Express article on The Great Vehicle Rip-off $$

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 18th, 2017, 12:40 pm

A disappointed Wayne Huggins is calling on Minister of Finance Colm Imbert and by extension, the Government, to look into the unscrupulous dealing of some car dealers who are literally hijacking customers with increased prices following the 2018 Budget presentation.

“On September 29 my wife and I visited a San Fernando dealer because we were interested in purchasing a 2017 hybrid Nissan X-Trail.

“We spoke with a sales agent and after viewing what they had in stock we indicated our interest in one and was given an invoice reflecting a price of $275, 000,” Huggins said.

Huggins said during their interaction with the sales agent, his wife inquired if the quoted price was the best they could offer and the agent said she would see if a reduction could be extended to them.

“On Monday my wife decided to call to see if we were getting the vehicle at a reduced price because we were prepared to take the invoice to our bankers. However, the agent informed her that there was a possibility that the price may increase as a result of the budget and that she would get back to us.

“Not having gotten any feedback from the agent, I called the dealer on Wednesday, just two days after the budget presentation, and was informed that management had instructed the sales agents that said morning that the price was now $310,000.

Huggins said the $35,000 increase in the price was absolutely ridiculous and totally unacceptable.

“Based on my understanding of the budget measures with respect to the importation of automobiles, they should not affect vehicles in showroom stock or in transit stock as the new measures kick into effect on October 20.”

He said still interested in the vehicle he called a few other new car dealers only to discover that most of the other dealers (names called) had done the same thing.

“This is madness as firms are seeking to capitalise on excessive profits. Darren Car Sales is the only dealer who said he was not going to increase his prices on vehicles in stock as they would have been imported at and duties paid on prices prior to the reading of the budget.

“But these unscrupulous dealers holding vehicles in stock at the old rates are now applying the new rate announced in the budget to increase the prices on these vehicles. I would like to know if they're going to remit to the Government the difference between the old and new taxes and duties that they will be collecting on their upward adjusted prices. If they don't then they will not only be robbing the customers but the Government as well,” Huggins said.

Huggins called for some form of oversight into the greedy exploitation of citizens by members of the business community.

Express was told on Monday that the manager would return our call when the dealership was contacted, but he has not.

However, Trinidad and Tobago Automobile Dealers Association president Visham Babwah said that while he empathises with what consumers are now faced with, car dealers were placed in a position that left them no alternative.

“We have vehicles sitting in Japan that are already paid for and we cannot ship because of the new tax measures implemented by the Government. At the end of the day we have to take them but when they arrived here the cost will go up by as much as $200,000 per vehicle.

“The vehicle Mr Huggins was supposed to pay $275,000 will now have to be sold for over $400,000, but who is going to buy an X-Trail for over $400,000.”

Babwah said car dealers will have to suffer huge losses by selling those vehicles for around $350,000 if they want to get them off their hands.

“No dealer will be able to absorb such losses so to buffer that fallout some of the increases are being passed on to whatever vehicles already in stock.

“Consumers are attacking the dealers and accusing them of price gouging but they should attack the Government because they created this situation by placing the tax at such a high rate and implementing it with immediate effect.

“If they (consumers) cannot understand that the dealers have to offset the increased costs they are now faced with then they would have to pay considerably much more when new shipments come in.

Babwah said it's not fair to target car dealers since what is happening is beyond their control.

“We are calling on the Government to rescind their decision because it's not only unfair to us but also to consumers,” Babwah said.

Ibis Electronics

Re: Express article on The Great Vehicle Rip-off $$

Postby Ibis Electronics » October 18th, 2017, 12:44 pm

Anyone have a break down of the pricing and tax on these cars, old vs new?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 18th, 2017, 12:48 pm

Ibis Electronics wrote:Anyone have a break down of the pricing and tax on these cars, old vs new?

AFAIK the Hybrid xtrail before the budget had no Duty, VAT or MVT. SOme people brought in brand new Hybrid Xtrails for themselves at $200,000 or even less.
After the budget, for vehicles landed after October 20th, Hybrid Xtrail or any vehicle 1600-1999xx will now pay the 43.75% duty, about $37,500 in MVT and then Vat.

That's my understanding of it.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » October 18th, 2017, 1:12 pm

If only we could build our own vehicles here...
We have too many unemployed engineers and technicians just wasting away...

Postby RedVEVO » October 18th, 2017, 1:16 pm

vaiostation wrote:If only we could build our own vehicles here...

Bamboo people use to do that all the time ..

But Gov't stop that also .. 8-) 8-)

Postby Dizzy28 » October 18th, 2017, 1:18 pm

I don't see the problem. If Daren car sales holding his price then go buy from him. As long as choice remains utilize it.

Postby hydroep » October 18th, 2017, 1:18 pm

Common practice and from the dealers' point of view, understandable.

But in the Huggins' case if they had agreed to $ 275,000 they may have a case for exploitation especially since it seems they received a legitimate invoice from the dealer (barring any disclaimers on said document).

At the end of the day, this isn't a necessity and businesses can charge what they want. If you're stupid enough to part with your hard earned money, fix up. If you don't someone else surely will... :|
Last edited by hydroep on October 18th, 2017, 1:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Ibis Electronics

Postby Ibis Electronics » October 18th, 2017, 1:19 pm

Ibis Electronics wrote:Anyone have a break down of the pricing and tax on these cars, old vs new?

AFAIK the Hybrid xtrail before the budget had no Duty, VAT or MVT. SOme people brought in brand new Hybrid Xtrails for themselves at $200,000 or even less.
After the budget, for vehicles landed after October 20th, Hybrid Xtrail or any vehicle 1600-1999xx will now pay the 43.75% duty, about $37,500 in MVT and then Vat.

That's my understanding of it.

So say the van costs $200,000 landed.
Duty ups the price to $287,500
MVT added $325,000
Then VAT at 12.5% $365,625.

Damn......

Postby RBphoto » October 18th, 2017, 1:32 pm

Champagne mauby something something

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 18th, 2017, 1:43 pm

RBphoto wrote:Champagne mauby something something

Not at all in this case.

Postby toyolink » October 18th, 2017, 3:17 pm

Free enterprise has a morality of its own.
I believe the vendor of any good or service who best addresses the needs of the customer stands the best chance of survival.
Todays reality locally is quite brutal and buyers expenditure limits are becoming very inflexible.

Postby skylinechild » October 18th, 2017, 3:58 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Image

A disappointed Wayne Huggins is calling on Minister of Finance Colm Imbert and by extension, the Government, to look into the unscrupulous dealing of some car dealers who are literally hijacking customers with increased prices following the 2018 Budget presentation.

“On September 29 my wife and I visited a San Fernando dealer because we were interested in purchasing a 2017 hybrid Nissan X-Trail.

“We spoke with a sales agent and after viewing what they had in stock we indicated our interest in one and was given an invoice reflecting a price of $275, 000,” Huggins said.

Huggins said during their interaction with the sales agent, his wife inquired if the quoted price was the best they could offer and the agent said she would see if a reduction could be extended to them.

“On Monday my wife decided to call to see if we were getting the vehicle at a reduced price because we were prepared to take the invoice to our bankers. However, the agent informed her that there was a possibility that the price may increase as a result of the budget and that she would get back to us.

“Not having gotten any feedback from the agent, I called the dealer on Wednesday, just two days after the budget presentation, and was informed that management had instructed the sales agents that said morning that the price was now $310,000.

Huggins said the $35,000 increase in the price was absolutely ridiculous and totally unacceptable.

“Based on my understanding of the budget measures with respect to the importation of automobiles, they should not affect vehicles in showroom stock or in transit stock as the new measures kick into effect on October 20.”

He said still interested in the vehicle he called a few other new car dealers only to discover that most of the other dealers (names called) had done the same thing.

“This is madness as firms are seeking to capitalise on excessive profits. Darren Car Sales is the only dealer who said he was not going to increase his prices on vehicles in stock as they would have been imported at and duties paid on prices prior to the reading of the budget.

“But these unscrupulous dealers holding vehicles in stock at the old rates are now applying the new rate announced in the budget to increase the prices on these vehicles. I would like to know if they're going to remit to the Government the difference between the old and new taxes and duties that they will be collecting on their upward adjusted prices. If they don't then they will not only be robbing the customers but the Government as well,” Huggins said.

Huggins called for some form of oversight into the greedy exploitation of citizens by members of the business community.

Express was told on Monday that the manager would return our call when the dealership was contacted, but he has not.

However, Trinidad and Tobago Automobile Dealers Association president Visham Babwah said that while he empathises with what consumers are now faced with, car dealers were placed in a position that left them no alternative.

“We have vehicles sitting in Japan that are already paid for and we cannot ship because of the new tax measures implemented by the Government. At the end of the day we have to take them but when they arrived here the cost will go up by as much as $200,000 per vehicle.

“The vehicle Mr Huggins was supposed to pay $275,000 will now have to be sold for over $400,000, but who is going to buy an X-Trail for over $400,000.”

Babwah said car dealers will have to suffer huge losses by selling those vehicles for around $350,000 if they want to get them off their hands.

“No dealer will be able to absorb such losses so to buffer that fallout some of the increases are being passed on to whatever vehicles already in stock.

“Consumers are attacking the dealers and accusing them of price gouging but they should attack the Government because they created this situation by placing the tax at such a high rate and implementing it with immediate effect.

“If they (consumers) cannot understand that the dealers have to offset the increased costs they are now faced with then they would have to pay considerably much more when new shipments come in.

Babwah said it's not fair to target car dealers since what is happening is beyond their control.

“We are calling on the Government to rescind their decision because it's not only unfair to us but also to consumers,” Babwah said.

how does the saying go immoral isnt illegal.???

two points thou

1. the TTADA president Visham Babwah "empathizes" with john public but giving an excuse as to WHY dealers do this. and gives a reason WHY he thinks its ok to do this. ( the TTADA comprises of f used dealers)

2. the exact excuse is "cars that are bought but cannot ship due to the increase taxes. << load of croc..

Paw Patrol

Postby Paw Patrol » October 18th, 2017, 4:45 pm

who cares??? i you dont like the price or cant afford go someplace else

Ibis Electronics

Postby Ibis Electronics » October 18th, 2017, 4:54 pm

In terms of SUVs, lifestyle's Vitara and ANSA's Kuga may see a bump in sales as they're both 1.6 and evade the tax hikes.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 18th, 2017, 4:58 pm

Paw Patrol wrote:who cares??? i you dont like the price or cant afford go someplace else

You wouldn’t care if you got an invoice for one price but when you went to pay they told you it was $35,000 more?
You wouldn’t care if businesses were price gouging?
You wouldn’t care if the authority on the industry condoned said gouging?

Postby sMASH » October 18th, 2017, 5:00 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
vaiostation wrote:If only we could build our own vehicles here...

Bamboo people use to do that all the time ..

But Gov't stop that also .. 8-) 8-)

Badum tss

boxy

Postby boxy » October 18th, 2017, 5:08 pm

Wasn't there a clause that if the vehicles were bought already and/or already in transit there will be an exemption?

Postby pete » October 18th, 2017, 5:36 pm

Kia launched their NIRO 1.6hybrid crossover today for $225k

branbran

Postby branbran » October 18th, 2017, 5:45 pm

Blame the government. What this government doing for us as a nation? Everything going up and doh talk about crime.

Postby Kenjo » October 18th, 2017, 7:00 pm

branbran wrote:Blame the government. What this government doing for us as a nation? Everything going up and doh talk about crime.

Name ??

pjfred

Postby pjfred » October 18th, 2017, 8:14 pm

Red and ready

Postby RedVEVO » October 18th, 2017, 9:49 pm

pete wrote:Kia launched their NIRO 1.6hybrid crossover today for $225k

A bic razor .. disposable

Ibis Electronics

Postby Ibis Electronics » October 18th, 2017, 9:55 pm

One of those Fused dealers advertised the Nero some months back.

No_Name

Postby No_Name » October 18th, 2017, 10:49 pm

boxy wrote:Wasn't there a clause that if the vehicles were bought already and/or already in transit there will be an exemption?

EXACTLY...!!!

Babwah, as per usual, speaks a pack of garbage like an uneducated a'hole...

Defends a bunch of immoral f/used car dealers digging out consumers eyes, filling their pockets & are a very much active ingredient in the depletion of our USD locally...!!!

Why doesn't Babwah have his dealers monitor other Legal Currency of Japan, THE YEN, and let dealers pay via this medium most times, rather than the Dealers monitor scrap/crash yards for the next avenue to dig out a Trini pocket...

As for the "Huggins Case", you do have other choices, yep, but same time Lite Up dem dishonest crooks dem, highlight dey biz name publicly...

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » October 18th, 2017, 11:32 pm

but the thing is at 275 that way overpriced already
Earlier this year you could have gotten a new 4x4 xtrail for 200 k
and the 4x2 ones for under 180

i posted a quote here from a dealer for a 4x4 new from the firm in japan. what they do it buy it from the firm deregister it and ship it , it a little more expensive , but its the newest model and not the surplus which did not sell.

page 4
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=695696&start=90

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » October 19th, 2017, 12:22 am

The only thing that got me in this article is $275k for a run-of-the-mill hybrid Nissan suv.

Postby gastly369 » October 19th, 2017, 12:27 am

I was gonna ask whennnnn kia jumping into the hybrid game locally since watching a few Niro overview on YouTube

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » October 19th, 2017, 1:39 am

gastly369 wrote:

I was gonna ask whennnnn kia jumping into the hybrid game locally since watching a few Niro overview on YouTube

Too bad its fwd only. I guess it makes sense as its developed from the ionic.

Postby MaxPower » October 19th, 2017, 2:03 am

All this for a sufferers dream car?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 19th, 2017, 7:03 am

it's very simple.....just bring it yuhself