Cat Lover's Thread

originalbling

Re: Cat Lover's Thread

Postby originalbling » March 13th, 2017, 9:22 am

@ *KRONIK*

Throwing scraps of food outside caused strays to come by us. Female came first then a male a few months old. The female made her first set of kittens, she was wild and you couldnt even hold her. Went TTSPCA and rented a trap, caught her and took her and the kittens. Kept the male since he was a bit tamer but constantly roaming and fighting. Got him spayed, doesn't roam as much but any other cats come in the yard is level licks. he is such a spoilt brat now.

Rovin's Audio wrote:
Average wrote:Go easy with the cat chow people, I lost 4 to kidney problems due to my ignorance. It's good to mix up their diet at least 6-7 times during the year. Rice and mackerel or some form of meat works, just prepare for the farts lol

do elaborate so d rest of us kitty owners can learn .......

Then amount of complaints online with these brand name chow is scary. Ours insist on it, but I only give him a small handful of the Friskies tender centers on morning only, but lunch/evening is the canned wet food. Make sure they have access to clean water all day.

Postby 88sins » March 13th, 2017, 10:14 am

Average"
Just google "cat chow linked to kidney problems". It's a lot of info to type out here but basically deal with the kidneys inability to deal with large amounts of protein due to a strict chow diet.[/quote]

IME those kidney issues have absolutely nothing to do kidneys inability to deal with large amounts of protein in the diet. Soak the chow in water & the chances of such incidents is reduced. Or better still, feed them what they should be eating, raw minimally processed meat or fish.

[quote="originalbling wrote:
Then amount of complaints online with these brand name chow is scary.

so what you expect to happen when you routinely feed an animal something it not really supposed to be eating?

Average

Postby Average » March 13th, 2017, 11:13 am

Average"
Just google "cat chow linked to kidney problems". It's a lot of info to type out here but basically deal with the kidneys inability to deal with large amounts of protein due to a strict chow diet.

IME those kidney issues have absolutely nothing to do kidneys inability to deal with large amounts of protein in the diet. Soak the chow in water & the chances of such incidents is reduced. Or better still, feed them what they should be eating, raw minimally processed meat or fish.

[quote="originalbling wrote:Then amount of complaints online with these brand name chow is scary.

so what you expect to happen when you routinely feed an animal something it not really supposed to be eating?[/quote]

Hey there, thanks for making it sound as if I should be a know it all about everything.

Postby skylinechild » March 13th, 2017, 11:14 am

i hav a pic of le nervewrecker with le kitty.....if you see the size of dem ears.....no...not the ears on the kitty.... :lol:

Postby 88sins » March 13th, 2017, 12:04 pm

Average wrote:
Hey there, thanks for making it sound as if I should be a know it all about everything.

for someone going by the username Average, you come off as having below average common sense.
nobody expects you to be a knowitallabouteverything.

but all pet owners that claim to actually care for & about their pets are expected to have at the very least a basic understanding of what would be required to keep their pet healthy & that includes but isn't limited to the optimal diet for an animal that you willingly & of your own accord voluntarily accepted the responsibility to care for.
Cats are carnivores, thus ideally they should be fed a meat based diet.

if that is too difficult for you to comprehend, I not sure what again to tell you nah

Postby nervewrecker » March 13th, 2017, 10:07 pm

skylinechild wrote:i hav a pic of le nervewrecker with le kitty.....if you see the size of dem ears.....no...not the ears on the kitty....

Have some respect for the deceased nah.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » March 13th, 2017, 11:04 pm

I think i read that the ancestors of the domestic cats we have today were originally desert animals, and as such they have a fair tolerance for heat. Because of the difficulty in obtaining water in the desert,​ they obtained the majority of water from the creatures they​ ate, and seeing that animals contain a lot of water, it was adequate enough for them to survive on.
I suppose one of the reasons for kidney failure in most cats is the lack of water. I mean after the cat ears the dry packaged food( which has little water) he may not feel thirsty because it's in thier genes to go for long periods of time without water, because of this kidney failure in bound to happen as the cat gets older.
So for house cats we need to always have water readily available.

Postby nervewrecker » March 13th, 2017, 11:07 pm

I believe too much of anything is not good. Chow is not natural food for them but occasionally it wont hurt.
They need to stay hydrated though. Its best to not put the water close to the food.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 14th, 2017, 5:57 am

But my cat does eat 1st, stop to go pee/poo, come back to finish eat, then drink water which is next to the chow bowl.

Average

Postby Average » March 14th, 2017, 5:21 pm

Average wrote:

for someone going by the username Average, you come off as having below average common sense.
nobody expects you to be a knowitallabouteverything.

but all pet owners that claim to actually care for & about their pets are expected to have at the very least a basic understanding of what would be required to keep their pet healthy & that includes but isn't limited to the optimal diet for an animal that you willingly & of your own accord voluntarily accepted the responsibility to care for.
Cats are carnivores, thus ideally they should be fed a meat based diet.

if that is too difficult for you to comprehend, I not sure what again to tell you nah

Padna, you don't have to tell me anything, believe me. Judgmental ass.

Postby 88sins » March 14th, 2017, 8:55 pm

You seem a tad overly sensitive, and more than a little judgemental yourself.
But thems your issues sis.

Postby skylinechild » March 15th, 2017, 7:52 pm

skylinechild wrote:i hav a pic of le nervewrecker with le kitty.....if you see the size of dem ears.....no...not the ears on the kitty....

my apologies kind sir :oops: :oops: :oops:

plz forgive me and dont unleash weapon X on meh...

Postby skylinechild » March 15th, 2017, 7:56 pm

nervewrecker wrote:I believe too much of anything is not good. Chow is not natural food for them but occasionally it wont hurt.
They need to stay hydrated though. Its best to not put the water close to the food.

agreed on the water bowl thing.. cats are fussy. our cat liked his water bowl a few feet away from his food bowl.
in addition he never liked water that is normal room temp. i either had to mix in a little cold water in it for him or drop in two ice cubes to cool the water down.

in addition i had to change his water EVERY time he want food... fresh food and fresh water - good thing he used to fall for tricks i used to hit him.

he never liked to eat food that remain back in the bowl so i keep an extra empty cat food bag handy - put back food into the empty bag -shake it up and then put it back into the bowl for him.

works every time.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 15th, 2017, 9:46 pm

skylinechild wrote:[

he never liked to eat food that remain back in the bowl so i keep an extra empty cat food bag handy - put back food into the empty bag -shake it up and then put it back into the bowl for him.

works every time.

I try that with mine...
She does smell the difference and refuse to eat the day old food.

I does collect the uneaten food and send it for a padna to feed he dog.
The dog rel like the cat chow

Postby nervewrecker » March 15th, 2017, 9:56 pm

skylinechild wrote:

Trying real hard to keep myself together and act like everything ok on fb and on work.
He was real close to me.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 15th, 2017, 9:58 pm

Anybody ever saw a Husky in Trinidad? how much so do one of them cost?

like this

Postby rspann » March 15th, 2017, 10:05 pm

One of my tenants had one , but he was killed earlier this year, the neighbor adopted it , but it has to eat all kind of old food leftovers now.

Postby nervewrecker » March 15th, 2017, 10:27 pm

They cost about $8k and if you dont have the environment to keep them in, get a dust bin terrier.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 16th, 2017, 12:35 am

wow $8K?

Holy crap

Postby skylinechild » March 16th, 2017, 7:21 pm

skylinechild wrote:

Trying real hard to keep myself together and act like everything ok on fb and on work.
He was real close to me.

know dem feels bruh...trust me...i know dem feels.

*pats on back....

just take it one day at a time and it will eventually get better.....with time.

Postby 88sins » March 17th, 2017, 6:32 pm

Time to chow down, this spoil brat does make it he business to tell yuh when he ready to eat. & he eh leavin yuh alone till he eat either :lol:
IMG_20170317_182411_602.JPG

Postby skylinechild » March 18th, 2017, 7:42 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
skylinechild wrote:

works every time.

I try that with mine...
She does smell the difference and refuse to eat the day old food.

I does collect the uneaten food and send it for a padna to feed he dog.
The dog rel like the cat chow

if its food a day old you will have to mix in some fresh food . The bag trick wont work on day old food.
but yea they used to fall for it every time.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 18th, 2017, 8:30 pm

Nah boi...this beast here does use she nose to push the old food aside and eat the fresh bits...

Rell watlessness

Postby rollingstock » March 19th, 2017, 12:54 am

Starve dey krunt for a day or two, they'll be happy to eat it.
They ain't working nowhere to buss style on good food so.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 19th, 2017, 6:05 am

U go leave your baby to cry while they starving?

Postby nervewrecker » March 19th, 2017, 8:02 am

Cats dont starve. It have birds, bats, lizarrds etc outside

Postby rspann » March 19th, 2017, 8:13 am

Mine will starve though.I have four in the house that never cross the doorway to go outside yet. Windows are always locked. Two strays in the yard don't look like they hunt either, they come morning and evening by the back door and knock or scratch to let us know it's time for food. Whole day they just laze around.

Postby nervewrecker » March 19th, 2017, 8:20 am

Mine does laze but seems they like / liked the challenge of hunting

Postby *KRONIK* » March 19th, 2017, 8:21 am

nervewrecker wrote:Cats dont starve. It have birds, bats, lizarrds etc outside

My cat has not acquired the art of the hunt/capture/eat.

She does run from opportunities to hunt. She rather stand by the bowl and bawl.

Postby nervewrecker » March 19th, 2017, 8:29 am

I wish mines were like that.