SR wrote:too many wanna be gated communities being setup around the country
only as a marketing gimmick for sales
always read the fine print with a lawyer before investing as there are loopholes which you may not be able to get out of
there is a proposal being offered wehre i am at present to convert to a gated community however the bottom line is that not everyone is going to invest in additional monthtly payments especially when we all await the enw property tax
as dave said we pay for a gateman and not a security guard
the existing security company that does patrols and paid for by some residents are a joke
the local police station has formerly said they are strapped for resources and rsident should do as much as they can to protect thier property
but
shoot one bandit and the police all up in yuh house to sieze yuh gun and ammunitation and take you down to the station
its nice however to see a bandit mauled by your dogs in yuh yard from time to time though
christopherwilliams2 wrote:x2floor wrote:so Roystonia FTW then?
that too far for me...it look nice though but...too far.
buh dey have it lil crime too eh...
rolandk wrote:christopherwilliams2 wrote:x2floor wrote:so Roystonia FTW then?
that too far for me...it look nice though but...too far.
buh dey have it lil crime too eh...
there was some organized break-ins a while ago where trucks would pull up to your home and empty it while you were at work.
3 members of the group responsible for it has since been shot dead by police and some others are now locked up.
since then, everything is quiet.
not aware of anything else in the area WRT crime.
Based on how the houses were distributed, the development is supposed to have a police and fire officer residing on every street.................not sure if that translated to what it may have been intended.
eliteauto wrote:I don't even think a dog is feasible in the HCL communities as they have a policy against fencing your property, most places just use landscaping to demarcate their boundaries some (in Millennium Park for example) do fences from the house front edge to the rear so the whole front yard, patio etc is exposed
x2floor wrote:I saw this recently, the entrance to Fairways, off Saddle Road, Maraval they have a security guard booth and the gate closes at a specific time maybe around 8-9pm. All those who wish to enter i suppose must have a residents sticker on their vehicle or sumtin so. Coming to think of it, I never heard of any crime from up there and they are right next to La Seiva so Proper Security FTW! All new communities should be like this!! I think Blue Range, Diego Martin is similar to Fairways as well.
Gladiator wrote:"I don't understand why the residents not doing something??? I sure dey ent the 'we like it so' type??"
Well the residents had a very active group going, there were lawyers, tech men, lawmen, financial advisers, ex-police, ex-army a nicely formulated and active group of people with good hearts and willing to fight HCL for the rights of the people in there.
However it just took the gall of one or 2 illiterates to go to HCL and say that the group dont represent them and they dont know anything about any group in there and then the entire thing fell apart...
We had it real organized boy, a maintenance dept, a communication dept, a security dept, a extra events dept etc etc...
We had a yahoo group set up to inform everyone about the happenings and we had regular meetings and I personally used to go house to house in the night after work to distribute fliers about meetings and issues etc.
The last meeting was a serious one to discuss the crime, then we formed neighborhood watch groups. I went out and patrolled 2 nights from 2am to 5am with my jeep, a flashlight, a 3 line and a siren.... I never got any company and got orders from the wifey not to go by myself again and play no superhero....
I do hope we can reform the association we had though......
eliteauto wrote:I don't even think a dog is feasible in the HCL communities as they have a policy against fencing your property, most places just use landscaping to demarcate their boundaries some (in Millennium Park for example) do fences from the house front edge to the rear so the whole front yard, patio etc is exposed
Dave wrote:again u say security, are u sure it is security or a man opening the gate, turning on lights, giving u mail etc?
very few gated communities I have seen actually have a guard
Gladiator wrote:Dave,
The place was advertised as having 24/7 security patrols. They had this in all their newspaper ads and flyers and the sales reps reiterated this many times.
However as you rightfully said they currently claim that they never were to provide security but just someone to open and close the gate.
However from time to time when things get real bad they hired an armed security company with dogs.... but they only had them for a week or so then they vanished.
In addition to all this, we have to pay the salaries of a "security manager", and "2 security personnel" as stated in the audited accounts.... so they taking the money for "security" but not providing any!!!
hustla_ambition101 wrote:that sheit goes on in other gated communites owned by HCL, my aunt and a few others paid cash for their houses in sunrise park some years aback and were still forced to pay maintenance and other fees and still have to cut her own grass etc. The commitee is a joke led by a few fraudsters who cant even afford to pay their monthly installments but they are getting a cut from the fees since their relatives provide some of the services
SR wrote:i doubt
not too long looked at a proposal fto convert a residential area to a gated community with coded automatic gates as well as manned gates and mobile armed patrol
the only way it cn be affordable they need at least 80% participation with a preffered 90% participation
the entire comminity needs to get involved but there are those who wont for either financial or other reasons
eliteauto wrote:Sky, Santa Monica FTMFW, it's one of the communities between Nestle and Arima that I'm interested in along with Valsyn North and Santa Margarita.......... dunno if they have crime issues cause the place is kinda off the radar
Ben_spanna wrote:Expect to see more gated communities soon, many residential areas are now fedup of the current crime wave that seems to be sweeping the nation and are in the process of blocking off their areas to the general public.
Goodwood park, Fairways, Ellerslie......... have all done it already and more and more places see this as the only way forward in order to try and protect their families.
Soon you will not be able to go into Bayshore, Glenco and other roads in MAraval....... watch and see.....