Gas station attendant beaten after telling customer not to smoke

GeneralHonda

Re: Gas station attendant beaten after telling customer not to smoke

Postby GeneralHonda » April 28th, 2017, 7:46 am

Les Bain wrote:
GeneralHonda wrote:Sad. I notice many people pulling up to fill and not switching off their vehicles also.

Noticed that with a coworker whenever we step out for lunch and she had to fill up.
On many occasions I had to remind her that you supposed to kill engine and lights when is your turn to full. I know that since I small and gas stations had visible signage telling you the same thing.

She say nobody ever told her to kill her engine, so she doh turn off the engine.

I tell her at least do it for me. I just wanted lunch, not death.

Morpheus has seen similar to what you experienced and trinis clearly have no respect for the law and the safety of others. That is why I hold the opinion that we as a society will collapse eventually into anarchy with the criminals and lowlifes being the beneficiaries. Well I guess that is already so.

Postby SR » April 28th, 2017, 7:57 am

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 28th, 2017, 8:09 am

Can anyone confirm this?
Breaking: A man who was identified as one of the individuals brutally beating a gas station attendant has surrendered to police.

Postby Les Bain » April 28th, 2017, 8:35 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Can anyone confirm this?
Breaking: A man who was identified as one of the individuals brutally beating a gas station attendant has surrendered to police.

I read that in the papers this morning.

42 years old, has to sign in to the police station once a week as he's currently on bail. Not a good time to issue a vicious beating in a facility with camera surveillance.

Postby aaron17 » April 28th, 2017, 8:59 am

Classic myth-busters episode!
I know this is off topic but what is the best way to discharge electricity when you come out the vehicle?

Postby maj. tom » April 28th, 2017, 10:42 am

aaron17 wrote:Classic myth-busters episode!
I know this is off topic but what is the best way to discharge electricity when you come out the vehicle?

rub your penis on the bonnet.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » April 28th, 2017, 11:30 am

maj. tom wrote:

Postby RedVEVO » April 28th, 2017, 1:15 pm

dboss12 wrote:The other i pull up by a gas station and pumping my gas,my boss call,i clean forget where i was and answer my phone.

2 mins the attendant come out,i take my buff and my cuss..i cant vex with her....hang up my phone and take my shame.....
Cuz i could have killed everyone there.

She and all was in danger,you expect to get a loving voice to tell you ,you doin crap...steupzzz

How using your phone " could have killed everyone there " ?

Postby Redman » April 28th, 2017, 1:42 pm

I think the phone thing is a myth....mythbusters tried igniting aerated gas with a cell phone and they failed.

That said it is a mandate from the Ministry of Energy that phones are switched off before filling.

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » April 28th, 2017, 2:24 pm

The attendant who got beaten up has a very distasteful way of dealing with people since I myself go there time to time to re-fill. Notice in the clip no one really reacted to the situation, only a little while after, however it does not give the right for someone to beat the guy up in this manner.
The guy is right for telling the person no smoking is allowed, but it's all in the manner you deliver your statement will determine how the other person will react, some worse than others.

Postby sMASH » April 28th, 2017, 2:40 pm

Redman wrote:I think the phone thing is a myth....mythbusters tried igniting aerated gas with a cell phone and they failed.

That said it is a mandate from the Ministry of Energy that phones are switched off before filling.

u ever put a phone next to a radio, pc speakers or a car deck? u know it sometimes gives interference, that is audible from the sound system?

Postby toyolink » April 28th, 2017, 2:58 pm

Many years ago at the NGC Abyssinia (not too sure about spelling) there was a condensate 'over-load' leading to condensate venting to atmosphere.
Unfortunately, a static electricity spark from the radio antenna triggered major ignition...........for sure 1 operator died and the result was catastrophic (real disaster zone).
Just follow the prudent rules, they don't need much of us to comply and they can certainly possibly avoid a lot of grief.
No smoking, No cell phone use and if you are prone to static electricity build-up execute dissipation by discharging same by passing hands on body of vehicle before filling (this might take place anyhow when the metal lid is opened).

Postby Redman » April 28th, 2017, 3:19 pm

sMASH wrote:
Redman wrote:I think the phone thing is a myth....mythbusters tried igniting aerated gas with a cell phone and they failed.

u ever put a phone next to a radio, pc speakers or a car deck? u know it sometimes gives interference, that is audible from the sound system?

They sprayed gasoline the cell.phone in a enclosure and called the phone....beyond any thing you would encounter in any case.

the FCC doesn't consider it a risk

That said I don't use the cell phone in the station.
Last edited by Redman on April 28th, 2017, 3:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby teems1 » April 28th, 2017, 3:22 pm

sMASH wrote:

Mythbusters was testing the possibility of a cell phone spark igniting a fire. Remember older phones had physical buttons.

The pressing of the button was the physical closing of a circuit where a small metal piece on the back of the silicone numberpad would press against a contact on the circuit board.

The idea was that pressing a button to answer a call would create a very small spark and thus ignite the vapor fumes. The newer phones are all touchscreen so they do not have that risk.

However the power and volume buttons on modern touchscreen phones are still mechanical and carry the same risk.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » April 28th, 2017, 3:35 pm

the orientationman the time i work in the plant tell me my phone could explode the plant cuz of the phone contact with the battery

Postby pugboy » April 28th, 2017, 4:22 pm

That's bogus since sparks are only caused when contact is just being made
In a phone contact with made with the battery continuously
Also 3.7v is hardly likely to cause any spark to jump across a gap.

snatman

Postby snatman » April 28th, 2017, 4:35 pm

Bully spoketh:

"ize ah good boy. Everyboddy who know me know dat"

"things got out of proportion (sic)"

"is the alcohol make me do it"

Postby aaron17 » April 28th, 2017, 4:59 pm

I thought he gonna blame kamla again.

dboss12

Postby dboss12 » April 28th, 2017, 5:11 pm

Redman wrote:
sMASH wrote:

They sprayed gasoline the cell.phone in a enclosure and called the phone....beyond any thing you would encounter in any case.

the FCC doesn't consider it a risk

That said I don't use the cell phone in the station.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=0Zx5w7uRH7o

Not sure it 100% true,but it got me..so no cellphone for me

Postby sMASH » April 28th, 2017, 5:42 pm

nah, not explosion. but rf interference. the digital signals used by the pumps and the database systems may be disrupted and send erroneous data bout the the amounts sold. with enough sheilding it shouldnt (and isnt) a problem.

people wouldnt really fall for that, or even use it as a source of fun, so they tell u its an ignition source. its decades ago since mobile electronics used physical contactors that could generate a large enough spark either through operation or static discharge to ignite the fumes. and even if there is a large enough spark internally, a significant amount of the fumes must reach inside of the device to where the spark is at to get it to ignite. that would be very hard to happen seeing as how the fumes are in the open air, and would not easily force its way through the tight seams of the device to where the sparks are at.

people are ruled by fear, so give them something to fear, and they would repeat and enforce it them selves.

Postby 16 cycles » April 28th, 2017, 5:49 pm

+1 for no cell phone in gas station...Concentrate on filling gas and make the space available for next person...No selfie/ checking FB status etc...

Postby matr1x » April 28th, 2017, 6:15 pm

I hate smokers and this is an example of their priveleged attitude. Why was he let out on bail?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 28th, 2017, 8:04 pm

Real assness yes.....best the man left them to blow themselves up ..
Wasn't there any security here?....plus ppl just watching...so sorry for the attendant here...

Postby RedVEVO » April 28th, 2017, 9:47 pm

sMASH wrote:nah, not explosion. but rf interference. the digital signals used by the pumps and the database systems may be disrupted and send erroneous data bout the the amounts sold. with enough sheilding it shouldnt (and isnt) a problem.

people wouldnt really fall for that, or even use it as a source of fun, so they tell u its an ignition source. its decades ago since mobile electronics used physical contactors that could generate a large enough spark either through operation or static discharge to ignite the fumes. and even if there is a large enough spark internally, a significant amount of the fumes must reach inside of the device to where the spark is at to get it to ignite. that would be very hard to happen seeing as how the fumes are in the open air, and would not easily force its way through the tight seams of the device to where the sparks are at.

people are ruled by fear, so give them something to fear, and they would repeat and enforce it them selves.

RF interference ? So how do you use a credit card at the pump then ?
Cell phone usage at a gas station and then explosion is a myth .
Unless you talking and smoking. And driving a Benz.

SidZ

Postby SidZ » April 28th, 2017, 9:56 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170428 ... speaks-out

Send his ass to remand yard for him to share and receive love!!!

Postby Morpheus » April 28th, 2017, 10:02 pm

SMH.....

matix

Postby matix » April 28th, 2017, 10:13 pm

maj. tom wrote:

Postby RedVEVO » April 28th, 2017, 11:13 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:A larger percentage of the lower class population in this country turn to immediate violence to solve all of their problems, they do not know any better, its a cycle that will continue because they set that as the example for their children to follow.

Best evaluation / comment on this thread !

These same people ALWAYS beg for forgiveness and cry for justice. And they still living with their parents . Or beating their common law wife .

"Gas Station Owner" should be held accountable in a civil law suit for not providing security for his workers.

Postby sMASH » April 29th, 2017, 4:00 am

RedVEVO wrote:
sMASH wrote:nah, not explosion. but rf interference. the digital signals used by the pumps and the database systems may be disrupted and send erroneous data bout the the amounts sold. with enough sheilding it shouldnt (and isnt) a problem.

RF interference ? So how do you use a credit card at the pump then ?
Cell phone usage at a gas station and then explosion is a myth .
Unless you talking and smoking. And driving a Benz.

cards are low powered, and devices tend to be shielded, either pump side or phone side, these days.
but in the odd chance tht they might loose a dollar to an incomplete string of binary code.... NO CELLPHONES

Zim

Postby Zim » April 29th, 2017, 5:10 am

Touch the body of the car before u exit (while seated. Keep touching it until u exit the car & then u can close the door, open the fuel tank cover, etc).

I usually get a good jolt from static electricity. Haven't since using this method. Hope I helped :)