Average wrote:I say a move like hitler's gestapo would work. Round up the ones who violating and bury them, believe me, no one will care or feel sorry, no one.
cherrypopper wrote:The jam and wine mentality have us so...
Fête after fête. .. This party that party .. no discipline in the place so let's kill today we could fête out that tomorrow.
racedriverpro wrote:We just need one man to stand up...who would it be?
VII wrote:cherrypopper wrote:The jam and wine mentality have us so...
Fête after fête. .. This party that party .. no discipline in the place so let's kill today we could fête out that tomorrow.
Bro it's been so before this,I was born in the 70's and there have always been jam and wine,the problem is everything that the posters above stated,the endemic corruption,the crooked businessmen bringing in assault rifles among their goods for a 1000%+ markup,the respected men who stay at home and call pain on small people as if they're playing chess with their lives.
Also there was no preparation for the transition between pre and post cocaine T&T,plenty of the social issues affecting lower society can be attributed to piper parents,I kid you not I know at least 10 big big gangsters both living and dead who's parents were pipers and died from AIDS etc,plenty kids grew up almost on their own in the 80's-90's,government dropped the ball,they did nothing to fill the gaps, and they influenced all others,our problems can be fixed but it's a multifaceted problem that requires multifaceted solutions across the board,from social services to corrections to legislation to the judiciary to the educational structure to business regulations,to proper attitude sensitizing campaigns etc etc etc.
No one thing is gonna solve our problems,they have been brewing for 30+ years and only really manifested in the last 16 or so,but the single biggest contributing factor is corrupt businessmen and politicians,the biggest guns and the biggest drugs are handled by 'legitimate' businessmen that people look up to,I ain't asking you,ask Rspann if yuh feel ah lie..
Magical realism,but it can't last forever,we shall prevail but each of us has to make a change,even if it's only attitude,Trinis at home are some of the most entitled and obnoxious people on this planet couple that with being very resourceful and very ambitious and you got a big problem,time for Trinis to learn that the world don't revolve around us,time to respect each other,time to respect humanity,time to positively channel the ambition,time for a psyche change and fete or no fete that can't happen without a collective effort and basic and common respect for others.
Man if you hear a recording of the baddest street gangster ranting about which other gangsta he gonna lick down next with his AR or Glock and how much rocks and dime bags he gonna move and then you hear one of an esteemed businessman planning the murder of a decent hard working person with a nice family etc that's probably in his way or may have offended him in some way and hiring the same gangster above to carry out the dastardly deed ,and how many crates of ARs and Glocks with extended mags and hundreds of kilos he gonna move, tell me which one would be more frightening,twisted and revealing.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Immediate law changes are needed...draconian as redman said...
Caught with a gun...no forking bail, let your trial take years to begin
Robbery etc etc...no bail...another thing : why do we continue to make prisoners feel as if in they're in a hotel? Prisoners on remand have a lovely lifestyle, 3 square meals a day etc etc...let those fckers plant there own food, clean up place etc etc...come nah man oh gosh...is every single arm of nat sec in a mess
cherrypopper wrote:VII wrote:cherrypopper wrote:The jam and wine mentality have us so...
Bro it's been so before this,I was born in the 70's and there have always been jam and wine,the problem is everything that the posters above stated,the endemic corruption,the crooked businessmen bringing in assault rifles among their goods for a 1000%+ markup,the respected men who stay at home and call pain on small people as if they're playing chess with their lives.
Also there was no preparation for the transition between pre and post cocaine T&T,plenty of the social issues affecting lower society can be attributed to piper parents,I kid you not I know at least 10 big big gangsters both living and dead who's parents were pipers and died from AIDS etc,plenty kids grew up almost on their own in the 80's-90's,government dropped the ball,they did nothing to fill the gaps, and they influenced all others,our problems can be fixed but it's a multifaceted problem that requires multifaceted solutions across the board,from social services to corrections to legislation to the judiciary to the educational structure to business regulations,to proper attitude sensitizing campaigns etc etc etc.
No one thing is gonna solve our problems,they have been brewing for 30+ years and only really manifested in the last 16 or so,but the single biggest contributing factor is corrupt businessmen and politicians,the biggest guns and the biggest drugs are handled by 'legitimate' businessmen that people look up to,I ain't asking you,ask Rspann if yuh feel ah lie..
Magical realism,but it can't last forever,we shall prevail but each of us has to make a change,even if it's only attitude,Trinis at home are some of the most entitled and obnoxious people on this planet couple that with being very resourceful and very ambitious and you got a big problem,time for Trinis to learn that the world don't revolve around us,time to respect each other,time to respect humanity,time to positively channel the ambition,time for a psyche change and fete or no fete that can't happen without a collective effort and basic and common respect for others.
Man if you hear a recording of the baddest street gangster ranting about which other gangsta he gonna lick down next with his AR or Glock and how much rocks and dime bags he gonna move and then you hear one of an esteemed businessman planning the murder of a decent hard working person with a nice family etc that's probably in his way or may have offended him in some way and hiring the same gangster above to carry out the dastardly deed ,and how many crates of ARs and Glocks with extended mags and hundreds of kilos he gonna move, tell me which one would be more frightening,twisted and revealing.
Thanks for that detailed insight.
After all said and done we can only look out for each other and be our brother's keeper.
Such a shame things had to deteriorate like this .
rspann wrote:What V11 saying is the truth. We grew up in the heart of real gangsterism, but the thing is we lived between them ,with them and still we didn't do what they did. That is a choice people make to live that life. Ali was my tenant for years and I knew him from birth. He was real dread but he was a kind of robin hood, sponsoring every thing in the neighborhood like Christmas party and toys for kids etc. He was a gangster ,yes , and he paid the ultimate price for his choice.
I Spoke to him many times like if he was my son, but he always saying he going to change. Spoke to him about an hour the night before his death and the morning ( Thursday). The van they were killed in was mine . Long story about that too.Right now, he was buried today and the Imam talked about all that I use to talk about,the whole gang was there plus gangsters from all over, real police too, but none of them going to listen to what he said. Tomorrow somebody going to take over the block and somebody going to challenge him, and when the dust clears and a new boss is installed ,life will go on for them until the cycle repeats itself. Choices.
Redman wrote:Maybe we should quadruple the quantity of magistrates and judges....un clog the judicial system,clear the cases that will go no where(it took me multiple 4 hr visits on court days over 2 years to be able to tell the magistrate that I didnt want to pursue the case,)
Set up video conferencing (it free with skype) for court dates, or have courts AT the jails for those purposes.
Night court, Saturday court,ADR,Mediation-more courts mean more volume.
leverage all of these SO that
People caught breaking the law today know that the case will be brought in an expeditious manner....