Violinist fraudster

drchaos

Re: Violinist fraudster

Postby drchaos » September 6th, 2017, 8:27 am

Yeah but the american guy is also using other peoples music ... This is dotish
A theif getting vex when another man stealing his loot?

Postby Chimera » September 6th, 2017, 8:35 am

skylinechild wrote:the man claim to play for the president of TT....anyone cud call up carmona and let him verify...???

call 62-burke

Postby Les Bain » September 6th, 2017, 8:43 am

drchaos wrote:Yeah but the american guy is also using other peoples music ... This is dotish

This is why our local copyright is a pack of ass.
The American is applying his musical talent to do violin covers of existing work.
The local guy is miming over the American guy's work while acting like a tard.

It's the same thing as a comic artist at a convention making sketches of any number of existing I.P that's not his own, versus somebody downloading scans of the artist's convention sketches, printing them out and selling them while exclaiming "check de local talent dey nah bossman."

Postby Chimera » September 6th, 2017, 9:00 am

he doing a live show sometime soon to prove he could really play

idk nun about violin or musical instruments on the whole na, i thought the man legit and could play real good

i see a video where he play "trini 2 d bone" as well

ADONI

Postby ADONI » September 6th, 2017, 9:04 am

Man probably got level free beers at Spotlight that night!

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 6th, 2017, 9:21 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:he doing a live show sometime soon to prove he could really play

idk nun about violin or musical instruments on the whole na, i thought the man legit and could play real good

i see a video where he play "trini 2 d bone" as well

Ive actually seen him/ heard him play at live events without a DJ backup.... #ohwell

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 6th, 2017, 10:02 am

drchaos wrote:Yeah but the american guy is also using other peoples music ... This is dotish

No the American guy is actually playing the violin, the Trini guy is not playing the violin and infact has the American guy track playing over the speakers but pretending to play. Atleast when it comes to this particular video anyways, I am sure the Trini guy could play the violin since he plays for the President, but the forensics show that many of his tracks are not his and he not playing anything but just pretending and simply just doing a playback of other people work.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on September 6th, 2017, 10:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 6th, 2017, 10:05 am

uncle sam wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Basically he doing what all those musicians in soca and chutney bands doing.....pretending whilst the man in control of the tracks doing all the work

Hold the fk up!... u never heard Roy Cape play in a fete? them horns will throw you the fk down; d bareback bass man will shake yuh spine

Kes the Band on the other hand... wellll

That is long time thing dawdi!!!

With Cape battling he Cancer it eh really have them ole time musicians again.

cryotec

Postby cryotec » September 6th, 2017, 10:17 am

i hear the man wa sue chaitoo

Postby skylinechild » September 6th, 2017, 10:47 am

from my understanding of the situation and claims from another tuner who said the person can actually play ...and WRT the copyright thing......

th only possible way everyone could actually be right is

1. the trini guy can actually play
2. however in certain situations - the trini guy was actually claiming the other guys work as his own - by way of using the DJ synced music - now the problem with doing this is that he didnt give credit to the actual owner of the music.

3 he may be able to play but sometimes passing off other persons work as your own..is wrong....

go look on you tube and see how much ppl there are playing their own versions of my immortal by evanescence.... they dont claim to own that piece of music instead they give credit where its due.

3 a. to the point above where another tuner said
Les Bain wrote:The American is applying his musical talent to do violin covers of existing work.
The local guy is miming over the American guy's work while acting like a tard.

agreed - to a point - the trini guy NOT giving credit where its due - to the original violinist - he letting everyone think its him playing - ie

now this is different for the American artist cause lets say he does a cover of a song - he gives credit to the original owner / composer / singer....hell most of the songs he does are covers and well known....not like he cud claim them as hit own....who the hell goin to play violin of evanescence my immortal and claim it as their own original piece.

the trini guy may be able to play the violin but at least be man enough to say ...ok that was cool but thats not me thanks to american guy out of america for his talent but if you really want to hear me play come to my free concert at XYZ cafe.....

long story short..he using another persons talent to gain publicity without acknowledging the original violinist player.... yes the trini guy may be able to play.....but lets be real.....this only made news cause of the person got caught.

theres used to be an old guy standing in city gate playing his violin everyday for years......
how much tuners actually know about him ??? his talent..his life story ???

moving fwd.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 6th, 2017, 11:03 am

There is no legal action the american guy can take ... therefore no laws broken. So nothing to see here.

Postby meccalli » September 6th, 2017, 11:20 am

Specialist Baboons wrote:
meccalli wrote:Well anyone can tell that a violin doesn't have reverb live and he doesn't even use any visible type of vibrato, but it's still an instrumental cover of a pop song and besides, if he's 100% miming, he's using some sort of bow that doesn't really output as you'd hear at least some dissonance between himself and the track. Also, the harmony violin, probably plays it with his feet lol.

Buh like you issa specialist forensics violinist

As much as you're a primatologist lol.

Specialist Baboons

Violinist fraudster

Postby Specialist Baboons » September 6th, 2017, 12:22 pm

https://www.facebook.com/rhettypants/vi ... 336621294/

Phone calls being made, level crying....
Pressure scene for shiva yes...

Miktay

Postby Miktay » September 6th, 2017, 12:33 pm

uncle sam wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Basically he doing what all those musicians in soca and chutney bands doing.....pretending whilst the man in control of the tracks doing all the work

Hold the fk up!... u never heard Roy Cape play in a fete? them horns will throw you the fk down; d bareback bass man will shake yuh spine

Kes the Band on the other hand... wellll

True talk dey...the gitteriss ent bad either...

Postby j.o.e » September 6th, 2017, 12:48 pm

Trinis would tief anything ..... is not just politicians corrupt, is trinis in general.

zorced

Postby zorced » September 6th, 2017, 1:27 pm

The real offence here is he used it for income generation while having a a crew and being connected with DJs etc. They could've done it legit if they wanted to, correct me if wrong.

You might see an apology and forgiveness video just now and in the end Price could benefit from the publicity/drama.

You all think it's fair how he had to mention the country so though?

zorced

Postby zorced » September 6th, 2017, 1:40 pm

Hmm can't believe this was his response.......

http://www.looptt.com/content/trini-violinist-dismiss-claims-theft-youtube-sensation

“I ignoring he, I does go in studio and do my tracks myself. That not really bothering me right now. I eh do nothing wrong. If that reach them fellas’ ears that means I am doing something good and I am a competition in their eyes,” he said, noting that he plays other genres of music including Indian classics.

:| :| :| :| :|
Last edited by zorced on September 6th, 2017, 1:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 6th, 2017, 1:45 pm

Why hire a man to come play live music and he comes and plays tracks??......mite as well save money and just let the DJ do all the work

Turbostarr

Postby Turbostarr » September 6th, 2017, 1:46 pm

Agreed. They don't call us trickidadians for nothing you know. And yes the typical wrong and strong mentality...you see why these country is the way it is...it's from the so called little things that it starts...

Specialist Baboons

Violinist fraudster

Postby Specialist Baboons » September 6th, 2017, 1:50 pm

BREAKING NEWS |

Youtube star to seek legal advice over use of music by Trini musician
LAURA DOWRICH-PHILLIPS CREATED : 5 SEPTEMBER 2017 ENTERTAINMENT
Share to FacebookShare to TwitterShare to LinkedInShare to WhatsAppShare to Facebook MessengerShare to EmailShare to TelegramShare to More
Rhett Price is no longer playing nice guy.

The American violinist who has accused a Trinidadian musician of taking his music and passing it off as his own, is now seeking legal advice on the issue.

Price, whose allegation was reported in the Boston Globe on Monday spoke to Loop a day after we contacted Shiva Chaitoo, the violinist in question.

Price, who has made a career doing violin remixes of popular pop and hip hop songs, is accusing Shiva Chaitoo of pretending to play his violin while his (Price’s) tracks play in the background, giving people the impression that the compositions are his.

Price said he was first alerted to Chaitoo when someone sent him a video of the South musician playing at a function.

He and the Boston Globe contacted Chaitoo, who broke down in tears while confessing he was a huge fan of Price’s and was inspired by his style of playing.

Chaitoo, who many are now referring as the local “Milli Vanilli”, denied to Loop that he was doing anything wrong by playing over Price’s tracks.

Price said he is convinced that despite Chaitoo’s promise to stop, he won’t.

“Initially I was just trying to be a good person and not go that route. I am not trying to ruin anyone’s life, I just want him to stop using other people’s music. If you want to be an artist you have to create art. He apologised profusely over and over and said he will rethink what he is doing, he swore on his grandmother’s life and said he won’t do it again,” said Price.

Price said he had about five or six videos of Chaitoo performing at various functions. He said in one video, Chaitoo is doing a sound check at a wedding and playing his violin while one of Price’s tracks play in the background.

“He’s playing an acoustic guitar, it’s not plugged in and you are hearing the reverb from my song and everything," he said.

For those who think he is upset that Chaitoo is performing his version of songs, Price said what they don’t realise is that Chaitoo is using the recording he made and not playing at all.

“This is someone who is building an entire career off of it and performing for the President and weddings. It is almost like Milli Vanilli except that is not music created for him, it is mine. He’s copied me for about three years, you can’t get away with things like this with the internet. He is going to completely lose this false career he built up. I didn’t want to make his life hell but he doesn’t deserve to get a penny from playing any of these songs. He is very well known in Trinidad based off of my music,” said Price.

Stating that Chaitoo should prove himself the way he had to, Price, who was once homeless, said he wants anyone who ever thinks about booking Chaitoo to know how he got to where he is.

“I want him to prove himself and to actually play the violin,” said Price.

While refusing to comment on the authenticity of Chaitoo’s recordings as that type of assessment lies within the expertise of a musicologist, Carla Parris, an entertainment lawyer, said it is farcical to believe that we can get away with infringements and are hidden from the rest of the world due to the size of our island.

“We are living in a digital era and the reality for musicians in T& T and in fact in the wider Caribbean is that now more than ever the eyes of music publishing companies, labels and music supervisors are on us. This is because many mainstream artistes in the U.S and Europe are now using Caribbean beats and Afro beats infused into their songs. As such there are many key players in the global entertainment industry who are interested in working with homegrown songwriters, doing collaborations with artistes and scour the internet on the lookout for new stars,” she said.

Clash of the violinists yessssss......
Chaitoo's responses are clearly immature..

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 6th, 2017, 2:05 pm

^ Well good luck to him on that but I doh see anything coming out of it.

How many years Trinis stealing Bollywood music and nothing was ever done? all them Chutney and Soca music is the same thing they take from somebody else and they just changed the lyrics.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 6th, 2017, 2:07 pm

Man call the Trini fella Milli Violini!!!
:D :D

Postby Les Bain » September 6th, 2017, 2:21 pm

The way things going, Chaitoo might evolve his technique to sound like Lindsey Stirling.

Specialist Baboons

Postby Specialist Baboons » September 6th, 2017, 2:42 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Man call the Trini fella Milli Violini!!!
:D :D

ADONI

Postby ADONI » September 6th, 2017, 2:56 pm

So Price paying royalties for doing his covers or something on other people music?
Why Chaitoo doh violin some chutney and soca, showing he could 'play' too... Create his own Youtube channel.

Postby skylinechild » September 6th, 2017, 3:05 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ Well good luck to him on that but I doh see anything coming out of it.

How many years Trinis stealing Bollywood music and nothing was ever done? all them Chutney and Soca music is the same thing they take from somebody else and they just changed the lyrics.

somehow i have a strong belief you dont think before you talk....

so what if someone uses a beat or synth and change up the entire lyrics it is something new...its not like they adding in a piece of the original song wording... its totally original....!!!

for example... and no its not soca....

AND

then again...youre an you have an ID-10-T error bulit in you....

Postby Dizzy28 » September 6th, 2017, 3:10 pm

ADONI wrote:So Price paying royalties for doing his covers or something on other people music?
Why Chaitoo doh violin some chutney and soca, showing he could 'play' too... Create his own Youtube channel.

The lack of online presence (youtube channel, Facebook vids etc) by Chaitoo bothers me. In this day and age of information technology people in the line of business that Chaitoo is in would and do readily jump at the opportunity for the exposure that can be derived from online. However his absence has me questioning his actual product.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » September 6th, 2017, 3:13 pm

^^True that!!!

Eh wah this intro sounds like??? :mrgreen:
Or could be too much playing Mortal Kombat for me....

Postby rspann » September 6th, 2017, 3:31 pm

He could play for Ivor to sing , while the Prez and Reema dancing.

Postby pugboy » September 6th, 2017, 4:42 pm

Kes is one of the biggest cover acts in the country too
Only last few years their material somewhat popular if so
Their set in a soca party used to be other artiste songs