Importing a hybrid vehicle in Trinidad

Re: RE: Re: Importing a hybrid vehicle in Trinidad

Postby A172 » January 11th, 2017, 4:48 pm

evolution91 wrote:Well im refering to the readily availability of parts eg sensors, battery support etc, if these things are nt readily available how can it be maintained in an efficent manner with no downtime?

if u already know these parts not readily available and it would have downtime for replacement parts to arrive if need be wtf kinda question u asking then?

buy sumn else

evolution91

Re: Importing a hybrid vehicle in Trinidad

Postby evolution91 » January 11th, 2017, 4:57 pm

This is what im asking! There isnt a market for these cars with regards to maintenance so why are being imported in abundance

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 11th, 2017, 5:13 pm

evolution91 wrote:This is what im asking! There isnt a market for these cars with regards to maintenance so why are being imported in abundance

This is by far, and by a huge margin, the absolute stupidest thing I've ever heard.

Postby Morpheus » January 11th, 2017, 5:23 pm

How do you expect it to kick off and get going? By not starting the Hybrid revolution at all?

The more they bring, the more people will buy, the more service centers will educate and equip themselves to facilitate them.

Don't be so negative. It has start somewhere...

Postby A172 » January 11th, 2017, 5:33 pm

evolution91 wrote:This is what im asking! There isnt a market for these cars with regards to maintenance so why are being imported in abundance

stop studying other ppl business

Postby eliteauto » January 11th, 2017, 5:44 pm

any mech ( technician?) worth his salt would be familiarising themselves with the new tech out there, hybrids are coming in droves the smart money would be on learning everything needed to service and repair them if necessary

Mikedaman89

Postby Mikedaman89 » January 11th, 2017, 6:11 pm

Hi check superior auto imports for the 2015 XTrail i saw they brought some in. 180k on the road. Everything except sunroof

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 11th, 2017, 7:08 pm

Hybrids are thought to actually require less maintenance some actually out performs the full petrol version. With the tax incentives they are a no brainer. People should take advantage of the current situation. I have no doubt that mechanics will soon be upgrading their skills if they have not already done so.

I am looking at the hybrid accord 2013 which I saw being advertised at 138000 and giving close to 60 miles per gallon

Postby Morpheus » January 11th, 2017, 7:20 pm

^Ding ding ding on the Accord. Actually made a query with A172 last year about it.

Postby Chimera » January 11th, 2017, 7:39 pm

Liking this Image

Postby MaxPower » January 11th, 2017, 7:51 pm

Plenty technicians/auto experts in this post man...no need to worry.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 11th, 2017, 7:55 pm

FB_IMG_1484178889449.jpg

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 11th, 2017, 8:02 pm

I remember when I got my fuel injected b14 rollon roll of in 1999. The amount of negative remarks I got about who will maintain it. Bought a Haynes manual and a voltmeter and the knowledge of how to jumper the obd connection to get the error codes. I handled all sensor issues. Things better now with the internet and skybox. However within a couple years mechanics to fix fuel injected was a dime a dozen.

Who again say accord?
Last edited by PariaMan on January 11th, 2017, 8:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby A172 » January 11th, 2017, 8:07 pm

7282 was a real pleasure to drive
not to mention sexy af

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 11th, 2017, 8:10 pm

Heard it has really great response. Correct?

Postby A172 » January 12th, 2017, 7:17 am

pins u in the seat if u floor it from a dead stop in ev mode

Postby A172 » January 12th, 2017, 7:21 am

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 13th, 2017, 11:31 am

So rather than berate and beatup....why not post mechs who servicing hybrids?

evolution91

Postby evolution91 » January 13th, 2017, 11:39 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:So rather than berate and beatup....why not post mechs who servicing hybrids?

Im still waiting to see them post that

Postby rspann » January 13th, 2017, 11:53 am

Man in business don't laugh at sufferers .

Postby j.o.e » January 13th, 2017, 12:17 pm

A172 wrote:pins u in the seat if u floor it from a dead stop in ev mode

Do a lot of these hybrid models have Japanese writing on the digital displays ? Can it be changed via menu? Just asking as that's a pet peeve of mine

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 13th, 2017, 4:03 pm

Friend of mine already has a list.anyone interested Pm me and I will ask her to give it to me

Postby Monk BANzai » January 14th, 2017, 11:36 pm

was hoping someone would chime in..but you can go to VMCOTT (with your documents of importation) and they will schedule in your Hybrid for servicing and "overview" (whatever that means). Accompanied an Audi A6 Hybrid owner there last week.

No rocket science and no "hush hush" secretive knowledge crap.

Postby Monk BANzai » January 14th, 2017, 11:45 pm

speaking of Hybrid Audi's.. Here's another one available. It have two prices on it "Company and Private" Inbox me and i'll give you the deets..

Ryan is right on the acceleration bit. VERY responsive in EV mode...

Screen Shot 2017-01-14 at 11.42.11 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-01-14 at 11.40.39 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-01-14 at 11.40.03 PM.png

Postby A172 » January 15th, 2017, 8:19 am

dunno wah all the usual trini sheep cyak abt "hybrid servicing" is abt

wud swear it have hybrid oil & filters or hybrid bolts that need hybrid tools to take out or some sheit

DJ Q

Importing a hybrid vehicle in Trinidad

Postby DJ Q » January 15th, 2017, 10:22 am

A172 wrote:dunno wah all the usual trini sheep cyak abt "hybrid servicing" is abt

wud swear it have hybrid oil & filters or hybrid bolts that need hybrid tools to take out or some sheit

They probably are pissed that Tesla doesn't advertise how often you need to change oil or when to use injector cleaner and stuff.
Last edited by DJ Q on January 15th, 2017, 10:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby DVSTT » January 15th, 2017, 10:33 am

Is it more expensive to insure a hybrid?
How long is the lifespan on the batteries?
Who can change/source the batteries when/if they need changing?

Postby Morpheus » January 15th, 2017, 12:14 pm

I think the "cyak" has more to do with the battery pack side of things. The gas engine side of it should be normal as the rest of the car is more or less standard.

It's a new world for most Trinis, you have to expect some queries.

The dotish, matter-of-fact statements from people who have never experienced a hybrid can be annoying though......

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 15th, 2017, 12:42 pm

DVSTT wrote:Is it more expensive to insure a hybrid?

No.
How long is the lifespan on the batteries?

Toyota said 10 years for the Prius, but many have been found to still be going much longer.
Who can change/source the batteries when/if they need changing?

You can do it yourself.

evolution91

Postby evolution91 » January 15th, 2017, 12:44 pm

So when massy and ansa gona start bringing these vehicles?