,you are at the mercy of their discretion.It don't matter what % you put.

2-If the vehicle comes with darkened glass from the factory(ie some fielders and subaru have both rear glass darkened) and you don't add tint anywhere to your car including the windshield,they can't charge you for nothing.

3-If both the rear glasses are darkened and you tint the vehicle,they can charge you for the tint including the darkened glass as well.So essentially it would be $12 000 for a four door vehicle including the windshields and not $8000.

Hope that clears it up a bit

Postby pete » February 7th, 2018, 8:38 am

Like they want people just drive off when they try to stop them..

Postby sMASH » February 7th, 2018, 9:18 am

supercharged turbo wrote:Spoke to a licensing officer yesterday regarding the law with tint and it goes as follows

1-If the vehicle doesn't come with any form of darkened glass(ie only clear glass) and you tint it,you are at the mercy of their discretion.It don't matter what % you put.

2-If the vehicle comes with darkened glass from the factory(ie some fielders and subaru have both rear glass darkened) and you don't add tint anywhere to your car including the windshield,they can't charge you for nothing.

3-If both the rear glasses are darkened and you tint the vehicle,they can charge you for the tint including the darkened glass as well.So essentially it would be $12 000 for a four door vehicle including the windshields and not $8000.

that is the problem

Postby supercharged turbo » February 7th, 2018, 9:20 am

sMASH wrote:
supercharged turbo wrote:Spoke to a licensing officer yesterday regarding the law with tint and it goes as follows

that is the problem
It will always be

Postby sMASH » February 7th, 2018, 9:27 am

i am interested, how would one officer rationalize the waiving of an action on tint, when another would impose some sort of penalty. if its the law, it should be enforced... it cant be sometime-ish.

Postby 88sins » February 7th, 2018, 12:25 pm

You know, the irony of the thing is this
Officers usually recommend not leaving valuables clearly in plain sight in your vehicle as a measure to reduce incidents of theft by ppl breaking into your car.
But if you tint your windows to obscure the vision of the bandits seeing inside your vehicle so they less motivated to steal your car's deck, speakers or whatever else you have in there, if you're stopped you're expected to take ticket & keep quiet.

sMASH wrote:i am interested, how would one officer rationalize the waiving of an action on tint, when another would impose some sort of penalty. if its the law, it should be enforced... it cant be sometime-ish.

says who? lik u eh realize where & what this place is owa?

Postby sMASH » February 9th, 2018, 1:27 pm

https://www.change.org/p/ministry-of-tr ... e_petition

1700 persons so far,,, pls sign and share... lets see how many people want something more modern and definitive

Postby 88sins » February 9th, 2018, 11:51 pm

signed

Postby shogun » February 11th, 2018, 6:20 pm

88sins wrote:signed

Postby Kenjo » February 11th, 2018, 9:36 pm

mero wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:

True. After I get spare twice from the same police in a week with my 20% down the front and 12% at the back windows, i just cut my front from the usual strip go down and I never get jumbie since. Sides still dark enough.

If I was a police from the time I see that front glass black is instant scrape off or ticket.. Men still trying to pull off g5.. And no, putting on yuh light or winding down the windows when u see don't work anymore

When you say 20% down the front do you mean the entire front windscreen ?

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 12th, 2018, 9:03 am

Hi guys, yesterday I was captured by the speed gun during a police exercise for doing 112kmph in a 100kmph zone and recognising my fault immediately, I indicated left and proactively pulled on the shoulder. Upon doing so, I was asked to put the driver's window up and exit the vehicle. When exited, the officer then asked me if I can see through the vehicle. I politely informed the officer that I really can but the vehicle is in a bit of a shade right now (thanks to a tree I was pointing to) and the interior is dark. I told him I only have the car a week now as he can see from the plate number and I put 35% over the darkened glass in the rear only because I wanted to maintain some form of glass integrity in case it shatters. I asked for leniency as he told me I could get a $2,000. Ticket in addition to the $1,000. Speeding ticket but because I was respectful and me pulling aside without having them to prompt me plus being fully cooperative with their requests, they let me go without a huge fine for the tint. I wasn't spared the speeding ticket though because it comes up in a report and all offenders must be made to pay. In addition, their senior officer was present so I had to leave with something. Meanwhile they were asking questions about the car etc lol. Meanwhile some motorists who got stopped and playing rude and disrespectful got tickets for Speeding, tint and cracked windscreen, broken lights etc...

Moral of story and in summary:
1. Pull aside one time if caught.
2. Be polite and respectful at all times.
3. Admit you did wrong and be truthful about your tint as in my case, when you put 35% over darkened glass, it becomes 20% which is an offence.
4. They will send you back on your way asap. Rude offenders got extended waiting time.

Postby zoom rader » February 12th, 2018, 9:51 am

I never once had problems with tints cause I don't have any and could not be bothered to deal with cops.

How ever got a one and only speeding ticket back in 1988 for $150 doing 110.

But I have this tint on my Motorcycle windshield
20180207_154301.jpg

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » February 12th, 2018, 10:19 am

agent007 wrote:Hi guys, yesterday I was captured by the speed gun during a police exercise for doing 112kmph in a 100kmph zone and recognising my fault immediately, I indicated left and proactively pulled on the shoulder. Upon doing so, I was asked to put the driver's window up and exit the vehicle. When exited, the officer then asked me if I can see through the vehicle. I politely informed the officer that I really can but the vehicle is in a bit of a shade right now (thanks to a tree I was pointing to) and the interior is dark. I told him I only have the car a week now as he can see from the plate number and I put 35% over the darkened glass in the rear only because I wanted to maintain some form of glass integrity in case it shatters. I asked for leniency as he told me I could get a $2,000. Ticket in addition to the $1,000. Speeding ticket but because I was respectful and me pulling aside without having them to prompt me plus being fully cooperative with their requests, they let me go without a huge fine for the tint. I wasn't spared the speeding ticket though because it comes up in a report and all offenders must be made to pay. In addition, their senior officer was present so I had to leave with something. Meanwhile they were asking questions about the car etc lol. Meanwhile some motorists who got stopped and playing rude and disrespectful got tickets for Speeding, tint and cracked windscreen, broken lights etc...

Moral of story and in summary:
1. Pull aside one time if caught.
2. Be polite and respectful at all times.
3. Admit you did wrong and be truthful about your tint as in my case, when you put 35% over darkened glass, it becomes 20% which is an offence.
4. They will send you back on your way asap. Rude offenders got extended waiting time.

Where was this?