Which of the following method would impact on Crime?

Which of following would make an impact on criminal activities in t&t?

Capital Punishment
15%
Corporal Punishment in Schools
23%
Beheading
3%
Electrocution
5%
Hanging (Death penalty)
27%
Stone to death by public
5%
Pulling out of nails,etc
No votes
Beaten to death
3%
State of emergency
8%
Others
11%

Total votes: 62

unruly_trinidad

Postby unruly_trinidad » March 19th, 2017, 2:04 pm

We can see that the crime rate has increase drastically over the years with no cases being solved.........

vaiostation

Re: Which of the following method would impact on Crime?

Postby vaiostation » March 19th, 2017, 3:47 pm

Using fear doesn't really matter when people who committing the crime don't care if they die. Bringing back hanging or another method of execution won't change anything.
Besides if you really wanna stop crime you gotta start from the top. If the people who's job it is to actually run the country is a bunch of criminals who brake the laws and face no consequences, you really think I'm gonna listen to them.
Besides it hopeless. The battle is already lost. We will debate this topic for years upon years and the situation will only get worse.
If you really want change the people will have to seize power from the politicians and start over with a new constitution. We like to believe that we're a democracy but when you only have two choices and those two choices are the same corrupted politicians who have been there for decades, raping the treasury over and over while the citizens suffer, do we really have choice or is it nothing more than a mere illusion?

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » March 19th, 2017, 3:52 pm

vaiostation wrote:Using fear doesn't really matter when people who committing the crime don't care if they die. Bringing back hanging or another method of execution won't change anything.
Besides if you really wanna stop crime you gotta start from the top. If the people who's job it is to actually run the country is a bunch of criminals who brake the laws and face no consequences, you really think I'm gonna listen to them.
Besides it hopeless. The battle is already lost. We will debate this topic for years upon years and the situation will only get worse.
If you really want change the people will have to seize power from the politicians and start over with a new constitution. We like to believe that we're a democracy but when you only have two choices and those two choices are the same corrupted politicians who have been there for decades, raping the treasury over and over while the citizens suffer, do we really have choice or is it nothing more than a mere illusion?

Exactly.

4a70

Postby 4a70 » March 19th, 2017, 8:14 pm

I strongly believe that the system fails from the start of life. In schools and as children are not taught to resepect and fear authority they learn from early that doing wrong has no comcequences. A good gauva whip and strict enforcement of rules in schools would start guiding our beloved country into the right direction.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 19th, 2017, 8:48 pm

Just look at Anil Roberts and how he is a free man today. That alone is to tell you where the problem in this place starts
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on March 20th, 2017, 3:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby teems1 » March 19th, 2017, 10:39 pm

Contraceptives and easy access to abortions would alleviate crime.

We would need to wait 15-20 years to notice the effects though.

Postby shogun » March 19th, 2017, 11:59 pm

None, if the detection and apprehension rates stay where they are.

South African

Postby South African » March 20th, 2017, 12:36 am

Only long term way to help the crime rate is to create some form of income for the country. At the moment there is no jobs, no money coming into the country , people are frustrated , some poeple chose the easy way out i.e rob and kill others. Trinidad has no oil, no gas, we produce nothing that we can export and sustain the country, we are totally dependent on the US , all the money we have in the country is being spent outside the country (eventually it will all leave the country), Trinidad is not a tourist island (maracas and carnival can't sustain a country).

Trinidad is going to get very very bad in the coming years. It might become the new Zimbabwe.
Last edited by South African on March 20th, 2017, 7:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » March 20th, 2017, 12:47 am

if u can't catch them, collect adequate evidence, or ensure they have a timely conclusion to their conviction or veneration, none of ur options are consequential

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » March 20th, 2017, 1:05 am

Decriminalize murders, aggravated assault , illegal gun possession, drug trafficking.
Stiffer penalties for speeding especially at highways with 60km speed limit, Driving under the influence in south or back roads in smaller towns and villages, Instead of having half the police force each day doing this they should have 75 % of the force out and about. Buy a maxi instead to take them so we dont have about 20 cars just sitting at the side of each stop.

reddo100

Postby reddo100 » March 20th, 2017, 2:15 am

Follow Singapore by example which is one of the safest country that rules by *good detection rate/trial/execution with in one week 95% of the time* I am working here and hardly or no police or army presence is ever seen or needed. The fear factor is a good enough deterant for out of a population of 5.6 million, 1.32 million are foreign workers, according to Singapore government statistics for 2014.Mar 11, 2015 with a population of 719.1 square kilometers.
Just remember you can't make a omelet without first breaking some eggs so to Trinidad prospective break a few necks and see what happens, worth a try since nothing else seems to work..

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » March 20th, 2017, 4:20 am

reddo100 wrote:Follow Singapore by example which is one of the safest country that rules by *good detection rate/trial/execution with in one week 95% of the time* I am working here and hardly or no police or army presence is ever seen or needed. The fear factor is a good enough deterant for out of a population of 5.6 million, 1.32 million are foreign workers, according to Singapore government statistics for 2014.Mar 11, 2015 with a population of 719.1 square kilometers.
Just remember you can't make a omelet without first breaking some eggs so to Trinidad prospective break a few necks and see what happens, worth a try since nothing else seems to work..

reddo this government following Zimbabwe
and you are right. In Singapore you cannot even bring in normal chewing gum into their country, try littering and get caught or defacing property. Because the government was/is serious about maintaining clean environment
And drug trafficking could carry the death penalty.
Most of those politicians in Trinidad engage in some immoral/illegal activity without any fear of getting into trouble what do you expect from the followers.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 20th, 2017, 6:33 am

allyuh doh fedup create crime cheds??? wake up people....not one fcuk is going to change

Postby meccalli » March 20th, 2017, 7:14 am

Where's the Batman option?

Postby Ben_spanna » March 20th, 2017, 7:18 am

Those who live in poverty stricken areas Should not be allowed to have children by Law, many of our problems start right there.
Any school child that has been evaluated and has been deemed to have violent behavior should be sent to Military school.
Any Police officer, Army officer, Coast guard or Government official that is found to be guilty of Illegal activities must be immediately Dismissed from their position and be Charged for such wrong doings and left in a jail cell.

Postby maj. tom » March 20th, 2017, 8:21 am

So poor people would not have the biological right to have children then? So no doctors, lawyers, engineers, etc. ever came from poor, humble childhood, all of them were born in Valsayn and Westmoorings.

Many of the problems are caused by modern society destroying the core concepts of the nuclear family, gender roles, parental responsibilities and security for the home.

Civilizations have figured out these things over thousands of years and realized they work, and thus ingrained them in the religions that people would follow. Now there is a different kind of scientific enlightenment and instead of understanding and putting it in the scientific context of the roles of religions and gender in human history, we are now dissipating our resources and values in modern feminism and gender equality (even to the point of wanting to restrict our freedom of speech and pronouns!) and extreme leftist ideals of equality for all and such. These things always fail.

You are seeing the cumulation of the effects of not having a strong nuclear family held together by a secure man at the head of the household. Discipline and moral values are lost. Boys don't have any discipline and examples to keep them in check in the most important years and mold them into figures of honor and benevolence. Girls don't have the discipline and example to show them how to chose a strong, secure driven man as her mate, they just fall into existential hypergamy (just watch how they get away for Carnival, but when a man tells women to choose her mate wisely, it's a big uproar.)

So it'll just get worse unless these problems are targeted by the institution. But that won't happen because tackling these sort of issues always rile up the feminists and lose votes on the election platform. Promising equality for all is the failed pipe dream of communists, but it's a beautiful promise to get easy votes.

Just think about the father figure who was in your life to guide you and discipline you and show you by examples what was right and wrong, who developed you into the man you are now. It could have been your father, uncle, male teacher/dean/principal, friend's father, etc. You aren't a criminal without regard for other human life are you? Many boys never grew up with such a figure at the critical time of understanding authority and discipline.

Postby The_Honourable » March 20th, 2017, 1:38 pm

You need to go after the financiers and importers of drugs, guns and human sex trafficking aka... the big fish. You can hang, stone, behead, electrocute, etc the wabines all day long. They will easily be replaced.

Once you do that, the majority of the problem is gone. The political parties don't want to deal with this main issue and go after the big fish because it is these same big fish that finance the parties especially during elections. Of course if you start dealing with the drug blocks and rehabilitating black youth, financiers will be upset because you are affecting their customer base... hence why you are hardly seeing government involvement.

Also, the schools, homes, and religious institutions need to be revitalized since they are slowly failing.

Postby meccalli » March 20th, 2017, 2:02 pm

If you remedy the social environments from which the guabines originate, you won't have a perpetual supply. A boss is worthless without a workforce. Governments come and go and the poverty stricken and stigma ridden communities continue to remain as they are. Poor and discriminated.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 20th, 2017, 2:13 pm

Simple: prosecute and rid of corrupt government officials and financiers from the top down. Public execution or hanging, no questions asked.

Once those considered "untouchable" are touched, you will see how quickly TT will turn around.

TT needs a dictator, preferably with military experience. A civil war will likely ensue, but that is the sacrifice one will need to make to safeguard a future for the future.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 20th, 2017, 2:17 pm

Also, rid of the cronysm and favoritism. When some big shot child making more in one week than the average citizen in 3 months, don't you expect society will retaliate and turn to illicit crime to get by? Everything going up but salaries, and when people know and see partiality, they are bound to get mad and entertain the idea of quick money, no matter how violent.

D Diesel Report

Postby D Diesel Report » March 20th, 2017, 3:11 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:allyuh doh fedup create crime cheds??? wake up people....not one fcuk is going to change

You sound angry and frustrated. You want to do something about it or do you want to wait around to get capped? 8-)

I think it's time tuners get a 'crime solution' group together. And by 'crime solution', I mean by any means necessary. 0X

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 20th, 2017, 3:18 pm

flogging with the cat...them baddis real fraid that...

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 20th, 2017, 5:03 pm

What do the criminologists suggest?

Postby sMASH » March 20th, 2017, 5:23 pm

^^ don't venture outside often.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » March 20th, 2017, 5:35 pm

Detection rates are abysmally low in Trinidad and Tobago . Any improvement in this alone would see an wanted effect on crime . Detection in all offenses .

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » March 20th, 2017, 9:19 pm

I say put Ramesh on dey case. Rowley talking to him tells of the uselessness of the terrible trio of DE Young Lai, Major dillie daley and Farse est Al worries.

As for big shot children, what you have against them? Getting up early working hard and going to bed late, while others doing that only to use the toilet in the morning and visit de rum shop in de evening to spend what they earned during the day.

I work damn hard, drink more than most, but I put value in my work, save, invest. I am enjoying the good life. I have been working since I was knee high to a tadpole and still doing so. Have more years service than some tuners have on their birth paper ...........

rebound

Postby rebound » March 20th, 2017, 9:24 pm

vaiostation wrote:Using fear doesn't really matter when people who committing the crime don't care if they die. Bringing back hanging or another method of execution won't change anything.

Well said.. :!:

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » March 20th, 2017, 9:39 pm

TnT prisons is too easy, men sleeping whole day and night and getting 3 sq meals.

Postby rspann » March 20th, 2017, 10:08 pm

Major Tom on point with his analysis. Especially the last paragraph.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » March 20th, 2017, 11:18 pm

none those options will work providing that "others" would be some other type of punishment. I feel like I've said this many times before on this website. Education and equity is a good long term start. However, this could take 30 years..

Trinidad is small but it's landforms and proximity to other countries can make it difficult to find criminals. It's easy for them to hide in the hills or bush or jump on a pirogue to Vene. Unlike the US where many states, you can drive for hundreds of miles and not see an incline. It's hard to hide when you have no place to.

We are also afraid to go to the police.. we also have a complaints system that does nothing. I got my car wrecked carnival Friday, I asked the police woman to explain to me why I was towed.. she said "not today nah.." then slammed the window in my face.. the other officer, the cashier , called me across to the other window and explained.
If we had a police service where we could trust and respect these "gentlemen" and "gentle-ladies" that would be enough reassurance to report crime.

...Rogue officers: remember the "day of total-policing"? (W/E da fk that means) that was clear indication that the service is a corrupted ball of hair that officers lick off the ass of criminals and coughed up.. I was probably the only person that did not know it was going to take place. good thing I was against the traffic.. all the bad boys hid their guns and slept late that day.