Bret Flood Pics

Re: Bret Flood Pics

Postby adnj » June 21st, 2017, 8:30 pm

SR wrote:St joseph river was dregded and certain areas had retaining walls built properly not the usual cage of big stone. Done under the pp rule and these areas experienced no flooding when in the past it was prone to being affected.

Many of those retaining walls were started prior to 2008. Work at the Eastern Main Road to replace the bridge was stalled and some of the retaining walls were rebuilt the final year of the last government.

Postby SR » June 21st, 2017, 8:34 pm

In my area proper dredging and retaining walls were done between 2010 and 2014. A bridge was replaced (due to damage from previous floods in the past and poor stone cage reataining wallplacement and installations)

Postby RedVEVO » June 21st, 2017, 11:02 pm

dude2014 wrote:
timelapse wrote:
Monkey Man wrote:
pjfred wrote:
Advent wrote:
Redman wrote:Great to see the opposition leader out in the trenches ........reminds me of 2010.

i agree, but what did she do for her constituencies to help prevent these things, sorry for all affected by the flooding

She had the rivers dredged, widened and maintained but then rowley came in and stop that too.

you have proof of this pal?

I have proof.I see it for myself
I just have to watch from the back of my house to see it.I live in central very close to the caparo river.Under the past gov't there would be machinery dredging the rivers every croptime to remove the silt and sediment.There was also equipment floating on a barge near the caroni swamp area that would remove the silt from the river mouths.I have not seen either since PNM took power.Tuners from brickfield and waterloo would confirm.earlier this year I went fishing on the side of the highway during croptime.The river was full of silt there was only about a foot of water on the surface,needless to say no fish.Usually that river is about 3-5 feet when dredged. I cant speak for other areas, but I heard from the office of the chairman for Couva Tabaquite Talparo Regional Corporation that no funds were allocated to do any work up until the beginning of May.They allege that the new CEO was not approving anything related to work.They did not even have materials to repair roads, no gravel, blue crush etc. CEO-PNM , majority of councillors-not PNM.Improper motives were inferred.
Wait, wat I saying?
PNM is the best thing ever since Clifton Decoteau's wig

I agree that the PP Govt did a lot. The CEO of CTTRC would be guilty of misconduct where there was funds and no work done. Further even without funds, you have to plan and implement when funds available. The CEO's job is not to approve what is to be done, it is for keith Awong and his merry band of sh@t hongs to approve progammes and drive the process as they are intimately involve with the issues affecting burgesses.

One of the things we need to focus on is disaster mitigation - that is cleaning the drains, ravines, cutting trees that we know will fall and damage power lines, houses. Resize our drains culverts and bridges so a larger volume of water can flow through. Install lift pumps and raise the banks of ravines, river so the water that is being pumped will be safely contained. Enforce the Small Building Code, planning policy, stop building/planting on river banks. Squatting on hill sides and the denudation of the slopes has to cease.

I have resized a lot of infrastructure and reduced/mitigated a lot of flooding in several areas. Time to identify the solutions and get our politicians busy on making representation to get those project done .....................

All above is correct - Reality is sad .

Sad to say - You will have to protest for this to happen .

It is not automatic - PNM have the funds .

They will wait for the last year before elections to spend.

There is so much damage - up to today floods still all over the place in East and Central .

Even if you show proof - people still look in the other direction .

So it is protest - protest - protest .

Postby timelapse » June 22nd, 2017, 7:31 am

Protest does only happen when Morvant and Beetham affected.Other than that, nobody cares

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 22nd, 2017, 7:34 am

is only rowly ppl does bun down the place in protest for something....kamla people does just walk with signs and hope for the bess

Postby Ben_spanna » June 22nd, 2017, 7:48 am

Pnm, UNC, pointing fingers- Ultimately We the people are to blame, those WHO do the littering that clog the water ways to those who witness people littering and turn a blind eye...................... the government can do so much.... a lot of what happens is our fault. if people would have the disclipline to just clean up after themselves and keep their plastic bottles in their hand until they reach a garbage bin a lot of this flooding could be avoided........

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 22nd, 2017, 7:52 am

please stop making so much sense^...trinis can't comprehend sense

Postby nervewrecker » June 22nd, 2017, 8:51 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:please stop making so much sense^...trinis can't comprehend sense

Is camela and rowlz do it. Blame de gubment..
Yuh chupid eh

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 22nd, 2017, 9:08 am

SR wrote:St joseph river was dregded and certain areas had retaining walls built properly not the usual cage of big stone. Done under the pp rule and these areas experienced no flooding when in the past it was prone to being affected.

Correct, back then if you dropped a blue waters bottle valsayn north would flood

PapaC

Postby PapaC » June 22nd, 2017, 11:45 am

Ben_spanna wrote:Pnm, UNC, pointing fingers- Ultimately We the people are to blame, those WHO do the littering that clog the water ways to those who witness people littering and turn a blind eye...................... the government can do so much.... a lot of what happens is our fault. if people would have the disclipline to just clean up after themselves and keep their plastic bottles in their hand until they reach a garbage bin a lot of this flooding could be avoided........

Correct.
Also we need to move past who in power, and start addressing the problems of state versus corporation level.
Most people don't know the difference between the work of Min of Works versus their regional corporation.
And if we continue to blame who won the last election i don't see how this will change.
Whoever won, their party hat doesn't matter, the people who are managing the systems should be held responsible for what needs to be done.

Personally i don't see the value of the someone walking through my area just to take pictures and upload to Facebook while they shaking somebody hand and giving them some Crix. That isn't going to help.

Councillor should be on hand, to manage what happening in an area, then escalate what need to be done from the corporation level, liaise with ODPM and whom ever needs to be notified to get the right response.
ODPM shouldn't always be there, because using their resources for every flood is counter productive.

This all adds to where Local Government Reform will help us. The Councillor moves from whomever most popular in an area and the party they represent, to a person qualified with management experience so that the first level needs of an area area taken care of.

Keep blaming Ministers for full drains, but the Corporations have their work to do. WE also as a people still create our nightmares with littering and pollution.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » June 22nd, 2017, 12:18 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
dude2014 wrote:
timelapse wrote:
Monkey Man wrote:
pjfred wrote:
Advent wrote:
Redman wrote:Great to see the opposition leader out in the trenches ........reminds me of 2010.

i agree, but what did she do for her constituencies to help prevent these things, sorry for all affected by the flooding

She had the rivers dredged, widened and maintained but then rowley came in and stop that too.

you have proof of this pal?

I have proof.I see it for myself
I just have to watch from the back of my house to see it.I live in central very close to the caparo river.Under the past gov't there would be machinery dredging the rivers every croptime to remove the silt and sediment.There was also equipment floating on a barge near the caroni swamp area that would remove the silt from the river mouths.I have not seen either since PNM took power.Tuners from brickfield and waterloo would confirm.earlier this year I went fishing on the side of the highway during croptime.The river was full of silt there was only about a foot of water on the surface,needless to say no fish.Usually that river is about 3-5 feet when dredged. I cant speak for other areas, but I heard from the office of the chairman for Couva Tabaquite Talparo Regional Corporation that no funds were allocated to do any work up until the beginning of May.They allege that the new CEO was not approving anything related to work.They did not even have materials to repair roads, no gravel, blue crush etc. CEO-PNM , majority of councillors-not PNM.Improper motives were inferred.
Wait, wat I saying?
PNM is the best thing ever since Clifton Decoteau's wig

I agree that the PP Govt did a lot. The CEO of CTTRC would be guilty of misconduct where there was funds and no work done. Further even without funds, you have to plan and implement when funds available. The CEO's job is not to approve what is to be done, it is for keith Awong and his merry band of sh@t hongs to approve progammes and drive the process as they are intimately involve with the issues affecting burgesses.

One of the things we need to focus on is disaster mitigation - that is cleaning the drains, ravines, cutting trees that we know will fall and damage power lines, houses. Resize our drains culverts and bridges so a larger volume of water can flow through. Install lift pumps and raise the banks of ravines, river so the water that is being pumped will be safely contained. Enforce the Small Building Code, planning policy, stop building/planting on river banks. Squatting on hill sides and the denudation of the slopes has to cease.

I have resized a lot of infrastructure and reduced/mitigated a lot of flooding in several areas. Time to identify the solutions and get our politicians busy on making representation to get those project done .....................

All above is correct - Reality is sad .

Sad to say - You will have to protest for this to happen .

It is not automatic - PNM have the funds .

They will wait for the last year before elections to spend.

There is so much damage - up to today floods still all over the place in East and Central .

Even if you show proof - people still look in the other direction .

So it is protest - protest - protest .

while I care about everyone in TnT, it would appear that a section of our national community is of the view that Dr. Rowley can do no wrong. FACT: National Security in charge of ODPM but he is calling the Min. of Local Government to update him.

Where is Fitzgerald Hinds and his successor in the Min of Works? Do they even know that our river banks and lift pumps need to be maintained? Ask the farmers in Aranguez who got flooded out ..................

Postby j.o.e » June 22nd, 2017, 12:20 pm

Trinis so dotish, studying PNM and UNC and dem ppl. Politicians have us right when they want us. Regardless of who is in power systems should be in place. We have failing systems. If my job is to manage drainage regardless of who is in power resources should be in place. Stay there and feel any Govt change helps when there is a sheitty system.

Postby The_Honourable » June 22nd, 2017, 1:11 pm

It is very true that we as a people are part to blame - Littering, throwing garbage like old appliances, tyres, wood, etc into the rivers and canals, cutting vegetation such as trees and bamboo and throwing it into the river, property development that clogs drains and rivers especially near river banks... that is on us.

BUT the government is not exempt. Besides enforcement of the laws (Building codes, T&C approvals, litter laws, etc), funds supposed to be released to regional corporations so that they are able to clear drains and rivers during dry season. Equipment suppose to be functional for this to happen. Drains and rivers that are being built and/or fixed supposed to be completed, not stopped 1/2 way whenever a government changes where it takes some years to resume.

In my book, this is not just UNC or PNM. This going on for decades and when a disaster strikes, blame game but nothing really changes.

Postby Chimera » June 22nd, 2017, 1:26 pm

does the average 3rd party or fully comprehensive vehicle insurance policy, cover flood damage? or is that a extra that you need to specify and pay for

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 22nd, 2017, 2:01 pm

Postby ismithx » June 22nd, 2017, 2:17 pm

Anybody have pics???

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 22nd, 2017, 2:46 pm

Just passed there.
Water on the edge of the road, not on actual highway.
There's about 6 inches of water on the Caroni bank road leading just off the highway, first big corner.

More macco traffic than anything. Nothing to worry about

Postby teems1 » June 22nd, 2017, 2:46 pm

ismithx wrote:Anybody have pics???

There is a pic or 2 on the ODPMTT fb page.

The water is currently on the side of the highway/shoulder. It could possibly rise though, and the traffic will start.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » June 22nd, 2017, 3:13 pm

Saw this on FB..
flood water.jpg

ADONI

Postby ADONI » June 22nd, 2017, 3:27 pm

A report from WAZE. Water on the side of the road, no flood as yet, but I can imagine everybody slowing to watch.
flood waze report.JPG

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » June 22nd, 2017, 3:30 pm

Thanks for the info. We were trying to confirm whether this was so at the office. Despatch personnel to check. Unconfirmed report is the Guayamare River overflowed its bank. This is possibly water that is flowing west From the flodded St. Helena area. Depending on the tide, the water can rise causing some additional excitement.

Anybody know if the Caroni South Bank Road flooded (from the traffic light by the BYE PASS down to the roundabout by the start of the new highway?

Postby Slartibartfast » June 22nd, 2017, 3:57 pm

timelapse wrote:They allege that the new CEO was not approving anything related to work.
Ahhh yes... politics in its purest form.

Real sad for all those people affected by the floods though. It would definitely be a shame if a significant amount of flooding could have easily been avoided.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 24th, 2017, 12:36 pm

Gopaul Lands Marabella this morning

Bret Flood Pics

Postby K74T » June 24th, 2017, 12:51 pm

Pressure in my hometown :(

PapaC

Postby PapaC » June 24th, 2017, 3:54 pm

K74T wrote:Image

You ever saw that amount of water in that area?
Normally by the cricket field gets water across the road, but i've never see all that water in that area.

Postby hydroep » June 24th, 2017, 4:22 pm

Geeze an' ages, when it rains it pours... :(

Postby Chimera » June 24th, 2017, 4:47 pm

that gone into anyone house? or everyone build high enough to get save?

Postby SR » June 24th, 2017, 8:41 pm

Who tell allyuh to build house in lagoon

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » June 24th, 2017, 11:21 pm

PapaC wrote:
K74T wrote:Image

You ever saw that amount of water in that area?
Normally by the cricket field gets water across the road, but i've never see all that water in that area.

Ah hear the imps watching these flooding pictures and all he thinking is these houses down south going to generate a lot more revenue once the property tax come onstream

Postby Kenjo » June 25th, 2017, 6:34 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:does the average 3rd party or fully comprehensive vehicle insurance policy, cover flood damage? or is that a extra that you need to specify and pay for

You have to pay extra and it's optional so if your insurance agent never mentioned it you may not necessarily have it