Where to buy steel bars to make knives.

amd-dude

Where to buy steel bars to make knives.

Postby amd-dude » September 26th, 2017, 12:03 pm

Just a quick question, where can I buy steel for knives. Few years ago I got into knives and I want to make some quality ones for myself now, up to now I just used scrap saw blades and cut them out etc. Looking for more stainless rather than regular carbon steel but if I can get some 1065 or 1095 to start with I would use that too.

Went to a couple hardwares and they looked at me as if I was talking vulcan. Any leads would be nice and thanks in advance.

Re: Where to buy steel bars to make knives.

Postby RedVEVO » September 26th, 2017, 12:05 pm

Peaks Trading Store in Cocorite .

Postby zoom rader » September 26th, 2017, 1:29 pm

Op check TOSL for industrial steel . They sell by the foot I think in round bars.
I brought some years ago.
Or check ebay they sell however you want it

Postby pugboy » September 26th, 2017, 3:30 pm

You won’t get good steel like hap40 or vg10 locally

Postby sMASH » September 26th, 2017, 3:34 pm

Getting up to titanium on ebay

Postby meccalli » September 26th, 2017, 3:44 pm

amd-dude wrote:Just a quick question, where can I buy steel for knives. Few years ago I got into knives and I want to make some quality ones for myself now, up to now I just used scrap saw blades and cut them out etc. Looking for more stainless rather than regular carbon steel but if I can get some 1065 or 1095 to start with I would use that too.

Went to a couple hardwares and they looked at me as if I was talking vulcan. Any leads would be nice and thanks in advance.

Why do you want stainless, saltwater? High carbon steel knives have much better qualities overall. 1095 blades are great.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 26th, 2017, 3:57 pm

Valyrian steel brah!!!!

kuchurV2

Postby kuchurV2 » September 26th, 2017, 4:46 pm

u not messaging from jail right?

Postby pugboy » September 26th, 2017, 5:18 pm

You could also check them Chinese grocery etc for Chinese choppers
There are some a large size which could be cut down for your needed knife size
And some are the carbon type steel which rusts but is better.

Postby skylinechild » September 26th, 2017, 5:43 pm

surprised no one said it.....but yuh sure yuh doh want adamantium ???

Postby RedVEVO » September 27th, 2017, 12:49 am

kuchurV2 wrote:u not messaging from jail right?

You know the very thought crossed my mind :D

OP why the obsession with knives ? And to come to Tuner for help :shock:

Are you a " contract worker " ? Is this some kinda code .

And jail people can speak Vulcan :D

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » September 27th, 2017, 8:47 am

Looking for more stainless cause of salt water yes but not a necessity. I came to chuner cause I know men here know where to find anything. How come you knew I was a contract woker? *puts on tin foil hat*

But yea, it's not really an obsession...yet, I just always want to learn something.

Paw Patrol

Postby Paw Patrol » September 27th, 2017, 8:49 am

U issa Edward scissors hand kinda fella

Baldhead

Postby Baldhead » September 27th, 2017, 10:07 am

Express Metals & Industrial Supplies Ltd
9 John Baptiste Road,
Balmain, Couva,
Trinidad W.I.
Tel: 868-679-1593
Email: xpressmetals@gmail.com

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » September 27th, 2017, 11:18 am

Like somebody watching too much Forged in Fire :D

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » September 27th, 2017, 11:55 am

LOL, I won't lie I do watch it whenever I see it on but I will never go that hardcore to forge steel, I just want a blank to grind something out of that.

Postby RedVEVO » September 27th, 2017, 2:17 pm

Yes Tuners speak Vulcan ..

The other day a "youth man" was caught by security forces with a "homemade blade" strapped inside his pants :shock:

The blade was close to 16" ( 40.64 cm ) long and sharpens at all sides :shock:

Cannot go into details for "security issues " but let us say he never using that blade again :D

OP, Just go Charlotte Street and any Chinese shop will sell you a nice Ninja chop chop blade cheap cheap .. :D

Postby timelapse » September 27th, 2017, 3:25 pm

http://www.instructables.com/id/Leaf-Sp ... ha-Khukri/
Hold that there.You can get your materials in scrap yards

Postby adnj » September 27th, 2017, 10:49 pm

One of the best sources for 5160 is a truck leaf spring. Millsaw blades will give you L6. Lawnmower blades will give you 1060 or 1070. If you decide to do heavy hammer forging, use automotive ball bearings for 52100.

If you're serious about stock removal stainless steel blades, surf to NJ Steel Barons. You need to spec the thickness and width. You can get 4ft long blanks for about US$200 in some of the better steels like D2, Nitro-V, S35VN.

Another local source is a Tramontina machete. They only use SAE 1070 steel so your heat treat won't have to be guess work.