You see someone breaking the law, what's the right thing to do?

Re: You see someone breaking the law, what's the right thing to do?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 28th, 2017, 4:49 pm

these answers mean as a society we are hopeless.
Hopelessness should-not/cannot be an option tho

ADONI

Postby ADONI » September 28th, 2017, 4:54 pm

Yup, you can always get a medal after you die.
People should be know what right and wrong, due to their upbringing. I shouldn't have to correct a grown up on what is the correct thing to do. If so, you should be wearing pampers and not a underwear.

Postby Chimera » September 28th, 2017, 5:11 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:these answers means as a society we are hopeless.

Duane would you get involved in a situation like what happened in the gas station ? Conspiring wife and kids in car or at home ?

Postby RedVEVO » September 28th, 2017, 5:32 pm

88sins wrote:its amusing how many expected answers in this thread

but as mentioned before, depends on the scenario.

& wrt the ole man gettin beat up like a good friday bobolee in d gas station, i really can't say i was shocked that nobody intervened to defend the old timer or break up the conflict. The bulk of Trini's by nature are basically lazy gutless cowards, ready, willing & happy to swallow whatever horse droppings they get from those they perceive to be in a position above them whether that person above them be a bandit, a professional, an employer or a politician. & every wannabe gunta in the making knows this very well.

Yes I will go along with the above EXCEPT the horse droppings ..

Wanna be like Hef with my tobacco pipe.

Let TTPS , and Batman and Faris children take on dem gangster type since they have gun ..

And dead TTPS family will get $1 M ..

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 28th, 2017, 5:48 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:

Duane would you get involved in a situation like what happened in the gas station ? Conspiring wife and kids in car or at home ?

I could say all sorts of things here, but ultimately the answer would be no.

Postby hydroep » September 28th, 2017, 6:19 pm

Some time ago in an incident of road rage a fella slap the bejesus out of a lady driver. The lady then complained to the press that no one stopped to help her.

Fork dat. Might've called the police but I was NOT stopping.

Next thing yuh know you're being hailed as a hero in your eulogy and yuh family collecting posthumous award fuh yuh bravery while "the victim" going about she life as normal.

Postby nervewrecker » September 28th, 2017, 6:43 pm

An old signature of mine was "lawlessness will prevail" I think.

Postby maj. tom » September 28th, 2017, 6:56 pm

1. Police in TT do not enforce the laws. The simple laws that matter that make a civil society. Nothing. Therefore we are a lawless society easily manipulated by corrupt politicians. So lawless that we are afraid to perform our civic duties and responsibilities because of the very likely consequences done to us by lawless men and women. And there is no justice after. You going and dead for a plastic bottle in the drain?

2. When the they enforce the laws, everyone up in arms how that unfair and talking up how police so dotish and ignorant, and if they don't have "real" criminals to catch! (speed limit?)

3. is Carnival soon. Who care?

AstonMartV

Postby AstonMartV » September 28th, 2017, 8:03 pm

What about the 17 year old boy who intervened with the man beating the woman in the bar and ended up getting run over?

You’d want people to help you or help your children if they ended up in a situation and someone was around to help. But to be honest if it was my kids witnessing a crime, no way I want them to go and help. Call the police and buss it and come home alive.

People ruthless nowadays and genuinely don’t care at all. If they only know it have witnesses they coming for them too.
Police not doing anything either but half of them is bandit anyway. Sorry I not going out to play Batman. Most people just refuse to do the right thing.

Postby Redman » September 28th, 2017, 8:15 pm

No one will ing to help...yet would be first to criticize Trinidad people if it is their child or spouse getting robbed,beaten or whatever.

Certainly discretion is the first step. But cart Blanche refusing to get involved can't be the answer.

If the victim is a family member...we all HOPE some one helps.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » September 28th, 2017, 9:17 pm

This afternoon in Pasea traffic everyone, one cacasplat in a white B15 feel he makes his own rules on a two-way street. He overtakes the long line of traffic exiting Pasea. With a car coming into Pasea. They are facing each other the driver entering Pasea was not moving. He tries to pull left, a lady in a gold Tida moves up and blocks him. Many are grateful for the driver not moving, one could sense their frustration with similar drivers.

Personally, we need much more of this despite the increased police presence on the roads, there are still far too many who feel that they need to reach before everyone else and use any means to do so. Shoulder drivers, persons parking on the pavement hoping to pull in front of traffic, not so smart man driving everywhere.
Last edited by cornfused on September 28th, 2017, 9:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Drea

Postby Drea » September 28th, 2017, 9:29 pm

I think calling others cowards because they prefer life to dealing with ignorants i think is a stretch.... if you call the police and carry on your way so be it at least you did you part. At the expense of helping someone else and you losing your life leaving your family to catch doesnt make sense.

Postby 88sins » September 28th, 2017, 9:33 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:these answers mean as a society we are hopeless.

Hopelessness in society now didn't just get here today, it was groomed into people over the decades. Every little failure by the authorities lowers peoples expectations, and proves to the public that the authorities are either incapable of protecting the citizenry & enforcing laws , or uncaring about fulfilling their duties, or both. Whether it's a politician, police officer, etc, if people seeing it looks like they don't care, the people will do what they want. If the population sees corruption & failure all day every day that negatively affects them, & they are told & shown that there is little that they the public can do to stop it, this is when & how the seeds of hopelessness & desperation are sown.

And after watching that for decades & generations, the result we have today is to be expected. It's sad, but it's expected.

Postby sMASH » September 28th, 2017, 9:55 pm

Try to live to see ah nex day, yuh have pickney to mind.

Sōsuke Aizen

Postby Sōsuke Aizen » September 28th, 2017, 10:47 pm

If I was actually the guy in my picture Trinidad & Tobago would of been cleaner than Rowley bald head. Too bad its unrealistic.

abducted

Postby abducted » September 28th, 2017, 10:59 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:these answers mean as a society we are hopeless.

Hopelessness in society now didn't just get here today, it was groomed into people over the decades. Every little failure by the authorities lowers peoples expectations, and proves to the public that the authorities are either incapable of protecting the citizenry & enforcing laws , or uncaring about fulfilling their duties, or both. Whether it's a politician, police officer, etc, if people seeing it looks like they don't care, the people will do what they want. If the population sees corruption & failure all day every day that negatively affects them, & they are told & shown that there is little that they the public can do to stop it, this is when & how the seeds of hopelessness & desperation are sown.

And after watching that for decades & generations, the result we have today is to be expected. It's sad, but it's expected.

The hopeless and the oppressed need a saviour and that is an ideal situation for opportunistic politicians and religious leaders.

Postby Morpheus » September 28th, 2017, 11:28 pm

Spinning top in mud with many facets of our society. If those in authority would enforce more of the "little" laws, things would start to straighten up bit by bit...

You get a ticket for parking on the pavement, you call somebody in the station to void it. We always know somebody on the inside to push up your application or pull strings for us. All this is not fair and really fosters our shortcut mentality.

All these illegal lights on vehicles, indicators solid, white indicators, driving in the night with headlights off, changing lanes without indicating, most times not safely, hogging the right lane at 60, smooth tires, non functioning tail lights, cracked like spider web windshields.
But how many times have we seen TTPS vehicles with busted lights etc.

I am also of the opinion that ALL marked govt vehicles should be setting an example on the roads. Just my opinion.

Rubbish galore. Cups, KFC box, straw paper, chewing gum, plastic bottles, just throw it. CEPEP go clean that.

Those officers recently held with the illegal guns and marijuana in a marked police vehicle really not helping law abiding citizens have any faith in the TTPS.

Let me stop there yes. Too much to type...

Postby RedVEVO » September 29th, 2017, 12:38 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:

I could say all sorts of things here, but ultimately the answer would be no.

Maybe in a different place good people will stand up ..

But not in a gas station in El Socorro .. in the middle of the night .. :shock:

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 29th, 2017, 12:39 am

Gov't should implement laws here to allow public generated video footage of driving offences to be accepted in court as evidence (dashcams, cellphone). Saw it happening in different countries in several news articles already. E.g.

https://www.petrolprices.com/news/polic ... e-drivers/

Then hognorant drivers would be much more cautious in doing their nonsense which we see on the roads every day.

But then again its taking the authorities forever to implement redlight and speeding cameras, so this suggestion would probably be wishful thinking in T&T.

Postby RedVEVO » September 29th, 2017, 12:46 am

dredman1 wrote:Gov't should implement laws here to allow public generated video footage of driving offences to be accepted in court as evidence (dashcams, cellphone). Saw it happening in different countries in several news articles already. E.g.

https://www.petrolprices.com/news/polic ... e-drivers/

Then hognorant drivers would be much more cautious in doing their nonsense which we see on the roads every day.

But then again its taking the authorities forever to implement redlight and speeding cameras, so this suggestion would probably be wishful thinking in T&T.

Anybody know when the Gov't will implement the new Laws ?

Rowley's PNM seem to be failing at every junction . Laws dragging . Only talk.

Another real waste of taxpayer money is Faris self proclaimed relative of the Prophet Muhammed :roll: :roll:

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » September 29th, 2017, 6:27 am

Wayy Sah never knew tuner have so much pus@ies !!

Postby 88sins » September 29th, 2017, 6:33 am

randolphinshan wrote:Wayy Sah never knew tuner have so much pus@ies !!

then you clearly haven't been paying attention :lol:

Postby Chimera » September 29th, 2017, 6:33 am

Meow

Syberfraggle

Postby Syberfraggle » September 29th, 2017, 8:26 am

OP
Some perspective....

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
Courage to change the things I can,
And wisdom to know the difference.

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 29th, 2017, 9:53 am

If I had an old car,,, i'd block the shoulder partially

If I get hit is no scene

Postby 88sins » September 29th, 2017, 10:11 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:If I had an old car,,, i'd block the shoulder partially

& you'd be ticketed fully for your efforts :lol:

snypaz

Postby snypaz » September 29th, 2017, 10:33 am

According to the situation. Someone getting beat up from some guys, I'm minding my business.
Maybe if I see a lady getting her bag snatched I'd try to help. To be honest, I have no idea who's armed or not, Who's having a bad day or not. Safest thing is to contact the police and save yourself. I have to go home to my wife and dogs.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 29th, 2017, 10:54 am

snitches get stitches and laid up in ditches, beyotches.

but seriously, it's very situation dependent.
I will not endanger the lives of my wife and child to assist a stranger. I will put my life on the line for them ALONE.

In a case where I see someone in difficulty, if my judgement tells me not to stop, I will do the responsible thing and call the police. 10-15 years ago, I would have stopped without a thought.

it's sad, but that's the nature of society that we live in.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 29th, 2017, 12:33 pm

Syberfraggle wrote:OP
Some perspective....

the original version of that prayer is

God, give me grace to accept with serenity
the things that cannot be changed,
Courage to change the things
which should be changed,
and the Wisdom to distinguish
the one from the other.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » September 29th, 2017, 12:49 pm

Syberfraggle wrote:OP
Some perspective....

the original version of that prayer is

God, give me grace to accept with serenity
the things that cannot be changed,
Courage to change the things
which should be changed,
and the Wisdom to distinguish
the one from the other.

Going with that means they thought the original should be changed to what it is now
As for the question, I usually shut up and let the country continue on its course