Re: Unemployment Count Thread

Postby Dizzy28 » October 30th, 2017, 10:39 am

ADONI wrote:
ADONI wrote:It use to be Pereira & Company Limited

Reason I asked is I have a former coworker who left here to go Pereira and Co and remained there till today. Will message him and see what going on.

But that market is tight though. Competition is stiff with a fair amount of players for our relatively small size and the biggest consumer (GORTT has significantly lessened their spend)

A co-worker by me, his wife left her job and went Massy Tech Applied Imaging within the last year. She got axed, as they may have
took a last in-first out kind of approach.

That LIFO tough and it also doesn't necessarily allow you to keep your best who may the newest. An IR Attorney last year instructed us that the Industrial Court in a judgement advised that you must use LIFO in retrenchment.

kstt

Postby kstt » November 3rd, 2017, 9:09 am

Postby The_Honourable » November 4th, 2017, 10:53 am

OWTU to fight retrenchment at Unilever

The Oil Field Workers Trade Union says it indents to fight retrenchment at Unilever.

This as union members gathered at the company's champs fleur office claiming sixty workers are on the chopping block.

Postby zoom rader » November 4th, 2017, 4:17 pm

^^^ Waste ah fcuking time they are all covert PNM

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 5th, 2017, 12:52 pm

Do we have any sort of figure as to what percentage of the working population is unemployed?

Anyone care to guess?

Postby hydroep » November 6th, 2017, 10:02 am

Wouldn't be surprised if Rowliar say "My information is 3-4%."

Drea

Postby Drea » November 6th, 2017, 2:23 pm

Very difficult to get that information, not sure what we have a statistical office for I recently checked their website for info on retrenchment and of course nothing much is available. The difficulty with this too is many companies don't report when they send home workers if they doing it stealthily (under 5 per wave) they not required to by law.

Gov't aint know ass from foot, but the numbers are rising sadly. With Christmas coming up we'll see who else giving the axe, I never liked companies who send home workers around this time.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 6th, 2017, 5:31 pm

^^^ Thanks fo the update.

Postby The_Honourable » November 16th, 2017, 12:46 pm

Spy agency sends home 35

The Strategic Services Agency (SSA) yesterday terminated the services of 35 of its employees. In a release, the SSA said it “is advising the national community that in the best interest of the people of Trinidad and Tobago it has been engaged in a staff- restructuring exercise” which will be completed on November 30. The release added that 35 people were yesterday given separation packages in the second phase of the exercise.

Source: http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20171115 ... ds-home-35

Postby SmokeyGTi » November 16th, 2017, 1:27 pm

^^ you would think in the fight against crime, they would need all hands on deck....

kstt

Postby kstt » November 19th, 2017, 10:18 am

^^^clearly poor spies if they didn't see it coming

kstt

Postby kstt » November 22nd, 2017, 9:52 pm

Didn't the government have a moratorium on sending home workers?!!

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20171121 ... reconsider

Postby sMASH » November 22nd, 2017, 9:59 pm

SmokeyGTi wrote:^^ you would think in the fight against crime, they would need all hands on deck....

Didn't they get a big bump in budget, at the expense of of education and health?

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » November 22nd, 2017, 10:12 pm

kstt wrote:Didn't the government have a moratorium on sending home workers?!!

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20171121 ... reconsider

They might spin it and say not "contract workers "

Postby 88sins » November 24th, 2017, 6:50 am

ADONI wrote:

Reason I asked is I have a former coworker who left here to go Pereira and Co and remained there till today. Will message him and see what going on.

But that market is tight though. Competition is stiff with a fair amount of players for our relatively small size and the biggest consumer (GORTT has significantly lessened their spend)

A co-worker by me, his wife left her job and went Massy Tech Applied Imaging within the last year. She got axed, as they may have

That LIFO tough and it also doesn't necessarily allow you to keep your best who may the newest. An IR Attorney last year instructed us that the Industrial Court in a judgement advised that you must use LIFO in retrenchment.

In terms of retrenchment it's always been like that,to safeguard both employees & employer
As per the laws regarding severance packages due to retrenchment, it costs less to pay off a person employed for 2 years with the company, than a person that was there for the last 2 decades. that, & it makes no sense to discharge employees that have the most required experience due to being in their job longer & a few other factors.

But getting laid off nowadays isn't easy. I hope the ppl that were laid off find something soon.

Postby Ted_v2 » November 26th, 2017, 8:37 am

a decent job hard to get, currently i had applied to almost 14 companies, managed to get two interviews in the space of 10 weeks or so. Things hard out here but Best thing is when your unemployed is to get into doing Stuff with trade, plenty money to make. Hell even when your employed get a good hobby and start doing it part time.

Im a mechanic and i occasionally have sidework, not much maybe one every two weeks sometimes once a week, look currrently i going on a job to change a CV at a customer house BC he busy and cant bring the car. Thats a cool coin there.

did front brakes service, rear brakes service, two cradles and alignment for someone. Made a couple hundred in a couple hours. Pressure washed my neighbour yard with a 900$ karcher and made 400$ took me like 5 hours. Once you out here and willing to do something, you could live. Dont be proud.

agent007

Postby agent007 » November 30th, 2017, 11:54 pm

Today I learnt that a major IT company located up north retrenched several employees. I think it was 12 of them. Sad times continue and it’s days before Christmas.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 1st, 2017, 10:26 am

agent007 wrote:Today I learnt that a major IT company located up north retrenched several employees. I think it was 12 of them. Sad times continue and it’s days before Christmas.

Government spend is down on IT services - most major IT companies specialize in providing to GORTT, heck Fujitsu has a position of VP, Government Business. I can't say that it would be unexpected.

Unlike public servants and the public service in general who continue to be kept in employ despite the real economic situation, Government via its Ministries and State Enterprises can easier cut contracts with goods and service providers and you would find unemployment would increase there first.

agent007

Postby agent007 » December 1st, 2017, 10:29 am

Dizzy I see what you did there bro

Drea

Postby Drea » December 1st, 2017, 7:55 pm

ADONI wrote:

In terms of retrenchment it's always been like that,to safeguard both employees & employer
As per the laws regarding severance packages due to retrenchment, it costs less to pay off a person employed for 2 years with the company, than a person that was there for the last 2 decades. that, & it makes no sense to discharge employees that have the most required experience due to being in their job longer & a few other factors.

But getting laid off nowadays isn't easy. I hope the ppl that were laid off find something soon.

Won't say this is a firm rule, although the court may rule in one case that LIFO may have been the best method it is not generalizable across the board. A company must show solid reasoning of why someone was chosen for retrenchment over another worker, LIFO by itself is not enough.

Also the second point will not stand up to the IC, a company cannot justify retrenching someone with less years because its cheaper.

But i'm in agreement things hard and particularly as Christmas coming up...

kstt

Postby kstt » December 6th, 2017, 3:52 pm

FB_IMG_1512588876497.jpg

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » December 6th, 2017, 4:37 pm

Anyone knows how many folks will be going home?

I take it that the closure is immediate which would mean folks are now unemployed for the last month of the year....UGH that's tough.

Postby hydroep » December 6th, 2017, 5:05 pm

And once again workers in the Private Sector bear the brunt of Government's "adjustments"...:|

...just sad oui.

Postby sMASH » December 6th, 2017, 9:04 pm

csf couriers closed their south pick up office... bad thing is, because of that they would loose a lot of south customers.

Postby The_Honourable » January 4th, 2018, 3:51 pm

CWU: Chaos as bmobile stores close

TSTT on Tuesday shut down all nine of its bmobile branches in Trinidad, rendering some staff fearful for their jobs and leaving customers to resort to agents such Lotto outlets which are ill-equipped to serve clients in their billing queries, Communication Workers Union (CWU) secretary-general Clyde Elder said.

“All the TSTT retail stores in Trinidad are closed and it’s chaos. They’ve not properly informed the public nor the union what is happening,” he told reporters at the bmobile outlet on Independence Square, Port of Spain. CWU vice president Joanne Alexander said a nearby agent for bmobile was not accepting bill payments that day.

Elder feared for the fate of 300 TSTT workers. He said while TSTT had promised to re-deploy staff in suitable and comparable positions, in fact some supervisors have got letters demoting them to the post of administrative assistants. “I hope they wouldn’t interfere with their salaries. Think of the demotivation.”

“And we have some people who have got no letters at all,” he said.

“We have persons now being employed in jobs this union knows nothing about. So they’ve created new jobs and had no discussion with the union as to what this job entails, when was the job created, what’s the grade of these jobs, what’s to happen to persons who refuse these jobs.”

He said staff had got a letter of redeployment, with seven days to sign in response.

However he urged staff to sign no document until the union has checked it out.

Elder said workers had received redeployment letters (among other documents).

“They’re are putting this veiled threat to workers, ‘Take it or you’re on the breadline!’.”

He urged TSTT to rescind the redeployment letters.”

Elder accused TSTT of poor industrial relations. “We are not even in a position where we could agree to disagree with the company because we haven’t been given any information.”

He said only in November had TSTT said the closures would occur by now. Contacted for comment, TSTT communications manager Graeme Suite would only say TSTT is addressing the matters raised by the CWU and will share their response soon. He referred Newsday to a TSTT statement of December 27.

This statement stated that the program of Retail and Digital Transformation was designed to give customers access to all of the same services that the now closed flagship stores provided, including both mobile and residential services, while we continue to have 86 full service bmobile partner locations in operation nationwide.

Additionally, they can pay their bills at the over 1,000 convenient and secure bill payment centres in operation, which include banks, Sure Pay dealers and VIA.

The release urged customers to use an online portal called “bTonline” that is easy to use and mobileTphone friendly. “This puts all of their information at their fingertips.

From getting eTbills to making payments, getting receipts, adding all of their mobile and residential accounts in one place and being able to interact with a customer service representative.”

Source: http://newsday.co.tt/2018/01/03/cwu-cha ... res-close/

Miktay

Postby Miktay » January 4th, 2018, 4:02 pm

Iz bout time TSTT tighten they belt...

No mo palancing fuh dem...

Postby skylinechild » January 4th, 2018, 5:42 pm

Miktay wrote:Iz bout time TSTT tighten they belt...

No mo palancing fuh dem...

actually they not doing that..they cutting back costs while wanting to still steal the same amt of $$$.

think about it.... if things hard and profits not as much as they want... but they still want to run racket and take $$$ - the extra money fro them to take hadda come from somewhere

ususally profits is determined from revenue minus expenditures...

for them profits is how much ppl they can not make permanent - ( saving on paying out a good salary plus health benefits / pension plans etc)

hire contractors to do the work - repair telephones - laying / repairing of fibre etc - cutting down on cost ownership of tools equipment and manpower - not have to pay O.T- and other payments as such...

they already cancelled the TSTT dinner last yr.... not a whisper.... but they already advertising fete in promotion with airport authority and woodford cafe.

heres another biggie to blow ur mind... if they closing down retail stores..... why refurbish the ground floor of TSTT house to be a brand spanking new RETAIL store which not even open to the public but already 99% complete??

you build something complete it...not even open it..but yet shut it down ???

sounds like a waste of $$$ to me ...

battosai

Postby battosai » January 9th, 2018, 12:55 pm

25396054_865680133600513_3875009214607260219_n.png

Postby Chimera » January 9th, 2018, 1:05 pm

so what gonna go on with all the staff from those bmobile locations
(sorry i didnt read through previous pages in case this question is already answered)

GOAT

Postby GOAT » January 9th, 2018, 1:33 pm

Anyone know the starting salary and benefits if u get thru as a constable?
Hours and shifts, etc.