T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Dave » May 17th, 2017, 7:03 pm

Ppl want everything but in the real world how much do you actually use. Most ppl will actually use the words more than the physical properties.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 17th, 2017, 9:32 pm

zando wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Y'all consider performance a feature? Cuz the ioniq missing that.

It doesn't actually, with the electric motor and the 1.6 it's actually pretty quick, at leaat quicker than all the other 1.6's in the class, the only cars that perform better would be the jetta, new cruze turbo and civic turbo but all of those are a lot more money and u don't get anywhere near the amount of features.

Sent from my E6833 using TriniTuner mobile app

Really? Was really slow when I test drove it. Internet also says the 0 to 60 time is just under 11 sec which is slower or around the for the vehicles in its class with smaller NA engines.

zando

Postby zando » May 17th, 2017, 9:49 pm

drchaos wrote:
zando wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Y'all consider performance a feature? Cuz the ioniq missing that.

It doesn't actually, with the electric motor and the 1.6 it's actually pretty quick, at leaat quicker than all the other 1.6's in the class, the only cars that perform better would be the jetta, new cruze turbo and civic turbo but all of those are a lot more money and u don't get anywhere near the amount of features.

Really? Was really slow when I test drove it. Internet also says the 0 to 60 time is just under 11 sec which is slower or around the for the vehicles in its class with smaller NA engines.

Well I disagree, at least for me the ioniq was plenty quick. I mean our speed limit is 80kmph, you can't do much more than that, if you get an ioniq or cruze turbo the you're ok.

agent007

New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby agent007 » May 17th, 2017, 11:46 pm

Updating as promised, the Cruze turbo should arrive in mid June.
Last edited by agent007 on May 17th, 2017, 11:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 18th, 2017, 7:59 am

zando wrote:
drchaos wrote:
zando wrote:

Well I disagree, at least for me the ioniq was plenty quick. I mean our speed limit is 80kmph, you can't do much more than that, if you get an ioniq or cruze turbo the you're ok.

Your disagreement is duly noted. Speed limit is 70 mph in the UK, I wonder why people bother buying 911 turbo's and huracans
when Hybrids and 1.0 T engines can do 70 mph easily. Performance is a feature that is most important to many people, sort of the reason this site was started no?

zando

Postby zando » May 18th, 2017, 8:30 am

drchaos wrote:
zando wrote:
drchaos wrote:
zando wrote:

Your disagreement is duly noted. Speed limit is 70 mph in the UK, I wonder why people bother buying 911 turbo's and huracans
when Hybrids and 1.0 T engines can do 70 mph easily. Performance is a feature that is most important to many people, sort of the reason this site was started no?

I don't disagree with that, I dunno bout you but I can't afford a porsche, so for me I'll have to stick with the vehicles in the 200000 to 300000 range, that means turbo 4s' and 2.0 engines, I think auto enthusiasts can come in different forms, I don't think you categorize every automotive site, especially this one as only catering to people who like speed or power, I think for the average person the ioniq has what the people want, adequate power, it's comfortable, has 7 airbags so it should be reasonably safe, to me it's not bad looking, from when I tested it the sound system isn't bad.

The only thing it's missing is android auto, according to the salesperson in order to get that feature it has to come bundled with other feature which would drive up the price of the car, I want to check out the cruze also, because, well turbo, but I can't handle a GM interior and we'll the Chevy name isn't really seen as quality in Trinidad.

quattro

Postby quattro » May 18th, 2017, 9:06 am

Must say I agree with the sentiments above, imo the civic is worth it for its performance and design. Personally I wouldn't even consider a non-turbo in that segment now. So many people only consider cheap to implement features like push button start and ignore important things like performance, driving dynamics and body rigidity when buying. I think most new cars are great in terms of safety nowadays, save for some of these vans which still come without rear airbags :? .

Not knocking the ioniq tho, does what it was designed to do well.. save fuel. It's position as a hybrid in conjunction with our current tax breaks gives it a large value advantage too, can't argue with that. To each his own I suppose.

This arguement about the speed limit only being 80 is rel mess tho. It's not about how fast you're going but about how quickly you can get up to speed. An 11 sec sprint to 100 is just lazy imo. Daz like a van.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 18th, 2017, 9:27 am

All the normal 1.6 cars in Trinidad like corolla,mazda 3 ,sentra tilda have around that same time to 100. These are what you have to.compare the ioniq with

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 18th, 2017, 10:53 am

zando wrote:
drchaos wrote:
zando wrote:
drchaos wrote:
zando wrote:

I don't disagree with that, I dunno bout you but I can't afford a porsche, so for me I'll have to stick with the vehicles in the 200000 to 300000 range, that means turbo 4s' and 2.0 engines, I think auto enthusiasts can come in different forms, I don't think you categorize every automotive site, especially this one as only catering to people who like speed or power, I think for the average person the ioniq has what the people want, adequate power, it's comfortable, has 7 airbags so it should be reasonably safe, to me it's not bad looking, from when I tested it the sound system isn't bad.

The only thing it's missing is android auto, according to the salesperson in order to get that feature it has to come bundled with other feature which would drive up the price of the car, I want to check out the cruze also, because, well turbo, but I can't handle a GM interior and we'll the Chevy name isn't really seen as quality in Trinidad.

Don't let them sales people tie you up!
Android Auto does work on the Civic, the only problem is that Google has not released the app for android auto to our market. Apple released their car software without the need for an app so it just works when you plug in the phone.
My brother who was visiting from UK had AA app on his phone and when we plugged it into the civic it worked just fine.

Postby Morpheus » May 18th, 2017, 11:13 am

The Ioniq seems to be selling really well. That like the new National Car...

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » May 18th, 2017, 11:50 am

Honda Accord Leather fully loaded
$379,000

on special till May 23rd for $349,000

The have no intention of bringing any hybrid since our cars are imported from Thailand and there are no hybrid models there.
Also went on to say how bad an idea it is to buy a hybrid vehicle because "maintenance on them things will be high".

So.. buy a spare hybrid accord when you're buying and you'll still save about $70,000

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 18th, 2017, 11:53 am

Lol read about a 40000 mile review. The guy only had to change oil twice and no other problem. The car tells you when to change oil. That is just talk to prevent people buying

quattro

Postby quattro » May 18th, 2017, 3:33 pm

drchaos wrote:
zando wrote:
drchaos wrote:
zando wrote:
drchaos wrote:
zando wrote:

Don't let them sales people tie you up!
Android Auto does work on the Civic, the only problem is that Google has not released the app for android auto to our market. Apple released their car software without the need for an app so it just works when you plug in the phone.
My brother who was visiting from UK had AA app on his phone and when we plugged it into the civic it worked just fine.

Can confirm, been using it daily for the past couple months with a magnetic mount and thru Bluetooth. Turns on automatically only when the phone is out of my pocket (probs using proximity sensor) and the car is on, and switches itself off once the car turns off. Pulls traffic data and suggests the quickest route during the daily commute without any prompts from me. Works really well, I've become quite attached
Last edited by quattro on May 18th, 2017, 3:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Morpheus » May 18th, 2017, 3:36 pm

PariaMan wrote:Lol read about a 40000 mile review. The guy only had to change oil twice and no other problem. The car tells you when to change oil. That is just talk to prevent people buying

Exactly. They must say that. Steups...

Most people complain about that car not having a physical rotary volume knob. Nothing else...

Nice try. Routine maintenance is just like a non hybrid Accord AFAIK

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » May 18th, 2017, 4:20 pm

My e-piggy is the biggest

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 18th, 2017, 5:19 pm

Big Z wrote:My e-piggy is the biggest

Only people who are insecure about their e-piggy talk about their e-piggy. :shock:

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » May 18th, 2017, 6:03 pm

Heard piggy... I'm intrigued

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » May 18th, 2017, 7:17 pm

drchaos wrote:
Big Z wrote:My e-piggy is the biggest

Only people who are insecure about their e-piggy talk about their e-piggy. :shock:

Oh no you didnt

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » May 21st, 2017, 12:33 am

drchaos wrote:
zando wrote:
drchaos wrote:
zando wrote:

Not just performance. To floss

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » May 21st, 2017, 12:44 am

quattro wrote:Must say I agree with the sentiments above, imo the civic is worth it for its performance and design. Personally I wouldn't even consider a non-turbo in that segment now. So many people only consider cheap to implement features like push button start and ignore important things like performance, driving dynamics and body rigidity when buying. I think most new cars are great in terms of safety nowadays, save for some of these vans which still come without rear airbags :? .

Not knocking the ioniq tho, does what it was designed to do well.. save fuel. It's position as a hybrid in conjunction with our current tax breaks gives it a large value advantage too, can't argue with that. To each his own I suppose.

This arguement about the speed limit only being 80 is rel mess tho. It's not about how fast you're going but about how quickly you can get up to speed. An 11 sec sprint to 100 is just lazy imo. Daz like a van.

I can't agree here as the Jetta performs comparatively at over 20k less with a lot more features. The civic is grossly overpriced.
As for reliability on the civic that remains to be seen.
It's also unfair to class these cars with the regular 1.6 brands we get down here as they are way more expensive. That performance is costly and in these times cost is a huge factor to consider.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » May 22nd, 2017, 9:29 am

2018 Audi Q5 arriving in July

quattro

Postby quattro » May 26th, 2017, 5:43 am

metalgear2095 wrote:
quattro wrote:Must say I agree with the sentiments above, imo the civic is worth it for its performance and design. Personally I wouldn't even consider a non-turbo in that segment now. So many people only consider cheap to implement features like push button start and ignore important things like performance, driving dynamics and body rigidity when buying. I think most new cars are great in terms of safety nowadays, save for some of these vans which still come without rear airbags :? .

I can't agree here as the Jetta performs comparatively at over 20k less with a lot more features. The civic is grossly overpriced.
It's also unfair to class these cars with the regular 1.6 brands we get down here as they are way more expensive. That performance is costly and in these times cost is a huge factor to consider.

I'm a big fan of the jetta too, drives well. Given the past dct fiasco, I can understand why someone would take it off their shortlist tho. As for the other ~1.6 NA cars in the segment, I don't think they should be excused nowadays. Either give me performance with a small turbo like the new cruze etc or give me efficiency and super value like the ioniq.

zando

Postby zando » May 26th, 2017, 5:59 am

quattro wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:

I'm a big fan of the jetta too, drives well. Given the past dct fiasco, I can understand why someone would take it off their shortlist tho. As for the other ~1.6 NA cars in the segment, I don't think they should be excused nowadays. Either give me performance with a small turbo like the new cruze etc or give me efficiency and super value like the ioniq.

Agreed, turbo 4s and good hybrids that make sense like the ioniq is where it's at now.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » May 26th, 2017, 1:26 pm

Saw what looked like an A6 avant today with D plates on arapita ave... Wonder if its going to the firm or its an import dealer

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » May 29th, 2017, 5:20 pm

drchaos wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:Again and again .. :)

Are there any 2016 Amarok owners in TT that are willing to give a review ?

And a detailed review .

Did anyone purchase the 2017 Amarok V6 as yet ?

Can you give a review ?

Seen quite few on the road but so far everyone is mum on their experiences. Probably tuners to scared to head towards the VW light after the jetta fiasco.

New Amarok scheduled for July/August.

Postby RedVEVO » May 29th, 2017, 11:26 pm

The New Amarok will have the V6 engine that gives problems - Diesel problems all over again.

To date there is no Amarok reviews from any Tuners - meaning 2016 Amarok .

Anybody knows or have reliable information of the price tag $$ of the New V6 Amarok ?

Postby RedVEVO » May 29th, 2017, 11:32 pm

The coolest best -est VW was the Bora .

Today the secondary-used market have a flood of them.

But in the day - it was the coolest . Now they call it Jetta but it has problems.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 30th, 2017, 8:10 am

RedVEVO wrote:^^^
The New Amarok will have the V6 engine that gives problems - Diesel problems all over again.

To date there is no Amarok reviews from any Tuners - meaning 2016 Amarok .

Anybody knows or have reliable information of the price tag $$ of the New V6 Amarok ?

Really? What problems does the VW group V6 diesel have?

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » May 31st, 2017, 10:50 pm

I git this from a sales man on the Amarok

So we not getting the 3.0 V6 :( - they sticking us with the 2.0 turbo due the quality of the fuel. Coming with apple car play, 19 inch rims, no rear air bags. Scheduled for July/August.

Online reviews of the Amarok have been excellent.

This still makes the Chevy the feature king.

There is also a new Sportero - not sure of the features though.

Postby RedVEVO » June 1st, 2017, 4:36 am

The Chevy "looks" like a plastic toy truck.

Yes, Amarok got good reviews online like in Au.
But no rear air bags is cause for concern - :roll:

Trini Amarok owners give us a review.