Airport Junk Food Restaurants

randolphinshan

Re: Airport Junk Food Restaurants

Postby randolphinshan » November 28th, 2017, 10:51 pm

No need to go Piarco..can't afford air travel so I doh give a flying f@ck.

Unless probaly Judy Kanhai there I might go I find she yummy

Postby RedVEVO » November 29th, 2017, 3:17 am

paid_influencer wrote:I think the food court is p. good actually.

The KFC we have locally is arguably the best in the world.

Royal Castle is great, especially the pepper sauce. I looked forward to getting a Royal Castle box with that pepper sauce any time I got back to trini after a long time away.

And the doubles outside the airport early in the morning. Good memories. thank you RedVivo for bringing them back.

It's RedVEVO 8-)

And the " allo pie " big and tasty .

We need a good Dereck Chin restaurant or a Starbucks in Piarco :D

The Outside Food Court is shameful . The " tent " leaks and very dirty with muck :(

The Trini local people too lazy to even promote or even run their business .

Postby Gem_in_i » November 29th, 2017, 5:01 am

Outside is to much flies if you sitting to eat.
Last time I bought double there abt 2 yrs ago it was $5 for one

Postby SMc » November 29th, 2017, 5:11 am

I have never been- I always wondered what food was there but never bothered to go inside, maybe next time

Paw Patrol

Postby Paw Patrol » November 29th, 2017, 8:56 am

Royal Castle is great, especially the pepper sauce. I looked forward to getting a Royal Castle box with that pepper sauce any time I got back to trini after a long time away.

And the doubles outside the airport early in the morning. Good memories. thank you RedVivo for bringing them back.

wow! Look out Anthony Bourdain this guy may steal your show!

Postby Les Bain » November 29th, 2017, 9:20 am

Looking at the username. Jah boy, what to think?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 29th, 2017, 11:29 am

Redress10 wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:No offence the airport is kinda sh*t, do you expect the food to be any better?

True though the airport is the first and last contact point with the country every effort should be made to introduce and reacquaint the traveller with local cuisine.

To be honest though sometimes I think little to no though went into that airport, it conveys little to nothing about the culture, it seems to be simply a box to recieve and process visitors.

Ammm no...That makes absolutely no business sense. That's what you have airports and guesthouses for.

Travellers/business people are not interested in "local cuisine" when in an airport. That is why most major airports have the same brands/restuarants globally. This is for the visitor to gravitate to something familiar which they most likely would.

A visitor fresh to a country wouldn't gravitate towards local cuisine because of fear of adverse effects such as food poisioning/ allergies and just not knowing what to order.

We need to know how to separate our offerings in this country. Not everything needs to be "localised".

Why not, we have both roti and doubles two food types that are fairly convinient and easy to handle, carry and eat. They could be considered local sandwiches of sorts.

Consider a Gyro or Taco both are wraps with a particular filling, now instead of a pita or a corn taco why not have a place selling sadda roti and tomato choka or salsa. The Subway in the airport already offers wraps so roti is not too far off.

The few times I've seen tourists they have been present at the doubles vendors outside so to say people aren't interested isn't entirely accurate.

Many international airports have food courts that offer a wide rande of food types, Orlando International has several Chinese and Italian fast food outlets so to say that you can't have local cuisine isn't entirely accurate you can have it and you can have a fairly diverse offering at that.

Proper labelling and having a a well displayed menu is key as well as having allegy warnings posted.
'

No one gonna buy any "sada and choka" etc...How are you going to sell/translate that to a tourist. It's not about the food...It's about the brands available. You said "The Subway"...Subway is an international brand. It's easily recognisable etc...The "sub" as a sandwich also have international appeal.

The average tourist doesn't even trust to drink our pipe water. How you going to get them to buy indian/local food that they wouldn't even look at twice at in their own country etc. A taco from taco bell will always be appealing, so will a burger from mcdonald's. A burrito from chipotle would also suffice. These are international brands.

Chinese and Italian food are easily recognisable and people familiar with what is on offer and what it should taste like. Most chinese/italian restaurants offer the same thing basically globally (egg fry rice etc). "Indian" food offered in the UK is extremely different to that offered here at home.

We are a developing country and not many people are familiar with our food etc. If you were to visit Haiti and you were in a food court selling indigenous foods, would you risk your health to "try it out" or would you head towards the mcdonald's, bk or kfc and order a number "4". Remember people also travel with children etc...Do you think the average child wants a "big mac" or "sada roti/pumpking" before the flight?

If you all are advocating for a local alternative for the locals who may be interested then I could agree because variety is always good. If it is just localisation of an international airport then we are fooling ourselves again.

We're not advocating localisation of the airport but better promotion of the local stuff. Another example bake and shark seems to have some international appeal why not try to get a place serving that as a part of their offering and help them to advertise it.

Everything is done with little to no effort its like there is no one trying to do anything. Yes we are a developing country no arguement there but we should at least try to get something going, no one says KFC shouldn't be there but more effort should be placed in at least increasing the exposure of the local food.

For that fact the mere presence of a local food stall/advertised choices might be good advertising.

Even if you only target the locals going and coming still every little helps, an adventurous tourist might be tempted if he/she sees a line/lime by the food stall. That's the kind of experience you need to have if we're serious about tourism and such......

But then again we're not serious about that so.....alright forget what I said.