EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Hehehe...What happens when Lisa Agard is on the Massy side and was former TSTT. Nothing about it really surprising and Massy have the same unrealistic targets like TSTT so.....
ohh y'all thought TSTT was actually performing ae?...
We really have to give credit to Digicel for doing such a huge nationwide roll-out of Fiber. Both Massy and TSTT claim to have this Fiber but unless you living in very specific areas you are never going to see that.
Atleast a man could apply right to digicel now and get he 25MB Fiber for $200 a month, they even have buses going around and people meeting you home to sign you up. Instead of the Pipe Dream that TSTT and Massy selling. Fiber? yeah sorry we won't reach your area until 2050 so hold on till you retire.
Do you remember when Digicel first came out with FTTH? what did TSTT do? they place a big full page Ad in the papers T&T's first fiber network. And when you call they only available in Port of Spain. Yeah they cover a few more areas since then but its still a joke and a pipe dream
BANzai Rastafarai wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Hehehe...What happens when Lisa Agard is on the Massy side and was former TSTT. Nothing about it really surprising and Massy have the same unrealistic targets like TSTT so.....
We really have to give credit to Digicel for doing such a huge nationwide roll-out of Fiber. Both Massy and TSTT claim to have this Fiber but unless you living in very specific areas you are never going to see that.
Atleast a man could apply right to digicel now and get he 25MB Fiber for $200 a month, they even have buses going around and people meeting you home to sign you up. Instead of the Pipe Dream that TSTT and Massy selling. Fiber? yeah sorry we won't reach your area until 2050 so hold on till you retire.
Do you remember when Digicel first came out with FTTH? what did TSTT do? they place a big full page Ad in the papers T&T's first fiber network. And when you call they only available in Port of Spain. Yeah they cover a few more areas since then but its still a joke and a pipe dream
I find the selling price price rather cheap considering Massy's claim to have 34,000 customers... Something about that not right... and TATT may not approve it eventually.. If I was Digicel I would protest like hell from now....
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Hehehe...What happens when Lisa Agard is on the Massy side and was former TSTT. Nothing about it really surprising and Massy have the same unrealistic targets like TSTT so.....
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^@ DUANE let me make it simple for you to understand.
TSTT Copper = $380 for 4MB
Flow Copper = $220 for 30MB ($195 for 70MB if you sign up through GATT for the Gamer package)
Both companies have horrible and poor Fiber (FTTH) coverage. So please take their fiber out of the discussion.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^@ DUANE let me make it simple for you to understand.
TSTT Copper = $380 for 4MB
Flow Copper = $220 for 30MB ($195 for 70MB if you sign up through GATT for the Gamer package)
Both companies have horrible and poor Fiber (FTTH) coverage. So please take their fiber out of the discussion.
tr1ad wrote:snatman wrote:mazdatt wrote:Who will buy CWC 49% share in TSTT?
Probably Massy
ah boy some forward thinkers
j.o.e wrote:BANzai Rastafarai wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Hehehe...What happens when Lisa Agard is on the Massy side and was former TSTT. Nothing about it really surprising and Massy have the same unrealistic targets like TSTT so.....
I find the selling price price rather cheap considering Massy's claim to have 34,000 customers... Something about that not right... and TATT may not approve it eventually.. If I was Digicel I would protest like hell from now....
That 34000 is the network reach (people who can be served currently) not necessarily customers.
The_Honourable wrote:Feeling sorry for the customers who ran away from Blink to Massy.
That 34,000 from Massy will go down quick. Digicel and Flow will get some new customers.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:The_Honourable wrote:Feeling sorry for the customers who ran away from Blink to Massy.
That 34,000 from Massy will go down quick. Digicel and Flow will get some new customers.
Yep from what I read on the massy ched here the whole reason people went with Massy is because their customer service is top notch.
As a matter of fact Massy is the only ISP that has the live online chat CSR on their website so you don't have to waste time holding your phone waiting on a rep. Its just like Amazon you type the message and if you are not cause the wait time too long and you had to leave there they still receive the message and sort you out..
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:The_Honourable wrote:Feeling sorry for the customers who ran away from Blink to Massy.
Yep from what I read on the massy ched here the whole reason people went with Massy is because their customer service is top notch.
As a matter of fact Massy is the only ISP that has the live online chat CSR on their website so you don't have to waste time holding your phone waiting on a rep. Its just like Amazon you type the message and if you are not cause the wait time too long and you had to leave there they still receive the message and sort you out..
None of that should change. It's still Massy staff and the same service, the shares are just now owned by TSTT.
It's not like you were on Massy and suddenly got switched over to TSTT internet.
The_Honourable wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:The_Honourable wrote:Feeling sorry for the customers who ran away from Blink to Massy.
None of that should change. It's still Massy staff and the same service, the shares are just now owned by TSTT.
It's not like you were on Massy and suddenly got switched over to TSTT internet.
Maybe initially but changes will come down the road. Soon Massy culture will be TSTT-like.
ilove3 wrote:So I read many of allyuh comments and I think that some of you are sadly misinformed. Quite surprisingly so since some ah allyuh supposed to be some of the brightest minds in the country. In any case, both Digicel and Flow is offering what seems to be fantastic rates but the reality is that you never get what you think that you are paying for. When you think that you are paying for 25MBs down and you go to speedtest.net, you would see that speedometer quickly blaze up the the 25MBs marker but the reality is that the speed is that you are seeing is the maximum speed that you can achieve and NOT THE TRUE DOWNLOAD SPEED. To determine what your true speed is, go to http://www.bandwidthplace.com and do a speed test there. You would be very surprised at what you are actually getting (value for your money? I think not!). TSTT is the only company that actually gives you what you are paying for and like Massy's internet, theirs is dedicated fibre to the home, unlike shared load that is offered by both Flow and Digi. Catch them at their less than stellar service and you would be told "Sir, remember that you are paying for UP TO XXXXXX SPEED...", in other words, whatever you are getting is part of the agreement as you are paying for a maximum speed of XXXXXX and not the actual download speed...
I would relate a very recent experience: One of my customers of my android boxes asked for my help as he had switched from Flow to Digicel and an IPTV service that I offer, Boyz Toyz, was not working well on his box (if yuh wanna test that IPTV, inbox me for a free 2 week trial). From home I was able to determine that it was his net. He was not convinced so I went to his home to conduct some test including using his wifi on my phone, testing the speed on his box and then comparing the speed to pull up a movie using his box (plugged directly into Digicel's modem) to pulling up a movie on my phone (using bmobile's data). After a few seconds, the movie started on my phone while we were waiting for the movie to start on his device after about four minutes. I concluded the tests by going to the testing website which showed that he was getting an actual speed of 1.12MBs.
That being said, that TSTT and Massy deal might be a bit confusing as $255 million is peanuts to pay for Massy Communications - a simple calculation assuming that the average Massy customer pays $350 per month could see revenues of $143 million being earned and that does not include infrastructure, equipment and other assets. So that amount is a paltry amount compared to what the market value may have been. In any case, it was long rumored that with the 49% of TSTT up for sale, Massy was going to be the buyer. This rumor was given some credibility as earlier this year, TSTT and Massy entered an agreement to share infrastructure but to date, neither company started offering fibre in areas where the other company was offering the service.
Yesterday's announcement though, put a spin on things as, from the most recent information, C&W had not sold its shares in TSTT, yet TSTT had purchased 100% ownership of Massy Communications. The only thing now that would make sense is this: Once the acquisition is completed, TSTT would then announce that Massy has purchased the 49% shares previously held by C&W thereby completing the intent of the purchase of Massy Communications by TSTT: both companies win! TSTT also announce its strategic goal of an agile company and what this means is simply that the company would be able to quicker respond to opportunities and threats. So with Massy having an interest in TSTT, IMO, it would best if Massy is used as R&D for emerging technologies that would benefit its investment and TSTT.
Just my 5c worth...
ilove3 wrote: So with Massy having an interest in TSTT, IMO, it would best if Massy is used as R&D for emerging technologies that would benefit its investment and TSTT. Just my 5c worth...
bluefete wrote:ilove3 wrote: So with Massy having an interest in TSTT, IMO, it would best if Massy is used as R&D for emerging technologies that would benefit its investment and TSTT. Just my 5c worth...
Great statement BUT never going to happen.
The last time TSTT had an R&D department it was headed by a guy called Dr. Stephan Gift - one of the most brilliant minds to ever live in T&T. That was in the 1970's when TSTT was among the first companies in the world to use fibre optics technology.
After that, they got rid of R&D and Dr. Gift left to go UWI.
They have never recovered since.
TSTT today has no clue about R&D.
ilove3 wrote:Well said and I'm sure you would have picked up on the hopefulness in that statement. But the R&D should be within Massy
bluefete wrote:ilove3 wrote:Well said and I'm sure you would have picked up on the hopefulness in that statement. But the R&D should be within Massy
Still not going to happen.
If it was the other way (Massy take over TSTT), I would have some hope.
TSTT's management just does not know or understand the importance of R&D.
I listened to Emile Elias talking to the Public Accounts Committee yesterday. He moaned about the lack of bandwidth allocated to TSTT by TATT. Then said that they recently got approval for some more.
He said the union is the biggest obstacle to progress (agree to some extent). The cost per employee to TSTT is over $400,000 per employee per year.
2ndchance wrote:http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170502/business/tstt-purchases-massy-communications-for-255-million/1
TSTT purchases Massy Communications for $255 million
...deal signed today
Published on May 2, 2017, 4:10 pm AST
By Carolyn Kissoon Multimedia Desk
The Telecommunications Services of Trinidad and Tobago (TSTT) announced on Tuesday its acquisition of Massy Communications.
TSTT, this country's largest telcommunications provider, signed a Share Purchase Agreement to acquire Massy Communications for $255 million.
This brings 34,000 homes and a Fibre to the Home system to TSTT.
The announcement was made by TSTT's chairman Emile Elias at a news conference.
TSTT issued a release stating that the company had entered into a Share Purchase Agreement (SPA) in which TSTT will purchase 100% shareholding of Massy Communications Ltd.
This agreement capitalizes on the synergies of both companies in a manner that is mutually beneficial, along with their stakeholders, the local telecommunications industry and the people of Trinidad & Tobago, the release stated.
It stated, “TSTT is the largest telecommunications provider in Trinidad and Tobago. A significant element of TSTT's current strategic plan involves the deployment of both wired and wireless high-speed broadband internet capabilities, throughout the entire nation. This includes investment in fibre optic solutions together with the associated technological infrastructure and systems.
Since 2006, Massy Communications, formerly Three Sixty Communications, has been building out its telecommunications network and expanding its services, to currently offer a range of services which include:
- Fibre Optic (FTTH) Infrastructure deployment which is utilised to deliver High Speed Internet and IPTV to residential and SME customers.
- Dedicated Internet/IP transit
- Clear Channel Domestic/ Metro Ethernet and International Private Lines
- International Wholesale Termination and Enterprise Voice Solutions
In 2016, TSTT secured $1.9B in financing to create a Fibre to the Home (FTTH) solution throughout all of Trinidad and Tobago, including areas where Massy had already built out a robust network. This purchase will allow TSTT to have immediate access to an additional 34,000 homes passed with fibre.
These homes are located in Diego Martin, Port of Spain, Trincity, Arima and San Fernando. This agreement therefore means that TSTT now has the benefit of incorporating these customers into its existing infrastructure.
The agreement includes all of Massy Communications infrastructure relating to both its Enterprise and Consumer networks, all existing Enterprise and Retail customers and the entire operational and business support systems.
TSTT stated that the purchase will result in the acceleration of TSTT's deployment of its next generation network. It will also facilitate the opportunity to immediately deliver a new suite of products and services to our existing customers in these areas. Furthermore, it will provide the Massy customers with the assurance that their future communications needs are well placed.