iM@st@1

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby iM@st@1 » March 5th, 2017, 8:24 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Got this yest.
Specialized pitch comp 650b. Man, this thing purrs like a kitten. Lovely shimano components, and shimano hydro brakes good 27.5x2.1" tyres. Still have to fine tune ride height a little tho.
First ride in over 8 years and I put down a 35Kms ride in 90 mins on mixed terrain. Bear in mind, I never did distance riding before eh, but I'm a little better conditioned now.
My only gripe is that the handlegrips are harsh and made my fingers numb after an hour. Seat comfy and pedals, although prob not the best, good for my big and wide feet.
They also threw in a free helmet, and of course I take the faux carbon fiber look one to match the matte black bike ;)

AH LOVE IT

Hoping to switch to a specialized 29er myself or a fatbike if I could get the fuji sold. Yea the grip on mine have the same issue, so purchased a set of these Image
Been so long since I've ridden but it coming back to me. Also my first time riding trails, alot of fun I must say, took some falls a couple times but thas part of it. Switching out my pedals too for something a lil wider and with more grip but not selling the bike with them.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 11th, 2017, 9:06 am

Any of y'all on Strava? I'd love to benchmark against some of your rides to know how good or bad I'm doing. More XC rides for me, less trail

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 11th, 2017, 10:02 pm

Bought a Fuji One.9 26 17" from Bike Inn. Matte Black and Grey.
Really liking it.

What's the app everyone is using to track their rides?
Runtastic Mountain Bike is good?

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 11th, 2017, 10:06 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Bought a Fuji One.9 26 17" from Bike Inn. Matte Black and Grey.
Really liking it.

Cost ? I'm in the market looking for one as well

Postby ismithx » March 11th, 2017, 10:19 pm

I use cycledroid on my android.... old app but it's simple and gets the job done

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 12th, 2017, 12:18 am

Didn't like Runtastic MountainBike cause it doesn't have a watch app. Far easier to glance your watch to see distance etc than to pull out your phone.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 12th, 2017, 12:20 am

V2NR 3.0 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Bought a Fuji One.9 26 17" from Bike Inn. Matte Black and Grey.
Really liking it.

Cost ? I'm in the market looking for one as well

$3200 or $3600 I think. Wifey bought it for me as a bday present. Mainly cause I procrastinating months now to buy it for myself lol

Terabyte

Postby Terabyte » March 12th, 2017, 10:21 am

Most folks I know use Strava

Sent from my SM-G920I using TriniTuner mobile app

juggernaught

Postby juggernaught » March 12th, 2017, 10:39 am

Strava is good, in my opinion

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » March 12th, 2017, 10:54 am

New gel seat and grips installed included with sale as well as a helmet. >link<

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 12th, 2017, 11:33 am

I use runtastic, then upload to strava.
I 'm accustomed to runtastic, I have an armband that I use for running and I ride with half my headphone (one side) for the voice coach. (dist/time/speed/ etc).

made a 41km ride this morn
https://www.strava.com/activities/897510504

Brans

Postby Brans » March 14th, 2017, 9:26 am

Brans wrote:On a side note, if anyone is looking for a Marlin 5 Bike i have one for sale. Have some Maxxiss High Rollers 2 on, hardly ridden.
20160615_065220.jpg

$3900. PM or whatsapp 756-6294 if interested.

Hey Guys, I not getting the time ride guys and i don't want the bike to go to waste so I'm dropping to $3000.00

Postby 16 cycles » March 14th, 2017, 9:51 am

strava is good - especially if you sign up to 'relive' as well / free

Postby De Dragon » March 14th, 2017, 10:21 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I use runtastic, then upload to strava.
I 'm accustomed to runtastic, I have an armband that I use for running and I ride with half my headphone (one side) for the voice coach. (dist/time/speed/ etc).

made a 41km ride this morn
https://www.strava.com/activities/897510504

Nice! My best so far is a 36.5 mile (65 km) last year.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 15th, 2017, 9:07 am

Alyuh good and I look forward to catching up to that kinda endurance.

I started running by vapse and now I started riding by vapse.
Aiming to hit 50k before mid-year, this will be harder than my flattish rides because the route is kindy hilly.

I love how strava allows me to build routes and calculate distance and projected ride times. OMIGOD it's epic.

There's one route that I'd love to do soo, only 45k, but it goes from waterloo, down to claxton bay, cedar hill, mayo, indian trail, couva, back to waterloo. There's a 6-8k stretch of hillclimb that would probably kill me, but I'll have fun doing it.

Do you all prefer to ride in groups or solo. I kinda like riding by myself.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 15th, 2017, 9:18 am

16 cycles wrote:strava is good - especially if you sign up to 'relive' as well / free

Started using Strava yesterday. Works really good. Like the Apple watch integration so I can easily see speed, distance, elevation, heart rate etc without taking out or mounting the phone.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 15th, 2017, 9:22 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Alyuh good and I look forward to catching up to that kinda endurance.

I started running by vapse and now I started riding by vapse.
Aiming to hit 50k before mid-year, this will be harder than my flattish rides because the route is kindy hilly.

I love how strava allows me to build routes and calculate distance and projected ride times. OMIGOD it's epic.

There's one route that I'd love to do soo, only 45k, but it goes from waterloo, down to claxton bay, cedar hill, mayo, indian trail, couva, back to waterloo. There's a 6-8k stretch of hillclimb that would probably kill me, but I'll have fun doing it.

Do you all prefer to ride in groups or solo. I kinda like riding by myself.

I not any where near that level yet.
A ride like that I'd definitely want to be in a group.

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » March 15th, 2017, 4:29 pm

Aye fellas , looking to fall in some rides to get my stamina back up. I have a couple bikes - but roll mostly on a Cannondale SL4 29er with an upgraded front shock. Where do you go to get the trails in just for fun?

Not to buss the thread - I use "map my ride" and best distance was 51miles round trip. Map my ride works decent no problems with it .

Postby tr1ad » March 27th, 2017, 10:27 am

anyone know where i can check for a good cellphone mount for a MTB?

oh yea and lights... only time i could hop on would be around 730 .... two pikney to put to bed

preferably south

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » March 27th, 2017, 11:07 am

PapaC

Postby PapaC » March 27th, 2017, 12:21 pm

For the phone mount, i haven't really seen much good ones locally, so amazon for it.
There are a lot of cheap ones, but they may not be durable, depends on how much riding you intend to do, might as well go cheap.
The lights, Geronimo's, Corkies, Mike's Bikes, Bike Inn, any of these you should get a reasonable set of lights. Just consider if its only night road riding, or if you plan to do night trails, some of those lights have really high lumens, but not necessary for reasonably lit roads.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 30th, 2017, 3:17 pm

I'm sorta stuck with Runtastic for long term progress tracking, but there's one big advantage to strava.

http://relive.cc
Check this out, I made a 50km route this morn, tracked with strava and it made this kick ass vid
https://www.relive.cc/view/920649032

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » March 30th, 2017, 4:58 pm

Not bad in 2 hrs road bike?

blacklight

Postby blacklight » March 30th, 2017, 5:09 pm

What you guys think of the HARO brand?

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 30th, 2017, 6:03 pm

IvanTerrors wrote:Not bad in 2 hrs road bike?

Not bad for a complete biking noob :)
it's a MTB hardtail - a specialized pitch comp.

I plan to mix things up a bit which is why although most of my rides will be on road/rough terrain - I'd still like to hit up some mud trails

brainchild

Postby brainchild » March 31st, 2017, 9:44 pm

Hey anyone know if they still rent bikes in chagaramus? Haven't been there in awhile

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » March 31st, 2017, 9:58 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
IvanTerrors wrote:Not bad in 2 hrs road bike?

Not bad for a complete biking noob :)
it's a MTB hardtail - a specialized pitch comp.

I plan to mix things up a bit which is why although most of my rides will be on road/rough terrain - I'd still like to hit up some mud trails

Same here. Noob I'd try that app. My ride time is like 25 min . I'd use that app from now.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 3rd, 2017, 9:57 am

Folks, does anyone here ride this route below?
I want to know how severe the ride is, how good or bad the roads are - what about potential dangers of this route.

Postby 16 cycles » April 3rd, 2017, 10:33 am

i've done some of the route on a road bike -

there are some groups that ride as well on evenings -you can link up with them...

-make sure you have lights - not just blinking lights but something to light the way ahead

-make sure your gearing is good - a 53/39 on a 23 cassette is torture for those hills (mayo / pepper hill)

-there are lots of dogs - so be wary when they rush you - people hardly secure them

-make sure you hydrate and fuel properly

-try to avoid the ride on a day before long weekend - ppl use that route to avoid roadblocks - drunk drivers

- ride in a group and carry spares with you

riding less than a year now so my exp may differ from someone else's.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 3rd, 2017, 10:46 am

Thanks for the tips!

ok, i plan to ride solo. Moving with two water and a phone to track and in case I need help I'll dial the missus to pick me up :)
Ride is for early (630AM) Sunday Morning, so don't expect issues with daylight or major traffic.
Gearing should be good, me on the other hand - we'll see.
Dogs - I figured out how to deal with em. I skate to a stop and steups at them. They all boil down. If I pedal faster, the buggers chase me.

Distance wise, I could cope - made two 50km rides within the last three days.
https://www.relive.cc/view/924878524

I'm a little concerned about the hills and if I'll need an exit strategy