Restriction of Offensive Weapons in Trinidad

TrinbagoMan

Re: Restriction of Offensive Weapons in Trinidad

Postby TrinbagoMan » August 8th, 2017, 7:54 am

What about if you have a knife is your car. Can you be arrested for that?

Postby 88sins » August 8th, 2017, 8:07 am

TrinbagoMan wrote:What about if you have a knife is your car. Can you be arrested for that?

Short answer, yes
tho the car is private property, the road it's on is a public place.
the law is primarily aimed at preventing persons from taking items that may be used as offensive weapons into public places to avoid said items beig used to cause injury, harm or damage to other persons, whether those items be concealed in other items or within the confines of any means of conveyance, private or otherwise.
keep yuh ting home & yuh have no worries.

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » August 8th, 2017, 8:45 am

TrinbagoMan wrote:What about if you have a knife is your car. Can you be arrested for that?

Short answer, yes
tho the car is private property, the road it's on is a public place.
the law is primarily aimed at preventing persons from taking items that may be used as offensive weapons into public places to avoid said items beig used to cause injury, harm or damage to other persons, whether those items be concealed in other items or within the confines of any means of conveyance, private or otherwise.
keep yuh ting home & yuh have no worries.

What about if i bought a knife, and i carrying it home?

Or i reside between two places, and i carrying the knife from one place to another.?

Postby Redman » August 8th, 2017, 9:10 am

I doubt you will find a situation where you are arrested BECAUSE you have a pocket knife on you.
There will be other factors that the officer will have-legitimate or not.
The knife becomes the excuse to drop a charge

Offensive weapon is a term that puts the onus on the APPLICATION of the tool....a spoon becomes an offensive weapon if used to attack and dig out an eye.

I have a folding knife on me most times- a leatherman multitool OR a folding knife with a screwdriver on it.

The knife has paint stains on it...and visually dirty but well oiled.
All deliberate.

It looks and smells like a tool....not a weapon.

Hard to make a butterfly knife look like a tool.

There are also a plethora of items that are ostensibly bottle openers that are configured to be used as a weapon.

Postby rspann » August 8th, 2017, 12:25 pm

Redman wrote:I doubt you will find a situation where you are arrested BECAUSE you have a pocket knife on you.

Offensive weapon is a term that puts the onus on the APPLICATION of the tool....a spoon becomes an offensive weapon if used to attack and dig out an eye.

I have a folding knife on me most times- a leatherman multitool OR a folding knife with a screwdriver on it.

All deliberate.

There are also a plethora of items that are ostensibly bottle openers that are configured to be used as a weapon.

Correct. I had a pick axe handle to prop up my first gen tailgate glass, got charged for it when I used it to blow out some fellas in Wallerfield .Lawyer explained that it becomes an offensive weapon when you use it as such.

Drea

Postby Drea » August 8th, 2017, 4:07 pm

Do tasers and pepper spray fall under this act, if not can someone quote the legislation which prohibits these?

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » August 8th, 2017, 5:12 pm

Anything that can be used to protect yourself is only illegal if you have it in your possession.

If bandit/rapist have it, it is perfectly legal.

I know this is a thread about Trinidad, but it happens all over, for example Denmark
A 17-year-old girl who was physically and sexually attacked in Sønderborg will herself face charges for using pepper spray to fend off her assailant.
The teenager told police that she was attacked in central Sønderborg on Wednesday at around 10pm by a dark-skinned English-speaking man. She said the man knocked her to the ground and then unbuttoned her pants and attempted to undress her.

The girl was able to save herself from further assault by using pepper spray on the attacker, but now she may be the one who ends up in legal trouble.

“It is illegal to possess and use pepper spray, so she will likely be charged for that,” local police spokesman Knud Kirsten told TV Syd.

And here in Trinidad:
Contacted for comment yesterday, head of communications at the T&T Police Service, Ellen Lewis, said tasers, stun guns and pepper spray were illegal.

She said these prohibited weapons would require changes to the law if their use were to be permitted.

Lewis said pepper spray and like items were noxious substances and if used on persons can result in criminal charges under the Offences Against the Person Act.

Best we do like India and start killing female fetuses.

Postby rollingstock » August 8th, 2017, 5:21 pm

Drea wrote:Do tasers and pepper spray fall under this act, if not can someone quote the legislation which prohibits these?

Several legislations control those.
They are offensive weapons, pepper spray would also be classified a noxious substance and if used a specific charge would be used. They are also restricted items under customs

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » August 8th, 2017, 9:22 pm

I have a new never used butcher knife in my glovebox bout 6 years now. Still in original packaging.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 8th, 2017, 9:51 pm

Drea wrote:Do tasers and pepper spray fall under this act, if not can someone quote the legislation which prohibits these?

Several legislations control those.
They are offensive weapons, pepper spray would also be classified a noxious substance and if used a specific charge would be used. They are also restricted items under customs

Customs easy to bypass. My wife's uncle came down for Carnival this year and bought a pepper spray. He had it in his checked luggage and took it out at the luggage collection and put it on himself before proceeding to Customs. And it made it pass TSA because his luggage was opened for secondary inspection in Fort Lauderdale after check in.

Postby MaxPower » August 8th, 2017, 10:50 pm

TSA dont business if you have pepper spray.

Ever travelled with a camouflage bag out of the US? Its legal in their country and they dont give a rats what customs laws are in T&T.

Postby gastly369 » August 9th, 2017, 7:54 pm

Bruhforce wrote:Im 12 years old my pocketknife is 2 and a half inches long will cops aresst
me i bougth it because we and my 65 year old gramma go i. Town and i got to defend us i gave her one to please answer

Natio wey u have bean miss 2nr ayeeelmao

Postby nervewrecker » August 9th, 2017, 9:08 pm

I got a whatsapp message saying nats is back.
Bodow

Gastly, you in work btw?

Postby rspann » August 9th, 2017, 9:38 pm

Rollingstock is an offensive weapon?

Postby De Dragon » August 9th, 2017, 9:52 pm

Redman wrote:I doubt you will find a situation where you are arrested BECAUSE you have a pocket knife on you.

All deliberate.

Stained up Leatherman Core always in holster on my belt when going to and from work. nexessary piece of work equipment for work.

m@x

Postby m@x » October 7th, 2017, 12:28 pm

Am seeing alot of people on social media e.g facebk, stores etc etc advertising and selling pepper spray an tasers, what i want to know is how are they getting these illegal items into the country

Postby rspann » October 7th, 2017, 12:59 pm

Next thing you might want to know how all the drugs and guns coming in too.

Vandal Savage

Postby Vandal Savage » October 7th, 2017, 2:13 pm

So.....I have a quick question....if on the off chance someone attacks me and I hit them once killing them, if I have no criminal record and no record of military service here or otherwise and no record or martial arts training, can I be charged ? And if so for what exactly??, just curious as I was told that Martial arts trainers can be charged for assault with a deadly weapon, is this true?

Postby rollingstock » October 7th, 2017, 3:18 pm

Boolchit

Postby 88sins » October 8th, 2017, 11:09 am

Vandal Savage wrote:So.....I have a quick question....if on the off chance someone attacks me and I hit them once killing them, if I have no criminal record and no record of military service here or otherwise and no record or martial arts training, can I be charged ? And if so for what exactly??, just curious as I was told that Martial arts trainers can be charged for assault with a deadly weapon, is this true?

thanx for the early Sunday laughs

Vandal Savage

Postby Vandal Savage » October 8th, 2017, 12:40 pm

Vandal Savage wrote:So.....I have a quick question....if on the off chance someone attacks me and I hit them once killing them, if I have no criminal record and no record of military service here or otherwise and no record or martial arts training, can I be charged ? And if so for what exactly??, just curious as I was told that Martial arts trainers can be charged for assault with a deadly weapon, is this true?

thanx for the early Sunday laughs

Anytime, its good that we can still laugh in these stressful times!, seems like everybody so angry these days

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 8th, 2017, 6:37 pm

hate all these big words

What's the bottom line?
What's the absolute biggest blade/pointystabbything I can have concealed on my person legally?

Vandal Savage

Postby Vandal Savage » October 8th, 2017, 7:07 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:hate all these big words

What's the bottom line?
What's the absolute biggest blade/pointystabbything I can have concealed on my person legally?

The way I see it, all kicks aside, is that you should not walk with a blade, not even a razor blade, not even a box cutter,not even long fingernails, Nothing!!!!, Legally you should be able to walk with a less than six inch blade, but if an officer finds that on you you can be detained because after all is said and done it is a weapon, hence the reason why I say walk with nothing, but that is just my opinion, perhaps RS can better advise you.

masterkyle

Postby masterkyle » December 29th, 2017, 9:59 pm

So.. bringing back up this topic. so once i have a normal knife not switch blade type under 3" I can clip on side of my cargo shorts or keep in my car in a box and I good? If police ask me Ill say the way crime going in this country I have to protect myself.

Postby rollingstock » December 29th, 2017, 10:36 pm

You read the other posts on this thread?

Look let me hush yes.

masterkyle

Postby masterkyle » December 29th, 2017, 10:37 pm

rollingstock wrote:You read the other posts on this thread?

Look let me hush yes.
Yea I did but i think I'm good!

Postby rollingstock » December 29th, 2017, 10:43 pm

You're not if that's your reasoning.

masterkyle

Postby masterkyle » December 29th, 2017, 10:54 pm

rollingstock wrote:You're not if that's your reasoning.
Well this country should be like the US where we free to bear arms. Things might be better. Lots of criminals would think twice.

Postby sMASH » December 30th, 2017, 1:16 am

How the country should be and how the police will treat with u when they find that on ur person are different things

Postby rspann » December 30th, 2017, 6:33 am

masterkyle wrote:
rollingstock wrote:You're not if that's your reasoning.
Well this country should be like the US where we free to bear arms. Things might be better. Lots of criminals would think twice.

In Trinidad you have the right to bare arms.