Contesting A Tint Ticket

R.P.J

Contesting A Tint Ticket

Postby R.P.J » May 30th, 2017, 4:41 pm

Good Day Fellow Tuners now given my vehicle my tint is not dark normal 20% on the glass and no i dont have no whole front tint windshield.

Do you think is wise to contest the offence. Happen In Marabella Today.
Last edited by R.P.J on May 30th, 2017, 4:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Average

Re: Contesting A Tint Ticket

Postby Average » May 30th, 2017, 4:45 pm

If you have the time, yeah contest it but it will be a waste of time in the end because the freaking tint mafia will always win in this dotish country we live in.
firetruck the police and their dotish tint laws.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 30th, 2017, 4:47 pm

Nope. The law is very subjective.

Section 23 1(d) of the Motor Vehicles and Road Transportation Act Chapter 48:50 states that it is an offence to have a vehicle windshield or window so tinted or darkened that it obscures the view of inside the vehicle from the outside.

No tint percentage figures quoted, because different variables will affect how hard it is to see inside. (Interior colour, time of day, etc etc)

If you take the chance to contest and the magistrate sides with the officer, you might get hit with a higher fine (subject to correction?)

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 30th, 2017, 5:31 pm

Isn't legal tint 35% ( generally). You have 20% and you want to contest?

Pay yuh ticket.

Postby nervewrecker » May 30th, 2017, 5:46 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Isn't legal tint 35% ( generally). You have 20% and you want to contest?

Pay yuh ticket.

Most vehicles i know come from the firm with 20%

Postby MaxPower » May 30th, 2017, 6:25 pm

OP...

Is it the Tiida in your avatar by chance?

If so, any 20% and below on Tiida vehicles are illegal.

If you see 20% or even 5% on high end european vehicles...please press on and say nothing.

Pay the ticket.

Postby sMASH » May 30th, 2017, 7:30 pm

Because there is no figure stated on the laws, the judge will default to the word of the police. And its not in the interest of the judge to figure out a poliCe is honest or not in a tint matter.

I personally would take the chance to pay more ate the door and waste the time...

Postby skylinechild » May 30th, 2017, 9:01 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Nope. The law is very subjective.

Section 23 1(d) of the Motor Vehicles and Road Transportation Act Chapter 48:50 states that it is an offence to have a vehicle windshield or window so tinted or darkened that it obscures the view of inside the vehicle from the outside.

No tint percentage figures quoted, because different variables will affect how hard it is to see inside. (Interior colour, time of day, etc etc)

If you take the chance to contest and the magistrate sides with the officer, you might get hit with a higher fine (subject to correction?)

correct !!!!

the instructions for using a tint meter state the reading must be taken in direct sunlight no cloudy / over cast with the pane exposed to light. ( some tint meters vary on this ) therefore using an excuse like dark interior is null and void.

but alas banana republic and no tint laws therefore its up to the discretion of the officer.

OP pay your fine and move on.

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » May 30th, 2017, 9:18 pm

How exactly they want law abiding citizens to continue being law abiding does baffle me daily....

10-01

Postby 10-01 » May 30th, 2017, 9:21 pm

OP pay ya fine and move on i guessing the tint ticket is $2000 ?

Postby eliteauto » May 30th, 2017, 9:24 pm

Once you have the time, contest it. More than likely the complainant won't show up, a couple of court dates later case dismissed

Postby rollingstock » May 30th, 2017, 10:21 pm

eliteauto wrote:Once you have the time, contest it. More than likely the complainant won't show up, a couple of court dates later case dismissed

Criminal procedure rules 2016

Good luck with that angle now.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » May 30th, 2017, 11:30 pm

If you are going to contest it. you will have to sit in a court for days ; You will get a date and it will be called before the magistrate, and even though both parties are present it will be postponed without any reason. and same will happen for about 4 more times before you win the case,.It seem the purpose of the court is to frustrate the innocent. In the end the time you waste going to court you will think best you pay the ticket.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » May 31st, 2017, 4:21 am

eliteauto wrote:Once you have the time, contest it. More than likely the complainant won't show up, a couple of court dates later case dismissed

can u explain this :?:

Postby SR » May 31st, 2017, 6:38 am

Easy simple victimization of citizens with a loophole in an antiquated written law that no one wants to ammend. One of many antiquated laws that require ammendments......just like vehicles with oem fog lamps fitted

ADONI

Postby ADONI » May 31st, 2017, 9:31 am

OP ah sure the officer had on his shades when he said your tint too dark...

Postby Dizzy28 » May 31st, 2017, 9:33 am

Contest the ticket, walk with a print screen of Rollingstock Trinituner profile to show the Magistrate. Case dismissed!!

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » May 31st, 2017, 9:42 am

Contest it.

squirrel

Postby squirrel » May 31st, 2017, 10:12 am

Last edited by squirrel on December 17th, 2018, 9:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » May 31st, 2017, 12:38 pm

Have anyone of you ever experience the magistrate issuing any paper work for your vehicle to go license office.

Postby sMASH » May 31st, 2017, 1:32 pm

squirrel wrote:Most likely, the officer would not be present on the court date and the magistrate will instruct you to return on a new date with evidence or a witness to support your case after you have pleaded not guilty to the offence. Its OK to return without evidence / a witness because most likely the officer will be absent again. After a few adjournments due to the officer's absenteeism, you will not hear your name called as expected and this will most likely mean that your case has been dismissed which can be confirmed by the ticket clerk.

Court dates are not worth the time unless you really cannot afford to pay the ticket. Walk with a "receipt" detailing the tint specifications if possible on your first court date.

I have only paid one ticket (my first) in my entire life out of many. Contested all the others and they were all dismissed.

The problem is keep taking time go.

Postby SR » May 31st, 2017, 1:40 pm

Which the police know that going to court to contest is a time consuming process in this country hence one of the reasons they are safe on issuing the ticket

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » May 31st, 2017, 1:59 pm

If your vehicle was euro...you would have been left alone

Postby SR » May 31st, 2017, 2:59 pm

For fogs maybe not tint. But seriously trini does create problems for them selves....cheap hid conversion kits in headlamps and fog/driving lamps that were not made for them blinding people. Idiots who want to tint down thier entire windscreen with darker shades of tint.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 31st, 2017, 3:11 pm

It is funnier though when the vehicle has factory darkened glass... No tint and license office clear the vehicle for use

Postby SR » May 31st, 2017, 3:13 pm

Yup usually though the front doors are not "tinted"

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » May 31st, 2017, 8:15 pm

OP
Do as I say.Contest it more than likely the cops will not show up.Let dem policee haul dey mudd# kant, dem is one set ah imps.

If it was a traffic warden I would have told you to pay one time.

When your matter is dismissed tell the magistrate bullseye.Call me and we go go down Villa and spend that 2 grand.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » June 1st, 2017, 1:01 am

hong kong phooey wrote:If you are going to contest it. you will have to sit in a court for days ; You will get a date and it will be called before the magistrate, and even though both parties are present it will be postponed without any reason. and same will happen for about 4 more times before you win the case,.It seem the purpose of the court is to frustrate the innocent. In the end the time you waste going to court you will think best you pay the ticket.

Win yuh say
Had anybody ever won?

Postby RedVEVO » June 1st, 2017, 5:16 am

randolphinshan wrote:

OP
Do as I say.Contest it more than likely the cops will not show up.Let dem policee haul dey mudd# kant, dem is one set ah imps.

If it was a traffic warden I would have told you to pay one time.

When your matter is dismissed tell the magistrate bullseye.Call me and we go go down Villa and spend that 2 grand.

OP, plead "not guilty." And that is all you have to say.

And dress up nice . Shirt inside pants etc. Haircut , shave - no cell phone etc.

Be strong !

The overweight TTPS Officer will not show up for Trial . Why ?

They will have to get evidence. The 20% vs 35% etc. - research and study and
less party time, women/men chasing for the TTPS.

All these study things too technical for TTPS.

Also remember the last day to pay that fine is on the day you approach the Judge .

So you have time to contact Ramdeen, Anand, Maharaja etc.

Average

Postby Average » June 1st, 2017, 9:29 am

SR wrote:For fogs maybe not tint. But seriously trini does create problems for them selves....cheap hid conversion kits in headlamps and fog/driving lamps that were not made for them blinding people. Idiots who want to tint down thier entire windscreen with darker shades of tint.

I agree, for example you tint your windshield 60/70% and 20% on the rear. The front windows have a modest 35% and the back ones 20% or 5%......but no....that too simple. Idiots want 20% on the windshield and 5% all around.
The HID scenario is more dotishness, everybody want to OVER brighten up their headlights and shine bright like ah diamond blinding me.