X TRAIL HYBRID ISSUES?

drchaos

Re: X TRAIL HYBRID ISSUES

Postby drchaos » April 14th, 2017, 9:55 pm

adnj wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Pretty sure this has absolutely nothing to do with Climate. Also Humidity does NOT affect cooling of a car in the way it affects cooling of humans. Real Feel temp only applies to living things if anything Humidity should be a bonus help when cooling metal.

3/4 of Mechanics in this country eh know they ass from they big toe. When my civic had a problem regarding the sun, if you park it up in the sun and send up the glass the car would not start until nightfall. When I explained this to the average mechanic they would give me this retarded dotish look the kind that the mongoose does give you in the headlights before you run them over.

You're right. Humidity increases the thermal density capability of air so that it does aid in conductive cooling. But because of the air flow from driving or the radiator fan, the difference is negligible.

Honda had a problem with the main relay overheating and failing to energize the crank circuit.

Humid air has more thermal density capability than dry air which means it can hold more heat but its thermal conductivity is lower meaning heat transference is slower. You mixing up two different concepts.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 14th, 2017, 10:15 pm

Out$!der wrote:I bought one as well. Saw the video clip from south also. I dont think we should take one unit issue onto all.

Sent from my SM-G900F using TriniTuner mobile app

I know of 2 others of the 2014 model locally that's parked up because of the problem.

I highly doubt this is the cvt fluid fault.. Its more than likely the transmission itself

Kronik

Postby Kronik » April 15th, 2017, 9:24 am

Why not just put an external transmission cooler?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 15th, 2017, 12:48 pm

^^ seems to solve alot of the fielder transmission issues when they applied it.. If it's a thermal problem in the trail well that's a solution for men

Kronik

Postby Kronik » April 15th, 2017, 1:50 pm

nick639v2 wrote:^^ seems to solve alot of the fielder transmission issues when they applied it.. If it's a thermal problem in the trail well that's a solution for men

Did wonders for lancer men with CVT as well.

It's simple, if the temperature here is a issue for a transmission or for engine oil, just install an external cooler, don't need no expensive thing, I put one in my car and it​ cost me 400 in total

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 15th, 2017, 2:41 pm

While that might solve the problem... It is hilarious to tell someone that just bought a new x-trail that they have to install an aux cooler to save the transmission from damage.

Could this problem be down to driving style versus conditions... Have a lancer CVT story... Two cars same company different drivers... One given to an older worker, the other given to the younger workers. One had no transmission problems for three years until it had to be returned...and the other transmission was damaged within the first month.... It goes without saying who was driving which vehicle.

Postby Dave » April 15th, 2017, 4:07 pm

Quite obvious! By just dropping transmission oil by a few degrees almost doubles transmission life.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 15th, 2017, 4:09 pm

Driving sensibly has a similar effect

TREX

Postby TREX » April 15th, 2017, 4:18 pm

adnj wrote:
drchaos wrote:
fokhan_96 wrote:
SPEC_C wrote:Heard the x trail hybrid has issues with the transmission something to the effect that the tranny oil is too thin for our climate leading to failure...anyone had this experience??

Anytime someone attributes the "climate" of trinidad to causing issues with their cars i can't help but cringe. Even if you don't know, a simple google search would tell you that Japan's summer temperatures are similar to ours. But just incase ....
"The hottest summer weather is to be found around Tokyo and in some other parts of Honshu, Japan's main island, where the temperature can reach almost 40 degrees Celsius (104 degrees Fahrenheit). In August 2013, a high of 41.0 degrees Celsius was recorded in Ekawasaki, Kochi Prefecture"

You can't compare japan's similar temperatures to ours ... We have high humidity which makes air cooling way less efficient vs Japan's dryer summer climate. Also their temperatures aren't hot all year round while ours is. The next factor is traffic which we have a hell of a alot of, traffic is the most stressful thing on your transmission and engine. Couple all those factors and your car has to deal with way more stress than one in Japan. So if your car has a weak spot or a design flaw then should become more apparent in T&T. Just like VW jetta's here which had an alarming rate of mechatronic failures for the tranny vs cooler climates.

Lastly that 40 degree Celsius is not a normal occurrence.

The traffic in Trinidad is no where near the traffic in Tokyo. The Caribbean has no extreme weather testing. Those test facilities are saved for North Africa, Australia, Spain and the US Southwest. The UV in Trinidad is higher than most places, though. And polymer hydrolysis is high because of a combination of pollution and moderately warm and moist atmosphere.

You just may have a situation where the CVT (constantly variable transmission) has a design flaw.

You can compare the weather data using attached table. Skip through the math and go straight to the data base.
Any island in the Caribbean should suffice

Personally am non convinced that the transmission fluid viscosity is an issue. This model is sold all over the world under varying climate conditions.

http://www.ewp.rpi.edu/hartford/~scarzm ... imates.pdf

jus kewl

Postby jus kewl » May 24th, 2017, 9:54 am

anyone with the 4wd HNT32 that's experiencing bucking issues in traffic?

Postby RedVEVO » May 24th, 2017, 10:01 am

Anybody who know about cars and those who even do not
know .. if you test drive it you will find the transmission faulty - it feels flimsy .

It has a "rubber band" like effect when it changes . I did a posting on this Xtrail Hybrid.

Why you think they so cheap and Japan dumping them here ?

It is a disposable car . Who buying that after a few years ?

Where you getting the battery and who fixing that in Trinidad ?

Again - Another scam in Trinidad.
Last edited by RedVEVO on May 24th, 2017, 10:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RedVEVO » May 24th, 2017, 10:06 am

nick639v2 wrote:
Out$!der wrote:I bought one as well. Saw the video clip from south also. I dont think we should take one unit issue onto all.

Sent from my SM-G900F using TriniTuner mobile app

I know of 2 others of the 2014 model locally that's parked up because of the problem.

I highly doubt this is the cvt fluid fault.. Its more than likely the transmission itself

Dios Mios ! Why people so f... ing gullible in Trinidad ?

You are a " test dummy " . But now you have minus $200,000

Well if you rich - no problem.

Postby teems1 » May 24th, 2017, 10:15 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
Dave wrote:I believe all fluids must be changed once purchasing a used vehicle. No exceptions as this is the life of those moving parts

this. that someone would drive a vehicle from a foreign country without changing ALL fluids (if it wasnt done by the dealer before leaving said country) is just...... idoitic at best.

Aren't the XTrail Hybrids which are being brought to Trinidad practically brand new?

Often with less than 1,000km on the odometer.

PariaMan

Re: X TRAIL HYBRID ISSUES?

Postby PariaMan » May 25th, 2017, 6:31 am

Cannot understand why people who do not own hybrid will hate hybrids. This Is a technology that will save on gas and on the cost of vehicles with the government incentives. We should encourage people to buy so that the technology becomes main stream in Trinidad so that everyone can buy without fear.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » May 25th, 2017, 7:12 am

PariaMan wrote:Cannot understand why people who do not own hybrid will hate hybrids. This Is a technology that will save on gas and on the cost of vehicles with the government incentives. We should encourage people to buy so that the technology becomes main stream in Trinidad so that everyone can buy without fear.

cuz they know hybrid men like mehself is very cork with the ladies

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 25th, 2017, 9:21 am

Saw an Accord hybrid moving effortlessly thru traffic. That's one good looking vehicle

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 25th, 2017, 9:28 am

ent massy gonna be bringing the Hybrid nt32 by q3 2017? Do you think that they will do so if they KNOW that there are defects that will make them spend time/parts/money on warranty claims?

I suspect most issues may be related to maintenance/abuse or maybe the odd lemon, which is always a statistical possibility.

There was the same general apprehension with fuel injection, then direct injection, then CVT and a lot of claims were bandied about by mechanics who couldn't handle the new tech.

I'm interested in one, waiting on Massy to see their price point vs the new third-party imports. It also means that Massy will be bringing and stocking parts, so you have that option.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 25th, 2017, 9:31 am

Monkey Man wrote:
PariaMan wrote:Cannot understand why people who do not own hybrid will hate hybrids. This Is a technology that will save on gas and on the cost of vehicles with the government incentives. We should encourage people to buy so that the technology becomes main stream in Trinidad so that everyone can buy without fear.

cuz they know hybrid men like mehself is very cork with the ladies

Make up your mind ..are you man or are you monkey??

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 25th, 2017, 9:37 am

Monkey lady ?

Postby eliteauto » May 25th, 2017, 9:41 am

PariaMan wrote:Saw an Accord hybrid moving effortlessly thru traffic. That's one good looking vehicle

yes it's quite a tempting proposition

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 25th, 2017, 9:46 am

A guy with ioniq says he gets 1000km on a tank at 140. That's 3 weeks home and back Monday to Friday for me. With just one trip to the gas station. Hmmm

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » May 25th, 2017, 10:33 am

It is the way forward but i just wish it didnt have so much teething problems.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 25th, 2017, 10:34 am

People mostly just looking into the future and expecting problems I think not seeing actual.People with problems on.tuner. Do you know of teething problems?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 25th, 2017, 10:46 am

So far is just the mechanic say about x trail and one guy looking for a civic battery. Not hearing about so.much teething problems

Postby RedVEVO » May 25th, 2017, 1:58 pm

Hybrid is a scam car.

Nobody in TT can service them .

They are disposable cars.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 25th, 2017, 2:17 pm

Heard the same when I bought my fuel injected RORO in 1999. A guy told me it was foreign abused and that no.one in Trinidad can fix fuel injected. He himself bought one about six years later.lol

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 25th, 2017, 2:26 pm

But engaging you do you know of someone who has a problem with a hybrid vehicle and cannot get it sorted out? I would really like to know

Postby Morpheus » May 28th, 2017, 6:30 pm

eliteauto wrote:
PariaMan wrote:Saw an Accord hybrid moving effortlessly thru traffic. That's one good looking vehicle

yes it's quite a tempting proposition

Correct.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 28th, 2017, 6:38 pm

Spoke to a dealer said around 140000

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 28th, 2017, 6:45 pm

Range approx 1200 km and tank 15.8 gallon. For me that's 1 trip to the gas station every month. Very tempting