Break in at R&J Cell Tech - Gulf City Mall

Re: Break in at R&J Cell Tech - Gulf City Mall

Postby RBphoto » July 8th, 2017, 8:50 am

Bout a battery there once in the kiosk days. The battery did not charge after the fist discharge. About 5 people in line before me had the same problem. Same answer..... no warranty on batteries. Fleck them.

Postby Chimera » July 8th, 2017, 11:31 am

The cellphone store would be the best place to rob tho. Those jewellery stores have their own metal cages . What else u can steal and sell easy? B mobile phones would be locked as well as b mobile would lock down or track their own phones if stolen.

Postby skylinechild » July 9th, 2017, 7:46 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:The cellphone store would be the best place to rob tho. Those jewellery stores have their own metal cages . What else u can steal and sell easy? B mobile phones would be locked as well as b mobile would lock down or track their own phones if stolen.

you're a poor bastard if you actually believe that.... :lol: :lol:

they can track the SIM not the handset kind sir. the handset IMEI is supposed to be registered with the sim.

ideally this is how it should works.

1. customers buys new handset & new sim
2. phone number is recorded along with IMEI on paper ( for the bill of sale nuh )
3. the back end of the software ( mobile operator sees the sim registering onto the network *upon the initial power on of the phone - and captures the necessary info. also polls the handset for its information - brand make model - also MCC - MNC - IMSI

4. on every power up the network is supposed to verify the sim along with the IMEI as long as these two correspond ( database check) the handset is allowed to operate

5. if the handset is stolen and the sim card is changed the SIM will not longer correspond to the IMEI number stored on the database and the handset is supposed to be prevented from operating - the newly inserted SIM is also supposed to be "locked out "

please note the handset itself doesnt "lock down" but rather the SIM itself is what is prevented from working. as it doesnt correspond to the IMEI on the database as being registered.

database is shared regionally to prevent the phone from being repackaged and resold and used on another mobile operator

6 some mobile manufacturers even go as far as giving you the user the ability to lock your phone permanently if lost / stolen and track it too ( iphone / andriod - dunno about nokia or other makes models )

but in trini this is how it works..
1. customers buys new handset & new sim
2. phone number is recorded along with IMEI on paper ( for the bill of sale nuh )
3. phone gets stolen.
4 . local phone company tell you outright they cant help you....all the while they ready to sell you a new handset and sim to start the process all over again ( see step 1)

welcome to trini...enjoy your stay

Postby maj. tom » July 9th, 2017, 8:17 am

That kind of lock down is very impressive, probably involving hardware. But they always have way to break security, no matter how high. That's why phone theft remains. The stolen goods are probably already on a ship to China, where they'll open it up and re-solder on a new chip or something, and it's like brand new.

Then it's probably being sold far away, on the other side of the world, Africa, Asia... or comes right back here in the form of disreputable dealers who know very well where they get their goods, and hence offer such poor warranty and service.

Postby RedVEVO » July 9th, 2017, 8:26 am

maj. tom wrote:That kind of lock down is very impressive, probably involving hardware. But they always have way to break security, no matter how high. That's why phone theft remains. The stolen goods are probably already on a ship to China, where they'll open it up and re-solder on a new chip or something, and it's like brand new.

Then it's probably being sold far away, on the other side of the world, Africa, Asia... or comes right back here in the form of disreputable dealers who know very well where they get their goods, and hence offer such poor warranty and service.

They not going China.

They stay right here in Trini - if you only knew :D

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 9th, 2017, 9:25 am

Tuner CSI on the case.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » July 10th, 2017, 2:15 pm

tuner csi will find dna in that pile of glass

Postby Slartibartfast » July 10th, 2017, 4:30 pm

skylinechild wrote:5. if the handset is stolen and the sim card is changed the SIM will not longer correspond to the IMEI number stored on the database and the handset is supposed to be prevented from operating - the newly inserted SIM is also supposed to be "locked out "

please note the handset itself doesnt "lock down" but rather the SIM itself is what is prevented from working. as it doesnt correspond to the IMEI on the database as being registered.

database is shared regionally to prevent the phone from being repackaged and resold and used on another mobile operator
Would this make sense with factory unlocked phones. I always buy factory unlocked phones so when I go away I could just buy a cheap sim card on a local network and enjoy all of the benefits of using my phone without any roaming charges. If the phone locks out all other sim cards then it makes no sense buying an unlocked phone.

Monkey Man wrote:i dunno about this guy, but i dont trust phone sellers in general.

them is coast a big boi role, but really buying refurbished phones from Afghanistan and selling them as new....
Is it possible to do this and still offer the 1 year Samsung warranty and 100GB skydrive cloud storage update? If not that may be a way to tell the legit sellers from the scammers.

On a related note. I've been buying my handsets exclusively from reputable powersellers on tuners since 2012 and have had zero problems so far. I think I bought for three different sellers over the years.

Average

Postby Average » July 10th, 2017, 5:02 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Tuner CSI on the case.

:)

Postby skylinechild » July 12th, 2017, 7:02 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
skylinechild wrote:5. if the handset is stolen and the sim card is changed the SIM will not longer correspond to the IMEI number stored on the database and the handset is supposed to be prevented from operating - the newly inserted SIM is also supposed to be "locked out "

Would this make sense with factory unlocked phones. I always buy factory unlocked phones so when I go away I could just buy a cheap sim card on a local network and enjoy all of the benefits of using my phone without any roaming charges. If the phone locks out all other sim cards then it makes no sense buying an unlocked phone.

factory unlock phones are just that factory unlocked... ie use any sim when you buy a sim and you have your own handset they cant legally lock it out cause the handset was never reported lost / stolen. plus if you tell them i have my own handset they will still record the IMEI for record sake.

the Sim card & IMEI database check is supposed to be done in the back ground (as far as i understand)
now it comes into play when the handset is stolen - you report it ...the personnel flags it on the data base.

if the phone is used with a new sim card - the sim card & IMEI doesnt correspond to whats on the database. the handset is flagged as lost / stolen

the network provider is also alerted to this information - also keep in mind this data base is supposed to be shared across network provider so as to prevent a phone stolen from a customer who is on say AT&T network.... phone is unlocked to work on any mobile operator.... person uses a t mobile SIM.... handset is flagged as lost / stolen and the database check logs the SIM number and locks it out of the mobile network.

ideally that is how its supposed to work....

hope this clarifies abit for you

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » July 12th, 2017, 7:53 am

Guys,

My experience:

Bought an unlocked phone from a tuner( supposedly unlocked and genuine).
Phone activated and used in T&T with no issue.
Travelled to the USA and when attempted to purchase a Sim in the US I was told that this phone (IMEI)has been reported lost and as such is not able to be activated.
Returned to Trinidad and phone continue to work normally.

Postby tr1ad » July 12th, 2017, 7:56 am

INDAVID WORKSHOP wrote:Guys,

My experience:

Travelled to the USA and when attempted to purchase a Sim in the US I was told that this phone (IMEI)has been reported lost and as such is not able to be activated.

correct .... same issue with a power seller - unable to use in foreign, but trinidad was fine

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » July 12th, 2017, 8:15 am

de hell hmm

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » July 12th, 2017, 10:03 am

phone men like to play important business man, but is really crook stick

Cooloh

Postby Cooloh » July 12th, 2017, 11:02 am

I walk in to RJ Cell Tech a few times to buy phone case or screen protector. Smell the cigarrette smoke and heard the boss in the back talking to an employee like she was a punching bag. Walked right out.

Maybe a disgrutled ex employee?

Postby Redman » July 12th, 2017, 11:50 am

mall is a big laundry anyway.
they eh no different

PapaC

Postby PapaC » July 12th, 2017, 3:17 pm

I find if you paying so much money for phones, and the potential problems with men selling refurbished phones, and stolen phone, don't talk for icloud locked phones, is better you buy your stuff outside and bring it in.

Postby Chimera » July 12th, 2017, 3:27 pm

actually skyline , about 2 years ago , about a dozen people were arrested from several phones stores because of a batch of stolen bmobile phones that they bought from a local supplier,
who didnt get arrest, got their stock seized

tstt police alongside regular police also tracked several iphones and samsungs to individual customers and seized the handsets from them at their homes/ businesses

a good few ppl from the different malls in chaguanas get caught up with that, most of them unknowingly bought the phones from their regular supplier

bmobile as well as digicel can track THEIR devices using imei if they want, they just dont do it unless its very important

when i lost my phone the other day, a friend in digicel offered to track it for me if it was one of their handsets
it wasn't tho, it was a phone i had brought in from abroad.

Postby Slartibartfast » July 13th, 2017, 1:54 pm

tr1ad wrote:
INDAVID WORKSHOP wrote:Guys,

My experience:

correct .... same issue with a power seller - unable to use in foreign, but trinidad was fine

Hmmmmm. Well I upgraded both me and the wifey phones within the last year from two different powersellers. Will definitely be keeping an eye open for this issue if I fly out (granted I actually get time off work...lol)

If that is the case though then it means the phones were stolen when new. Like fellas hold up a shipment or something.

Postby tr1ad » July 13th, 2017, 1:55 pm

Or taken new under prepaid contract etc and shipped out

Postby skylinechild » July 14th, 2017, 3:59 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:actually skyline , about 2 years ago , about a dozen people were arrested from several phones stores because of a batch of stolen bmobile phones that they bought from a local supplier,
who didnt get arrest, got their stock seized

tstt police alongside regular police also tracked several iphones and samsungs to individual customers and seized the handsets from them at their homes/ businesses

a good few ppl from the different malls in chaguanas get caught up with that, most of them unknowingly bought the phones from their regular supplier

bmobile as well as digicel can track THEIR devices using imei if they want, they just dont do it unless its very important

when i lost my phone the other day, a friend in digicel offered to track it for me if it was one of their handsets
it wasn't tho, it was a phone i had brought in from abroad.

well aware when this happened...many lolz to be had.... sorry for the ppl that spend hard earned cash to get their handset siezed... alot of different processes and procedures were implemented to ensure this doesnt happen again in the future..

but as i said... the phone company not goin to track something that stolen when they very well know you'll want another and they standing by ready and willing to sell you a replacement handset

10-01

Postby 10-01 » July 19th, 2017, 12:58 pm

was ther today everything back to normal store pumping .....

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 19th, 2017, 1:07 pm

Like you expected differently

10-01

Postby 10-01 » July 19th, 2017, 1:11 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Like you expected differently

well i dont buy from them so idk ther motives ...