eliteauto wrote:*KRONIK* wrote:eliteauto wrote:^^^^ I started doing that last year , 2 barrels and a box lasted 10 months
How that working out?
I interested in trying this
Groceries just getting too annoying to purchase recently
bought most of the stuff at bulk food stores/ food co-op, spent around $1600 TT, 2 jumbo barrels and 1 large box paid almost twice that in shipping/customs ( amerijet) so lets say 4500 TT total. For that I got about 9K worth of groceries if bought locally. Bear in mind I not only brought in groceries but some school supplies, food containers and small car parts so factor that into the shipping/duties. I'll be bringing a barrel of food stuff only soon so I'll update on true cost as that happens. IMO it's well worth it as I still have stuff 10 months later
zoomedic wrote:Butter makes you aggressive
It may notbe too good for one's health
And who knows what is in moo milk
Anyhow there many ways to enjoy the benefits of being a vegetarian diet and I am always greatful for all god blessed us in trinidad with
What about hemp milk ??
Or almond milk ?
Dizzy28 wrote:zoomedic wrote:Butter makes you aggressive
It may notbe too good for one's health
And who knows what is in moo milk
Anyhow there many ways to enjoy the benefits of being a vegetarian diet and I am always greatful for all god blessed us in trinidad with
What about hemp milk ??
Or almond milk ?
Yet to see udders on an almond
Dizzy28 wrote:Massy isn't cheap and Massy has most butter and margarines cheaper than Xtra foods albeit by a dollar or two.
Another thing I have noticed is that for the past three weeks there has been an absence of imported veges like Brussel sprouts, bell peppers etc in Massy Pricemart and Xtra foods. When your not eating meat there is only so much baigan and bodi you can tolerate. But I had to tolerate it. B
Redress10 wrote:You eh realise that trinis like to feel accepted.
Drea wrote:^^^^ What he said.
I waiting for December, everybody does forget the struggles come Christmas and piling the shopping cart high! I look back at how my family used to shop for Christmas compared to now and wonder why we used to even bother to waste money. Here's a tip: Stop inviting people home by you... go by them
j.o.e wrote:Trinis like to play elistist and are afraid to look like sufferers. So this works in grocery favour. As prices go up we want to pile our trolleys higher at Christmas to show we reach.
Drea wrote:
Here's a tip: Stop inviting people home by you... go by them
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Redress10 wrote:hydroep wrote:Hot pepper, a single hot pepper is $ 1.50 up from $ 1.00 earlier this year and $ 0.50 last year...and yeah that is part of the "buy local" basket.
Could just imagine what gonna happen to imported products...
Why would import prices increase? The only reason is due to price gouging...There is nothing on the international market that is affecting the price of food right now etc. Let's be smart here. We need to hold our local suppliers to account.
How else will they build their mansions and drive their Range?
Is the Consumer Affairs Division doing anything?
Phone Surgeon wrote:*packs barrel in walmart*
dogg wrote:$52 butter oui.
I was lucky to get some a recently on close to expiry date 2for1. That stock up in the freezer.
Yeah, I know expired butter go kill you.
It go kill you, not me.
*KRONIK* wrote:Phone Surgeon wrote:*packs barrel in walmart*
Pack a barrel fuh me too nah
Phone Surgeon wrote:*KRONIK* wrote:Phone Surgeon wrote:*packs barrel in walmart*
Pack a barrel fuh me too nah
Wha yuh want in yours dey mamoo
hong kong phooey wrote:i know one of the newspapers had done it before, but it would be nice again , do a comparison of the same items in various supermarkets .
I know i save over loads while shopping in pricesmart for items such as Oil , Alcohol, cheese, even a loaf of bread is 50 c cheaper than leading supermarkets.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:hong kong phooey wrote:i know one of the newspapers had done it before, but it would be nice again , do a comparison of the same items in various supermarkets .
I know i save over loads while shopping in pricesmart for items such as Oil , Alcohol, cheese, even a loaf of bread is 50 c cheaper than leading supermarkets.
agreed with pricesmart prices...told you all that the "luxury" supermarkets does buss man head...hawk and spit ftw...I remember spending at least $1600 at xtra foods one month...went to a normal supermarket in Grande the other month, bought the same items and the bill was $1300...![]()
still had enough to go pricesmart after
Pricemart has lost the edge they once held though with regard to buying a number of items. For this past year evaporated milk was cheaper in both Massy and Xtra Foods than buying in PM (and thats by buying 6 packs as opposed to 1/2 case as in PM). Same for aluminium foil, tp and a few other items. Even instant coffee at points in the year was cheaper in Tru Valu. The 18 pack eggs is slightly cheaper than the market however the market's eggs are much bigger.
PM still has use for harder to get imported items such as foreign detergents etc.
skylinechild wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:
Pricemart has lost the edge they once held though with regard to buying a number of items. For this past year evaporated milk was cheaper in both Massy and Xtra Foods than buying in PM (and thats by buying 6 packs as opposed to 1/2 case as in PM). Same for aluminium foil, tp and a few other items. Even instant coffee at points in the year was cheaper in Tru Valu. The 18 pack eggs is slightly cheaper than the market however the market's eggs are much bigger.
PM still has use for harder to get imported items such as foreign detergents etc.
Agreed...PS has lost some of their edge but not alot . they tend to more cater to the persons who can afford to purchase alot of americanized foods.
PS is good for some stuff...basic necessities which can be bought in bulf and stored away. everything else you may need can get chear at different supermarkets
i remember a few yrs ago i went shopping at 2 different groceries and then PS. saved abt 500-600 just by shopping around what i didnt buy in one store due to price i got at another
PS has its uses... for those who want to live d muerican lifestyle....
As the parent to an infant they win on diapers and baby wipes. Pampers brand fits my son best and Pricemart has the best price on those (except the #2 size which I believed Pennywise had cheaper). For those that use Enfamil they also had the cheapest Enfamil pouch replacements however I used to buy these in Bryden by the case.
Dizzy28 wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:hong kong phooey wrote:i know one of the newspapers had done it before, but it would be nice again , do a comparison of the same items in various supermarkets .
agreed with pricesmart prices...told you all that the "luxury" supermarkets does buss man head...hawk and spit ftw...I remember spending at least $1600 at xtra foods one month...went to a normal supermarket in Grande the other month, bought the same items and the bill was $1300...![]()
still had enough to go pricesmart after
Redress10 wrote:Rovin's Audio wrote:groceries can put their prices as they see fit , it simply is up to u as d consumer to buy by them or not or go to more than 1 business place to buy whatever cheaper at whichever place ....
Ammmmm no...That's not how life/economics/society works. A lot of you all have a misguided idea about how a mixed econmy work. We don't live in a free market economy we live in a mixed economy where Government is suppose to be a regulator and monitor and punish any activity that can be considered exploitative etc. They don't. We seem to believe that demand and supply solves everything....It can never.
In developed nations there are anti competitive rules and regulations that seek to eliminate consumer exploitation and abuse. That is how a rationale society works. A business doesn't operate in a vacuum. It can't just set whatever price if wants and the market will regulate it. In Trinidad we don't have an abundance of competitors to really regulate the market through supply and demand. Most businesses in Trinidad collude, banks, supermarkets etc. This is where gov't comes in and regulate accordingly. it's not just demand and supply.
Society is an ecosystem. Businesses receive tax breaks etc and other favourable state goods that allow for profit making. That goodwill is suppose to be passed on to the consumer. For too long we have been fooled with inefficiencies, exploitation and just say that the consumer has all the power when the reality is the prices not different among retailers. Most of our dairy products for instance are of the lowest quality yet we pay above premium price for them. That is exploitation. Plain and simple.
Phone Surgeon wrote:how much it does cost per month in expenses behind a baby?