Golf course upgrade $3 million

Re: Golf course upgrade $3 million

Postby meccalli » October 6th, 2017, 10:15 am

shogun wrote:Lmao...
Entertaining to say the least. Carry on...

Not as entertaining as folks and a government which believes that tourism can be developed or even be remotely successful with crime stats as ours.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2016-05- ... crime-rate
https://www.ema.co.tt/new/images/polici ... policy.pdf
Sports infrastructure is hardly a priority in our tourism policy, in fact the only mention of golf is a single reference to improving sport events.
How much foreign revenue is that course generating, how much resources do they require to be maintained for said generated income?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 6th, 2017, 10:48 am

meccalli wrote:Sports infrastructure is hardly a priority in our tourism policy

The billion dollar facilities like Brian Lara Cricket Academy, National Aquatic Centre and the National Cycling Center built by the gov't seem to suggest otherwise.

Postby Redman » October 6th, 2017, 11:01 am

the increasing number of international sport events we have hosted....says volumes as well

Postby Dizzy28 » October 6th, 2017, 11:04 am

I dunno if the investments in Sports Tourism is worth the payback. Apart from the significant capex for the sports infrastructure there is also the hosting costs. The CPL finals operate in a bid system and Trinidad essentially pays to host it. This year cost us the cheapest at US$1m, the last time we held it it cost us US$3.5m.

In 2015 The GORTT agreed to host a Golf tournament in Moka in June of 2015 (yes the PP administration) for supposedly the top corporate executives and talent agents in the NFL. It cost Trinidad US$500k and was supposed to bring more such events. Have yet to see that happen.

Any returns on the money spent in Sports Tourism is always spoken off in non-money terms but does it really happen?

Postby meccalli » October 6th, 2017, 11:11 am

meccalli wrote:Sports infrastructure is hardly a priority in our tourism policy

The billion dollar facilities like Brian Lara Cricket Academy, National Aquatic Centre and the National Cycling Center built by the gov't seem to suggest otherwise.

Redman wrote:the increasing number of international sport events we have hosted....says volumes as well

Context, golf.

branbran

Postby branbran » October 6th, 2017, 1:33 pm

Only in sweet T&T this crap could happen. No one ain't even saying nothing we like it so yes.

Postby De Dragon » October 6th, 2017, 6:00 pm

branbran wrote:Only in sweet T&T this crap could happen. No one ain't even saying nothing we like it so yes.

Can't preach to the PNM choir bro.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 6th, 2017, 6:49 pm

Maximus sing the best song ever

Postby sMASH » October 6th, 2017, 11:37 pm

Hoss, given today's turn out at the protest, that is our national anthem

Postby De Dragon » October 7th, 2017, 10:33 pm

Redman wrote:the increasing number of international sport events we have hosted....says volumes as well

Yes, the PGA will soon be in Chaguaramas. PNM sheep again. :roll: We can't even get a One Day, but you come to talk sheit about international sports events?

TriP

Postby TriP » December 8th, 2017, 5:34 pm

Rowley Still trying to defend comparing a Golf course to a woman

When TV 6 reporter Faine Richards cornered Rowley on his Golf Course comparison to a Woman comment,

watch how he tries to wriggle out.!

Postby sMASH » December 9th, 2017, 3:58 pm

The man is a puppet, trying to perform without his master...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 9th, 2017, 6:31 pm

Not sure what is the issue here, 3 million for this is nothing considering the billions the PNM and UNC does mismanage and thief.

Atleast they charging money to use this, not like it free.

Postby De Dragon » December 9th, 2017, 7:46 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Not sure what is the issue here, 3 million for this is nothing considering the billions the PNM and UNC does mismanage and thief.

The 3 million in question was allocated by the PNM Are you suggesting that a 3 million is nothing? Are you suggesting that having pissed away the 3 million of OUR money, we must now pay to enjoy it?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 9th, 2017, 7:57 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Not sure what is the issue here, 3 million for this is nothing considering the billions the PNM and UNC does mismanage and thief.

The 3 million in question was allocated by the PNM Are you suggesting that a 3 million is nothing? Are you suggesting that having pissed away the 3 million of OUR money, we must now pay to enjoy it?

Not suggesting that, but in the grad scheme of things 3 mill is nothing compared to how much money they does actually thief and mismanage.

Ask yourself this, Trinidad is considered the 3rd richest country per capita in the west after Canada and USA, yet this country is a 3rd world sh!t hole. It is mismanagement largely to blame for this along with racket. That 3 million is a piss in the ocean, it is meaningless in the grand scheme of things. Same with the paintings, you want to see money properly wasted? look at all the useless dog sh!t that Rowley building look at how much money they are spending and have NOTHING to show for it in the tune of billions

I do agree it is very much retarded to be spending 3 million on golf at a time like this. But I can also understand Rowley's point of view which is to kill out the pensioners quick so the state won't have to pay so much money for their medical problems and their pension money. To him the 3 million is better spent on the Golf as opposed to tablets and sh!t in CDAP
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on December 9th, 2017, 8:44 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Sōsuke Aizen

Postby Sōsuke Aizen » December 9th, 2017, 8:43 pm

Why Keithos don't go and snorkel in the dog bucket?

Postby pugboy » December 9th, 2017, 9:07 pm

So who got the contract for the gold course upgrade ?
I know angel gabriel wife has a landscape company.

Postby rspann » December 9th, 2017, 11:25 pm

Rowley ent lie . You have to maintain it otherwise it becomes overgrown. Nothing prettier than a shaved pu-C

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » December 9th, 2017, 11:52 pm

rspann wrote:Rowley ent lie . You have to maintain it otherwise it becomes overgrown. Nothing prettier than a shaved pu-C
U talking about the golf course or Rowley head? I confused

Postby shogun » December 10th, 2017, 12:20 am

meccalli wrote:
shogun wrote:Lmao...
Entertaining to say the least. Carry on...

Not as entertaining as folks and a government which believes that tourism can be developed or even be remotely successful with crime stats as ours.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2016-05- ... crime-rate
https://www.ema.co.tt/new/images/polici ... policy.pdf
Sports infrastructure is hardly a priority in our tourism policy, in fact the only mention of golf is a single reference to improving sport events.
How much foreign revenue is that course generating, how much resources do they require to be maintained for said generated income?

Right.

The much talked-about golf course at Chaguaramas is today an integral part of the Chaguaramas Development Authority’s (CDA) thrust towards financial stability. This has been disclosed in a report sent from the current Board appointed in 2015 to the Minister with responsibility for the CDA, Camille Robinson-Regis, Minister of Planning and Development.

It is reported that despite limited funds, upgrade works were conducted to improve the Golf Course’s commercial revenue generating ability as well as re-structuring and improving its administration. There was a huge leap in revenue earnings soaring from $292,397.00 in September 2015 to $598,529.00 in September 2017.

I've realised the jump in patronage popularity and membership over the last few years. There has obviously been a shift. But hey, you're welcomed and entitled to your way of thinking? It sounds like an excellent strategy. Let crime be an excuse for strangling upgrade/improvement to all sectors of our infrastructure.