***THE FARMERS CHED***

kingpin49

Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby kingpin49 » January 14th, 2017, 1:40 pm

Looking for a sucessful planting guide for tomatoes . Thankful for any assistance. Checked a few garden shop around but they didn't have any.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 16th, 2017, 10:59 am

Fellaz
I runnin a lil special on extra small eggs
25/crate (a crate has 30)

Delivery on the east /west corridor with orders over 5 crates.
708-0101

bumpie

Postby bumpie » January 21st, 2017, 9:38 am

Looking to buy out fields of plantains to wholesale ,anybody have?

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » January 22nd, 2017, 4:08 am

Bronze lettuce seeds may be easier. However you can call ASASCO @672 8038 and they can advise if any of the seedling shop in the east they supply has.

Caribbean Chemicals can assist. Call 638 GROW for planting guide.

Carlsen Chemicals @ 673 0324 for planting guide.

Green shed down otherwise I could have assisted.

As for plantains, check Northern Wholesale Market, Macoya. There are farmers who can assist.

Nice going with the eggs, dont know can find out in the office as a lot of people buys eggs.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » January 22nd, 2017, 4:22 am

francis1979 wrote:I am thinking about planting 2 acres of coconut as a primary crop
However I would like to get some feedback if my economics is correct from someone in the field. Note: land will need to be purchased so I need to be sure that it is a good investment

Maintenance per year during 1st two years = $15,000 ( assumes 8 days for one person to cut the grass in 2 acres @ $400day. 4 times for the year plus 20% contingency

Maintenance per year for additional 18 years = $8000 assumes 8 days for one person to cut the grass in 2 acres @ $400day. 2 times for the year plus 20% contingency

What is the best irrigation system

What is labor rates foe some to fertilize the trees on 2 acres

Security once trees are mature and bearing = $20,000 ( I was thinking of a perimeter laser system . Does anyone have an alternative recommendation)
Monitoring = $3000

What crop can be planted in between

Who sells hybrid coconuts in Trinidad

Dominnic Hadeed of Blue Waters in Orange Grove has 20,000 coconut trees. Give the farm manager a check as he can advise. In the short term you can clean about 1/2 acre and plant a crop of your choice and as you go along experience will accrue for when the coconut gets going. The Coconut Growers Association can also assist (I hope).

May sound far fetched, but making trees available to the other land owners in the area at a good price (you make some money) can help with Larceny as everyone has coconut and the H2O coconut market is there .......... Go forth bro. Oh and keep family and negative friends out yuh business.

Sasquat007

Postby Sasquat007 » January 23rd, 2017, 8:59 pm

Currently have pakchoi forsale $8/bundle
20170123_113430.jpg

Sasquat007

Re: RE: Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby Sasquat007 » January 23rd, 2017, 9:00 pm

Sasquat007 wrote:Currently have pakchoi forsale $8/bundle, contact 478-8602
20170123_113430.jpg

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 26th, 2017, 1:00 am

Is there any kind of authority to call and have them seize a cow if its eating your crops? couple of my coconut plants got eaten by a cow and it doesn't matter how much I complain to the owners they will just secure it for a couple days and back to square one. They also have 2 goat aswell they do not tie it properly always getting away. Does it cost me money? or does the government provide this service free?

These people are renting and mining goat and cow, land lord doesn't live in the country either.

Not sure what kind of action to take here.

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » January 26th, 2017, 1:14 am

Put up a sign "trespassers will be killed and eaten........this includes humans"

HSA

Postby HSA » January 30th, 2017, 1:14 pm

tuners,

I trying a weekend hustle by selling some lettuce both local and the frizzly end ones...

I am trying to get the correct name for both to do research into organic pest control. I will upload pics soon as i am home.

i'm trying to stay away from pesticides and using rain water to water them. Trying to be as organic as i could. I have noticed that they are getting aphids and some slugs. I read and tried spraying with garlic and slight pepper but it appears to do nothing to the insects....

Any ideas of organic pest control??

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » January 30th, 2017, 3:38 pm

Know men started sproying with neem leaves/ seeds. Bout I cannot verify their
Result

d.d.s.

Re: RE: Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby d.d.s. » January 30th, 2017, 5:04 pm

pugboy wrote:any lime experts ?
I have a seedling about 18" tall and only flowering and bearing but they dropping off when they reach about 1/2" in size
it has obviously stopped growing since it is concentrating on bearing at that small size

How old is the tree? Years ago, I had two very young trees that were about 4 feet and flowering but not holding fruit. Someday I was going to cut them down but my luckily my dad stopped me and saved them. His response was, give it time, children don't make children. Lol. Couple years passed and till now, both trees bearing nicely.

Oh and the saying don't let just anyone pick from you're lime tree is true. Never believed that at all until I witnessed it first hand.

HSA

Postby HSA » January 30th, 2017, 7:08 pm

This is the local one

And this is the curly leaf one...i would appreciate the correct names please...

Now done put up this greenhouse..any idea where sells good top soil

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 30th, 2017, 8:15 pm

The Paleontologist wrote:Put up a sign "trespassers will be killed and eaten........this includes humans"

I report them to the larceny police in centenno here. Rowley constructed a brand new building just weeks ago I eh go lie if he eh do nothing else he do this much.

They come and threaten the owners to seize the animals if it comes back in my land, I see they tie it way out in the mainroad now, luckily the goats are terrorizing people with flower plants etc so they have something to keep them occupied. Hopefully they do not bring back these animals near my land.

I won't lie but the kind of neighbors I does have eh allyuh won't believe it.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » January 31st, 2017, 8:43 am

Boi ED I hear ole talk of men gone to move their cow and when they pull the rope is only a cow head they pull....

Postby timelapse » January 31st, 2017, 5:14 pm

Looking for poi bhaji plants. If you have lemme know.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 31st, 2017, 5:18 pm

What crop would you guys say is an easy seller? short term that is meaning less than a year.

Like if I plant and I have to reap that I could probably get someone on this thread to buy all from me is what I am asking.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » January 31st, 2017, 10:43 pm

Yeah HSA. The first one is mignonette bronze and the second looks like trini star from MAFAS.
Both seems to be growing in too much shade.

With regards the organic pesticides you can check MAFAS 697 1375, 291 2118 or Marketing Arm International. Bio Neem/Neem X can be used for the aphids (both derived from the neem tree). Slugs (also snails is an indication that the soil PH is is low. Using Ag lime or agricultural limestone raises the PH and causes the eggs from hatching/reduces and eliminate the problem.

Also you can treat the soil before planting as it reduces the pest population and the toxicity wears of during the life of the crop. NB - DO NOT USE VYDATE L. I would really like to use some strong language and call some name of so called advisors but the site is RATED PG. Lucky them .....

As for the green house, looks a bit rickety. Are the posts casted in the ground?
Also the shade netting ought to be 20 to 30% as the 50 to 70% being sold is for horticultural purposes.
The netting on the ground is unnecessary except for the walkways as the other area will be backfilled with dirt or top soil. Also if it is sarran netting//shade cloth or anthing other than ground cover you will need to double it for longivity.

The containers seemed to be doing ok. Is there a problem?

Say and I will advise .........

HSA

Postby HSA » February 2nd, 2017, 7:28 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:What crop would you guys say is an easy seller? short term that is meaning less than a year.

Like if I plant and I have to reap that I could probably get someone on this thread to buy all from me is what I am asking.

coconut is an easy seller but the trees take a lil while to bear.

grafted pomseetay ( pommecythere) also sells in abundance...from chow, roti shops and especially doubles ppl.

sapodilla and soursop sells alot but takes a while to bear...

your best bet is to do some seasoning and veges.........

and stop looking for the easy way out. your goods will sell depending on how you market it. get off that couch and go to nearby fast food, mini marts, market etc and talk to the owners. you will get an idea of what sells fast and work out your maths on what crop to plant.

dont just jump in without doing some research before. you must cater for pests, fertilizers etc...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 2nd, 2017, 8:29 am

matouks taking chadon beni in abundance...that is a good start...seasoning on the whole is a good money making venture...

if you're feeling lazy : limes, pootigal and orange (cannot go wrong in a few years)...just make sure you maintain properly

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » February 2nd, 2017, 11:45 am

yeah seasoning, christophene(sp) ,caralie and pepper always have a good price . Eddoes also seem to maintain its price
now we are in the dry season every one will be planting tomatoes , melongene, ochros , pepper, pumpkin , body so expect price drop

sircrocodile123

Postby sircrocodile123 » February 9th, 2017, 7:38 pm

fellas i have a problem i grow up with chadon beni growing wild round my house an d get accustomed to always having it now it doh have any so i gone an check like 3 different agro shop and non ah dem carry chadon beni seeds any idea where i could get seeds from? i know i could plant the root from the plant but i find it strange nobody does carry seeds for it :?:

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » February 9th, 2017, 9:24 pm

I purchased some seedlings of Chadon beni and cilantro . After transplanting they looked good for 2 days then dried up.
They were watered twice daily

Any idea what I did wrong

Postby hydroep » February 9th, 2017, 9:49 pm

^How much sun is it getting? Chadon Beni prefers partial shade - about 3 - 4 hours preferably in the morning.

Mid-day sun is a killer.

sircrocodile123

Postby sircrocodile123 » February 9th, 2017, 10:06 pm

francis1979 wrote:I purchased some seedlings of Chadon beni and cilantro . After transplanting they looked good for 2 days then dried up.
They were watered twice daily

Any idea what I did wrong

Chadon beni is supposed to get shade full sun probably killed it... where did you get the seeds though?

Postby *KRONIK* » February 10th, 2017, 5:51 am

Shadow beni seeds are found on the little acorn looking thing on the hard stem that growns in the centre. Wait until it dries and sprinkle it whre u want the shadow beni. Cover the spot with some old cardboard for a until it begins to shoot.
Keep out of direct light.

HSA

Postby HSA » February 10th, 2017, 6:03 am

Check in the market for bandanya with a little roots on them....cut midway and plant in organic rich soil...

Like the others said in partial shade..morning sun is better than the latter half of the day...

HSA

Postby HSA » February 10th, 2017, 6:10 am

Looking for top soil to plant some stuff in pots..whats d price a yard??

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 10th, 2017, 9:50 am

There is a guy in wallerfied with a cow farm..selling manure and top soil mixed for $25-30( flour bags)

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 10th, 2017, 9:51 am

There is a guy in wallerfied with a cow farm..selling manure and top soil mixed for $25-30( flour bags)