Bank fraud

Daran

Bank fraud

Postby Daran » October 23rd, 2017, 11:02 am

I won't be naming banks, but this morning a co-worker is telling me her mom just lost 50k from her debit account - in series of transactions over 3 days.

Her mom went into the bank and I guess was mamaguayed by bank reps. Apparently, she got a text a week ago about a new online banking (from her bank), she clicked the link and submitted her credit card number (not debit card) and other info. Seems like a typical phishing scam.

However, the bank is telling her that the missing money from her bank account is due to that (which i find hard to believe since credit accounts are not debit accounts and aren't linked directly). Her money was withdrawn at ATMs in trinidad and several dozen mall ATMs from West Mall to Gulf City sando.

The bank is telling her it's her fault, and she has to report it to the police, get affidavit etc, but basically also told her it's her fault and she's probably will never get back her money.

Now I think that is complete BS. Firstly, I've had skimming issues before (different bank) and at no time was I blamed for this like this bank is doing. Secondly, I can't understand the leap between giving your credit card info online to having your debit account emptied (without the PIN).

She said at no point did the phishing site ask her for PIN, not even her CVV. She just remembers it was her name, DOB, address and cc number.

Personally, I think she was skimmed and the bank is using this phishing scam to pass the blame onto the customer.

And bank guys, can money be withdrawn from a debit account without the PIN?

kjaglal76v2

Re: Bank fraud

Postby kjaglal76v2 » October 23rd, 2017, 11:07 am

Wah kinda daily limit she have so?

50k in 3 days

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » October 23rd, 2017, 11:09 am

Daran wrote:

Her card prolly got copied by one of those devices ppl place on ATM’s

Drea

Postby Drea » October 23rd, 2017, 11:29 am

If her card was skimmed I don't think they would need the PIN, also as someone mentioned before the amount withdrawn is quite large for 3 days. Even if she had a higher than average withdrawal limit that's over $15k per day what ATM giving u that?? Something sounds off with that.

And for goodness sake people still falling for these phishing scams? Stop giving you information to random people, it doesn't take long to call the bank to verify if you not sure. Maybe she shouldn't be allowed to have a cc

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » October 23rd, 2017, 11:33 am

Don't banks usually call when they see strange transactions occuring, especially when you got a credit card...

Postby mero » October 23rd, 2017, 11:46 am

Yuh friend lie

Postby skylinechild » October 23rd, 2017, 11:47 am

Daran wrote:I won't be naming banks, but this morning a co-worker is telling me her mom just lost 50k from her debit account - in series of transactions over 3 days.

Her mom went into the bank and I guess was mamaguayed by bank reps. Apparently, she got a text a week ago about a new online banking (from her bank), she clicked the link and submitted her credit card number (not debit card) and other info. Seems like a typical phishing scam.

However, the bank is telling her that the missing money from her bank account is due to that (which i find hard to believe since credit accounts are not debit accounts and aren't linked directly). Her money was withdrawn at ATMs in trinidad and several dozen mall ATMs from West Mall to Gulf City sando.

The bank is telling her it's her fault, and she has to report it to the police, get affidavit etc, but basically also told her it's her fault and she's probably will never get back her money.

Now I think that is complete BS. Firstly, I've had skimming issues before (different bank) and at no time was I blamed for this like this bank is doing. Secondly, I can't understand the leap between giving your credit card info online to having your debit account emptied (without the PIN).

She said at no point did the phishing site ask her for PIN, not even her CVV. She just remembers it was her name, DOB, address and cc number.

Personally, I think she was skimmed and the bank is using this phishing scam to pass the blame onto the customer.

Both user and bank at fault....user is a beh- beh for accepting that excuse and runing with it.

i'm assuming the person used their smartphone and clicked on a link that opened their webbrowser. in any event the SMS should still be on the phone along with the browser address.

from my understanding credit card is facility of credit offered by the bank allowing one to make purchases that may be too hefty to cover in one payment.
the bank backs this type of credit card however if its a card for online purchases visa / mastercard also has to back this type of card

long story short get evidence and brace bank and get bk your $$$

HSA

Postby HSA » October 23rd, 2017, 12:08 pm

so can i walk into audi and pay 300,000+ with linx??

Postby MaxPower » October 23rd, 2017, 1:02 pm

Maybe just one of those regrettable shopping sprees...

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » October 23rd, 2017, 1:10 pm

geeeeezz trinituner mods. i was jus trying to cleverly find out which bank. can i try again???

Roti Bicycle Limited?
Ravi Brother Car?
Francis Curry Bake?
Sunny Boy?

Postby j.o.e » October 23rd, 2017, 1:20 pm

Yuh friend lie and tief the money from mommy

Postby stev » October 23rd, 2017, 5:18 pm

a lot of scams these days...I got a fake alert from Scotia (i dont even bank with Scotia) a few days ago.

SMS looks like this:
Screenshot_20171023-171256.jpg
Screenshot_20171023-171256.jpg (23.61 KiB) Viewed 6677 times

and the webpage you are directed to looks like this:

Capture.JPG

they asking for card number and pin. lol

Postby stev » October 23rd, 2017, 5:31 pm

Daran wrote:I won't be naming banks, but this morning a co-worker is telling me her mom just lost 50k from her debit account - in series of transactions over 3 days.

There are limits as we all know ($2500 ATM, $5000 linx)...no way 50k could come out that account in 3 days unless it was via a transfer from one account to the next.

Total BS. there are countless ways for a bank to track the transactions. Get a police report and lawyer if necessary....don't let the bank brush it off like that.

if it's the same bank in my previous post...those bastards known for skimming devices on their ATMs.

Also, money cannot be withdrawn without the PIN but it can be transferred to another account (over the counter or via online banking)

Postby SR » October 23rd, 2017, 5:53 pm

I say BS

50k in 3 days via atm transaction is not possible unless its different accounts.

Postby maj. tom » October 23rd, 2017, 6:43 pm

call in the Fraud Squad and see how quick this matter will make sense. All kind of cocknbull story she telling everyone. Why the hesitation if 50k was stolen? The first thing anyone would do is call the police.

Whoever in 2017 is still so stupid to click on those spam links, completely ignore the built in DNS malware protection, AND then follow through in filling in all the details, and THEN click submit...

Daran

Postby Daran » October 23rd, 2017, 7:32 pm

Ok thanks for all the feedback guys. Clarified with her and yes it was in fact ~48k over 4 days. And yes all lynx debit transactions, so so much for that 5k withdrawal limit. How would that even be allowed? I’m thinking some could have been actual purchases and not cash withdrawals but I haven’t seen her transaction data.

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » October 23rd, 2017, 7:37 pm

SR wrote:I say BS

50k in 3 days via atm transaction is not possible unless its different accounts.

This right here. Doh eat that chain up without ketchup and mustard OP...

airuma

Postby airuma » October 23rd, 2017, 7:52 pm

http://www.looptt.com/content/bank-manager-court-fraud

Chain up or not, in these economic times, we really need to watch out with these banks!

Skillys

Postby Skillys » October 23rd, 2017, 8:36 pm

Daran wrote:Ok thanks for all the feedback guys. Clarified with her and yes it was in fact ~48k over 4 days. And yes all lynx debit transactions, so so much for that 5k withdrawal limit. How would that even be allowed? I’m thinking some could have been actual purchases and not cash withdrawals but I haven’t seen her transaction data.

Don't worry happen to me in the same large amounts.
First go into bank and make a report.
2. Then go into fraud squad and report it there as well.
They did withdraw large sums of money from my debit card .
3 the bank will freeze the account until the investigation is over.
Mine took about 2 months before I got back all the funds.
Good luck.....

Postby bluefete » October 23rd, 2017, 9:47 pm

Quite a few frauds are happening in the banking sector these days.

Many have to do with skimming.

Postby stev » October 23rd, 2017, 10:54 pm

always keep track of your spending and account balance....i've heard of instances (multiple financial institutions) where people deposit money on their account but not all was entered into the system....eg: u deposit $700 over the counter, teller proceeds to enter $600 on your account and slips the $100 in their pocket. lol

Postby Chimera » October 24th, 2017, 1:02 pm

yeah REAL racket going on with banks and bank cards these days
every other week they locking up fellas from Bulgaria and Bolivia with card skimmers and thousands of copied cards

http://guardian.co.tt/news/2017-07-20/b ... ined-90000

you know it have machines now that intercepting signal when you use a wireless pos machine to make a purchase and even machines now that they just hadda walk close enough to you and it will pull your details from your card

someone tried to use my credit card to spend 3k usd on newegg the other day
and after I cancelled the card, the new card that I didn't even COLLECT as yet from the bank, they try to use that as well
so I saying it someone in the bank or their mailing center doing it

Miktay

Postby Miktay » October 24th, 2017, 3:29 pm

OP: If thiz iza real story and you can show reasonable proof consider the following

Banks dont like it when their customers lose money to fraud.

It makes it looks like they have loose controls around on-line banking & credit cards.

So in addition to getting a lawyer I would threaten to go to social media, the newspapers and Ian Alleyne.

In doing so your co-worker's mom iz sending a message that she intends to publically identify the bank and the branch in question.

That should get their attention. But dont speak with any counter clerk/teller or B supervisor. Them people doh know nothing. Ask to speak at least to the branch manager. If you don't get satisfaction take it to the the head office.

If your story is true you have two things in your favor:

1. All banks practice fractional reserve lending and no banker wants to upset thiz ponzi scheme financing by losing public confidence. Bad publicity concerning fraud iz particularly bad for the banking sector.

2. $50K iz nothing for a bank to replace. They make millions in profits. Before online banking employees who stole money would be allowed to get away scot free to prevent the case from 'making papers'.

Good luck !

Postby Chimera » October 24th, 2017, 3:36 pm

#2 is true . They does quietly allow fire or allow them to resign when they get caught stealing from accounts

Postby Ted_v2 » October 24th, 2017, 10:55 pm

Something happened to someone in my family a while ago, her name and her aunt on a account. She has a account with someone name also.

the teller transfer a 50k from the wrong account into another. long story, bank manager had to get involved, total waste of time ect ect.

make sure you double check ur stuff by these tellers bc they always making errors.

Postby SR » October 25th, 2017, 6:00 am

In most cases like this when video footage is reviewed against timelines of when transactions were made at atms the culprit is usually a family member. And somtimes the person themselves.

Postby De Dragon » October 25th, 2017, 6:07 am

stev wrote:always keep track of your spending and account balance....i've heard of instances (multiple financial institutions) where people deposit money on their account but not all was entered into the system....eg: u deposit $700 over the counter, teller proceeds to enter $600 on your account and slips the $100 in their pocket. lol

EH? :? :? Scotia gives you a receipt of your transaction. Tellers accounts are supposed to balance at the end of the day.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 25th, 2017, 7:54 am

Yea that sounding like talk, u usually sign the deposit slip

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 17th, 2018, 5:27 am

$15 to cash a cheque now up from $5 at scotia bank with no change in the procedure, no increase in the movement of the line but increase in fees. I am sorry but this is white colour robbery and no one cant do anything about this. fcb and republic never charge for cashing a cheque from a non account holder only royal and scotia. IDK why people still do business with these two banks in this age i dont know, poor service, rude employees , long lines, security dat need to learn some manners.

Postby hydroep » May 17th, 2018, 6:02 am

Yup it's legal robbery and expect to see those fees creep up because they know they can get away with it. As a smartman once said "They eh riot yet"...:|