Laws on police search of your vehicle

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Laws on police search of your vehicle

Postby Big Z » March 9th, 2017, 2:14 pm

Simple question, what are the laws regarding searching of your vehicle by police?
Is a warrant needed?

Re: Laws on police search of your vehicle

Postby 88sins » March 9th, 2017, 2:19 pm

Warrant not needed in all circumstances.

You need to explain the circumstances that lead to the search & what occurred during the search if you want a better answer.

Big Z

Postby Big Z » March 9th, 2017, 2:21 pm

Just asking to know how to deal with any situation that may come up.
Let's say routine traffic stop at a junction. No traffic offenses nor defective vehicle.

Postby MaxPower » March 9th, 2017, 2:26 pm

Rel places to hide weed dan.....yuh safe

Postby 88sins » March 9th, 2017, 6:48 pm

Police doh usually jus stop ppl &search vehicles jusso jusso. To check for license & insurance, yeah. But not random search of a vehicle without a reason. Unless the driver or passengers looking highly suspect or known to be a PITA that always involved in some dotishness.
Once you got nuttn illegal in the vehicle, no worries if they ask your permission to search your vehicle. Let them. They jus doing their job.

Iirc, they supposed to ask you if they can search first. Now if you say no, it will look like if u hiding sumn, and then is a different story. Vehicle could still get searched in the station yard, while you sitting in the station waiting on the outcome.

Saw a vehicle searched with a K9 the other day, dog didn't seem to find nuttn. I did feel a how for the vehicle owner tho. Fido paws was covered in mud.

Postby rollingstock » March 9th, 2017, 9:44 pm

No warrant needed.
Several different acts gives the police the authority to search.

Postby nervewrecker » March 9th, 2017, 9:49 pm

I see no reason they should need a warrant

Postby redmanjp » March 9th, 2017, 9:54 pm

Once u on d roadway? If d car in my garage though?

Postby rollingstock » March 9th, 2017, 10:20 pm

redmanjp wrote:Once u on d roadway? If d car in my garage though?

What do you think?

Big Z

Postby Big Z » March 9th, 2017, 10:50 pm

Well this is failure.. sigh... thanks for the info.

konartis

Postby konartis » March 9th, 2017, 10:52 pm

The firearms act (16:01) is the only law that give the police power to stop and search....laws are there, read ppl...

Postby rollingstock » March 9th, 2017, 11:50 pm

konartis wrote:The firearms act (16:01) is the only law that give the police power to stop and search....laws are there, read ppl...

Nope, under the praedial larceny act also.

richgold1000

Postby richgold1000 » March 10th, 2017, 2:12 am

Firearms act bro. This gives the authority

Postby rollingstock » March 10th, 2017, 2:40 am

richgold1000 wrote:Firearms act bro. This gives the authority

No sheit sherlock.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 10th, 2017, 8:56 am

two words: "acting suspiciously"

screwbash

Postby screwbash » March 11th, 2017, 7:20 am

there is a stop an search form that the office must have, he will record your physical features on the form as well as the vehicle. But the office must be in uniform and have the stop and search form.

Big Z

Postby Big Z » March 11th, 2017, 9:16 am

And the intrigue continues...

Postby rollingstock » March 11th, 2017, 1:19 pm

screwbash wrote:there is a stop an search form that the office must have, he will record your physical features on the form as well as the vehicle. But the office must be in uniform and have the stop and search form.

What the fcuk are you talking about?
Please abstain to posting your erroneous facts that have no basis in law.

clone101

Postby clone101 » March 11th, 2017, 1:35 pm

on a real the searching with out a warrant applies to a person walking ,driving a car or at home once a TTPS officer suspects or has just cause he can search you person ,car or house on demand in a nut shell we have no rites .

Postby MaxPower » March 11th, 2017, 1:37 pm

screwbash wrote:there is a stop an search form that the office must have, he will record your physical features on the form as well as the vehicle. But the office must be in uniform and have the stop and search form.

OLEP move to the latrine?

Postby nervewrecker » March 11th, 2017, 2:31 pm

clone101 wrote:on a real the searching with out a warrant applies to a person walking ,driving a car or at home once a TTPS officer suspects or has just cause he can search you person ,car or house on demand in a nut shell we have no rites .

If we have nothing illegal we have nothing to worry about. No?
They can stop by and search my home anytime. Got no problem with it.

Postby rollingstock » March 11th, 2017, 2:38 pm

clone101 wrote:on a real the searching with out a warrant applies to a person walking ,driving a car or at home once a TTPS officer suspects or has just cause he can search you person ,car or house on demand in a nut shell we have no rites .

What level of idiocy you talking also.
What is this 2nr chupidee day?

Big Z

Postby Big Z » March 11th, 2017, 4:19 pm

If we have nothing illegal we have nothing to worry about. No?
They can stop by and search my home anytime. Got no problem with it.

If you enjoy animals rampaging through your personal items, fine, let them. I am not of this persuasion.

clone101

Postby clone101 » March 11th, 2017, 4:56 pm

you quick to say is s..t i talking but in reality that is and goes on here even if you have no coco in the sun why as a citizen of T&T must we allow the TTPS to search our house or person because of just cause or take a stink k9 and have it enter our car and as you object is a problem!

Postby rollingstock » March 11th, 2017, 4:56 pm

Well arsehole identified.

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » March 11th, 2017, 5:47 pm

If police search my house and eh find anything, can i make them put back everything in place? :drinking:

Postby 88sins » March 11th, 2017, 5:47 pm

Ppl have all sorts of rites. There's funeral,marriage, burial, and other rites.

And then people have RIGHTS, just that most ppl got no friggin clue what those rights are or how they apply to the public, and 99.99% of that lot too lazy/dotish to actually get off they backsides to go find out what they are.

Postby rollingstock » March 11th, 2017, 6:09 pm

clone101 wrote:

you quick to say is s..t i talking but in reality that is and goes on here even if you have no coco in the sun why as a citizen of T&T must we allow the TTPS to search our house or person because of just cause or take a stink k9 and have it enter our car and as you object is a problem!

Between you and the op I'm not sure who will win the back seat on the short yellow bus.

Postby rspann » March 11th, 2017, 6:28 pm

Rs, how come allyuh does profile the Tiidah men and the 13's ,14's and almeras and let we pass with the euros?
Last edited by rspann on March 11th, 2017, 6:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rollingstock » March 11th, 2017, 6:29 pm

Cause euro men already have enough headache in their life