Calling all air gun enthusiasts

cornfused

Re: Calling all air gun enthusiasts

Postby cornfused » February 13th, 2017, 11:42 am

Thanks for the reply 88 , I am in the market for an under lever but just looking for now . After coming across the pistols I wondered who has them here, not the cartoon looking pistols , something with performance and looks.

Postby Redman » February 13th, 2017, 4:22 pm

88 thanks for the clarification.

I found out it is in fact land owned by private interest....the owners have stated their position...
Thx again

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » February 20th, 2017, 7:57 pm

Anybody watch TV6 news tonight? The TTPS executive were at a Joint Select Committee in Parliament today. The head of the Armoury is pushing for legislation which would limit the velocity of air rifles to no more than 800 fps.

Poor fella in his ignorance is comparing the killing power of a 115 grain jhp to an 11 grain pellet.

He say he heard someone in Trinidad was killed with an air rifle, couldn't provide any details.

Postby SR » February 20th, 2017, 8:06 pm

Dem men sooo clueless on how to solve crime they blaming anything and everything else

GixxerMan

Postby GixxerMan » February 20th, 2017, 8:32 pm

real dunce in the TTPS.... i wonder how they manage to tie their shoelaces...

Postby pugboy » February 20th, 2017, 8:40 pm

Look at the big picture....

A modern pcp Airgun is close to double price of a 9mm
Dealers selling plenty(prob more business from air than gunpowder) and permit cost is free

Firearm license dept is prob most corrupt dept. They surely must be watching all this untapped money passing under their noses

Postby 88sins » February 20th, 2017, 10:23 pm

Well people, I have some news.
Someone has posted a video on fb, hoping to rally support to leave the current legislation as is. I can only say that I am truly sorry for this poor misguided soul.
This is where we are today, some sad citizens of this nation are so cowardly and corrupt, and believe all Trinbagonians are so stupid, that they will gladly support a movement to allow the continued oppression& stagnation of a sector of people that would love to simply enjoy their chosen sport to the fullest of their potential.

Poor sad misguided soul. Pray for him people, he seems to need it.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 21st, 2017, 6:08 am

Post the vid nah

Postby Redman » February 21st, 2017, 7:53 am

What's the official count on people killed with a air rifle.
And this has to be based on an autopsy...since the formal classification can't be as a fire arm.

At what point do we start talking about the borders being porous as opposed to complain ing about the illegal stuff here.

Deal with the coast guard who has the responsibility for our border integrity.

Postby 88sins » February 21st, 2017, 8:32 am

I would personally love to see the math they used to have such confidence to state that airguns are just as lethal as firearms.

Postby Redman » February 21st, 2017, 8:44 am

Probably the same math they use on concluding that the solution to illegally obtained fire arms and air rifles is more rules,regulations and law.
Cuz people will obey new law.Not the old.

A we can see this has worked with cocaine and weed.

Steups.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » February 21st, 2017, 10:07 am

I was in shock when the Senior Policeman made that statement re the modern pellets guns. It showed the clueless nature of some of those in charge of the service. When JSC Minister Hinds asked him wether any one was killed with a pellet gun , he was not clear in his reply.

Trinidad Guardian Geisha Knowlessar

Acting Police Commissioner Stephen Williams says air rifles are now becoming just as big a threat as illegal firearms on this country’s streets.

He made the comment before yesterday’s Joint Select Committee meeting in Parliament, as he said air rifles, which are just as dangerous due to their sophistication, were also being purchased in high numbers because one does not require a firearm licence to operate them.

The meeting focused on the processes relating to the procurement, registration, retrieval and shortage of firearms.

Expressing his concern regarding air rifles, Williams said all one needed was a certificate of character and an application to obtain an air rifle and called for legislation to be reviewed. He said such weapons had the capability “way beyond” that of a pellet gun.

“There are numerous shops selling air rifles and you would be shocked by the level of sophistication of those air rifles ... the shape will challenge you. You will believe it is definitely not an air rifle.

“The air rifles of today are just as deadly as pistols and those air rifles are being purchased at a rapid rate,” Williams said.

Real firearms are very hard to obtain , crime is increasing what is the citizen who feels increasingly helpless , that would explain to Mr. Williams what accounts for the increase in demand and sophistication of air rifles . I have stated in this thread before that traditional pellet guns are based on pre world war munition technology , speaking here of the rate of repeated fire. The legislation in TnT is for smoth bore .177 pellet guns. Manufacturers world wide have been moving away from smooth bore air gun , its called development .

Prime time for a letter to the Editor.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » February 21st, 2017, 2:23 pm

Like he does talk through the wrong hole or! One one gun they seizing is a teardrop in the ocean, compared to the amount of illegal guns out there in possession by all the good boys.

Postby streetbeastINC. » February 21st, 2017, 2:38 pm

on ttps show BTT they kept showing so many high powered guns with ammunition and this guy sums up crime increase on a pellet gun??????? extended mag , spiral mags pistol to machine gun type conversion walking our streets,,,,,and this guy is going after air rifles......and cracked windscreens and blown tail lights....and inspection stickers.......jsut 2 days ago a wpc and her kid was kidnapped with a pellet gun in tamana?

Postby streetbeastINC. » February 21st, 2017, 2:40 pm

Any way i have saunders wrist rocket pro to sell... 500$.... new in box.... 316 0908

Postby sMASH » February 21st, 2017, 7:20 pm

i would venture to say, 3-line have been more prevalent in attacks than pellet guns...
soooo.... it would be more logical, with statistics to back it up, that 3-line be regulated more carefully....

Postby Redman » February 21st, 2017, 9:12 pm

If number killed is the metric....shut down Ministry of Health.

Postby rspann » February 21st, 2017, 9:29 pm

He spoke about the shape, probably he's looking at it from the angle of it being used to commit crimes . Remember a toy gun cannot kill but there is also a charge for using it in a crime and it's also considered an imitation firearm which also carries a charge. Maybe you can speak to someone to find out why he is against it.
I saw some air guns in Camping World for $19us that could pass as a real nines.

13 GHOST

Postby 13 GHOST » February 21st, 2017, 9:31 pm

The thing that is confusing me is that the ppl in office that are supposed to be protecting us trying to make us law-abiding citizens suffer at the hands of the criminals. I have yet to see a crime involving a firearm that was legally obtained. It sucks that I have to go trough all this headache for something that I can walk into wallmart with no Id just cash and buy any type of air rifle and any amount that I wish

Postby pugboy » February 21st, 2017, 9:41 pm

I believe air handguns were outlawed by the cop a while back when bandits started using them to rob shops
But it is surely easier to get a real gun than an airgun nowadays

GixxerMan

Postby GixxerMan » February 21st, 2017, 10:20 pm

THAT FCUKING MAN DOTISH!!!

carnagecassidy

Re: RE: Re: Calling all air gun enthusiasts

Postby carnagecassidy » February 21st, 2017, 10:49 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:i am probably wrong in my thinking and i hope i am wrong, but petetions will not work with this government
you need to speak to a financier of the party in charge to support your cause or u just pissing into the wind.
the government is quick to change laws to suite them and the people who sponsor them . rest will suffer.

well you are right
in that you are wrong

Petitions do work, but in T&T a petition alone cannot do everything. There's a need to the reach out to the relevant authorities including the politicians & make them aware of what people want & why, as well as provide evidence of why you need a solution to what you propose to have fixed. & they in turn have to say if they will go forward & remedy the situation or not, as well as provide a valid & justifiable reason if they do not.

in short, nothing ventured nothing gained

88, I admire your faith in the local authorities/politicians. However our local authorities have successfully proven Hong Kong phooey right throughout d yrs. As demonstrated by this week's absurd statements on air rifles made at d joint select committee.
I've never heard of someone being killed or in recent yrs seriously injured with one ah these. Like some tuners said a pcp multisthot is more expensive than an illegal handgun less effective when committing crimes. Obvious which one criminals would go for.
D COP would knw tht most underlings don't even have to pay out their own pockets for firearms their bosses provide.
D only point d TTPS have against is d aesthetic look of some modern air rifles like d AK and mp5 replicas for instance being used in robberies. Still never heard of any entering trini legally via customs. Guess why they only come rifled bore. Came across a mp5 replica .177 2015 being peddled locally online. And take it from me d air handguns tht permits stopped being issued for a while now velocity were really week and ineffevtive for hunting, only dem being replicas of 9z and other handguns made them dangerous.
Like some tuners said it's really untapped revenue they seeing. You really think they care about public safety.
They can't effectively combat crime because the folks holding the key to minimising it too high up d food chain for d TTPS to even attempt to try to deal with. So they fight d lil guy who wanna just legally enjoy a sport with a toy rifle.

Anyway 88 sins I signed your petition anyway. It's still a good cause. Who knw if these numbskulls are yet to get some common sense and use it. Having experienced getting a import license and only encountering rifled bore air rifles online. After calling manufacturers I realised they only produce via special order smooth bore in quantities of 100 upwards sometimes 50.
No wonder Barry and Tofique dem been holding Trini's and wukin dem for yrs now.

Postby Redman » February 22nd, 2017, 5:45 am

You would think the TTPS wants more crime to be committed with air pistols or rifles as opposed to real fire arms

given a choice I wish that if I ever get robbed,shot,shot at,or whatever....its with a air rifle.
Certainly better than getting any of the above with a Glock 17.

What the item looks like doesn't make it more dangerous.
An air rifle that has the appearance of a AK 47...is no more dangerous than an air rifle that looks like a flower.

TTPS communication sucks on this.
Last edited by Redman on February 22nd, 2017, 9:14 am, edited 2 times in total.

Re: RE: Re: Calling all air gun enthusiasts

Postby *KRONIK* » February 22nd, 2017, 5:56 am

pugboy wrote:I believe air handguns were outlawed by the cop a while back when bandits started using them to rob shops

FYI

They were not outlawed

Somebody high up just pass a ban.
Same way they ban the registration of ATVs with no legal basis, just a word of mouth instruction.

A local dealer won a court case against customs who seized a shipment of air pistols.

Postby rspann » February 22nd, 2017, 6:13 am

What the item looks like does make it dangerous. If a gunta put an air pistol to your head, you sure as fcuk going to hand him the keys to your car or whatever it is that he's asking for. That's why realistic looking toy guns are also banned.

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Calling all air gun enthusiasts

Postby *KRONIK* » February 22nd, 2017, 6:19 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
pugboy wrote:I believe air handguns were outlawed by the cop a while back when bandits started using them to rob shops

FYI

They were not outlawed

Somebody high up just pass a ban.
Same way they ban the registration of ATVs with no legal basis, just a word of mouth instruction.

A local dealer won a court case against customs who seized a shipment of air pistols

Postby pugboy » February 22nd, 2017, 7:08 am

yeah, it was the CoP who issued the ban, not a law passed in parliament

the whole system of a single man/dept with nobody to answer to is ridiculous

granting permission via a little personal letter is absurd,
but they prefer it that way though, more bobol and no tracks to cover

somebody should go into one of those shops and do a secret tape recording of how they can get a license for a fee

Postby 88sins » February 22nd, 2017, 8:34 am

pugboy wrote:yeah, it was the CoP who issued the ban, not a law passed in parliament

the whole system of a single man/dept with nobody to answer to is ridiculous

granting permission via a little personal letter is absurd,
but they prefer it that way though, more bobol and no tracks to cover

somebody should go into one of those shops and do a secret tape recording of how they can get a license for a fee

^THIS

Thanx for the support fellas. Keep spreading the word. We need to get this out there & get the support of everyone interested in this now more than ever.

Don't ever let any aspiring politician tell you that you should not have what you want, especially when what you want isn't anything thats going to do any more harm to anyone than what little you already have. Because very often what they want would never be of any benefit to you.

Postby 88sins » February 22nd, 2017, 1:24 pm

Ok people, the group now has its own FB page. Feel free to join, all are welcome. https://www.facebook.com/groups/1706692 ... ks&qsefr=1

I'd like the is to be a page where people can openly discuss their concerns with regard to the various airgun shooting sport disciplines, as well as seek knowledge & share knowledge on maintenance, tuning, where to source parts, pellet reviews, accessories etc.

Have a wonderful day people.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » February 23rd, 2017, 8:31 am

Just to keep some discussion here as well :
Trinidad Express 22 February 2017

Incompetence over the air rifle issue .

I have always given the Commissioner of Police the benefit of the doubt,when everyone else is calling on him to resign, but that has changed with his last utterances .

Imagine the CoP want to amend the Firearms Act fo as the limit the acquisition of 0.177 air rifles by the public . According to the commissioner a modern air rifle is as deadly as a pistol. I am wondering which planet this commissioner lives on . Because in my 40 plus years of living , I have never heard of one person killed with and air rifle. I am sure the commissioner can furnish us with this data. Also I ahve never heard ( I'm sure there could be on or two cases) any one being held up with an air rifle.

I know they stopped the supply or air pistols, because they resemble a handgun so much and criminals may have used these in robberies. Mr. Commissioner , it's the law-abiding citizens who acquire air rifles , if not to hunt at least as a security measure to feel asense of comfort against criminals armed with Tech 9s ,Ak47s and Glock 18s , not to mention the proliferation of hand guns with deadly hollow point ammunition.

It's funny that just today , I called a foreign manufacturer of air rifles and they told me nobody makes smooth bore and you must order at least ten units. Only backward Trinidad and Tobago uses smooth bore.

Further to acquire a .22 air rifle you must have a Firearm Users Licence . Talk about absurdity. But our brilliant commissioner goes on national TV and want to make the process of acquire and air rifle as complicated and frustrating as obtaining a licence.

I remember the case of a Chinese woman , who can't speak a word of English , but was granted a licence and was charged later for have one round more than the licence permitted .

Lord please deliver us from these incompetent leaders.

Elaine Peters
Marabella