Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby pugboy » April 11th, 2017, 7:47 pm

U guys see the fb chap who kvetching out all the monster tarpon out blue river

Postby meccalli » April 11th, 2017, 8:01 pm

Yup, all those are large breeding females that preserve the quality of our local tarpon fishery, blue river is one of the major spawning grounds for both tarpon and goliath grouper. The other being around the bocas and across a continental trench that separates south america from the lesser antilles between us and grenada where serves as a migratory passage for tarpon.

Postby pugboy » April 11th, 2017, 8:14 pm

Poor chap getting bashed left right and center

I sympathize with him though , nobody says anything when you see pics of "higher class" folk in their million dollar boats pulling in boat loads of "higher class" fish

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » April 11th, 2017, 8:41 pm

pugboy wrote:Poor chap getting bashed left right and center

I sympathize with him though , nobody says anything when you see pics of "higher class" folk in their million dollar boats pulling in boat loads of "higher class" fish

This, When the TT Game Fishing Association started their fb page, they had real pics of members posing with big spawning hammerhead sharks and tarpon. All the pictures were removed quietly, and they took to bashing these small fishermen when they realised their was money in tarpon charters.

I am in no way condoning the actions of these lil fellas who catching out the spawning tarpon and grouper, etc; but I can't handle the hypocrisy.

I remember I my old boss in the early 90's, from West of the Moorings, he used to shoot tarpon for fun with a CO2 speargun, push the scales straight through the body, and then he used to dump the fish to waste.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 11th, 2017, 9:17 pm

Remember guys that in those days not much information was available on tarpon growth and spawning...also with the sharks...now ppl can truly understand these fish...they learned and changed their ways for preservation of the species for the future...they removed those pics not o hide anything but to not let others think it is right to kill these fish...its not hypocrisy...

Postby pugboy » April 11th, 2017, 9:18 pm

The Lee young chap has some pretty impressive "boatload ah groupa" pics :|

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 11th, 2017, 9:28 pm

Yes but yelloe edge groupers are not on the endangered list...goliaths are and the guys usually kill the juveniles in the swamps before they even get a chance to spawn even once...yellow edge groupers usually mature at ages 4-5 and can spawn then...they grow slowly as well but not much ppl out there killing them off...the tarpon is a easier target as they live in close vicinity and are very easy to catch, making them easy targets for over fishing and depletion of the species...

Postby meccalli » April 11th, 2017, 9:35 pm

It's very species specific when it comes down to conservation. Goliath grouper have notoriously low spawning rates and being a hermaphroditic species doesn't help either. A female goliath takes six years to reach sexual maturity. Tarpon may be overgrown bait but their growth rates are equally as low- Tarpon reach sexual maturity around 6-7 years old and a 100lb fish is 16 years old. Commercial species like king and spanish mackerel and dolphin are completely opposite so it's privy to a higher MSY https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maximum_sustainable_yield
Carite reaches sexual maturity in 2 years and mahi mahi in 3-4 months, mahi in particular will reach 50+ lbs in a single year producing nearly a million eggs per female 3 times per year. These types of high harvest fish have high reproductive rates and short lifespans. The average lifespan for mackerel and mahi is 5-7 years whereas a tarpon or goliath can push 30-50 years. Slow growers rely on an old population of spawning fish which if removed severely impacts the species strength and genetic potential.

Postby pugboy » April 11th, 2017, 9:37 pm

Agreed, Unfortunately this will be a hard sell to those folks who target tarpon
Esp since it is in their backyard swamp presumably

It will become a serious "we" vs "dem" argument

Postby meccalli » April 11th, 2017, 9:44 pm

Yellowedge grouper aren't endangered but most certainly overexploited in our waters. This is from about 12 years ago.
https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Da ... Tobago.pdf

turbo factor

Postby turbo factor » April 11th, 2017, 9:45 pm

Hey gd nite tuners,anybody can tell me a good spot to fish in South area,seafishing,and safe...

Postby pugboy » April 11th, 2017, 9:46 pm

Only real way to find out is ask those crack shots to give statistics and if willing gps locations so
They can check out the structure there lol

meccalli wrote:Yellowedge grouper aren't endangered but most certainly overexploited in our waters. This is from about 12 years ago.
https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Da ... Tobago.pdf

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 11th, 2017, 9:48 pm

I read that same article but many ppl dont fish them in trini waters due to depth they usually live at...few do...

Postby meccalli » April 11th, 2017, 10:00 pm

Yellow edge are like tiles, they aren't on hard structure and thus hard to locate if you rely on equipment. The stomping grounds were between toco and tobago around the mormacland and drew bank. Those guys just need to redirect their efforts, tarpon meat is dog cheap and the money is small compared to what they could make if they took international fishermen who're chasing trophies. Those same fish could be caught year after year by guys who are paying big bucks to have a crack at a 250+ tarpon on the fly or standard tackle. Trinidad is already well known for it's tarpon fishery. Killing massive tarpon to sell is a dead end that's gonna end up bad for all parties involved in the end.

Postby X_Factor » April 11th, 2017, 10:22 pm

Anyone wants 2-5lb bags of small shrimp?
100.00 per 5lbs
roughly 1.5-2inches in size
only available for tmr....

proton17

Postby proton17 » April 16th, 2017, 8:00 pm

Went manzan Friday, it had seaweed on the shore but none really in the water. Caught just 3 yellow catfish...

Saw d guardian papers, saying seaweed came up yesterday, anyone can confirm this and if it all over in the water also...

Sosa

Postby Sosa » April 18th, 2017, 9:04 am

altec wrote:ok... I am pulling the trigger on one of the rods listed in the link tonight. Which of the 10 foot and over you recommend? The heaviest lure I throw is 3oz and the lightest is 5/8oz. I am considering the CSX-S-1002M which is rated 1.5 to 3oz. However, I am reading that manufacturers over-rate their lure rating and the sweet-spot for lures are much lower. Now I am contemplating the 10.5 or 11. What is your view? Oh did I say that I AM buying tonight before the wife find out I have a small overtime? Open the link and look over the word "cedros" you will see the up arrow to click for all the individual models in the CSX range.

https://www.okumafishingusa.com/product ... rf-csx-rod

I used the 9 10 and 11
And believe me they felt like they was gonna break
Really light action

Postby timelapse » April 18th, 2017, 9:36 am

proton17 wrote:Went manzan Friday, it had seaweed on the shore but none really in the water. Caught just 3 yellow catfish...

Saw d guardian papers, saying seaweed came up yesterday, anyone can confirm this and if it all over in the water also...

I was a little up the road from your spot.Wife caught something resembling a sardine and a catfish.I caught a cold Carib pilsner

Postby joker » April 20th, 2017, 2:20 pm

Yup proton... seaweed coming in but not like the previous years... small patches all over on the east..

proton17

Postby proton17 » April 20th, 2017, 8:25 pm

I went up Monday, before d river hv real weed, I fish a lil way after d mouth. Nothing biting, I had live mullet shrimp and bonito...lol

Only right before dead low when I packing to leave big pull down on d rod and by d time I reach it come off, coulda be stingray...

Then next rod when I packing up still, pull down and when I reach and start to pull, I felt the hook just bust out....dat one was a gd fish..

Lol

Both times d big chunk of bonito got d hit....

proton17

Postby proton17 » April 25th, 2017, 10:05 pm

Like nobody fish for Easter or wat, all yuh post a lil pic or something...

Small catch Sunday....

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » April 26th, 2017, 7:48 am

Looking to book a charter to bank close to hibiscus platform, anyone can assist? Already got a price of $4,500 was hoping for something more responsible.

Postby dougla_boy » April 26th, 2017, 7:53 am

thats from Nello right? could check Ryan in here, he mite be bale to do that

Postby Mark! » April 26th, 2017, 8:08 am

dougla_boy wrote:thats from Nello right? could check Ryan in here, he mite be bale to do that

stop pretenning like u does fishin'

Postby meccalli » April 26th, 2017, 8:10 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:Looking to book a charter to bank close to hibiscus platform, anyone can assist? Already got a price of $4,500 was hoping for something more responsible.

Well it's 30 miles offshore, not sure you want to make a trip like that with someone who's not prepared or inexperienced.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » April 26th, 2017, 11:38 am

any body know any spots to catch good bachines?

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » April 26th, 2017, 6:19 pm

dougla_boy wrote:thats from Nello right? could check Ryan in here, he mite be bale to do that

Yup

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » April 26th, 2017, 6:21 pm

meccalli wrote:
Halfbreed07 wrote:Looking to book a charter to bank close to hibiscus platform, anyone can assist? Already got a price of $4,500 was hoping for something more responsible.

Well it's 30 miles offshore, not sure you want to make a trip like that with someone who's not prepared or inexperienced.

Agreed, but need a price to compare to before i commit the rest of this year's charter money.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » April 26th, 2017, 6:21 pm

Monkey Man wrote:any body know any spots to catch good bachines?

La brea jetty, gulf, outside POS..

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » April 29th, 2017, 11:41 am

Went SeaLots fish market this morning to get bait, price just going up, now $120 a pigtail bucket.

On the plus side, i buy a nice fresh blackfin tuna for $10 per lb.