National Budget 2017-2018 - LIVE STREAM on pg9 @ 1:30pm

Re: National Budget 2017-2018

Postby De Dragon » September 30th, 2017, 7:42 am

Redman wrote:No tax increases until the GORTT can show it is capturing the majority of taxes due.

Casino s and members clubs operate under archaic legislation...regulate and tax.

Get local on shore energy sector stimulated and operating....this industry is the single largest,fastest and most local content sector to positively impact the Forex issue.

Yet this GORTT will levy an array of new taxes which, like VAT on everything will yield a shortfall because the collection is abysmal. The honest man who doesn't dodge them will pay as usual.

Postby Redman » September 30th, 2017, 8:10 am

Politicians want to get re elected.

If they levy new taxes there is little option.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 30th, 2017, 8:36 am

Postby sMASH » September 30th, 2017, 9:22 am

pete wrote:Money laundering

Where they getting that money from?

boostornuttin

Postby boostornuttin » September 30th, 2017, 9:47 am

time for an uprising, pnm must go

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » September 30th, 2017, 10:10 am

They picked a good day to do the budget. Call it on Monday, give the pundits and citizens a week or so to express their opinions, and then *boom* long weekend next week

Postby The_Honourable » September 30th, 2017, 10:56 am

There's a list on social media being circulated that claims to be upcoming budgetary measures.

The list includes increases in personal tax to 28 percent, increases in diesel prices and restrictions on imported goods.

One tax expert is tonight saying that while the government has to find ways to increase its revenue increasing any further taxes at this point could lead to tension among the population.

Postby Redman » September 30th, 2017, 10:59 am

sMASH wrote:

Same place as everybody -BBQ and cake sales,pumpkin and any other source that offers some plausible deniability

Postby sMASH » September 30th, 2017, 11:10 am

Redman wrote:
sMASH wrote:

Same place as everybody -BBQ and cake sales,pumpkin and any other source that offers some plausible deniability

Postby Chimera » September 30th, 2017, 11:34 am

Ben_spanna wrote:Subsidy for Tobago airfare should be removed, All those private members clubs need to be TAXED through the nose..... heard a Tax on car insurance coming too...........

tobago will die if that subsidy is removed

dont most of those private member clubs have to lodge a big cash bond to have gambling machines?

Postby hydroep » September 30th, 2017, 11:37 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170930/news/tough-love-budget

We have to get to the point where we acknowledge we are not in the best of situations, and everybody needs to contribute to getting us out of it,” she said.

Same old doom and gloom story they've been singing for the last two years and they come back with it again... :?

...THE 2018 national budget to be delivered on Monday will be “tough”, but people should have patience and not believe everything they see on Facebook, says Minister in the Ministry of Finance Allyson West...

Have patience and hope oil prices go up because taxing the sh!^ out of the population and borrowing money for big construction projects (that benefit a select few) carrying us nowhere fast.

Postby RedVEVO » September 30th, 2017, 11:41 am

Redman wrote:No tax increases until the GORTT can show it is capturing the majority of taxes due.

Casino s and members clubs operate under archaic legislation...regulate and tax.

Get local on shore energy sector stimulated and operating....this industry is the single largest,fastest and most local content sector to positively impact the Forex issue.

Again why you want to tax casino ? They provide sustainable employment .
On average they earn close to $9 - 10K per month - single mother etc.

They are already taxed on the machines and alcohol etc.

Look at the Bahamas , Nevada etc.

Turn Tobago into a Macau . Tobago is a financial drain $$$$$ . Let them loose .

You have to increase revenue NOT taxes .

But All dem PNM Church people only praying .. for what ?

Postby RedVEVO » September 30th, 2017, 11:46 am

boostornuttin wrote:time for an uprising, pnm must go

It is not PNM ..

Get rid of Rowley - He destroying the PNM

He is a duncey boy and PM who shaming the Caribbean and Trini .

Postby sMASH » September 30th, 2017, 11:54 am

Pnm must go. The whole thing.
Unc must go.
Our laws must update.
Government must update to promote meritocracy.
Police must update to protect meritocracy.

Postby RedVEVO » September 30th, 2017, 11:58 am

sMASH wrote:Pnm must go. The whole thing.
Unc must go.
Our laws must update.
Government must update to promote meritocracy.
Police must update to protect meritocracy.

Police have to be removed and start from NEW ..

There is too much "family" in Police and they come from the Ghettos ..

Too much "weave" in Police.

Postby sMASH » September 30th, 2017, 12:07 pm

Too much 3 cxc officers. Bandits treating them like bobolie

Zetski

Postby Zetski » September 30th, 2017, 12:42 pm

Monday is d big day.. ah hope allyuh ready to hear how Kamla leave d economy.

Specialist Baboons

Postby Specialist Baboons » September 30th, 2017, 3:27 pm

Zetski wrote:Monday is d big day.. ah hope allyuh ready to hear how Kamla leave d economy.

Why you don’t study what your man currently doing to the economy.....

Postby Dizzy28 » September 30th, 2017, 4:26 pm

Zetski wrote:Monday is d big day.. ah hope allyuh ready to hear how Kamla leave d economy.

If three budgets in we still have to hear bout Kamla it means Rowley is incapable on running this country

AstonMartV

Postby AstonMartV » September 30th, 2017, 5:27 pm

If three budgets in we still have to hear bout Kamla it means Rowley is incapable on running this country

He already proved he’s incapable of doing anything, no need to wait for a third budget to confirm. The man have no respect or care for the citizens of Trinidad and Tobago and we as the people like it so because we refuse to hold the government accountable for the shite they spewing left right and center to us.
But hold a strain, carnival soon so we jammin still and everything normal normal. Grass tasting delicious...

Postby sMASH » September 30th, 2017, 5:43 pm

Budget synopsis : they not funding no more KY, u Hadda buy it Ur self if u want to survive

Postby Redman » September 30th, 2017, 5:58 pm

Seems that the country aint tanking-in the context of the oil prices and declines in revenue-its unavoidable that given the expansion of our revenues and spending over the last 20 years- that this side of that cycle is accompanied by the adjustment and pain that has to happen....if you were to suffer a similar cut in income-what kinda personal budgets would you set?

There were only 2 options at election time-I dont think it would be much different under any other regime....this happening to the rest of the world since 2008----it sucks -but its unavoidable.

flame on

Postby sMASH » September 30th, 2017, 6:38 pm

No, we fully well understand it and embrace it. It's just a tough pill to swallow when u see the government spending it on
Clearly unnecessary​ projects at this time.

Yes, many of the projects aren't that much money compared to what they need, but every drop does full the bucket. And they keep gushing out money on vanity projects, keep their own lives cushy, and then cut food card to some people who absolutely need it, and cut tertiary education access for some people who can't afford it, but could help build the nation.

Sōsuke Aizen

Postby Sōsuke Aizen » September 30th, 2017, 8:00 pm

Screenshot_20170929-193545~2.png

Road to Venezuela 2017.. *sips bleach*

Postby hydroep » September 30th, 2017, 8:00 pm

4:26 - "I don't think the political environment in Trinidad has had the foresight to see what's coming, I think the window for when they should have been diversifying away from these things (oil & gas) is quickly closing and I think they're going to be in for a lot of pain in the coming years".

Don't think it was ever a lack of foresight by the politicians but a conscious decision to use their time in office to siphon off what they could before the well runs dry. Why waste time fighting the inevitable?

That would certainly explain what's going on now.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » September 30th, 2017, 8:18 pm

hydroep wrote:

4:26 - "I don't think the political environment in Trinidad has had the foresight to see what's coming, I think the window for when they should have been diversifying away from these things (oil & gas) is quickly closing and I think they're going to be in for a lot of pain in the coming years".

Don't think it was ever a lack of foresight by the politicians but a conscious decision to use their time in office to siphon off what they could before the well runs dry. Why waste time fighting the inevitable?

That would certainly explain what's going on now.

This is basically it right here. I can never understand why people spend so much time discussing the economy and talking about diversifying when we all know that the leaders in the country just raping de land until there is nothing left, and after it's over they'll just take their families to another country and leave everyone else to suffer.

If any government really cared about saving the country they would simply stamp out corruption and reduce spending.

Sadly the common man must ask himself:
Why should I suffer for the decisions of a few corrupted politicians?
Why should I have to pay taxes to a government that is just going to "fix-up" themselves and family members?
Why must I have to cut back, while "they" live lavishly?

These "Upper-Class" person's seem to forget that there are some things money can't buy.
Patrick is a good example of this.
He ran this country in probably the most wealthiest period it will ever be in. He lived like a king, he built a mansion for himself, he wasted billions of the country's money. He and his buddies became millionaires overnight. He demoralized the population and viewed them as less than or "collateral damage".
While citizens were suffering in the hospitals, he was able to fly out of the country and receive the best health care money can buy.
But at the end of the day he had to suffer and die just like a poor man...
Last edited by vaiostation on September 30th, 2017, 9:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 30th, 2017, 8:46 pm

Wait till that Electric and Water subsidy goes then yuh go see pain. And it coming!!!

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » September 30th, 2017, 11:39 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Wait till that Electric and Water subsidy goes then yuh go see pain. And it coming!!!

Not a problem the electricity is out by me.

Postby pugboy » October 1st, 2017, 6:01 am

taxes that dont target the same middle class over and over are needed

tax the daylights out of them casinos
they make current per machine tax/card table in a week
we dont need a nation of addicts, and the social ills it goes with

time to tax CHURCHES who collect tithe

tax boat rides, carnival parties and bands etc
NONE of them are monitored by the tax authorities

Postby sMASH » October 1st, 2017, 6:52 am

Numb3r4 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Wait till that Electric and Water subsidy goes then yuh go see pain. And it coming!!!

Not a problem the electricity is out by me.

Still Hadda pay rent for the meter?
Or is that wasa