Re: Unemployment Count Thread

Postby Emmar01 » March 15th, 2017, 8:59 pm

NIDCO sending home 100 ppl

Postby Dizzy28 » March 16th, 2017, 9:40 am

Emmar01 wrote:NIDCO sending home 100 ppl

Are contract workers working on projects with fixed end dates being sent home such a surprise??
Without major new infrastructural projects what will Nidco do after the Highway is complete?

abbow

Postby abbow » March 16th, 2017, 2:08 pm

with all this doom and gloom, hw still going to be completed???

Emmar01

Postby Emmar01 » March 16th, 2017, 7:04 pm

GHRS and Caroni Green get the axe too. Layoffs later this year

Postby desifemlove » March 17th, 2017, 3:41 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I heard on the radio a few hours ago that OJT is finding employment for people who sign up at 15 people per month which essentially makes it impossible to find jobs there now this was from the former minister of education.

Is either he is lying and just looking for political leverage or he is telling the truth and this place is really fcked.

it's the fault of OJTs, i don't get why they do degrees in the first place.

Postby desifemlove » March 17th, 2017, 3:41 pm

HSA wrote:take what you get...little income is better than none

man bracing cashier work cuz it paying too lil then coming the week after asking me for a borrow

don't you work CEPEP? i've never had to.

HSA

Postby HSA » March 17th, 2017, 6:37 pm

desifemlove wrote:

man bracing cashier work cuz it paying too lil then coming the week after asking me for a borrow

Yes i worked cepep while going to school...no shame in that...

What is a shame is a man with a soft towtee

Postby sMASH » March 17th, 2017, 7:01 pm

the work to pay ratio of cepep is hard to compete with...

Postby De Dragon » March 17th, 2017, 8:07 pm

HSA wrote:
desifemlove wrote:

Mammy ent 'low she bwoy tuh wuk no CEPEP! Yuh mad! And look how well he turned out :roll:

Postby desifemlove » March 17th, 2017, 9:22 pm

HSA wrote:
desifemlove wrote:

No you still there

HSA

Postby HSA » March 17th, 2017, 9:24 pm

sMASH wrote:the work to pay ratio of cepep is hard to compete with...

As ah operator (wackerman) the pay was bout 1200 a fortnight...i donno if things change

600 a week was enough for travelling, food and the occasional liming

Postby desifemlove » March 17th, 2017, 9:28 pm

600 you still earning..
Last edited by desifemlove on March 17th, 2017, 9:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » March 17th, 2017, 9:28 pm

emphasis on the 'work' part. they're usually home by 10 am and that is after lounging for an hour to make up time...

Postby desifemlove » March 17th, 2017, 9:57 pm

sMASH wrote:
sMASH wrote:#1 kstt-unemployed
#2 sMASH- plant operator

Haha.

gencon

Postby gencon » March 17th, 2017, 10:05 pm

Cutting it on 300 ah week jed

Postby sMASH » March 17th, 2017, 10:30 pm

desifemlove wrote:
sMASH wrote:
sMASH wrote:#1 kstt-unemployed
#2 sMASH- plant operator

Haha.

really need to add since last year march my watch was ended. since the, i do some welding, transport, sell scrap iron, some wood work, tried out a bbq shed, which paid like cepep, but 10 times more work..

yet still....
Last edited by sMASH on March 17th, 2017, 10:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby desifemlove » March 17th, 2017, 10:33 pm

So? You're a loser with no wuk. I only saying since you cuss me I getting even.

gencon

Postby gencon » March 17th, 2017, 10:34 pm

I can relate I just spent 2700 on a budget build gaming pc. Damn that credit card!

Postby sMASH » March 17th, 2017, 10:41 pm

*needz to picks up more carib bottlez*

Postby A172 » March 17th, 2017, 10:48 pm

desifemlove wrote:So? You're a loser with no wuk. I only saying since you cuss me I getting even.

sufferers shouldnt be calling other ppl losers

Postby desifemlove » March 17th, 2017, 10:51 pm

I dunno what sufferers means. But cool....

Postby sMASH » March 18th, 2017, 8:10 am

gaurdian wrote:Cuffie: GHRS no longer needed
35 employees to be axed

Minister of Public Administration and Communications, Maxie Cuffie, left, greets an employee of the Government Human Resource Service Company Ltd during his visit to the company’s offices in Chaguanas yesterday.

Shaliza Hassanali
Published:
Saturday, March 18, 2017

Minister of Public Administration and Communications, Maxie Cuffie, left, greets an employee of the Government Human Resource Service Company Ltd during his visit to the company’s offices in Chaguanas yesterday.

Approximately 35 employees of the Government Human Resource Services Company Ltd (GHRS) are expected to be sent home.

Confirmation came from Minister of Public Administration and Communications Maxie Cuffie in response to a text message yesterday.

Cuffie could not say when the workers will be axed as “new directors from the Ministry of Finance will be confirmed next week and they will determine the schedule for the winding up” of GHRS.

Yesterday, Cuffie met with the affected staff members, hours after Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley announced that the state company will be shut down. Rowley also revealed that Caroni Green Ltd, another company managed by the State will also face closure.

Cuffie admitted that Government’s decision to wrap up GHRS’ operations which falls under his purview was painful and tough.

In a release issued yesterday, Cuffie apologised to GHRS’ staff for not communicating with them before the PM made the announcement.

He said the country could no longer pay $8 million annually to GHRS when they no longer needed to attract people from abroad and did not have the funds to pay them.

When GHRS was established in 2006, Cuffie said the economy grew by 7.7 per cent and Government felt it needed to attract the best minds to T&T.

“We had the money to employ them and to bring them here. By 2010 the international recession had kicked in, our economic growth had declined and the Government was challenged for funds. So in fact from 2010 a decision was made to look at the possibility of closing GHRS. A Cabinet note was drafted, but it was never submitted and time went on,” Cuffie said.

With the downturn in the economy, Cuffie said a committee which was set up to examine the operations of special purpose companies and state enterprises, identified GHRS as one of the companies the Government did not need.

“The Public Accounts Enterprise Committee, which is chaired by an Opposition member, also looked at GHRS and found that it had strayed from its mandate and there needs to be a new vision if the company is to survive.”

Cuffie said it was recommended that the services offered by GHRS be transferred to the Public Service.

He promised that Government will honour the employees’ contracts and its obligations, while urging the employees to take advantage of the National Employment Service offered by the Ministry of Labour.

Assuring that a system will be put in place to help the employees through this difficult period, Cuffie said GHRS employed some of the brightest minds and was confident that they would have no difficulty landing new jobs.

Postby Chimera » March 18th, 2017, 2:24 pm

smash you say the bbq shed wasnt paying?

how so?

i always say thats a nice business to open if you have a good area

you cant find good bbq to buy anywhere these days, yet ppl still paying up to $70 and $90 a box for tasteless food

Postby sMASH » March 18th, 2017, 3:41 pm

the salary for the work wasn't much, but when i worked out the maths, they were making a reasonable profit margin. 4 days of business with one day to do some prep work before the open stretch... in selling between 35 to 45 chickens worth of bbq per week, when u calculate sides, condiments, soft drinks, ingredients, seasoning, gas, electricity, water, oil all dem small stuff. u can pull in between 2-3k per week, in net profits. not factoring in repair costs or cost of establishing the business in the first place, but u can learn to do those things urself or however.. but month to month running, could get that profit margin.

that is good enough to live off of...

the reason for the slow business was because of inconsistent quality, along the lines of what u touched on in the post.

when the food good, it was good. but in trying to pinch pennies, it meant sometimes the quality dropped. it varied even within a single day.

to maintain quality, u would have to suffer the unimaginable concept of a trinidadian wasting some food. but if u micro manage the amounts u put out, so that u minimize how much u waste, u would ensure the majority of time u have a reliable degree of quality.

u could sell good all day, and one day somebody get a bad box, they stop buying, spread the word and business drops.

all in all, get a good location, and have a consistent quality, price according to ur quality, and u good to go bredz!!!

Postby TRAE » March 20th, 2017, 11:06 am

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2017-03- ... e-job-cuts
The fear comes amid a second quarter 2016 report from the Central Statistical Office (CSO) that the labour force had decreased by 16,200 people since 2015, when the Central Bank announced the country was in a recession.

This figure cannot be attributed solely to retrenchment or job loss, however data shows ArcelorMittal closed its doors in March 2016, resulting in about 700 workers being sent home; Centrica terminated 200 workers last year; Repsol sent home 11 workers in January; and OAS Construtora laying off over 900 workers in April 2016, would have contributed to those figures.

Other companies across varying sectors of the country sent home workers as the contraction in T&T’s economy tore into the bottom line of many companies.

With less than three months gone in 2017, the estimate of workers, mostly in the private sector, who faced job cuts is over 300.

At the end of January, in the banking sector, RBC had sent home 20 employees from its business development unit. Digicel also signalled its intention to cut staff from its global workforce, and was expected to begin discussions with local staff.

At TDC, following the announcement by Tourism Minister Shamfa Cudjoe that the state agency would be dissolved, the Communications Workers Union (CWU) estimated that approximately 200 jobs were on the breadline.

In February, Industrial Plant Service Ltd (IPSL), the company that operates the five methanol plants at the Point Lisas Industrial Estate for Methanol Holdings (Trinidad) Ltd, wrote to Labour Minister Jennifer Baptiste-Primus indicating its intention to mothball two of the methanol plants and send home over 100 employees who were deemed “aggregate surplus”.

On Thursday, Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley announced that the Government Human Resources Services (GHRS) and Caroni Green Limited would be closed down in the coming months.

He said there were other state enterprises which would also face closure. He said some of the agencies were guzzling state funds.

On Friday, Minister of Public Administration Maxie Cuffie, in a sympathetic release, announced that GHRS had been closed, a decision that would see 35 employees displaced.

Rowley said a few dozen workers would be affected by the closure of Caroni Green, but former agriculture Devant Maharaj said the actual figure will be 100 employees—20 administrative staff and 80 daily-paid labourers.

Emmar01

Postby Emmar01 » March 23rd, 2017, 5:58 pm

Bloomberg reports that Payless will file for bankruptcy in the US in a couple of months. Scarfy cyah blame Kams fo' dat one.

Emmar01

Postby Emmar01 » March 23rd, 2017, 6:04 pm

Twenty stores in TT at roughly 10 persons per store (including fir Head Office staff) adds about 200 ppl to the growing list. What are the Digicel numbers looking like?

Postby De Dragon » March 23rd, 2017, 6:12 pm

Emmar01 wrote:Bloomberg reports that Payless will file for bankruptcy in the US in a couple of months. Scarfy cyah blame Kams fo' dat one.

Oh but the clueless one will certainly try, as he has openly stated that this approach will be his normal going forward. Again, NO ideas about a turnaround, bar borrowing us into massive debt, but plenty "iz dem" dotishness.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 24th, 2017, 9:40 am

Did they indicate they would be closing down operations?
Bankruptcy is not the same as insolvency. A company can declare bankruptcy and still operate.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » March 25th, 2017, 11:58 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Did they indicate they would be closing down operations?
Bankruptcy is not the same as insolvency. A company can declare bankruptcy and still operate.

I think Payless in trini I still operating if I hear anything I will share