National Budget 2017-2018 - LIVE STREAM on pg9 @ 1:30pm

Specialist Baboons

Re: National Budget 2017-2018 - LIVE STREAM on pg9 @ 1:30pm

Postby Specialist Baboons » October 3rd, 2017, 7:26 am

The roads are almost undrivable in my area for cars. Suspension parts and maintenance is crazy. Making the decision to puchase a 4x4 which is diesel-powered is now going to raise my fuel costs by 48%. Bank fees are now going to be higher due to the rise in their taxes. Tyres are going to cost more. It's to dangerous to walk the street or ride a bicycle. Maxi and taxi fares are going up. What options are there?? If the fuel cost is raised by 48% cost of living is going to do the same with its domino effect. "What value do I get from my tax dollars? I pay 25% of my salary to the government every year.
Every item I purchase I pay value added tax of 12.5%. That equates to 37 1/2% already going back to the state.
I pay for my electricity & water.(Which is to be raised)
I pay for my fuel which by the way has increased four times over the last two & a half years. That alone has driven the cost of goods and services up. Everything revolves around transportation. When fuel prices increase therefore, so will everything else.
I shop locally and pay three and four times the value of items I purchase. This is a day of information technology. At a touch of a button I can see what the value of any item is worth.
I opt to buy online because there I find better value for money.
The state sees me doing it which of course affects local businesses. They decide to apply a 7% online tax to force me to buy locally. To force me to pay $4 for a $1 item. They say it is to conserve foreign exchange. Really? When I buy from the local stores do they not use the same foreign exchange you say you want to conserve to bring in those items?
Rather than insist that the Consumer affairs division step in and force the local price gougers to reduce their prices, they try to strong arm me into buying local.
I am forced to pay for every service at the banks. I am charged 12% and 15% on a loan while the banks offer me 1/2% interest on my account which is eaten up by the services charges I pay to maintain said account. Yet their is no legislation to protect me from those criminals.
I sacrifice to save, to purchase a piece of land upon which I build a house. Paying tax on every piece of material I use. I pay bridging finance to the bank before getting my completion certificate. I then have to pay a mortgage which adds up to twice the value of the money borrowed to build.
Then on top of that, I am now asked to pay a property tax based upon a rental value. Rental Value? Therein lies my problem. My tax dollars do absolutely nothing for me. I don't access any grants from the state. I don't access public health care. I don't drive on good roads. I don't feel secure to travel around the country or sleep in my bed. If I call for an ambulance, more than likely I will be dead by the time they arrive. If I my wife calls for the police, they will arrive just in time to draw a line around my body, if they get a vehicle that is.
This is just the tip of the iceberg. So go ahead. Bring on more taxation." - #facts #letstakeastand #fedup don't usually vent but I'm totally fed up of paying taxes and not being able to feel any sense of security in this country. No development whatsoever in my community. We are represented by members of parliament whose faces are only seen by their flyers and posters around election time. The time has come for the lower and middle class to stand up against this dictatorship and let our voices be heard. Change is needed. Clearly our nation's leaders are failing us. Enough is enough!

Postby Les Bain » October 3rd, 2017, 7:26 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:by next week we back to normal ent

Asking answers. Ent next weekend is a long weekend?

Postby rspann » October 3rd, 2017, 7:38 am

The Baboon leave out something. When you complain ,the jammettes tell you to shut your mouth.

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » October 3rd, 2017, 7:43 am

This morning ptsc south strike no buses .....mc say to much cars on the road ......I wonder y !!!!!!

Postby Dizzy28 » October 3rd, 2017, 7:43 am

Specialist Baboons wrote:The roads are almost undrivable in my area for cars. Suspension parts and maintenance is crazy. Making the decision to puchase a 4x4 which is diesel-powered is now going to raise my fuel costs by 48%. Bank fees are now going to be higher due to the rise in their taxes. Tyres are going to cost more. It's to dangerous to walk the street or ride a bicycle. Maxi and taxi fares are going up. What options are there?? If the fuel cost is raised by 48% cost of living is going to do the same with its domino effect. "What value do I get from my tax dollars? I pay 25% of my salary to the government every year.
Every item I purchase I pay value added tax of 12.5%. That equates to 37 1/2% already going back to the state.
I pay for my fuel which by the way has increased four times over the last two & a half years. That alone has driven the cost of goods and services up. Everything revolves around transportation. When fuel prices increase therefore, so will everything else.
I shop locally and pay three and four times the value of items I purchase. This is a day of information technology. At a touch of a button I can see what the value of any item is worth.
The state sees me doing it which of course affects local businesses. They decide to apply a 7% online tax to force me to buy locally. To force me to pay $4 for a $1 item. They say it is to conserve foreign exchange. Really? When I buy from the local stores do they not use the same foreign exchange you say you want to conserve to bring in those items?
Rather than insist that the Consumer affairs division step in and force the local price gougers to reduce their prices, they try to strong arm me into buying local.
I am forced to pay for every service at the banks. I am charged 12% and 15% on a loan while the banks offer me 1/2% interest on my account which is eaten up by the services charges I pay to maintain said account. Yet their is no legislation to protect me from those criminals.
I sacrifice to save, to purchase a piece of land upon which I build a house. Paying tax on every piece of material I use. I pay bridging finance to the bank before getting my completion certificate. I then have to pay a mortgage which adds up to twice the value of the money borrowed to build.
Then on top of that, I am now asked to pay a property tax based upon a rental value. Rental Value? Therein lies my problem. My tax dollars do absolutely nothing for me. I don't access any grants from the state. I don't access public health care. I don't drive on good roads. I don't feel secure to travel around the country or sleep in my bed. If I call for an ambulance, more than likely I will be dead by the time they arrive. If I my wife calls for the police, they will arrive just in time to draw a line around my body, if they get a vehicle that is.
This is just the tip of the iceberg. So go ahead. Bring on more taxation." - #facts #letstakeastand #fedup don't usually vent but I'm totally fed up of paying taxes and not being able to feel any sense of security in this country. No development whatsoever in my community. We are represented by members of parliament whose faces are only seen by their flyers and posters around election time. The time has come for the lower and middle class to stand up against this dictatorship and let our voices be heard. Change is needed. Clearly our nation's leaders are failing us. Enough is enough!

So much wrong with the math you using above

Postby Slartibartfast » October 3rd, 2017, 7:43 am

Specialist Baboons wrote:The roads are almost undrivable in my area for cars. Suspension parts and maintenance is crazy. Making the decision to puchase a 4x4 which is diesel-powered is now going to raise my fuel costs by 48%. Bank fees are now going to be higher due to the rise in their taxes. Tyres are going to cost more. It's to dangerous to walk the street or ride a bicycle. Maxi and taxi fares are going up. What options are there?? If the fuel cost is raised by 48% cost of living is going to do the same with its domino effect. "What value do I get from my tax dollars? I pay 25% of my salary to the government every year.

Jump across on the riot thread. Let's get something going.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 3rd, 2017, 7:44 am

No_Name wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:And then we have this next drunk failure, she abuse food card and run racket like that.

All now so we could ah have a competent government, is Kamla who have we in this position never forget that. She and the nasty cabal of rum drinkers put the PNM back in power.

That is propaganda. This problem began decades ago and span governments. Kamla was part of the problem.

We did not learn from the 80's recession and got comfortable with our energy rich, corrupt, socialist, eat ah food, carnival attitude.

ED is just a perfect example of a "Son of the soil" who can't see beyond his big toe or maybe descendant of one of those Small Islanders from back in Dr. Eric Williams regime who were taught PNM in yr blood for life, if not-no life...

I born with a Balisier on my bottom.

Therefore I am obligated to vote PNM till I dead, Imbutt only tickle allyuh bottom with the balisier this time, be thankful of that.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 3rd, 2017, 7:47 am

Paw Patrol wrote:
Take care you hurt yourself with all those big werds there hoss.

Sorry if it hit home. I know you prob had a hard time growing up with a single teenage mother...

Single, teenage mom? :lol: You've got a lot of angst there, pal. Seems as though a PNM mubbie got into the pants of a very close female relative (or male, if thats your persuasion) of yours. There are places that offer help.

Les Bain wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:by next week we back to normal ent

Asking answers. Ent next weekend is a long weekend?

^ The week after is Divali too. It falls in the middle of the week but where there's a will there's a way. :D

Specialist Baboons

Postby Specialist Baboons » October 3rd, 2017, 7:52 am

rspann wrote:The Baboon leave out something. When you complain ,the jammettes tell you to shut your mouth.

Or he’ll ignore we cyat!!!!

Growlers such a respectable diplomat

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » October 3rd, 2017, 8:15 am

Joshie23 wrote:
Paw Patrol wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:
Paw Patrol wrote:
sMASH wrote:Image

guess this was circa 2010-2015

she mubbie have 5 kids and 2 grand kids by now

Since it's the late Patrick Manning's name on the sign, you're right in assuming some years have passed..but what if she's a lawyer..or 'mubbie' the person signing off on your very paycheque at the end of the week or month..stereotypes and racial undertones for lol's and the like are sickening and the consequent 'race vote' is what digs us deeper and deeper into a sh*thole every 5 years or so. :roll: but like I say, carry on..

lawyer?? dont make me laugh kid. we all know they most die hard pnms are the biggerst suffers in this country
so its best you shut the hell up and quit with your attempts of trying to sound witty.

this is the real reason the country is in a chit hole.

At first I thought it was all about shits and giggles with you, but it appears you're clearly a bit more illiterate than I initially perceived. Carry on with your folly; I'll get back to sensible discourse with other tuners about the budget.

dude stereotypical or not. if its true why the beat up for? :lol: :lol:

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » October 3rd, 2017, 8:26 am

easy on the Babs pal, it appears to be an article they jus posted

Postby Dizzy28 » October 3rd, 2017, 8:35 am

Yea am seeing it being shared on FB by several ppl

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 3rd, 2017, 9:01 am

Monkey Man wrote:dude stereotypical or not. if its true why the beat up for? :lol: :lol:

Monks boy, the chess bun is for reasons beyond the stereotypes. There are intelligent, upstanding people of African descent, as well as degenerate, deadbeat, no good ones. Likewise, there are intelligent, upstanding people of Indian descent, as well as degenerate, deadbeat, no good ones. Had the photo depicted a child of Indian descent and someone made a similar statement to stereotype them, my response would have been the same. Tribal politics is so primitive, yet even today, it's used to pit us against each other and apparently, it's working. Everyone is talking about Imbert having a Mustang. Chances are he bought it from McEnearny Motors, meaning it's the 5.0L. The MVT alone on that would be ridiculous, if you were to sell your 323 to buy it but guess who doesn't have to face those taxes..the politicians we put on a pedestal. While I'm saving money to get a mortgage to build next to you in Monkey Town, guess who gets a monthly housing allowance of about $10k, iirc? Politicians we put on a pedestal, while you and I, Indian, African, Chinese..nah not the Chinese, them good :lol: work hard to make it work for ourselves and our families. I believe we can discuss and ole talk without the racial innuendos, but until we can rise above that, we're always going to be stagnated.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 3rd, 2017, 9:04 am

Monkey Man wrote:easy on the Babs pal, it appears to be an article they jus posted

Yeah it was an article posted on Facebook, if not late last year, then early this year, hence SB putting it in quotation marks.

Postby Dave » October 3rd, 2017, 9:06 am

He bought the mustang in retrospect of budget? Would be likened to former PNM minister and her clico involvement prior to it being announced?

Postby Chimera » October 3rd, 2017, 9:07 am

Dave wrote:He bought the mustang in retrospect of budget? Would be likened to former PNM minister and her clico involvement prior to it being announced?

But it wouldn't have mattered. They have tax exemptions as ministers

Zetski

Postby Zetski » October 3rd, 2017, 10:08 am

D budget was not that bad.. yes, they said d same thing they say last year but by d end of next year or so gas prices should drop.. gas is non renewable.. it have so much car on d road.. thousands of litres being used daily and increasing.. yuh expect d price to remain d same all d time.. allyuh men need licks.

Postby Chimera » October 3rd, 2017, 10:09 am

whats the scene with that monthly review of gas prices though

that mean it would go up once oil price go up?

Sōsuke Aizen

Postby Sōsuke Aizen » October 3rd, 2017, 10:11 am

Jesus where are you? Come soon! I want you work a miracle for me..
Thy water shall be turnet to gas!

Average

Postby Average » October 3rd, 2017, 10:20 am

His maths may be off, (to you) but what about everything else he wrote? The man is spot on and there are thousands of others who feel and think the same exact way. The rest have their minds eaten up by fetes and liquor and foreign whores, the few good ones in that mix have their head on whilst engaging in the revelry but the relief is only temporary.
Believe it or not, there are many people who don't feel safe and aren't red or ready.

Postby Dave » October 3rd, 2017, 10:22 am

Even those who were red and ready weren't ready lol

Postby Chimera » October 3rd, 2017, 10:24 am

all that money for national security yet not seeing much security in the nation

Average

Postby Average » October 3rd, 2017, 10:24 am

Zetski wrote:D budget was not that bad.. yes, they said d same thing they say last year but by d end of next year or so gas prices should drop.. gas is non renewable.. it have so much car on d road.. thousands of litres being used daily and increasing.. yuh expect d price to remain d same all d time.. allyuh men need licks.

I agree to a point....but you sound as if you're part of the travelling sector...and by travelling I mean
>Waiting on ah padna to pick you up
>Waiting for a taxi or maxi
>Going to places immediately accessible by foot

Either THATTTTTT......or you're part of the 1% and just have so much money and free time that a budget doesn't bother you.

ORRRRRR......you're in school and something like a budget doesn't bother you. YET.

Postby zoom rader » October 3rd, 2017, 10:30 am

Jah bless PNM more of their supporters suffer

Playerz

Postby Playerz » October 3rd, 2017, 10:40 am

Lol some people naturally stupid saying the budget not that bad is like they have something other than a balliser up their bottom, if the drunkard lady did raise anything u wuda hear their mouth, rather have a drunkard and thief running d country and no taxes/ gas increases/ property taxes etc. so people could survive, right now the red and ready people staying quiet, as the saying goes the poor man go suffer guess we know who that is
Last edited by Playerz on October 3rd, 2017, 10:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Les Bain » October 3rd, 2017, 10:41 am

Maybe is cause i unfollowed too many people, but post budget FB real quiet.

Postby crazybalhead » October 3rd, 2017, 10:43 am

Playerz wrote:Lol some people naturally stupid saying the budget not that bad is like they have something other than a balliser up their bottom, if the drunkard lady did raise anything u wuda hear their mouth, rather have a drunkard and thief running d country and no taxes/ gas increases/ property taxes etc. so people could survive, right down the red and ready people staying quiet, as the saying goes the poor man go suffer guess we know who that is

It really wasn't that bad. A little bereft of ideas, but not too bad.

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » October 3rd, 2017, 10:46 am

The budget measures put in place is not favored by the masses but necessary.
Trying to pull back on available spend(reach) closer to what we earn. We are still having a deficit
While many may rant and rave about the removal of subsidies we need to accept it.
Perhaps the subsidy should have been gradually been removed since 2009 to present but it have to be done.

Personally seeing an article in today papers by the Gambling members saying they disagree with the tax. they fail to admit they were not in compliance for all their existence for a 13 billion dollar sector. (7-10% compliance).

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2017-10- ... eady-fight
"T&T Private Members’ Club Association (TTPMA) president Sherry Persad says the gaming industry intends to fight back against Government plans to increase taxes on the industry. She said, however, that the fight will be “in every lawful manner that is available.”

During his Budget presentation yesterday, Finance Minister Colm Imbert said the existing rate of duty on all mechanical games of chance for gambling, now 20 per cent, would be increased to 40 per cent from October 20. The measures will take effect on January 1, 2018 and will be strictly enforced in 2018.

“The present tax payment compliance rate of only 10 per cent by industry participants in the gambling industry is unacceptable and can no longer be tolerated,” Imbert said.

However, Persad described the move as an “inhumane increase,” adding that thousands will be affected.

“The Government cannot continue to proceed with the deluded concept that taxation is a revenue generating option for our nation,” Persad said.

Persad said members view the gaming increases as an act of bad faith by the Government, noting it appears to have singled out the industry as one of the few areas for taxation revenue to bear the burden of the nation’s economic challenges"

Also I think not enough was done with regards to the forex situation.

Private hospitals paying $150 ttd and being increased is fully justified.

Revenue authority is needed but the level of skilled and honest workers may be lacking for enforcement.

airuma

Postby airuma » October 3rd, 2017, 11:13 am

Joshie23 wrote:
Monkey Man wrote:dude stereotypical or not. if its true why the beat up for? :lol: :lol:

Monks boy, the chess bun is for reasons beyond the stereotypes. There are intelligent, upstanding people of African descent, as well as degenerate, deadbeat, no good ones. Likewise, there are intelligent, upstanding people of Indian descent, as well as degenerate, deadbeat, no good ones. Had the photo depicted a child of Indian descent and someone made a similar statement to stereotype them, my response would have been the same. Tribal politics is so primitive, yet even today, it's used to pit us against each other and apparently, it's working. Everyone is talking about Imbert having a Mustang. Chances are he bought it from McEnearny Motors, meaning it's the 5.0L. The MVT alone on that would be ridiculous, if you were to sell your 323 to buy it but guess who doesn't have to face those taxes..the politicians we put on a pedestal. While I'm saving money to get a mortgage to build next to you in Monkey Town, guess who gets a monthly housing allowance of about $10k, iirc? Politicians we put on a pedestal, while you and I, Indian, African, Chinese..nah not the Chinese, them good :lol: work hard to make it work for ourselves and our families. I believe we can discuss and ole talk without the racial innuendos, but until we can rise above that, we're always going to be stagnated.

The issue is the ratio of upstanding:degenerate per race!
However, I could not agree more with "Tribal politics is so primitive", this is probably the largest problem we have to overcome. There are actually people who would prefer to die when their political party in is government.
Look at this thread, the majority of comments are about which political party did worst as if we can pardon our political party because yours did no better. How is this helping us to move forward?
One person said it correctly in another thread, we vote a party out, not in. IMHO, PNM is the party that the majority of the country has accepted, when they get fed up, another party gets a chance.... it's more like a little break from the PNM and I say this because no other political party has served for more than one term!
We will only change that when we give another party more than one term, Panday came close but Robinson say..... no, no, no, not under my watch. IMHO, he made the biggest "mistake" in the history of politics of Trinidad and Tobago since if you are unable to defeat the champ, the current champ retains the title.

Postby crazybalhead » October 3rd, 2017, 11:40 am

"The roads are almost undrivable in my area for cars..."

Stopped reading after this. Poster seems to be from Maraval or Santa Cruz. I also feel there is a slight condescension in calling the the readers "Forcars".