T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Dave » December 20th, 2016, 2:13 pm

Front OK. Back looks macanish

Postby Morpheus » December 20th, 2016, 2:14 pm

Front looks ok. Nissan-ish.
Back........meh

urbandilema

Re: RE: Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby urbandilema » December 20th, 2016, 6:47 pm

Morpheus wrote:Front looks ok. Nissan-ish.
Back........meh

racedriverpro

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby racedriverpro » December 20th, 2016, 8:02 pm

urbandilema wrote:
Morpheus wrote:Front looks ok. Nissan-ish.
Back........meh

All the back need is the latest series and status like that.

lostboys crew

New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby lostboys crew » December 30th, 2016, 6:29 am

Would still take it over a Tiida any day . Anyone seen the new Fielder and March yet. Could only imagine the price they would call for them locally.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 30th, 2016, 6:48 am

drchaos wrote:At 1300 km's now. Going good so far! There is a small problem, when started multiple times for the day around 3rd time you get a 1 second grinding noise. Seems to be a world wide problem many people on international forums complaining. Honda so far has said they are looking into it. Most people who have owned Honda's say its the vtc actuator engaging early, and does not affect the engine. So will see how that unfolds.

Otherwise everything else is good. Car pulling real good and has a good induction note when pulling off (might be artificial), started to notice the CVT and the drone is there when you mash down but the car stays in the powerband. So far its very smooth, no hesitation and not clunky at all.

Entertainment system is clunky and not very intuitive but apple carplay working real well, hoping we get android auto soon in our region so I can check that out. Driver A pillar is vibrating on rough roads and need to get dealer to sort that out at first service. Rest of the interior is holding up nicely and feels well put together. Interior is very spacious indeed, trunk seems a bit shallow cause of the coupe like styling.

Still can't get over how nicely honda tuned this suspension, just a smidgen softer than the jetta but the damping over our roads is miles ahead. Engineers said they bench marked BMW 3 series suspension, not exactly there but they did a really good job, feels slight better than the tiguan ( bad comparison but its what I accustomed to)
Car came filled with super and filled with premium twice and did not hear or feel a difference, so just filled back with super for further testing.

Power related problem. Actuator greasing, Battery connection, alternator, plugs, starter. If the car coming new and giving that problem all over the world it may be that civic miscalculated power requirements and u might have to live with that problem. It also means the value of that civic will probably slide massively if its a problem that cant be fixed. If u lucky, something simple as a better battery will solve the problem. This is doubting the car has loose battery connection since its new but check that too.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » December 30th, 2016, 11:27 am

We did two quick runs a few nights ago with a new PDN turbo civic, a PDE Jetta and a PDC A4. All local, all stock.

Civic destroyed the A4 as in pulled from beginning all the way to the top. A4 never had a chance.
Civic got the jump on the Jetta but it reeled it in and took over to the top.
Didn't bother to run the Jetta on the A4 cause we already know what the outcome would be.

Impressed with that civic CVT though, it makes good use of the least torque of the bunch. DSG shows its dominance though which was expected. We do have a video but unfortunately imagination will have to be used. Zerofcuksgiven otherwise. Nice car.

karl

Postby karl » December 30th, 2016, 12:33 pm

Some valuable testing there ace , thanks for that , what is the hp on that particular a4? Would like to have another test with my a3 at your test track to see where I stand .

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » December 30th, 2016, 1:49 pm

Only the tuner cabal and those who kissing ass to be a part of it are allowed to do this kinda thing outside the tracks and post it but ZFG. Good question, I know we got two versions of the 1.8t a low output and a high output one. Fella in d A4 doesn't even know which version he have except to say it's the fully loaded ambient plus model with sunroof. If you have the new A3 1.8t then your dominance will be obvious.

Re: RE: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Morpheus » December 30th, 2016, 2:19 pm

lostboys crew wrote:Would still take it over a Tiida any day . Anyone seen the new Fielder and March yet. Could only imagine the price they would call for them locally.

Yes that March/Micra not bad.

Thank goodness for the new Fielder. The last one was fugly no tail.

And good lil review there ace...

Postby eliteauto » December 30th, 2016, 3:47 pm

nice info ace, I remember when that was an important part of car reviews here on tuner

Postby Monk BANzai » December 31st, 2016, 12:29 am

acesinghit wrote:Only the tuner cabal and those who kissing ass to be a part of it are allowed to do this kinda thing outside the tracks and post it but ZFG. Good question, I know we got two versions of the 1.8t a low output and a high output one. Fella in d A4 doesn't even know which version he have except to say it's the fully loaded ambient plus model with sunroof. If you have the new A3 1.8t then your dominance will be obvious.

:lol: :lol: :lol: @ Cabal.... yuh make meh weak dey...

good review... this warms meh heart given my 2005 B7 1.8 still eats all the new Jettas for lunch/dinner.

Apart from the Mechatronic issue on those DSG's with the early models... the Jetta is really a great value. doesnt take much to "prettify" eetha...

How does the Turbo Civic rate for handling? interior ergonomics? saw one the other day but was cautious on engagement....but now...HAHA!!

*fyahz shall be ge'ed...

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » December 31st, 2016, 8:25 am

acesinghit wrote: Good question, I know we got two versions of the 1.8t a low output and a high output one. Fella in d A4 doesn't even know which version he have except to say it's the fully loaded ambient plus model with sunroof. .

The Ambient Plus would have the higher output 1.8T (170PS). Only the base A4 has the lower output. (120PS)

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » December 31st, 2016, 10:22 am

4motion, Thanks for clearing that up.

Banzai, iirc your a4 is far from stock so maybe if you engage the blue rabbit I would sure like to know the outcome of that or the white one you selling :shock:

Anybody wishing to enter turbo Euro performance then get this, the fabric seats, fully loaded sunroof Jetta with 17" rims can be had for as low as $215k and again the sales reps are swearing that these updated units will have no mechatronic issues.

One thing I know for sure, based on those runs we did on Boxing Day, no 316i/318i or C180 (stock of course) could come close. This is the part where some idiots will fool themselves into saying well it's not about that it's about the euro feel, features and handling etc. thing is I checked out the 318i whilst on my vacay over the Christmas season here and I laughed at how pathetic the equipment listing was. To each their own. Happy New Year guys.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » December 31st, 2016, 7:32 pm

I am still cautious about that mechatronic issue ... I think we may still see some failures again in 2 to 3 years. I genuinely hope it is fixed but what I have seen so far points to a big no.

Some cars came with mineral oil from the factory and some came with the synthetic. Three people I know with synthetic factory fill had their Mechatronic fail within 6 months. I know two cars that came with mineral oil factory fill (supposed to be the fix) and they failed at the 2 to 3 year mark.
I also had a convo with Humble Mechanic on youtube (VW fan/technician) who showed off a DSG 7 speed with a busted mechatronic unit on his youtube channel, they have it in the Jetta hybrid in the states. He indicated that he has seen 2 jetta's with this problem (there are very few of them) and the mechatronic units had failed after the mineral oil fix/Service recall was done on these vehicles.

Maybe the new ones have a fix on the mechatronic unit itself along with new mineral oil, but who really knows? Caution is recommended. VW/BA has "ok" service support after the warranty but after the 4 year mark at the end of good will you basically on your own.

Postby Monk BANzai » December 31st, 2016, 11:04 pm

acesinghit wrote:4motion, Thanks for clearing that up.

Banzai, iirc your a4 is far from stock so maybe if you engage the blue rabbit I would sure like to know the outcome of that or the white one you selling :shock:

Anybody wishing to enter turbo Euro performance then get this, the fabric seats, fully loaded sunroof Jetta with 17" rims can be had for as low as $215k and again the sales reps are swearing that these updated units will have no mechatronic issues.

One thing I know for sure, based on those runs we did on Boxing Day, no 316i/318i or C180 (stock of course) could come close. This is the part where some idiots will fool themselves into saying well it's not about that it's about the euro feel, features and handling etc. thing is I checked out the 318i whilst on my vacay over the Christmas season here and I laughed at how pathetic the equipment listing was. To each their own. Happy New Year guys.

^^ This. ....the White/silver one touches my front door when he reaches me...at that point if i slip i slide..if he slips he slides... Nathan's car is a lovely build. Maybe in years to come when le Goals have been reached I can look at seriously going after one.....To me only the 320i is worth the spend. But me eh no Value Banton. And with tuning the 320i is a force to be reckoned with. But this is coming from a performance perspective. If you looking at the cars as a whole/day to day/fuel consumption the merc can surprise.

All the best Buddie...

Postby Monk BANzai » December 31st, 2016, 11:10 pm

drchaos wrote:I am still cautious about that mechatronic issue ... I think we may still see some failures again in 2 to 3 years. I genuinely hope it is fixed but what I have seen so far points to a big no.

Some cars came with mineral oil from the factory and some came with the synthetic. Three people I know with synthetic factory fill had their Mechatronic fail within 6 months. I know two cars that came with mineral oil factory fill (supposed to be the fix) and they failed at the 2 to 3 year mark.
I also had a convo with Humble Mechanic on youtube (VW fan/technician) who showed off a DSG 7 speed with a busted mechatronic unit on his youtube channel, they have it in the Jetta hybrid in the states. He indicated that he has seen 2 jetta's with this problem (there are very few of them) and the mechatronic units had failed after the mineral oil fix/Service recall was done on these vehicles.

Maybe the new ones have a fix on the mechatronic unit itself along with new mineral oil, but who really knows? Caution is recommended. VW/BA has "ok" service support after the warranty but after the 4 year mark at the end of good will you basically on your own.

Agreed. its still very much a hit a miss...a tuner bought himself a MK7 GTi and under 3 months had to change the DSG due to the same issue...and he granny driving when it went. Good thing is that VW/BA not fighting down the replacement. Its just the waiting time. That aside. the VW range is a really good range.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 31st, 2016, 11:38 pm

He must be really unlucky. Tell him don't do thing in the backseat next time. Usually the 6 speed dsg is pretty reliable compared to the dq200. Different manufacturer even.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 1st, 2017, 12:38 am

I did see that GTI park up in BA, getting some good blazing from the sun for 6 + weeks. Could have been longer, when I poked around my contacts for info got all sorts of conflicting reports from windscreen crack and awaiting replacement (windscreen was fine the two times I saw it park up in the back), engine issues and even heard they did not have the parts to do regular maintenance and that's why it was parked up so long. Sounded like a cover-up.

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » January 1st, 2017, 1:22 pm

The Gti was awaiting new pistons...I know some MK7 Gti call for 98ron depending on the plant...and his was pinking like a biarch evem with 95ron since collection which contributed.

The dq200 would fail if consumers perform recall on a dsg which previously came with symthetic as wear particles and old synthetic would still be present in the dsg causing it to fail.

Once the car comes with mineral oil they would be safe so its better to have the mecha fail than replace the oil.

Recall done on my 250hp Jetta after 3yrs no failure or issues and I highly doubt anyone here is in as much POS traffic as I am, with more hp on tap

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » January 1st, 2017, 2:19 pm

EcoTune Trinidad wrote:The Gti was awaiting new pistons...I know some MK7 Gti call for 98ron depending on the plant...and his was pinking like a biarch evem with 95ron since collection which contributed.

The dq200 would fail if consumers perform recall on a dsg which previously came with symthetic as wear particles and old synthetic would still be present in the dsg causing it to fail.

Once the car comes with mineral oil they would be safe so its better to have the mecha fail than replace the oil.

Recall done on my 250hp Jetta after 3yrs no failure or issues and I highly doubt anyone here is in as much POS traffic as I am, with more hp on tap

250hp what?

You serious

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » January 1st, 2017, 2:20 pm

If you were on fb you could have followed the build ;)

Postby j.o.e » January 1st, 2017, 2:33 pm

EcoTune Trinidad wrote:The Gti was awaiting new pistons...I know some MK7 Gti call for 98ron depending on the plant...and his was pinking like a biarch evem with 95ron since collection which contributed.

Dyno sheet?

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » January 1st, 2017, 2:34 pm

EcoTune Trinidad wrote:If you were on fb you could have followed the build ;)

Take win.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 1st, 2017, 8:52 pm

Any prospective buyers should ask BA for extra warranty on the tranny if they swear that its fixed.

It puzzles me why VW would send a 98 RON engine to a country that they know does not have RON 98? You sure you eh tune that GTI to beast mode boy eco and thats why it was pinging on 95 RON :P? I joking, I know you know your wok better than that.

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » January 2nd, 2017, 9:16 pm

Ah sure...trust me...that owner is known to trust APR to remap his cars without proper logs and fuel/climate for their consideration..I wont touch that car for obvious reasons

There would be 1 of 2 different ecu versions with diff maps so who is to say the wrong ecu or sw version was accidently installed for export?

Anything could be at play *shrug*

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 6th, 2017, 6:51 am

Transfered the van yesterday folks. Finally got it sold and cleared the loan minutes to 5. So, back to square one with my fickle self. My next vehicle must be AWD/4wd so we narrowed it down to the Massy Xtrail and imported new Hybrid Xtrail. The Xtrail fully loaded 5 seater is $371k. The Xtrail Hybrid fully loaded is $245k.
Nissan says the Hybrid 2.0 is faster than the 2.5 and it comes with most features found in the $371k model from massy. For example, the Hybrid I saw has everything except front power seats, side and front cameras for the 360 view, cruise control and rear cargo cover. It does have front and rear parking sensors though which the massy model does not have as a factory oem install. Both have a large panoramic sunroof. What else, the dealer is installing a Pioneer deck in the double DIN cut out on dash. No need to buy any adapters cause the steering wheel does not have audio or Bluetooth controls. A small part of the drive menu is in Japanese but the features are simple and straight forward. What you guys think? 4 big names in the roro business importing these Xtrails brand new and they are Maska, MRampersad, Achievors and Crism. I think Mint Cars and Japan Motors have them too and I'm sure a bunch of other dealers. I'm a bit skeptical on the Hybrid technology for our climate and the big question is, are these dealers equipped to deal with warranty issues with the Hybrid drivetrain should there be need to? So what you guys think, wait for massy to import the Hybrid and compare then or go for the 371k model?

Kronik

Postby Kronik » January 6th, 2017, 10:05 am

For the 126k difference, I say go with hybrid, I know mint cars offer like 3-5 year/100k warranty on their vehicles, plus they servicing. So if you getting a warranty for a period like that, that still protects you for a while with the problems aspect, and once again, that price difference, you could buy a next roro vehicle with that!

Agent_47

Postby Agent_47 » January 6th, 2017, 2:27 pm

acesinghit wrote:Transfered the van yesterday folks. Finally got it sold and cleared the loan minutes to 5. So, back to square one with my fickle self. My next vehicle must be AWD/4wd so we narrowed it down to the Massy Xtrail and imported new Hybrid Xtrail. The Xtrail fully loaded 5 seater is $371k. The Xtrail Hybrid fully loaded is $245k.
Nissan says the Hybrid 2.0 is faster than the 2.5 and it comes with most features found in the $371k model from massy. For example, the Hybrid I saw has everything except front power seats, side and front cameras for the 360 view, cruise control and rear cargo cover. It does have front and rear parking sensors though which the massy model does not have as a factory oem install. Both have a large panoramic sunroof. What else, the dealer is installing a Pioneer deck in the double DIN cut out on dash. No need to buy any adapters cause the steering wheel does not have audio or Bluetooth controls. A small part of the drive menu is in Japanese but the features are simple and straight forward. What you guys think? 4 big names in the roro business importing these Xtrails brand new and they are Maska, MRampersad, Achievors and Crism. I think Mint Cars and Japan Motors have them too and I'm sure a bunch of other dealers. I'm a bit skeptical on the Hybrid technology for our climate and the big question is, are these dealers equipped to deal with warranty issues with the Hybrid drivetrain should there be need to? So what you guys think, wait for massy to import the Hybrid and compare then or go for the 371k model?

If the drive menu you're talking about is the small screen in the instrument gauge cluster then that can be easily changed to English. Just use google translate and look for the language setting.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 6th, 2017, 9:49 pm

Boy it depends on how much risk you wanna take. Remember you buying a Hybrid vehicle from manufacturer who has little experience in hybrid drive-trains (Nissan). Buying from a foreign new dealer you get what 6 months warranty? and if sheit goes south would he have the know how to diagnose and fix the vehicle.