Re: wtk: tiling

Postby De Dragon » March 12th, 2017, 9:56 am

Average wrote:
skylinechild wrote:
ADONI wrote:depends if the tile has pattern as well

what??? first time i heard that there's an additional charge to lay down patterned tiles.
i know theres an additional charge if the tile has to be installed on the tip- like a diamond due to additional cutting etc etc but WRT to tile pattern.....next thing man might charge more to install blue tiles than red ones.... :lol:

LOL That man sounds like he would have said, "it hah patterns? Oh gosh boy dat go take more time to puh dong.....iih guh cost more doh, ah go link it nice fuh yuh".

Then yuh still hadda hover over dem like ah hawk and make sure dey still doh fack it up!

Average

Postby Average » March 12th, 2017, 10:26 am

Average wrote:
skylinechild wrote:
ADONI wrote:depends if the tile has pattern as well

what??? first time i heard that there's an additional charge to lay down patterned tiles.
i know theres an additional charge if the tile has to be installed on the tip- like a diamond due to additional cutting etc etc but WRT to tile pattern.....next thing man might charge more to install blue tiles than red ones.... :lol:

LOL That man sounds like he would have said, "it hah patterns? Oh gosh boy dat go take more time to puh dong.....iih guh cost more doh, ah go link it nice fuh yuh".

Then yuh still hadda hover over dem like ah hawk and make sure dey still doh fack it up!

I rem many years ago my father tripped off on a man because of his attitude. He grouted the tiles, white tiles with black grout (my choice btw), and it smeared all over. He simply told my father, "it will come out.....in time".
End result, no pay until it was cleaned up lol

superstainless1250

Postby superstainless1250 » March 12th, 2017, 10:39 am

Average had similar problems with grouting not soo much with the colour of the grout but they wasnt rubbing out the grout smooth and it was looking real shitty

superstainless1250

Postby superstainless1250 » March 12th, 2017, 10:40 am

Ended up grouting the tiles myself to my satisfaction

Postby rspann » March 12th, 2017, 5:10 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Bumping this thread.

I am looking for someone to install around 400 exterior grade tiles 20"x20" in size. Any references with contact telephone numbers?

Thanks.

356 5690, Manuel. He can start right away. Excellent work, I can recommend him to anyone.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » March 13th, 2017, 7:27 am

rspann, thanks.

rafman

Postby rafman » March 13th, 2017, 9:52 am

Looking for someone to lay some interlocking pavers.....the proper way. Any recommendations?

Audiophile

Postby Audiophile » May 9th, 2017, 6:50 pm

Ok so its now 2017 ( the year PNM plannass everyone with Property Tax )

Is the rate for an average Tileman still $5 - $7 per sq. ft. ?

Drea

Postby Drea » May 11th, 2017, 1:42 pm

Tile Expression Ltd. wrote:^^^ not only that..sometimes they leave air pockets in the between the tiles and thinset..this will eventually cause your tiles to pop out one by one...

this happens when guys don't mix the thinset properly..

Watch nah that popping thing and cracking is no joke, the other night my sister at home and hearing this strange noise and want to know well what the jail... take a walk outside her bedroom all the tiles in the corridor straight into the bathroom crack, it was just running. When people dunno they ass from they toe. Same thing happened in my mother's bedroom, tile raise up in one particular area then cracked.

Good workmen hard to come by and forget about trying to support "local" or people in your area who you know working in the trade. :?

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » July 14th, 2017, 3:32 pm

Guys,

Completed my tiling job and have 10 bays of MAPEI white thinset to sell(normal thing guy over estimate material)

Cost TT$700,00 at any outlet the cheapest you can get this is TT$97 per bag.