COST OF LIVING IN TRINIDAD $$$$

cracker

COST OF LIVING IN TRINIDAD $$$$

Postby cracker » September 7th, 2017, 11:40 am

I believe there was a post about this issue sometime ago but I have to say that to maintain a decent lifestyle in this country is becoming very expensive!!! When you look at the cost of living, insurance premiums, gas, food, shelter/rent I really don't know some people are surviving. On the topic of food, at one point in time it's like every day I was spending $100 and the grocery (I do buy in bulk mind you). Even if you are socializing with friends or taking out your companion some where nice for example the movies. That could easily run up to $400 or more. The cost of tickets , food gas to reach there etc. A general question what type of earnings does one have to make on a monthly basis to maintain your life style. Keep in mind that it's not my intention to make a this post political. If you don't like pnm/ unc you can say so if you want but that's really your business. What are your thoughts?

Re: LIVING IN TRINIDAD $$$$

Postby Dizzy28 » September 7th, 2017, 11:42 am

Lifestyles are subjective therefore the earnings required to maintain are also subjective.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » September 7th, 2017, 11:55 am

OP the local farmers market iz ur friend...

Postby Les Bain » September 7th, 2017, 12:26 pm

I does tune out when these discussions mention "socializing with friends" then shut off when that figure in excess of $40.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » September 7th, 2017, 12:27 pm

Don't live like you making $20000 a month when you only pulling in $5000.
Just humble and only buy what you "need", not what you "want".

Miktay

Postby Miktay » September 7th, 2017, 12:39 pm

^^yea keeping up with the Harrylals iza road to ruin...

Drea

Postby Drea » September 7th, 2017, 12:59 pm

cracker wrote:I believe there was a post about this issue sometime ago but I have to say that to maintain a decent lifestyle in this country is becoming very expensive!!! When you look at the cost of living, insurance premiums, gas, food, shelter/rent I really don't know some people are surviving. On the topic of food, at one point in time it's like every day I was spending $100 and the grocery (I do buy in bulk mind you). Even if you are socializing with friends or taking out your companion some where nice for example the movies. That could easily run up to $400 or more. The cost of tickets , food gas to reach there etc. A general question what type of earnings does one have to make on a monthly basis to maintain your life style. Keep in mind that it's not my intention to make a this post political. If you don't like pnm/ unc you can say so if you want but that's really your business. What are your thoughts?

IMO: There are the haves and the have nots.... the haves you will see them every weekend dining out and enjoying all there is to offer socially. Then there are the have nots who can be broken up into 2 categories: 1. Those who have a combination of common sense and/or have experienced reality (layoff, retrenchment etc) and 2. Those who living in a bubble. The bubbles are the ones who may be living with mum and dad, have the illusion of a stable job and don't realise how quickly that can disappear. For those who have faced a layoff and been unemployed you tend to focus real quick on building your savings for a rainy day. Not saying you can't go out once in a while but, in times like now you definitely know your priorities.

cryotec

Postby cryotec » September 7th, 2017, 1:03 pm

i does crack one with the boys, very budget friendly

Postby hydroep » September 7th, 2017, 1:03 pm

Several supposedly well to do people up to their eyeballs in debt, while those who would be shunned because they're driving a 20-year old car can sleep surprisingly well at night.

"Keeping up with the Joneses" isn't a life strategy that's suitable for everyone.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 7th, 2017, 1:06 pm

life style depends on how muc bling you want in it .. you said u spend a $100 a day on food ... i myself buy food daily for work in POS

roti & aloo etc - $9.00
tea - $8.00
Max $20
purchased at shians ( breakfast )

Average lunch - $45.00 ( any wher in POS)
dinner - is made hme

total $62.00 on food per day ..

Gas to POS is about $180 a week sometimes i take a drop with a co - worker and we car pool so it works out well .. sometimes i get a trip from work to central and i make a lil gas $$$ also ... its all about the hustle ... to survive

total per week - $180 + $310 = $490 per week or $2000 per month average ...
3-4 times a week i make a sandwich/ lunch which cost a little less per day

cracker wrote:Even if you are socializing with friends or taking out your companion some where nice for example the movies. That could easily run up to $400 or more. The cost of tickets , food gas to reach there etc.

i dont lime every weekend and every friday and sat . so mayb once or twice per month

movies dinner liming per nite - $800 max ( this is not a bling lime normal lime )

2 weekends per month - $1600
a lime at the casino sometimes brings in a kool $1500 - $2500 sometimes ... if i do win welll half goes to save next half to spend ...

so my total spending per month on food and liming is $2000 + $!600= $3600
clothes & savings = dont want to disclose that figure ...

the key to budgeting is being able to control your spending ...

me and the guys from work run a su-su so thats a next way i can save and have a lil extra cash ...

the average man lives on a $5k salary in trinidad and has kids ... so its how discipline you are at spending and wasting money ...

Postby Ben_spanna » September 7th, 2017, 1:23 pm

Not seeing anyone mentioning, but also factor in if you have Kid/s, that's another $4700+ a TERM PER Child , then additional few hundred $$ for extra ciricular activities, Transportation to and from work- $ 600 gas a month, CAr payments, etc...... Grogery bill will vary Greatly depending on how much MEAT and imported goods you want.

Postby MaxPower » September 7th, 2017, 1:32 pm

Adjust your life to your salary, some people make it work with leas that 5K.

But i would say anything above 20k after tax.

Drea

Postby Drea » September 7th, 2017, 1:38 pm

Yes kids are an important factor but I'd like to hope in most cases its a split expense between two parents. Right now I have people asking so when the children coming and its like you barely minding yourself on a salary much less to talk about children.

Postby Ben_spanna » September 7th, 2017, 1:44 pm

Depends on how the couple does their finances Drea, either way they have to be factored in................ and then theres the surprise Doctor/dentists visits for the kids..........

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 7th, 2017, 2:15 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:Not seeing anyone mentioning, but also factor in if you have Kid/s, that's another $4700+ a TERM PER Child , then additional few hundred $$ for extra ciricular activities, Transportation to and from work- $ 600 gas a month, CAr payments, etc...... Grogery bill will vary Greatly depending on how much MEAT and imported goods you want.

no kids
no loans

drive a sheit car ... so gas and maintenance is cheap .. i dont believe in the having a 200k car and paying a $4k loan to impress people .. and have bling

Postby pete » September 7th, 2017, 2:33 pm

Your costs don't really cover the cost of "living". You're living rent free, eating free food at home so someone else is bearing those costs.

Postby j.o.e » September 7th, 2017, 2:46 pm

hydroep wrote:Several supposedly well to do people up to their eyeballs in debt, while those who would be shunned because they're driving a 20-year old car can sleep surprisingly well at night.

"Keeping up with the Joneses" isn't a life strategy that's suitable for everyone.

This !!! Have people who have zero savings but look wealthy ... trust me on this!! And it's not just the regular 8-5 folks. It's the euro driving, vacation going, gated community living crew too.

Postby pugboy » September 7th, 2017, 3:08 pm

I went bhagwansingh to buy some steel the other day
The transport guy I hired tell me he put his daughter thru Harvard university with that work
She getting a phd this year

TriP

Postby TriP » September 7th, 2017, 3:17 pm

$100 is notten nowadays

Mon - Fri: Gas - 40, Breakfast plus Drink - 12, Lunch plus Drink - 25, Half DuMaurier - 17

Drea

Postby Drea » September 7th, 2017, 4:03 pm

pugboy wrote:I went bhagwansingh to buy some steel the other day
The transport guy I hired tell me he put his daughter thru Harvard university with that work
She getting a phd this year

Very admirable if true, and I'm sure the young lady is probably very proactive in terms of trying to support herself through student grants/schols to help her thru school.

I honestly try to cut back on the food buying I make $100 in gas last the week, Sunday after everybody eat lunch I pack food for Monday and Tuesday. If I reach home Tuesday evening and it still have remnants, I pack for Wednesday. Dependent on if i pick up some lil tings in the grocery i make a lil quick something for thursday and maybe buy lunch Friday. But sometimes I just dont feel to leave the office and make do with a lil snack until i heading home and buy something for dinner. And I walk with my personal water bottle and drink that all day.

sickbad

Postby sickbad » September 7th, 2017, 4:44 pm

Golden rule is have rent/mortgage come in <=30% of income, and if you an save 10% of whatever comes in, you real good.

Ironic the people driving 20yr old cars want to upgrade their social status whereas people who are having a hard time to maintain their expensive rides are month to month because of leasing, living in higher overhead costs (area the are living),vacations , dinners etc IS BECAUSE they are likey nose-high in debt. Rich guys pinch pennies like a Jews in a vicegrip.
When hard times hit, you can't afford to keep in G100 because you're like -$100, G and you gonna retire soon, and get a heart attack so to answer your question work it backwards brand new car payment is $2500/month, insurance $10k a year, apartment with lights internet 3k a month. Yea things do suck if you put pigmies in the situation, but daz what we here for. Barman another rounds to drown the sorrows.

Postby pugboy » September 7th, 2017, 6:26 pm

tbh folks who buy breakfast could save a lot more if they simply ate cereal or oats + a banana
healthier for the body as well as pocket

we have a bad culture of making a big calorie deal out of breakfast meals, doubles, sada, bake etc
in north america many get by on a cup of coffee and a single donut/bagel

if you cook on weekends, cook and pack/freeze for at least a few meals during the week

cracker

Postby cracker » September 7th, 2017, 7:10 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:Not seeing anyone mentioning, but also factor in if you have Kid/s, that's another $4700+ a TERM PER Child , then additional few hundred $$ for extra ciricular activities, Transportation to and from work- $ 600 gas a month, CAr payments, etc...... Grogery bill will vary Greatly depending on how much MEAT and imported goods you want.

Very good point

cracker

Postby cracker » September 7th, 2017, 7:10 pm

Drea wrote:Yes kids are an important factor but I'd like to hope in most cases its a split expense between two parents. Right now I have people asking so when the children coming and its like you barely minding yourself on a salary much less to talk about children.

This is so true!!!

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 7th, 2017, 7:22 pm

TriP wrote:$100 is notten nowadays

Mon - Fri: Gas - 40, Breakfast plus Drink - 12, Lunch plus Drink - 25, Half DuMaurier - 17

whher u getting break fast plus a drink for $12 ? :shock:

Re: COST OF LIVING IN TRINIDAD $$$$

Postby j.o.e » September 7th, 2017, 7:45 pm

10-01 wrote:

3 doubles and govt juice (wasa)

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 7th, 2017, 7:47 pm

j.o.e wrote:
10-01 wrote:

3 doubles and govt juice (wasa)

wher i buy douubles its $5 for a normal and $6 for a triples :oops:

Postby j.o.e » September 7th, 2017, 7:48 pm

Well a triples and you have money for a drink lol

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 7th, 2017, 7:49 pm

j.o.e wrote:Well a triples and you have money for a drink lol

to be honest if i eat 2 triples and drink a coffee @ about 9 am i good till 2-3 :oops:

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » September 7th, 2017, 11:12 pm

Costs isn't cheap wen I was making east to south at first cost of gas for my first ride was 120 a week now it Went to 280 at least. Food price is another thing thanks God my wife cook at 6 days for the week who both work shift.
Currently based south so the strain ease for a Lil while.
I hardly lime and if it's movie date and dinner that's in the 600 to 800 region and that's sometimes be once a month.with loan and car maintenance is hard have to put In some extra hours sometimes to keep ah float..only advantage for the hour mom's and pops have me rent free so that's a ease up
Sad to say I don't know how people with incomes below 5k making it and even worse how does they survive..to me these prices gonna keep going up and just keep in mind the exchange rate jumping more and more