Homeless Dominicans invited to T&T

airuma

Re: Homeless Dominicans invited to T&T

Postby airuma » September 26th, 2017, 5:06 pm

To all those against:

"Shut yuh mouth an let Trinidad and Tobago strive" - The honorable Dr. K.C. Rowley

Zetski

Postby Zetski » September 26th, 2017, 5:42 pm

Well said Boxy! :D Yuh understand it man.

A trini hear one lil saying going around "they gonna cut GATE" take the info and run with it and say ohhhh gadd Rowley is d worst! this man go dig out we eye! OHHH GADD!!! d PNM this and d PNM that..

Postby 88sins » September 26th, 2017, 6:34 pm

sMASH wrote:But many people have no shelter, and what if another storm passes through?

& this is a real possibility. Only thing they could do is use whatever materials available to build whatever structures as strong as possible as fast as possible.

Postby sMASH » September 26th, 2017, 7:43 pm

Zetski wrote:Well said Boxy! :D Yuh understand it man.

A trini hear one lil saying going around "they gonna cut GATE" take the info and run with it and say ohhhh gadd Rowley is d worst! this man go dig out we eye! OHHH GADD!!! d PNM this and d PNM that..

Yo yo yo, hole up, hole up

for the general election 2010, pnm spread rumors of gate being cut and Calcutta ship coming to voter pad tobago. After the election, pnmites were crying because they thought that all the helpful programs that the citizens benefited from, we're gonna be cut.

All the programs that rowley and his band of pnmites have cut and decimated now.

Zetski, u is a kinda ass owah?

Postby rspann » September 26th, 2017, 7:50 pm

airuma wrote:
Zetski wrote:When hurricane come for T&T allyuh will get a taste of allyuh own medicine.. nobody would want to help allyuh mc. Is only a matter of time before one comes our way.

A reporter refered to Irma destruction as "the equalizing effect of hurricane..."
I don't wish for it, but a hurricane will certainly put some balance to the high levels of polarization that exist in our society.
If it does happen, I would imagine the first order of business would be for some to secure a safe, comfortable place to sleep while others work on 1. food/water, 2. taking care of the children and 3. taking care of the sick. IMHO, this is an exercise in community development and that can only be done IN YOUR COMMUNITY, not someone elses!
Those who leave their country under these circumstances are nothing but disloyal cowards!

Paw Patrol

Postby Paw Patrol » September 26th, 2017, 8:14 pm

this stink mc jus tell me to hush my mouth? wtf.

trini people is the worst to put a low class, ghetto, bandit look a like, animal like him in power boi, waysssss

Postby rspann » September 26th, 2017, 8:29 pm

The man say hush yuh mouth and you still talking?

Zetski

Postby Zetski » September 26th, 2017, 9:04 pm

sMASH wrote:

for the general election 2010, pnm spread rumors of gate being cut and Calcutta ship coming to voter pad tobago. After the election, pnmites were crying because they thought that all the helpful programs that the citizens benefited from, we're gonna be cut.

All the programs that rowley and his band of pnmites have cut and decimated now.

It always have people who "know and who "thought".. by the way all those waste programs need to be reformed.. GATE is also doing what its supposed to be doing in d first place.. yuh sMASH dog sheit and messing up d forums.. clean up yuhself.

Specialist Baboons

Postby Specialist Baboons » September 26th, 2017, 9:34 pm

Paw Patrol wrote:this stink mc jus tell me to hush my mouth? wtf.

trini people is the worst to put a low class, ghetto, bandit look a like, animal like him in power boi, waysssss

Aye doh let the geologist jammette get tuh yuh.....

Postby RedVEVO » September 27th, 2017, 12:08 am

rspann wrote:
meccalli wrote:
IDK123 wrote:wrong country bro that's Dominican republic not dominica

Meet my good friend, sarcasm.
RedVEVO wrote:
IDK123 wrote:
rspann wrote:Who don't want to help, that is allyuh business. Just don't try to stop those who have compassion. I want to open my heart and my home to 50 Dominicans ,I have already found those that I want to help. Mr Rowley, I am ready to do as you said. please get me a contact for the following:www.complex.com/pop-culture/2011/02/the-50-hottest-dominican-women/

wrong country bro that's Dominican republic not dominica

Some people have money but they illiterate as a used rubber or rubber slipper :roll:

There is a big difference between Dominica (PNM heritage) and Dominican Republic.

If you think I don't know the difference between Dominica and the Dominican republic, you area bigger cnut than I thought you were.

But look at ting ! :D

Rich Landlord Rubber slipper man cannot even write a good sentence :roll:

Hint : The verb is in the wrong place.

Postby sMASH » September 27th, 2017, 1:00 am

Zetski wrote:
sMASH wrote:

It always have people who "know and who "thought".. by the way all those waste programs need to be reformed.. GATE is also doing what its supposed to be doing in d first place.. yuh sMASH dog sheit and messing up d forums.. clean up yuhself.

But who cut it?
Pnm
How pnm campaigned?
They say kamala gonna cut gate and food card, so don't vote for she.

Postby RedVEVO » September 27th, 2017, 1:43 am

PNM people will never learn. PNM do not like poor people.

Chinese, Vene , Syrians and now Dominican in Trini ..

All advancing but PNM people .

boxy

Postby boxy » September 27th, 2017, 6:21 am

I sometimes think that people on social media think that their comments and posts, are only relegated to local viewership. Hence the open ignorance and idiocy that is rampant on it.

Postby hydroep » September 27th, 2017, 7:32 am

airuma wrote:To all those against:

"Shut yuh mouth an let Trinidad and Tobago strive" - The honorable Dr. K.C. Rowley

To be fair, he was addressing the potential negative impact on the business community and by extension T&T's economy:

Rowley to Dominica open door plan critics:
Shut your mouth
Published: Wednesday, September 27, 2017

...Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley yesterday reacted angrily to the negative criticism which his suggestion T&T should open its doors to Dominicans ravaged by Hurricane Maria has brought on social media...

...Recalling that similar anti-Caricom sentiment had caused a fallout between the T&T and Jamaica business sector last year, resulting in him having to travel to Kingston for talks to prevent a possible Jamaica boycott of T&T goods, Rowley said: “Those now who have a lot to say about what I said about Dominica had misconducted themselves and so annoyed our Caricom purchasers of our goods that we were in danger of losing our Caricom market and all I will say to them is just shut your mouth and let Trinidad and Tobago strive.”...

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2017-09-26/shut-your-mouth

However, it's not what you say but how you say it. Baldylocks needs to remember that he is the country's Prime Minister and should comport himself accordingly.

Then again, you can take the "girl" out of the gutter but not the gutter out of the "girl"... :|

Postby Les Bain » September 27th, 2017, 7:36 am

It's amazing just like America's orange chief in charge, this gravel voiced dummy compensates for staying silent on numerous important issues by being loud and classless on a few issues.

Should just shut up and plan another Mills & Boons level book and let Imbert and the financiers continue doing his job for him.

Paw Patrol

Postby Paw Patrol » September 27th, 2017, 9:13 am

Specialist Baboons wrote:
Paw Patrol wrote:this stink mc jus tell me to hush my mouth? wtf.

Aye doh let the geologist jammette get tuh yuh.....

He pretends he went to university.

It more looks like he went to a servol

Postby De Dragon » September 27th, 2017, 9:17 am

boxy wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
airuma wrote:
Zetski wrote:When hurricane come for T&T allyuh will get a taste of allyuh own medicine.. nobody would want to help allyuh mc. Is only a matter of time before one comes our way.

A reporter refered to Irma destruction as "the equalizing effect of hurricane..."
I don't wish for it, but a hurricane will certainly put some balance to the high levels of polarization that exist in our society.
If it does happen, I would imagine the first order of business would be for some to secure a safe, comfortable place to sleep while others work on 1. food/water, 2. taking care of the children and 3. taking care of the sick. IMHO, this is an exercise in community development and that can only be done IN YOUR COMMUNITY, not someone elses!
Those who leave their country under these circumstances are nothing but disloyal cowards!

Now this is good talk ! Thank you :D

What happens in Dominica stays in Dominica .
Nice speech an all bro but u forgetting one thing 95%of the buildings/infrastructure has been decimated...... And we are barely through half of the hurricane season what happens if another one heads their way? Your points are all valid but you purposely missing the picture but alas is Growley who made the gesture.
I again ask everyone why hasn't Any opposition member expressed his concerns about what Rowley suggested? Maybe because they know the political implications Regionally about even murmuring some sort of dissatisfaction.

That's why the paid bloggers and psychophants on the front lines taking one for the team.

Make no mistake our generation has never experienced a natural disaster we are long overdue for a massive earthquake and the few out of the majority will be in for a rude awakening. I continue to say Trinis are a bunch of entitled brats who think we are deserving of all the nice living we currently enjoy. And when things get hard for whichever govt in power we want to cry and revolt and say we suffering. The suffering allyuh claim to be going through other countries like Jamaica wish they could be going through.

No, moron, we're making the point that REALISTIC aid doesn't involve taking in people en masse that we have no plan or resources for. You and PariaMan continue to insist that everyone opposed to JUHN Scarfy hare brained plan are "entitled brats" or just plain mean and that is foolish.
Of course the Opposition will not voice publicly any opposition to taking in Dominicans, politicians being politicians after all. They, like you, want to look all humane and caring.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » September 27th, 2017, 9:19 am

Look at how you ingrates rile up my PM . I think he should fly out and relax himself

Paw Patrol

Postby Paw Patrol » September 27th, 2017, 9:25 am

I feel very sorry for certain persons wife and family..for having to live with a Devil. I aint callin no names.

boxy

Postby boxy » September 27th, 2017, 9:29 am

boxy wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
airuma wrote:

Nice speech an all bro but u forgetting one thing 95%of the buildings/infrastructure has been decimated...... And we are barely through half of the hurricane season what happens if another one heads their way? Your points are all valid but you purposely missing the picture but alas is Growley who made the gesture.
I again ask everyone why hasn't Any opposition member expressed his concerns about what Rowley suggested? Maybe because they know the political implications Regionally about even murmuring some sort of dissatisfaction.

That's why the paid bloggers and psychophants on the front lines taking one for the team.

Make no mistake our generation has never experienced a natural disaster we are long overdue for a massive earthquake and the few out of the majority will be in for a rude awakening. I continue to say Trinis are a bunch of entitled brats who think we are deserving of all the nice living we currently enjoy. And when things get hard for whichever govt in power we want to cry and revolt and say we suffering. The suffering allyuh claim to be going through other countries like Jamaica wish they could be going through.

No, moron, we're making the point that REALISTIC aid doesn't involve taking in people en masse that we have no plan or resources for. You and PariaMan continue to insist that everyone opposed to JUHN Scarfy hare brained plan are "entitled brats" or just plain mean and that is foolish.
Of course the Opposition will not voice publicly any opposition to taking in Dominicans, politicians being politicians after all. They, like you, want to look all humane and caring.

Intelligent of you to share your Neanderthal thinking you seem to forget that people won't arrive here "en masse" especially since there are options to go Guyana and Jamaica your xenophobia goes into hyperdrive where that is concerned also that realistic aid would comprise of sending funds and material over to rebuild during hurricane season where another storm could possibly destroy what was sent over in the first place wouldn't that be considered waste or u didn't get that far in your rationale?

Secondly schools were wiped out with students expected to sit CXC and A's next year. As a student preparing for exams wouldn't u be thankful if another country gave you the OPTION of not obstructing your schooling. But alas you seem to be a part of the cabinet or executive branch of government to ASSUME there is no plan involved. You are a xenophobic party hack whose sense of entitlement blinds your humanity into thinking that Trinidad is a failed state that cannot afford to help its neighbour's before helping itself. I will not engage you anymore nor will I bother to read any more of your hate filled politically charged posts.... Jackass

Paw Patrol

Postby Paw Patrol » September 27th, 2017, 9:36 am

^^i stopped reading at “comprised of”

You sir, are a dunce.

Postby De Dragon » September 27th, 2017, 10:42 am

boxy wrote:
boxy wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
airuma wrote:

Intelligent of you to share your Neanderthal thinking you seem to forget that people won't arrive here "en masse" especially since there are options to go Guyana and Jamaica your xenophobia goes into hyperdrive where that is concerned also that realistic aid would comprise of sending funds and material over to rebuild during hurricane season where another storm could possibly destroy what was sent over in the first place wouldn't that be considered waste or u didn't get that far in your rationale?

Secondly schools were wiped out with students expected to sit CXC and A's next year. As a student preparing for exams wouldn't u be thankful if another country gave you the OPTION of not obstructing your schooling. But alas you seem to be a part of the cabinet or executive branch of government to ASSUME there is no plan involved. You are a xenophobic party hack whose sense of entitlement blinds your humanity into thinking that Trinidad is a failed state that cannot afford to help its neighbour's before helping itself. I will not engage you anymore nor will I bother to read any more of your hate filled politically charged posts.... Jackass

Are you serious? Since when are hurricane seasons a one off thing?
"Skerry, hear what, we go check ollour in January with dem aid ting, cuz we ent want tuh waste we morney"
Dotishlal, by your moronic logic, we'd NEVER send aid!
I never opposed aid, or school children coming here, but your faux humanitarian stance conveniently overlooks that JUHN Scarfy's plan to "open door, pot, cacahole etc" has ZERO planning behind it. You don't issue blanket invitations for people, then scratch your stupid bald head and say "wey we go do now?" when they arrive. Then you further compound your stupidity by getting arrogant and demeaning, much like you are doing here.
How many will you be accommodating by the way? A safe bet would be ZERO!

Postby sMASH » September 27th, 2017, 10:57 am

In normal times, Guyanese, Jamaicans , Venezuelans and even Chinese people try to come to trinidad, and to a lesser extent the Grenadines and other islanders.

When given the opportunity to come and stay, what do think thy will do? Go Guyana?

A Dominican I have been chatting with online has said that if they have to live like refugees in another island, they would,rather stay there.

So, unless we decide to treat them like family, the well to do ones ain't coming here .

So, the best thing is to just send across aid and let them sort out their stories.

Postby Rovin » September 27th, 2017, 11:07 am

this whole "issue" is another distraction from all d BS d govt doing ....

Postby sMASH » September 27th, 2017, 11:33 am

We need highway to toco!

While some of the largest industrial equipment, generating the majority of the country's gdp , traverse the southern part of the island on some of the worst roads the island has...

Postby The_Honourable » September 27th, 2017, 11:57 am

Even though it is a nice gesture by the PM, Rowley lacks empathy and tact. So for him to be empathetic and saddened about the dominican situation but lack the same when it comes to a disaster or deep social problems in your own country, many locals would not take him seriously.

Plus he never gave a proper plan on how it is going to be done making the situation worse and more suspect. I'm hearing more from Stuart Young than Dennis Moses - the Minister of Foreign & CARICOM Affairs who should be leading the humanitarian charge.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 27th, 2017, 1:41 pm

Last time the man clearly said the plan was for people who have family here to come stay by them

There is none so deaf as those who chose not to hear

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » September 27th, 2017, 1:41 pm

sMASH wrote:In normal times, Guyanese, Jamaicans , Venezuelans and even Chinese people try to come to trinidad, and to a lesser extent the Grenadines and other islanders.

When given the opportunity to come and stay, what do think thy will do? Go Guyana?

A Dominican I have been chatting with online has said that if they have to live like refugees in another island, they would,rather stay there.

So, unless we decide to treat them like family, the well to do ones ain't coming here .

So, the best thing is to just send across aid and let them sort out their stories.

true talk eh, they will be ok once they have the resources it is as simple as that.

and these pnm people like they learn a new word "xenophobia"
i wanting to hear on them "Urban" radio stations for Felicia to call in and bawl "ex-no-phobia" :lol: :lol:

Postby RedVEVO » September 27th, 2017, 1:52 pm

Monkey Man wrote:
sMASH wrote:In normal times, Guyanese, Jamaicans , Venezuelans and even Chinese people try to come to trinidad, and to a lesser extent the Grenadines and other islanders.

true talk eh, they will be ok once they have the resources it is as simple as that.

and these pnm people like they learn a new word "xenophobia"
i wanting to hear on them "Urban" radio stations for Felicia to call in and bawl "ex-no-phobia" :lol: :lol:

The PNM education system ..

Dominican refugee have plenty talk .. :roll:

airuma

Postby airuma » September 28th, 2017, 9:26 am

boxy wrote:
boxy wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
airuma wrote:

1. "you seem to forget that people won't arrive here "en masse"" - are you certain of that or are you implying that even if the entire population comes here it still will not meet your definition of "en masse"?
2. "there are options to go Guyana and Jamaica" - as indicated by another poster, currently Guyanese and Jamaican's migrate here more than we go there, so more than likely their first choice would be Trinidad
3. "during hurricane season where another storm could possibly destroy what was sent over in the first place" - this make absolutely no sense, historically, how many times has an island been hit by a hurricane twice in the same season? (since you made the comment multiple times, you do the research and inform us please)
4. "As a student preparing for exams wouldn't u be thankful if another country gave you the OPTION of not obstructing your schooling" - this statement suggests to me that you lack compassion for your family, this is not sending your child to a boarding school, their families are under undue stress and they are fully aware of it! This is certainly not conducive to studying. Apart from that, they have the opportunity to get a crash course in "life skills". I am certain they will learn more things that will help them as adults than what they will learn in school. The regional tertiary level institution can make special provisions to accept them with lower grades under the condition that they sit the necessary exams and achieve the required grades within a year or be withdrawn.
5. "you seem to be a part of the cabinet or executive branch of government to ASSUME there is no plan involved" - this is what is causing the negative response, is there a reason that we cannot know the plan?
6. "Trinidad is a failed state that cannot afford to help its neighbour's before helping itself" - a failed state is one where the government is no longer in control, whether this applies to Trinidad and Tobago quite debatable IMHO seeing that we are now certain about who are the most powerful and we heard it from the "horses mouth". Of course I have to ask the question, if we can help ourselves, exactly what is preventing this from happening? there are still thousands who lost their jobs over the last two years and I have heard no statistics as to how many of them have been re-employed yet..... one would think that the Ministry of labour is capable of providing this info.

The point I am trying to make is that we are looking at the last option as the first or only option, we need to demand more form our politicians, it is only then that they will step up to the job that WE have been paying them to do many years now, rather than looking for innovative ways to swindle funds from the citizenry possibly for the main purpose of election campaign financing!