Audi A4 vs BMW 320i- more economical ?

Postby Ben_spanna » March 9th, 2017, 7:53 pm

Have been considering these two - between the Audi A4 and a BMW 320i- which of these if purchased lightly used should cost more in maintenance ?

Also considered an Audi Q5 diesel but have not heard good things about their maintenance with our diesel.

Re: Audi A4 vs BMW 320i- more economical ?

Postby eliteauto » March 9th, 2017, 8:29 pm

my uninformed opinion favors the BMW

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » March 9th, 2017, 8:40 pm

BMW all the way...based on my knowledge...Audi have more issues than BMW, but BMW service such as simple oil change I have heard requires replacement of the entire sump pan (don't quote me on that). Basically the few things u service on the BMW will be less costly than maintaining an Audi. BMW looks generally better IMHO.

1kingmed

Postby 1kingmed » March 9th, 2017, 9:00 pm

"BMW" talk done!

Postby A172 » March 9th, 2017, 11:05 pm

what year op?

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » March 9th, 2017, 11:28 pm

Rear wheel drive

Postby Monk BANzai » March 10th, 2017, 3:27 am

A172 wrote:what year op?

Integral to the discussion. I own both. 2006 models. both for 4 years. My opinion.

BMW 320 E90 Issues.
Door locks will go. Driver-side first.
Engine will need a full replacement of seals and gaskets. Also any plumbing related to the oil delivery system. The N46 engine is notorious for leaking oil. Better you change teh pulleys as well once you scrap down the engine
(not my car but other owners) complained about the E90-92 transmission giving Mechatronic issues.
In Car Entertainment: Budget for a Head unit. CD player will give issues after a while.
Top radiator connection cracks. you will have to replace the radiator and all hoses.
If over 100k change timing belt and pulleys.
Rear shocks replaced. Front end control arm bushings replaced.
Car comes with no spare. And run-flats are too expensive in this frigging country. Solution? pay for run flats or take a TCM membership.

Have the firmware in the car upgraded. Other than what i've experienced since ownership. Car is a good car. solid on the road. dependable A-B transporter. I'd suggest in doing your research and finding a good mechanic. I'd suggest a few but it would be biased.

Audi A4 B7 Issues.
Cooling plumbing. Once one part starts to dry rot, replace all the elements in the system.
Suspension Bearings go quicker than most. Budget for a full set.
Front control arm bushings.
On or before 100k..change the timing belt and all pulleys.
Diverter and PCV valves will fail. upgrade.
Coil-packs will misfire. replace.
I've replaced my A/C compressor. Twice. Never had that issue with the BMW.
Owners with the Automatic Transmission complain of a "RPM surge" between gear changes.
Stock turbo. No issues. If you modifying. pack yuh pocket. its not a cheap conversion.

Car Comparison in general.
Comfort levels of both. About the same. it comes down to personal choice. Ride is a bit more solid in the BMW. both cars take a considerable amount of "sun" and four years in neither headliner has dropped. luggage space is more in the Audi than the BMW. Sound system is worlds apart. Audi taking win in that department (the S-Line Bose system is divine...).

The BMW windscreen molding dry rots faster than the Audi's.. coming to think if it ia ma yet to replace those. but i have in the BMW (both front and rear windscreen rubbers).

Driving position: BMW has more options, but personally the Audi's steering response is better than the BMW.

BMW gives you more comprehensive check-codes on the dash.. even down to low tyre pressures and oil levels. Audi not so much.

I use the BMW for UBERin. Been getting only smiles and compliments from passengers. Mainly due the rear seat passenger space. Audi is less. uncomfortably so. Also with the BMW, disengaging the front airbag for use of a child seat requires you to flip a switch in the glove-box. With the Audi its on the driver side - ease of use. Audi. Child safety locks work great on both, disabling both window and door latch controls.

I've heard ppl say that the B7 is the best model of the a4's to own.. haven't driven the latest model. I have a relative with a F30 and the only issue he's encountered in the 4 years he's had it is the O2 sensors giving bad readings and he had to replace them under warranty.

Car parts? Go with what ERM Automotive. For stuff like bearings check United Bearings in Barataria. There's also a decent parts place on Charles Street in Port of Spain. And you'll be surprised just how affordable some of the basic maintenance stuff is. Mechs will tell you that BMW requires specific tools that most mechanics wont invest in if they dot have a high turn around of BMW's in their shop. hence me telling you find a BMW mech to do the work.

racedriverpro wrote:.... BMW service such as simple oil change I have heard requires replacement of the entire sump pan (don't quote me on that)
- this is BS. lol.. But the Sump pan gasket is NOTORIOUS for leaking.

Oil + filter- BMW - $420 per service.
Oil + filter - Audi - $380 per service.

Battery for BMW: $1500-2200 depending on where you go as you need the safety terminal. Battery is located in the trunk.
Batter for Audi: $700 (Pricesmart). downside? position of battery in engine bay. Its like surgery to get it in.

i've run both fuel types in both cars. BMW takes both and says "pfft"... Audi, being turbo, shows marked difference in performance.

So it really comes down to your preference. If you going with the E90 though have your mech thoroughly check that engine for early signs of seal and gasket failure.

But as A172 said... That is based on the E90/B7 comparison.

Check out the euro page. lots of discussion there. Oh one more thing. Have you VIN's close at hand. We have the 2.0 N46 which isnt popular in the states. So ordering parts "outside" will be a pain unless you give them you VIN number. Same with the Audi. Unless you getting an S-Line with a 2.0T have that VIN close at hand. Quick tip: the b6 and B7 platforms share the same running gear (engine/suspension/braking... not the transmission tho) so ask for the B6 parts and it works just as well.

viewforum.php?f=38

Postby SR » March 10th, 2017, 7:53 am

And that about summs it up from banzai..... both stealerships will rob you blind on labor and parts

Postby S_2NR » March 10th, 2017, 8:09 am

why are you not considering the c200?
solid vehicle even thought i'd admit the new design has to grow on you

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » March 10th, 2017, 9:52 pm

Where op? He change his mind? Good post banzai.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 10th, 2017, 10:22 pm

I feeling to hire banzai to uberize meh jus for a ride in the oardi...

nice comparison tho man

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » March 10th, 2017, 11:25 pm

OP went tuh buy a toyota