:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby Morpheus » September 29th, 2017, 2:24 pm

Wheyyy I went to get some 1500 and up grit sandpaper. Nada. I need like 2000 - 2500. Real fine mirror finish.

One tell me the finest they have is 400 grit yes. Bhagwansingh have 1500 in an assorted pack. Not individual. I not going to waste my time running around nah

Sigh. Amazon is so easy to use (saw as high as 3000 grit)...

BTW if anyone can point me to 2000 grit and up locally, I'll appreciate it.

Postby pugboy » September 29th, 2017, 2:35 pm

peakes had a while back
call koan, they are a big 3m distributor
they will know who has

if you going to 2000 and up best you use a polishing compound

car

Postby car » September 29th, 2017, 2:39 pm

Morpheus wrote:Wheyyy I went to get some 1500 and up grit sandpaper. Nada. I need like 2000 - 2500. Real fine mirror finish.

One tell me the finest they have is 400 grit yes. Bhagwansingh have 1500 in an assorted pack. Not individual. I not going to waste my time running around nah

Sigh. Amazon is so easy to use (saw as high as 3000 grit)...

BTW if anyone can point me to 2000 grit and up locally, I'll appreciate it.

Ali’s hardware Marabella. You can get up to 15000.
Klingspor. Made in Poland. Good ting.

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 29th, 2017, 2:44 pm

Did you check a car paint place?

Postby Morpheus » September 29th, 2017, 3:39 pm

No I didn't. Didn't think of that.

Thanks for all the suggestions guys. Will make some calls tomorrow.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » September 29th, 2017, 9:27 pm

Morpheus wrote:No I didn't. Didn't think of that.

Thanks for all the suggestions guys. Will make some calls tomorrow.

Lemme know if u get and where, have some plexi to rub fine myself

Postby rspann » September 29th, 2017, 9:35 pm

Most automotive paint shops will have ,since that is what is used for buffing auto paints.

Postby Morpheus » September 29th, 2017, 9:45 pm

Checking tomorrow for sure. Thanks

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » September 29th, 2017, 10:58 pm

Anybody selling their bench grinder, just thought I'd check if any fellow tuners wanted to sell theirs before I bought a new one, saw that Allied has a small stanley or dewalt for $600 I believe looks like a good deal since I not using it for heavy work.

car

Postby car » September 30th, 2017, 6:34 am

amd-dude wrote:Anybody selling their bench grinder, just thought I'd check if any fellow tuners wanted to sell theirs before I bought a new one, saw that Allied has a small stanley or dewalt for $600 I believe looks like a good deal since I not using it for heavy work.

Have a black and decker for $400. Will put up pics in a few hours..1/2 hp

Postby X_Factor » September 30th, 2017, 7:30 am

anyone here (diy) person owns what is considered upper end brand name tools?
proto, mac, wright, sk , snap on
is it really worth 1200.00TT for a set of spanners? or more

Postby Ted_v2 » September 30th, 2017, 3:26 pm

Yes and No.

i have a few wright spanners, few older craftsman, a odd snap on half moon wrench and a matco flare wrench.

The craftsman stuff is very well built but extreamly thick and wide(the sidewall), you could honestly slip a 3 foot long pipe on it and it would take it. The wright spanners are very similar to the average Stanley. Which is slimmer than the craftsman. The material of the wright gets a very odd surface rust, almost like a oxidation.. The Stanley does not The gearwrench is super slim and alot longer than all, but when you need to apply force, it kinda is too slim. It also has a flank drive, which basically doesnt allow the open end to slip that much.

I have quite a bit of gearwrench tools, honestly its very well built, the sockets are very comparable to snap on, williams ect. Look at garagejournal forum, they talk mostly tools. They are made from apex tools which makes tons of tools for many companies.

willams ratchets are exactly the same as most of the snap on ratchets, Amazon has them for good prices. I use gearwrench flex heads ratchets and i have no complains. The flexable wrenches they make are excellent.

most of those higher end tools are that price because of the lifetime warranty and how easy is it to change in the US and you could purchase it on a payment plan. We dont have that option, so i cant see it making sense.

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 30th, 2017, 5:48 pm

As someone who does automotive suspension work all day, they are not worth the cost for me.

I find the mid range brand names like Gearwrench work just fine for me. I don't want to be the backside who spends that much just to find they wear and break the same way.

car

Postby car » September 30th, 2017, 7:11 pm

Some of their tools are actually better and much more durable. But I cya see myself paying the premium price. I could buy 4 Stanley tool vs just 1 snap on for the same price. In my life time 1 or 2 set of Stanley tool should outlast me.
The gear wrench is excellent. About the same quality and way cheaper. I have the x beam swivel head ratcheting spanner set.

Postby X_Factor » September 30th, 2017, 9:27 pm

so i guess the consensus is that high end brands isnt needed for the diy/weekend warrior

Postby Morpheus » September 30th, 2017, 10:19 pm

^^Regular Stanley, Gearwrench and even some Texton deep impact sockets work fine for me as a diy/weekend warrior.

Postby adnj » October 1st, 2017, 12:16 am

I have swapped out broken Craftsman ratchets and rusty Craftsman screwdrivers on my way to a movie. I have ordered Proto and Snap-on tools over the phone at 9 am and had them delivered to my office at Noon. Of course the premium brands are worth the money. But not if you don't get the superior warranty and service that the price tag entitles you to.

Postby supercharged turbo » October 3rd, 2017, 5:45 pm

Anyone know where I can get those parking spot stops(the yellow and black stops) you see in carparks to buy?

Postby rspann » October 3rd, 2017, 6:21 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Anyone know where I can get those parking spot stops(the yellow and black stops) you see in carparks to buy?

US contractors supply and install. 638 4947.

Postby supercharged turbo » October 3rd, 2017, 6:25 pm

Will give them a call..thanks spann

Postby pugboy » October 3rd, 2017, 6:28 pm

come nah man
them fellas from bamboo does go japan to dismantle cars in scrapyard with a handful of spanner,socket and a sawzall
no need for a big case set of all diff sizes

X_Factor wrote:so i guess the consensus is that high end brands isnt needed for the diy/weekend warrior

jones81

Postby jones81 » October 3rd, 2017, 6:56 pm

Guys , just in case any one is interested i have some tools i would like to sell , mostly britool , and some other assorted brands , have some 1 inch drive rachets and some big spanners as well .

car

Postby car » October 3rd, 2017, 9:25 pm

jones81 wrote:Guys , just in case any one is interested i have some tools i would like to sell , mostly britool , and some other assorted brands , have some 1 inch drive rachets and some big spanners as well .

Where you located?
Want to see what you have and prices.

car

Postby car » October 4th, 2017, 8:34 pm

The hardener in my fiber glass kit leaked out. Only a full quart of resin remain. Where can I get the hardener to buy?
Ace is the brand of the kit but I figure any hardener for fiberglass should work.

nivek

Postby nivek » October 4th, 2017, 8:45 pm

Got some hardener in a paint shop close to St Mary's junction Freeport..north of the junction..it have a sikkens sign

car

Postby car » October 4th, 2017, 9:12 pm

nivek wrote:Got some hardener in a paint shop close to St Mary's junction Freeport..north of the junction..it have a sikkens sign

I’m from Freeport. I’ll check it out.

Postby rspann » October 4th, 2017, 9:20 pm

car wrote:The hardener in my fiber glass kit leaked out. Only a full quart of resin remain. Where can I get the hardener to buy?
Ace is the brand of the kit but I figure any hardener for fiberglass should work.

Any type would work, just ask for MEK, methyl ethyl ketone. Thats the correct name. Almost all hardwares and paint shops has it.

Postby X_Factor » October 4th, 2017, 10:11 pm

if u live E/W corridor the company Shiloh Enterprise in Dinsley sells it...a little bottle is a few dollars

Lance

Postby Lance » October 5th, 2017, 2:49 am

Shiloh is good people...I used to deal with them alot back in my car audio fabrication days.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » October 5th, 2017, 11:17 am