Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby timelapse » April 21st, 2017, 7:33 am

aaron17 wrote:If evaluators have to come and evaluate the property etc.. the criminal elements can pretend to be them coming in ur home!You have to be carefull.

Criminal element, PNM evaluators, what's the difference?
They both coming to rob you of your hard earned money

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 21st, 2017, 7:41 am

adnj wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:What happens if we do not pay this tax?

pugboy wrote:They will likely put legislation to allow seizure of property to be auctioned to their party hacks.

As it is right now, I think Wasa is the only authority which can lay claim for unpaid bills.
When you buy or sell a property, the Wasa clearance is the only one required.

Property Tax Act 2009

Warrant for forfeiture

41. (1) Where any tax or any part thereof due in respect of
any land remains in arrears and unpaid for the period of five years
from the day when it became due and payable, the President may,
by warrant under his hand, reciting that a sum specified in such
warrant, due on account of the tax and for five years in such
warrant, is and has for the full period of five years been in arrears
and unpaid, order that such lands be forfeited to the State, and
immediately upon the registration of such warrant as hereinafter
provided, such land shall be forfeited, and shall vest in the State,
in absolute dominion, free and discharged from all rights, estates,
interests, equities and claims of any other person.

This is perfect! Don't pay your tax for 5 years.
Then if and I mean IF the state decides to come after you (highly unlikely as they don't enforce anything except crossing 82 KPH) and they seize your land then after they put you out go and squat for 10 years on your land .... and the land is yours again.

Maybe this is a ploy for Rowley to get back the Beetham and surrounding area??? Back in the day when he was housing Minister he wanted to chase his people out and bring in high end housing and real estate.

src1983

Postby src1983 » April 21st, 2017, 7:53 am

dude2014 wrote:Billions spent badly, Yes but are you willing to take they A@se to court, protest, march?

And what would that do? They will win every election until they die once voters like RASC and zoom radar alive

The point is I should not be subject to tax when the government spends $80 for a $8 item.

Example, You start to pay tax 2 years after contractor C get a $30 million contract to pave your road things nice now. 2 years after road wavy hole all about, but not to worry you in an election year so Contractor K got a $40 million to paved the road again, but last 3 years till wavy and rough again.

Is this fair to the citizen?

Will you go to your store and pay $60 for a 20oz coke when it cost $6?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 21st, 2017, 8:03 am

I think they should start with all HDC houses first, ah mean the government built affordable houses for people who can't own a house. Government built houses, so they know what they have and the value what not, so it easy to start off with. All the information in HDC "system'...
Next thing is what ED saying, TAX meh, but what are my taxes going to do for me, we still have to put up with the same crap, no improvement at all.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » April 21st, 2017, 8:08 am

First of all coke bad for your digestion and corke, so nah buying ............

La Brea people went loco on nico and protest, fitzgerald promise moon and stars, road still so ........

Growley and he boy friends, davie and rougiena march on Kamla and Govt change ...........

As for the bad road, you could also march or hire Gerald Ramdeen. Hope he doing Pro Bono work ..........

Average

Postby Average » April 21st, 2017, 8:23 am

I have read comments where people are getting in an uproar and talking about selling their land. Please for the sake of your children and your sanity, DO NOT DO THIS!
This is exactly what these nasty, vile, deceitful and stink pnm so called leaders want you to do. Sell out your properties so that the sly syrians and chinese can come in and buy out all. This is the last wail of the people before neverending tears. Scarfy-Hitler and his posse want Trinidad to be Black and White alone, so they pressuring all the indians to sell out and leave, remember the kidnapping years? Same story again.
All who supporting this are hypocrites...you probably litter and talking ah bag ah ass about this being good for country. Do you even report criminal activity? Blasted stink hypocrites. F.ock away withthis dotish tax, f.ock scarfy-hitler with ah pineapple and Liver spots battyman impsbert with ah two sided cutlass.

HSA

Postby HSA » April 21st, 2017, 8:32 am

Lets organize a tuner protest against this land tax??

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » April 21st, 2017, 8:48 am

HSA wrote:Lets organize a tuner protest against this land tax??

Only the land tax?

Postby crazybalhead » April 21st, 2017, 9:48 am

Average

Postby Average » April 21st, 2017, 9:57 am

Imagine if the site get hacked.....lol

originalbling

Postby originalbling » April 21st, 2017, 10:23 am

adnj wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:What happens if we do not pay this tax?

pugboy wrote:They will likely put legislation to allow seizure of property to be auctioned to their party hacks.

As it is right now, I think Wasa is the only authority which can lay claim for unpaid bills.
When you buy or sell a property, the Wasa clearance is the only one required.

Property Tax Act 2009

Warrant for forfeiture

41. (1) Where any tax or any part thereof due in respect of
any land remains in arrears and unpaid for the period of five years
from the day when it became due and payable, the President may,
by warrant under his hand, reciting that a sum specified in such
warrant, due on account of the tax and for five years in such
warrant, is and has for the full period of five years been in arrears
and unpaid, order that such lands be forfeited to the State, and
immediately upon the registration of such warrant as hereinafter
provided, such land shall be forfeited, and shall vest in the State,
in absolute dominion, free and discharged from all rights, estates,
interests, equities and claims of any other person.

There seems to be a process of gazetting etc before that takes place. There is also this:

45.(1) Any land which for a period of sixteen years
has been unoccupied and un-assessed, and upon which
during such period, no taxes have been paid, shall be
liable to be forfeited to the State.

(2) The President may, by warrant under his
hand, reciting that such land has been unoccupied and
un-assessed for a period of sixteen years, and that no
taxes have been paid thereon during such period, order
that such land be forfeited to the State, and thereupon
such land and building shall be forfeited accordingly
and shall vest in the State in absolute dominion,
free and discharged from all rights, estates, interests,
equities, and claims of any other person.

Entire act here: https://www.finance.gov.tt/wp-content/u ... t-2009.pdf

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » April 21st, 2017, 10:33 am

2017-04-21+10.33.10.jpg

src1983

Postby src1983 » April 21st, 2017, 10:34 am

I want to see how the collecting property tax from these sponges, when they can't even collect rent

But bet you dollar they will come down on the common man hard

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 21st, 2017, 10:38 am

^^They coming down on the working class dude! Steups

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » April 21st, 2017, 10:41 am

src1983 wrote:Image

I want to see how the collecting property tax from these sponges, when they can't even collect rent

But bet you dollar they will come down on the common man hard

What u go do that how's it gonna play out I just working an I feeling poorer and poorer everyday..I wake up every morning in realism that real estate is only for the prominent people of this country..for example a nigerian couple just purchased my neighbour's home for a cool 1.5mil and I here saying I want my own place..

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » April 21st, 2017, 10:42 am

ADONI wrote:^^They coming down on the working class dude! Steups

Working class will always get brush with no lube..rough waters ahead

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 21st, 2017, 10:50 am

urbandilema wrote:
2017-04-21 10.33.10.jpg

Allyuh does believe every sheit allyuh see on fb eh

Postby meccalli » April 21st, 2017, 10:56 am

Figures are way off but basically you have to pay subsidised rent to live in your own house.

MADMAN1

Postby MADMAN1 » April 21st, 2017, 11:05 am

Average wrote:I have read comments where people are getting in an uproar and talking about selling their land. Please for the sake of your children and your sanity, DO NOT DO THIS!
This is exactly what these nasty, vile, deceitful and stink pnm so called leaders want you to do. Sell out your properties so that the sly syrians and chinese can come in and buy out all. This is the last wail of the people before neverending tears. Scarfy-Hitler and his posse want Trinidad to be Black and White alone, so they pressuring all the indians to sell out and leave, remember the kidnapping years? Same story again.
All who supporting this are hypocrites...you probably litter and talking ah bag ah ass about this being good for country. Do you even report criminal activity? Blasted stink hypocrites. F.ock away withthis dotish tax, f.ock scarfy-hitler with ah pineapple and Liver spots battyman impsbert with ah two sided cutlass.

x10

src1983

Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby src1983 » April 21st, 2017, 11:51 am

So I went back and looked at my valuation of my place, in it there was a line which stated the rental value was 7,500 this was done by Linden Scott

If they use that value I would have to pay

$2,430 (7500 x 12 x 90% x 3%)

That was the money I used for car maintenance through all the bad road
Last edited by src1983 on April 21st, 2017, 11:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby adnj » April 21st, 2017, 12:02 pm

src1983 wrote:So I went back and looked at my valuation of my place, in it there was a line which stated the rental value was 7,500 this was done by Linden Scott

If they use that value I would have to pay

$24,300 (7500 x 12 x 90% x 3%)

That was the money I used for car maintenance through all the bad road

I'm gonna do you a favor and tell you that your math is wrong. Your tax is only $2430.

drchaos wrote:
This is perfect! Don't pay your tax for 5 years.
Then if and I mean IF the state decides to come after you (highly unlikely as they don't enforce anything except crossing 82 KPH) and they seize your land then after they put you out go and squat for 10 years on your land .... and the land is yours again.

Once the land goes to the government, it will take you 30 years to claim it.
Last edited by adnj on April 21st, 2017, 12:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

src1983

Postby src1983 » April 21st, 2017, 12:05 pm

Oh year that I added Le 0

Postby adnj » April 21st, 2017, 1:37 pm

src1983 wrote:Oh year that I added Le 0

I guessed as much.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 21st, 2017, 2:53 pm

So what is the Tax rate for Squatting Area?

I seeing Residential and Commercial but where is Squatting? because all over the country has scattered houses and communities that is on stolen land. So how them people submitting deed?

And what are the odds that government seizing their house for not paying tax?

Infact what are the odds that the government going laventille and beetham to seize a house? or seizing a house in ANY PNM area?
Ent Rowley claim that nobody paying Rent in Maloney for the last 20 years? and the rent is like $200 a month? he say with his own mouth that they buying sneakers and not paying rent. So what makes he think them go pay property tax?

Postby De Dragon » April 21st, 2017, 5:11 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:So what is the Tax rate for Squatting Area?

I seeing Residential and Commercial but where is Squatting? because all over the country has scattered houses and communities that is on stolen land. So how them people submitting deed?

And what are the odds that government seizing their house for not paying tax?

Infact what are the odds that the government going laventille and beetham to seize a house? or seizing a house in ANY PNM area?
Ent Rowley claim that nobody paying Rent in Maloney for the last 20 years? and the rent is like $200 a month? he say with his own mouth that they buying sneakers and not paying rent. So what makes he think them go pay property tax?

He's not, so as always, Scarfy and Co. will go after the middle class.

Postby bluefete » April 21st, 2017, 5:48 pm

So YOU have to put the rental value of your property on the form. Talk about lazy man work!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby The_Honourable » April 21st, 2017, 10:31 pm

well oh goosh...

Read the comments here: https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid ... .707875676
18033084_10154563056110677_3557793070711983680_n.jpg

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 21st, 2017, 11:17 pm

^ LOL but seriously though where is the Opposition?

Not a word from these people, when I said UNC dead I meant it. I blame everybody who voted back Kamla as opposition leader, all I does hear on 90.5fm is a bunch of old Indian people calling and saying how Kamla is maha sri mother Kamla and how she is ah woman and how people only hate she cause she is ah woman. And them is the same people who vote she back as Opposition leader eh right now she supposed to be fighting the government and opposing this new sick and nasty tax law but is like she only drinking rum.

Even my neighbor asking if Kamla alive.

We are so fcked in this country now yes, an incompetent government and an equally as dotish opposition.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on April 21st, 2017, 11:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

OPERATORJOE

Postby OPERATORJOE » April 21st, 2017, 11:18 pm

Guys what about properties with rental apartments for example if you have a main residence together with let's say two apartments to the back.. The rental value on your residence is 5000.00 per mth and the apartment's bring in 1800x2=3600 would they calculate the total tax payable by adding the annual rental value (ARV) of the main residence plus the apartments.. Or just the ARV of the main residence only

car

Postby car » April 21st, 2017, 11:31 pm

OPERATORJOE wrote:Guys what about properties with rental apartments for example if you have a main residence together with let's say two apartments to the back.. The rental value on your residence is 5000.00 per mth and the apartment's bring in 1800x2=3600 would they calculate the total tax payable by adding the annual rental value (ARV) of the main residence plus the apartments.. Or just the ARV of the main residence only

Every structure gets taxed. Tank stand, shed, cow pen. Everything.