Wtk: any water truck owners/drivers available

Re: Wtk: any water truck owners/drivers available

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 15th, 2017, 1:13 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:We always have water in yhe east since we get out water from wells and not from the dam.
The problem is they arent levaing the mains open long enough to allow the pressure to build up to reach certain areas.

One of the problems is 60% of WASA water is lost due to leaks, this makes it even worse since they can clearly supply everybody 24/7 in the dry season if the leaks were addressed in a timely manner. As it stands WASA is government run and this is the problem the only way to solve this is to privatize it but if they did we would be paying a significant amount of money for a reliable water service.

There is no reason for them to be turning off the water if there were no leaks. Ever since the manning regime run new pipe lines in my area here, we always had a 10 times better water service.

Postby pugboy » May 15th, 2017, 8:13 pm

contrary to most beliefs
many areas are not piped for full on service
they still require a human being to go to a junction in the road and turn valves on/off to divert water to various areas.

for example maraval, water is regularly switched off/on a few times during the week.
However due to leaks, increased usage etc, the first day of switch on may only satisfy users near the valve and only after their tanks etc(second or third day) are full will users further down get proper pressure.
Mind you the pressure in maraval when the water is running is very very high(100psi)

many used to get by with a 800gal tank, now the minimum might be 2000gal

Postby supercharged turbo » May 15th, 2017, 8:22 pm

I feel your pain bro.We had a similar situation in 2015 where we didn't have water for 2 months all because the line got damaged and WASA so dotish,they couldn't find the leak.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 15th, 2017, 9:01 pm

pugboy wrote:contrary to most beliefs
many areas are not piped for full on service
they still require a human being to go to a junction in the road and turn valves on/off to divert water to various areas.

for example maraval, water is regularly switched off/on a few times during the week.
However due to leaks, increased usage etc, the first day of switch on may only satisfy users near the valve and only after their tanks etc(second or third day) are full will users further down get proper pressure.
Mind you the pressure in maraval when the water is running is very very high(100psi)

many used to get by with a 800gal tank, now the minimum might be 2000gal

This!

They still do this in my area.
Even tho where live i have water everyday. A lot of area only get water when they lock off and turn on certian valves.
I tried speaking to the guy who co-ordinates the locking/opening to see ig he can run the water at night for us...he said he will...but like he eh studying ppl

Postby *KRONIK* » May 15th, 2017, 9:04 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:I feel your pain bro.We had a similar situation in 2015 where we didn't have water for 2 months all because the line got damaged and WASA so dotish,they couldn't find the leak.

Also happened to me last year
We didnt get water for 75days because of a damged 4" main. Myself and all the neighbours made reports for weeks and when they did come, they checked the spot (when the valave was turned off) and say they aint see any leak. I made a video, i took pics, and showed to the area manager....nothing. i actually had to beg the water truck driver to ask someone he knows higher up in WASA to have the leak repaired. When it was finally fixed, we got water the same night.

Postby Chimera » May 15th, 2017, 9:21 pm

Lol some fellas in malick steal one of the tools they use to turn on the valve and then they cement the valve so wasa couldnt turn it off. It mus b take wasa a few weeks to organise a crew to break out the cement

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » May 16th, 2017, 6:55 am

bubble pot nah. wasa men jumping out the cracks

Postby *KRONIK* » December 14th, 2017, 4:39 pm

Back on this topic

Postby *KRONIK* » December 14th, 2017, 4:40 pm

Pressure in the east

I need a truckload of water

If anybody know a watertruck driver who willing to drop a few loads grande...pm me or call 708-0101

Postby pugboy » December 14th, 2017, 5:08 pm

Might to use a pickup with 400gal tank

Postby *KRONIK* » December 14th, 2017, 5:29 pm

pugboy wrote:Might to use a pickup with 400gal tank

Our frontier only handles 150 gal comfortably

200gal and it struggles...not with power but with the terrain

Postby adnj » December 14th, 2017, 7:19 pm

Who was it that broke their back window when the water tank collapsed?

I'm in the same situation. Low pressure and WASA isn't delivering.

Postby rspann » December 14th, 2017, 7:52 pm

adnj wrote:Who was it that broke their back window when the water tank collapsed?

Was me. A thousand gallon tank on the back of my flatbed tow truck started to rock when I stopped on Wrightson Rd and burst the back glass and filled the whole cab with water. Had to jump out brisk in the middle of the road . I had it tied down good ,but. The momentum of the water buckled the tank in half.

Postby *KRONIK* » December 14th, 2017, 8:11 pm

Having a similar issue with my IBC.
150 gal is a bit over half of the IBC tank, So wen u pull off or mash brakes..the water keep sloshing around, making the van unsteady.

Postby pugboy » December 14th, 2017, 8:19 pm

nobdoy aint get that on camera ?
a 1000 is pretty tall

btw you know offhand anybody who have suzuki jimney back glass ?
the small 2dr model

rspann wrote:
adnj wrote:Who was it that broke their back window when the water tank collapsed?

Was me. A thousand gallon tank on the back of my flatbed tow truck started to rock when I stopped on Wrightson Rd and burst the back glass and filled the whole cab with water. Had to jump out brisk in the middle of the road . I had it tied down good ,but. The momentum of the water buckled the tank in half.

Postby pugboy » December 14th, 2017, 8:21 pm

need baffles of some sort, firetruck tanks have that
if you use a rotoplastic grey fisherman tank you might be able to make up baffles

*KRONIK* wrote:Having a similar issue with my IBC.
150 gal is a bit over half of the IBC tank, So wen u pull off or mash brakes..the water keep sloshing around, making the van unsteady.

Postby *KRONIK* » December 14th, 2017, 8:22 pm

pugboy wrote:need baffles of some sort, firetruck tanks have that
if you use a rotoplastic grey fisherman tank you might be able to make up baffles

Good idea. But those can cost over 1500.
I paid 200 for my IBC

Postby pugboy » December 14th, 2017, 8:28 pm

a cheap option is to make a tank out of plywood and fiberglass

build plywood box and glass the inside, a couple days work to build the basic box and glass it
then make up baffles and a cover

how much water chickens use per day ?

Postby adnj » December 14th, 2017, 9:21 pm

How far do you carry? A full 250 galllon IBC won't slosh much but it will weigh about 2500 lbs.

Postby *KRONIK* » December 14th, 2017, 10:06 pm

pugboy wrote:a cheap option is to make a tank out of plywood and fiberglass

build plywood box and glass the inside, a couple days work to build the basic box and glass it
then make up baffles and a cover

how much water chickens use per day ?

Chickens use about 250 gal a day.
Thats just for drinking water.
We also need water for washing equipment/ footbaths/ disinfectants etc.
So cater 300-350 gal daily.
Building a tank is not a bad idea either, but no one near me has the material or skill to do that on short notice

Postby *KRONIK* » December 14th, 2017, 10:13 pm

adnj wrote:

How far do you carry? A full 250 galllon IBC won't slosh much but it will weigh about 2500 lbs.

Its actually a short distance.
About 10mins drive
But the road is a gravel road with steep hills so the terrain is difficult to navigate with the load.
The braking downhill becomes dangerous with the load.
I'm using a nissan frontier and tbh i wont really drive with over 1700lbs on the tray.
I have tried 200gal already and its really scary. I wont attempt it again.
A good, comfortable load is 150gal.

Postby sMASH » December 14th, 2017, 10:30 pm

could multiple plastic barrels be a good substitute?

Postby *KRONIK* » December 15th, 2017, 6:19 am

sMASH wrote:could multiple plastic barrels be a good substitute?

Yea.
I have some chlorine containers
45litres each
But i need plenty more to make a good trip

Postby pugboy » December 15th, 2017, 6:43 am

the hydroponics guy here has a variety of drums smaller than the regular 50gal ones so easier to manage

Postby sMASH » December 15th, 2017, 7:07 am

if barrels not being a good size, then if u neeed to use an ibc, u can sacrifice one ibc and cut off the sides. use 2 sides to make an interlocking baffle. from the top, it would look like four cubes

Postby *KRONIK* » December 15th, 2017, 7:08 am

pugboy wrote:the hydroponics guy here has a variety of drums smaller than the regular 50gal ones so easier to manage

Yea
I usually get the chlorine bottles free from uncle garden shop so i may just take some more and use those.
They have covers so i can fill them to the top and prevent the sloshing around.

Postby Ben_spanna » December 15th, 2017, 7:23 am

As customary in Trinidad theres corruption in everything, word around is that a lot of these water trucks are actually owned or managed by Top Wasa officials that purposely delay pipe water supply so that you will need to get water delivered at a cost that fills their personal pockets.

Postby rspann » December 15th, 2017, 7:40 am

Ben Spanna ,you are correct ,but they don't own the trucks they get kick backs .There is one family in Scotts road Penal who is related to the man who turns on the stopcock. Water never comes on schedule . I even had to report them once .

Postby *KRONIK* » December 15th, 2017, 8:19 am

Pressure!
I now get a contact for a truck driver who willing to deliver, but is 800 for 1200gal.

I find that price rel steep

Postby pugboy » December 15th, 2017, 8:41 am

the subcontractor business in wasa is a real big can of worms
I feel it harder to crack than licensing office or urp, many of the contractors are gangsters at the lower level
who have moved from illegitimate business to legitimate business under the guise of "wasa contractor"
and of course there will be many high end bobol contractors doing the bigger jobs

i looked at the plywood aquariums that guys build,
they not using fiber glass
they just build plywood box and use an epoxy paint which seals it off