Look How life change nah

screwbash

Re: Look How life change nah

Postby screwbash » March 30th, 2017, 5:03 am

Rite now prices of everything going up, food getting scare cause of US $ shortage, People loosing they jobs, women being attacked, school chirren have no respect.... gone ah d good old days. I hadda take a trip to guyana and see if moving dey cud be a viable idea.

Postby maj. tom » March 30th, 2017, 8:05 am

Do you realize that the the increase in crime today was actually seeded about 15-20 years ago when corporal punishment was removed from schools by a woman in charge in the government at the time?

Since then the discipline structure that the British had put in place has slowed eroded away with no proper social programmes and family education to replace it. Well there have always been a lot of people who made children and didn't know how to mind them, but most these kids got straight when they were sent to school under a strict principal and dean of discipline. There has been nothing in place since. Just gangs which provides everything a young boy wants today.

I don't think beating a child beyond discipline is good (discipline and abuse are two different things, and let's be serious, nobody is scared of a woman principal or dean of discipline), but the fear of it keeps them straight. Religion can't hold water these days to encourage them on a proper path. And the people who argue against corporal punishment usually don't understand how hooligans behave compared to their good natured children that they raised so well.

So here we are in Trinidad today: an 11 year old boy still in Standard 2, imagine that frustration, saying he feeling to stab somebody today, and stopped just short of doing it. Constantly disrupting classes and bullying the other children. Talking about a cry for help! Everything failed this boy in his education and discipline, at home and at school. How do you expect a child to act if there are no boundaries set?

daron

Postby daron » March 30th, 2017, 8:39 am

maj. tom wrote:Do you realize that the the increase in crime today was actually seeded about 15-20 years ago when corporal punishment was removed from schools by a woman in charge in the government at the time?

Since then the discipline structure that the British had put in place has slowed eroded away with no proper social programmes and family education to replace it. Well there have always been a lot of people who made children and didn't know how to mind them, but most these kids got straight when they were sent to school under a strict principal and dean of discipline. There has been nothing in place since. Just gangs which provides everything a young boy wants today.

I don't think beating a child beyond discipline is good (discipline and abuse are two different things, and let's be serious, nobody is scared of a woman principal or dean of discipline), but the fear of it keeps them straight. Religion can't hold water these days to encourage them on a proper path. And the people who argue against corporal punishment usually don't understand how hooligans behave compared to their good natured children that they raised so well.

So here we are in Trinidad today: an 11 year old boy still in Standard 2, imagine that frustration, saying he feeling to stab somebody today, and stopped just short of doing it. Constantly disrupting classes and bullying the other children. Talking about a cry for help! Everything failed this boy in his education and discipline, at home and at school. How do you expect a child to act if there are no boundaries set?

Well said couldn't agree more
Most people wouldn't think so they would say your being political.

Postby sMASH » March 30th, 2017, 8:53 am

^^ this

Postby toyolink » March 30th, 2017, 12:18 pm

Oh how pleasurable it is to look back decades and reflect on the times when life in T&T was so uncomplicated.
The reality is we are where we are today cause of the direction our society has taken over the years.
One very simplistic opinion could be with the wealth we 'were' blessed with our focus and priorities became extremely materialistic and the attention to other things that define the quality of our social development became casualties.
The fact that we have lost our way and are now victims of our own folly can only be resolved by us all taking collective responsibility and individually making steps in the proper direction.
Unfortunately, the best impetus for change is when we hit rock bottom and all that confronts us is the proverbial darkness.

Postby pugboy » March 30th, 2017, 12:46 pm

it's not as bad as it may seem looking ahead but the best way to see the future is look at Jamaica
that is pretty much the same road we are heading to.
Jamaica been ketching their asses for decades now
over there is poor or rich, not much middle class
the poor have adapted somewhat and well the rich still living it up.

Our problem here is that the ppl making the most noise are the middle class who see their life habits being taken away by crime and economics.

Postby rspann » March 30th, 2017, 12:57 pm

If men treat their wife and children like they talk about Trinidad, they abandon them at the first sign of hardship.

Postby sMASH » March 30th, 2017, 2:00 pm

u sure 'first' is the word u want to use there.... 'first'?

Postby rspann » March 30th, 2017, 2:12 pm

As far as I concerned we have it nice here , we don't even know what hardship is. I don't think hardship reach as yet. Just go see the lifestyle of the same ones that claim hardship. Big boxes of BBQ, for the whole family, KFC selling normal, food franchises do studies and that is why more opening up , people shopping , malls going up because money flowing, no old cars on the road. Nobody really seeing trouble here. Yeah, we know it not as nice as before, but tell me what hardship there is in Trinidad? No bombs flying , the killings are isolated and related to particular situations. Stay out of those situations and you relatively safe. Here just like anywhere else, where you could go that life is drastically better than here? Trinidad still nice., Trinidad is a paradise.

Postby sMASH » March 30th, 2017, 2:39 pm

you are right.
but progress/improvement is rarely achieved by being content. we haven't reached the tipping point, where we not just say we want things to change, but actually effectively demand it. for all your reasons there.

in recent history, the arab spring was said to be sparked out of a conflict with water. it spread throughout the region, with out of state actors provoking different factions. isis grew out of it. other powers use the sides to wage proxy wars.

we have it good, yes. but a dwindling economy, and a gimme gimme last couple generations, we are headed towards to worse.

the little tweaks the government takes now, will either leads us closer to that tipping point, or stay it just a while longer, until we have a generation of people willing to not buy the bbq and be more constructive.

we have it good, but for how much longer...

screwbash

Postby screwbash » March 30th, 2017, 2:41 pm

rspann wrote:As far as I concerned we have it nice here , we don't even know what hardship is. I don't think hardship reach as yet. Just go see the lifestyle of the same ones that claim hardship. Big boxes of BBQ, for the whole family, KFC selling normal, food franchises do studies and that is why more opening up , people shopping , malls going up because money flowing, no old cars on the road. Nobody really seeing trouble here. Yeah, we know it not as nice as before, but tell me what hardship there is in Trinidad? No bombs flying , the killings are isolated and related to particular situations. Stay out of those situations and you relatively safe. Here just like anywhere else, where you could go that life is drastically better than here? Trinidad still nice., Trinidad is a paradise.

I agree life nice but is the uncertainty dat making it hard. Man aint know if or when he gonna get he throat buss in he wuk. Man aint know when he gonna get he throat buss at the hands of criminals. Man aint know when he gonna get he throat buss at the hands of fish vendors, supermarkets and in the market.

Postby rspann » March 30th, 2017, 3:04 pm

You a hundred percent correct. Although my point is that we really have nothing to run from, we have no right to be in the financial and societal situations we are in right now.
You could even begin to imagine what Trinidad would have been like if it wasn't for the set of rats we had and still have, governing us? Out of the last forty budgets, how much really went to the actual running and development of the country? Without the looting and pillage from the top down to the bottom,how much you think would really be needed to run the country? I fell it's less than half of what it is. But as long as there are long eyed people who feel their purpose is to eat ah food, we going to get in more and more problems.
Every contract that actually cost ten dollars,by the time everybody eat, costing $100000, they robbing the country dry and then posing with their I'll gotten gains and people admiring them. When people start to make jail the problem could be solved, when politicians know that their actions have consequences, the country could start back on track to a great future.
lack of discipline in homes reaching the schools and then the streets. Look at the child in the enterprise video, what is he going to become? A doctor, lawyer,what? Or he going to be a crisis too? In the protest, they complaint about not getting contracts. Any of them in construction? When it was the time to learn a trade, where were they? Every lazy person blames the state for the position they are in, but don't want to do like hard working citizens.
You are right though ,about losing jobs etc, but , it's the politicians fault, all of them. Trying to secure their tenure, they dole out the largesse without having concern for the future and have put us in this predicament. All those vainglorious projects could have been simplified and without the overspending we could have had it easy in these times of low income.

Postby rspann » March 30th, 2017, 3:13 pm

Screwbash, the market vendors in the same classification I was speaking about. They want to get rich by extorting the most they could get for their produce, also the fishmongers. They never want to make a reasonable profit and always have some excuse. Why does fish go up for lent? They using more gas, the fish hiding ,so it's harder to catch them? They know the people can't do without it so they raise the price. All it takes is society to reject the ransom. You raise the price, I buy chicken instead, keep your fish. I bet you price will drop if people stand up. But Trinis will say, is lent ,ah have to have fish, I go pay it. The day Trinis stand up for the politricksters and demand their rights, Trinidad come back the way it supposed to be.

Postby pugboy » March 31st, 2017, 6:57 am

we have it real nice here still, employers still have a hard time finding workers
the mere fact that folks from other countries are still coming here for work says it all
we aint see real hard times yet

we just like to complain a bit too much and do little for ourselves

Postby matr1x » March 31st, 2017, 7:33 am

maj. tom wrote:Do you realize that the the increase in crime today was actually seeded about 15-20 years ago when corporal punishment was removed from schools by a woman in charge in the government at the time?

While I disagreed with the decision to remove corporal punishment, your statement shows a constipation in thought and diarrhea of speach.

Crime has been an issue for a long time, but got its wings when the "father of the nation" flooded in islanders to pad votes. Bringing their criminals in tow